Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

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Basics of online marketing and how they apply to Google Analytics and Google AdWords.

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Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

  1. 1. Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online Marketer Elias Dabbas May 7, 2014
  2. 2. Google Analytics 2
  3. 3. 3 Main Online Measures / Metrics Visits CPA CPC CPM Click-Through Ratio (CTR) Ad Impressions UniqueVisitors Conversions Bounce Rate PageViews
  4. 4. PageViews Number of times a page was served / “viewed” heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page 4
  5. 5. 5 Number of times an ad was served “viewed” Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page) Ad Impressions
  6. 6. 6 Visits (sessions) & UniqueVisitors (users) •Visits (sessions): 
 ! •UniqueVisitors (users): Number of times a “session” is started at a site or a user comes to the site Number of people (computers) that visited your site I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor Example:
  7. 7. 7 Pages /Visit ! ! ! ! Average page views per visit Total page views ÷ total visits
  8. 8. 8 Bounce Rate •Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view) •1-page visits ÷Total visits = Bounce Rate
  9. 9. 9 Click-Through Ratio (CTR) •Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions) •Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR
  10. 10. 10 Visits perVisitor (Sessions per User) • Average times a visitor (computer browser) comes to the site within a certain period of time ! • Total visits ÷ UniqueVisitors =Visits perVisitor ! • Important measure of loyalty
  11. 11. 11 CPx • CPC: cost per click ! • CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions ! • CPL: cost per lead ! • CPA: cost per action (acquisition) ! • CPF: cost per fan (or follower)
  12. 12. Conversions • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. 
 Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc ! • Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate Conversions 12
  13. 13. 13 Visits CPA CPC CPM Click-Through Ratio (CTR) Ad Impressions Unique Visitors Conversions Bounce Rate Page Views
  14. 14. “Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted” ! Albert Einstein
  15. 15. Types of Websites (Actions) ! ! ! ! What do I want my users to DO?
  16. 16. Media / Content ! Articles, videos, photos, news, etc... Usually free content, ad supported Example goals: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors
  17. 17. Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Example goals: maximize sales, avg. order value eCommerce /Transactional
  18. 18. Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate) Qualified leads who contact you become customers Example goals: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead Lead Generation
  19. 19. Users create content and share it, you provide the platform Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model Example goals: maximize content generated, viral marketing User-Generated Content / Social
  20. 20. OtherTypes ! ! ! Directories Search engines Support websites Classified Ads
  21. 21. 21 Campaign Lifecycle
  22. 22. 22 • Total Spend: $10,000 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  23. 23. 23 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  24. 24. 24 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  25. 25. 25 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  26. 26. 26 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  27. 27. 27 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  28. 28. 28 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  29. 29. 29 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  30. 30. 30 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  31. 31. 31 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  32. 32. 32 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  33. 33. 33 • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 1,000,000 impressions 20,000 clicks 400 conversions
  34. 34. 34 Brand
  35. 35. 35 “Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiences served-up by the organization. The brand is the experience.”
  36. 36. 36 Who you want to be Vs. What people conceive you to be
  37. 37. 37 “Discover”Your Brand
  38. 38. 38 MyCoolTrips.com mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews
  39. 39. 39 Content Traffic 50% 50% France Spain 10% 90% France Spain
  40. 40. 40 mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews
  41. 41. 41 Content Traffic 13% 87% France Spain 80% 20% France Spain
  42. 42. 42 463M pages of content 1 page of search
  43. 43. 43 Google Analytics - Summary Measures / Metrics ! Pageviews Visits (sessions) Unique visitors (users) Ad impressions Click-through ratio Conversion rate Bounce rate CPX Types of Websites ! Media / Content Lead Generation eCommerce User Content / Social Campaign Lifecycle Brand Assessment
  44. 44. 44
  45. 45. 45 Search Ads (SEM)
  46. 46. Search Ads 46 Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers Keywords: iphone 5s i phone 5 s iphone 5s best price buy iphone 5s
  47. 47. • You only pay when someone clicks on your ad • You determine the maximum cost per click you are willing to pay • Ranking of ads depends on maximum CPC and quality score Payment / Pricing 47
  48. 48. • Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site ! • Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc… Google Display Network (GDN) 48
  49. 49. 49 Google Display Network (GDN)
  50. 50. 50
  51. 51. 51
  52. 52. Types of Ads ! • Text • Image • Video • Mobile (web) • Mobile (call) 52
  53. 53. Text Ads • Headline: 25 characters • Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters • Display URL: 35 characters • Destination URL: 1,024 characters –Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same 53
  54. 54. Image Ads 320 × 50 Mobile banner 320 × 100 Large mobile 468 × 60 Banner 728 × 90 Leaderboard 250 × 250 Square 200 × 200 Small square 336 × 280 Large rectangle 300 × 250 Inline rectangle 120 × 600 Skyscraper 54 ! 160 × 600 Wide skyscraper 300 × 600 Half-page ad 970 × 90 Large leaderboard 240 × 400 Vertical rectangle 980 × 120 Panorama 930 × 180 Top banner 250 × 360 Triple widescreen 580 × 400 Netboard 970 × 250 Billboard Formats .GIF, .JPG, .PNG, .SWF Max. size 150KB
  55. 55. Display Ad Builder • Customize your own ad online 55
  56. 56. 56
  57. 57. 57 • Automatic resizing for all available sizes
  58. 58. 58 Video Ads (Click to Play)
  59. 59. 59
  60. 60. 60 Mobile Ads – Smart Phones
  61. 61. Account Structure • Campaigns • Ad groups • Ads • Keywords • Destination URLs • Bids 61
  62. 62. 62 AdWords Account Structure Website1.com Restaurants Order Online Great Deals from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/ orders Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/ orders Order food Food online Order pizza Bids Destination URLs Information Concerts Rock Concerts Account Campaigns Ad Groups Ads & Keywords
  63. 63. Account 63
  64. 64. Account •One Google account •Accessible / manageable by several accounts •Different access levels •Admin •Standard •Read Only •Email Only 64
  65. 65. Campaign (Settings) • Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function –Language –Network(s) –Geography –Daily budget –Device settings –Scheduling 65
  66. 66. LanguageTargeting 66 Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts ! ! Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs.American English) ! ! Ad text can produce different responses
  67. 67. 67 Geographical Targeting
  68. 68. Time of the Day / Day of the Week 68
  69. 69. Campaign Best Practices • Use a consistent naming convention –Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible E.g. AR-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Display • Separate search and content (display) 69
  70. 70. Ad Groups • Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers 70
  71. 71. Ad Group Best Practices • Keywords as closely related to each other as possible • Always test more than one ad • Make sure you have a good relevant landing page for each ad group 71
  72. 72. Keyword MatchTypes Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for ! Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans 72
  73. 73. Keyword MatchTypes ! Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries ! Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop 73
  74. 74. 74 ! Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have
  75. 75. Writing Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages
  76. 76. Ads Relevant to Keywords Each ad group should be focused on a topic ! Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords
  77. 77. Benefits Main point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about ! Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…
  78. 78. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation ! Examples: 65” screen, 12MP camera,ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…
  79. 79. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users ! Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…
  80. 80. AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary) Targeting Keywords Geography Language Keyword match type Time of day / Day of week Search / search partners Display Devices Demographics Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages Measurement Click through rate Cost per click Cost per conversion Impressions Clicks Conversions !
  81. 81. 81 ThankYou ! ! ! Elias Dabbas elias@media-supermarket.com ! slideshare.net/eliasdabbas

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