Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

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Your online presence (whether a website, a fan page, or a content channel) is a strategic way to connect with your audience. The ability to measure interactions, know where your audience comes from and what their preferences are is a key capability if you want to thrive online.

Google Analytics helps you achieve a deep understanding of your audience and aids you in developing strategies and tactics to improve your sales, revenues, leads, or whatever you want to achieve online.

Once you achieve a good understanding of your site and audience, it's time to drive the right traffic and implement your strategies with a larger audience, using Google AdWords.

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Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

  1. 1. Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online Marketer Elias Dabbas Abu Dhabi - November 16, 2011
  2. 3. Moving from Offline to Online Marketing <ul><li>5-10 reports </li></ul><ul><li>Sample Size < 3% </li></ul><ul><li>Research = what people say or feel </li></ul><ul><li>Fixed messages changeable every edition </li></ul><ul><li>Unlimited reports </li></ul><ul><li>Sample Size > 80% </li></ul><ul><li>Research = what people are actually doing </li></ul><ul><li>Messages changeable when needed </li></ul>Offline Online
  3. 4. “ Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted” Albert Einstein Albert Einstein Albert Einstein Albert Einstein
  4. 5. Top-Down Approach <ul><li>Objectives </li></ul><ul><li>KPIs </li></ul><ul><li>Metrics / Reports </li></ul>
  5. 6. Example Objective: Loose 7kg in 6 months KPIs: Eating habits Exercising frequency Exercise progress Metrics: Minutes jogged Weights lifted Chocolate bars enjoyed etc
  6. 7. Types of Websites (Actions) What do I want my users to DO ?
  7. 8. Media / Content Articles, videos, photos, news, etc... Usually free content, ad supported Main goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors
  8. 9. Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value eCommerce / Transactional
  9. 10. Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate) Qualified leads who contact you become customers Main goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead Lead Generation
  10. 11. Users create content and share it, you provide the platform Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model Main goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing User-Generated Content / Interactivity
  11. 12. Other Types Directories Search engines Support websites Classified Ads
  12. 13. Key Performance Indicators
  13. 14. 6 - 10 to be manageable Different KPIs for different people Different KPIs in different frequencies Shown in trends over time Should be linked to things you can do KPIs
  14. 16. Main Online Measures / Metrics Visits CPA CPC CPM Click-Through Ratio (CTR) Ad Impressions Unique Visitors Conversions Bounce Rate Page Views
  15. 17. Page Views <ul><li>Number of times a page was served / “viewed” </li></ul>heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page
  16. 18. <ul><li>Number of times an ad was served “viewed” </li></ul><ul><li>Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page) </li></ul>Ad Impressions
  17. 19. Visits & Unique Visitors <ul><li>Visits: </li></ul><ul><li>Unique Visitors: </li></ul>Number of times a “session” is started at a site Number of people (computers) that visited your site I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor Example:
  18. 20. Pages / Visit <ul><li>Average page views per visit </li></ul><ul><li>Total page views ÷ total visits </li></ul>
  19. 21. Bounce Rate <ul><li>Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view) </li></ul><ul><li>1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate </li></ul>
  20. 22. Click-Through Ratio (CTR) <ul><li>Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions) </li></ul><ul><li>Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR </li></ul>
  21. 23. Visits per Visitor <ul><li>Average times a visitor comes to the site within a certain period of time </li></ul><ul><li>Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor </li></ul><ul><li>Important measure of loyalty </li></ul>
  22. 24. CPx <ul><li>CPC: cost per click </li></ul><ul><li>CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions </li></ul><ul><li>CPL: cost per lead </li></ul><ul><li>CPA: cost per action (acquisition) </li></ul>
  23. 25. Conversions <ul><li>Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc </li></ul><ul><li>Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate </li></ul>Conversions
  24. 26. Visits CPA CPC CPM Click-Through Ratio (CTR) Ad Impressions Unique Visitors Conversions Bounce Rate Page Views
  25. 27. Campaign Lifecycle
  26. 28. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  27. 29. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate </li></ul><ul><li>CPM </li></ul><ul><li>CPC </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  28. 30. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate </li></ul><ul><li>CPM </li></ul><ul><li>CPC </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  29. 31. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate </li></ul><ul><li>CPM </li></ul><ul><li>CPC </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  30. 32. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM </li></ul><ul><li>CPC </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  31. 33. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM </li></ul><ul><li>CPC </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  32. 34. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 </li></ul><ul><li>CPC </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  33. 35. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 </li></ul><ul><li>CPC </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  34. 36. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 </li></ul><ul><li>CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  35. 37. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 </li></ul><ul><li>CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 </li></ul><ul><li>CPA </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  36. 38. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 </li></ul><ul><li>CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 </li></ul><ul><li>CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  37. 39. <ul><li>Total Spend: $10,000 </li></ul><ul><li>CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% </li></ul><ul><li>CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 </li></ul><ul><li>CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 </li></ul><ul><li>CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 </li></ul>1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  38. 40. Brand
  39. 41. <ul><li>“ Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiences </li></ul><ul><li>served-up by the organization. </li></ul><ul><li>The brand is the experience.” </li></ul>
  40. 42. <ul><li>Who you want to be </li></ul><ul><li>Vs. </li></ul><ul><li>What people conceive you to be </li></ul>
  41. 43. “ Discover ” Your Brand
  42. 44. MyCoolTrips.com <ul><li>mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews </li></ul><ul><li>mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews </li></ul>
  43. 45. <ul><li>Content </li></ul>Traffic
  44. 46. <ul><li>mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews </li></ul><ul><li>mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews </li></ul><ul><li>mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews </li></ul><ul><li>mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews </li></ul><ul><li>mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews </li></ul>
  45. 47. <ul><li>Content </li></ul>Traffic
  46. 48. 5.1B pages of content 1 page of search
  47. 50. Search and Search Partners
  48. 51. Search Partners <ul><li>Search engines using Google technology </li></ul><ul><li>Sites having a custom search powered by Google </li></ul>
  49. 52. <ul><li>Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site </li></ul><ul><li>Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc… </li></ul>Content (Display) Network
  50. 53. Content (Display) Network
  51. 56. Types of Ads <ul><ul><li>Text </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Image </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Display Ad Builder </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Video </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Mobile (web) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Mobile (call) </li></ul></ul>
  52. 57. Text Ads <ul><li>Headline: 25 characters </li></ul><ul><li>Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters </li></ul><ul><li>Display URL: 35 characters </li></ul><ul><li>Destination URL: 1,024 characters </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same </li></ul></ul>
  53. 58. Image Ads <ul><li>Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf </li></ul><ul><li>Sizes: </li></ul><ul><li>468 x 60 Banner </li></ul><ul><li>728 x 90 Leaderboard </li></ul><ul><li>250 x 250 Square </li></ul><ul><li>200 x 200 Small square </li></ul><ul><li>336 x 280 Large rectangle </li></ul><ul><li>300 x 250 Inline rectangle </li></ul><ul><li>120 x 600 Skyscraper </li></ul><ul><li>160 x 600 Wide skyscraper </li></ul>
  54. 59. Display Ad Builder <ul><li>Customize your own ad online </li></ul>
  55. 61. <ul><li>Automatic resizing for all available sizes </li></ul>
  56. 62. Video Ads (Click to Play)
  57. 64. Mobile Ads – Smart Phones
  58. 65. WAP Text Ads
  59. 66. WAP Image Ads
  60. 67. Account Structure <ul><ul><li>Campaigns </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Ad groups </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Ads </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Keywords </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Destination URLs </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Bids </li></ul></ul>
  61. 68. AdWords Account Structure Website1.com Restaurants Order Online Great Deals from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/orders Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/orders Order food Food online Order pizza Bids Destination URLs Information Concerts Rock Concerts Account Campaigns Ad Groups Ads & Keywords
  62. 69. Account <ul><li>One Google account </li></ul><ul><li>Accessible / manageable by several accounts </li></ul><ul><li>Different access levels </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Admin </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Standard </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Read Only </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Email Only </li></ul></ul>
  63. 70. Campaign (Settings) <ul><li>Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Language </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Network(s) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Geography </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Daily Budget </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Device </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Scheduling </li></ul></ul>
  64. 71. Language Targeting Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English) Ad text can produce different responses
  65. 72. Geographical Targeting
  66. 73. Time of the Day / Day of the Week
  67. 74. Campaign Best Practices <ul><li>Use a consistent naming convention </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>E.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Separate search and content (display) </li></ul><ul><li>Separate PCs and mobiles </li></ul>
  68. 75. Ad Groups <ul><li>Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords </li></ul>Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers
  69. 76. Ad Group Best Practices <ul><li>Keywords as closely related to each other as possible </li></ul><ul><li>Always test more than one ad </li></ul><ul><li>Make sure you have a good relevant landing page(s) for each ad group </li></ul>
  70. 77. Keyword Match Types <ul><li>Exact: [coffee beans] </li></ul><ul><li>Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for </li></ul><ul><li>Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ </li></ul><ul><li>Exact string with other keywords before or after </li></ul><ul><li>Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans </li></ul>
  71. 78. Keyword Match Types <ul><li>Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew </li></ul><ul><li>Similar keywords using the same stem </li></ul><ul><li>Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries </li></ul><ul><li>Broad match: coffee beans </li></ul><ul><li>Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms </li></ul><ul><li>Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop </li></ul>
  72. 79. <ul><li>Negative: -cappuccino </li></ul><ul><li>Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have </li></ul>
  73. 80. Writing Effective Ads <ul><li>Ads relevant to </li></ul><ul><li>specific keywords </li></ul><ul><li>Features </li></ul><ul><li>Benefits </li></ul><ul><li>Calls to action </li></ul><ul><li>Using keywords in ads </li></ul><ul><li>Test different landing pages </li></ul>
  74. 81. Ads Relevant to Keywords <ul><li>Each ad group should be focused on a topic </li></ul><ul><li>Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords </li></ul>
  75. 82. Benefits <ul><li>Main point of interest </li></ul><ul><li>They are what your product achieves for the user </li></ul><ul><li>They are what users care about </li></ul><ul><li>Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc… </li></ul>
  76. 83. Features <ul><li>How your product helps me achieve the benefits </li></ul><ul><li>Specific evidence about your product </li></ul><ul><li>Points of differentiation </li></ul><ul><li>Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc… </li></ul>
  77. 84. Calls to Action <ul><li>Leads user to a specific thing to do </li></ul><ul><li>Generates enthusiasm in the moment </li></ul><ul><li>Filters users </li></ul><ul><li>Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc… </li></ul>
  78. 85. AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary) <ul><li>Targeting </li></ul><ul><li>Keywords </li></ul><ul><li>Geography </li></ul><ul><li>Language </li></ul><ul><li>Keyword match type </li></ul><ul><li>Time of day / Day of week </li></ul><ul><li>Search / search partners </li></ul><ul><li>Content: automatic and managed </li></ul><ul><li>Devices </li></ul><ul><li>Demographics </li></ul>Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages Measurment CTR Cost per conversion Analytics Post-click performance
  79. 86. Thank You Elias Dabbas [email_address] +971 55 953 18 26

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