• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
dybye! 2010 Goals Journal   Preview
 

dybye! 2010 Goals Journal Preview

on

  • 1,567 views

THE tool to empower you to have your best year ever...one month at a time!...

THE tool to empower you to have your best year ever...one month at a time!

In the space provided within this goals journal you will be guided with formulas that will help you with:

* Designing Your Best YEAR Ever!
* Designing Your Best MONTH Ever!
* Designing Your Best WEEK Ever!
* Designing Your Best DAY Ever!

Statistics

Views

Total Views
1,567
Views on SlideShare
1,490
Embed Views
77

Actions

Likes
2
Downloads
68
Comments
0

3 Embeds 77

http://designingyourbestyearever.com 70
http://bbcseattle.com 6
http://www.linkedin.com 1

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    dybye! 2010 Goals Journal   Preview dybye! 2010 Goals Journal Preview Document Transcript

    • Designing Your Best Year Ever! ® 2010 Goals Journal A Journal for Setting Your Goals, In Each Area of Your Life, Every Month of the Year! NAME ___________________________________ IF FOUND PLEASE CONTACT ___________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________ ___________________________________
    • Designing Your Best Year Ever! ® 2010 Goals Journal © 2009 Edward Paz All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means whatsoever without expressed written permission from the author, except in the case of brief quotations embodied in critical articles and reviews. Please refer all pertinent questions to the author. Printed in the United States of America First Printing: December 2009 To Contact the Author Edward Paz E-Mail: edwardpaz@dybye.org or view Digital Business Card: www.edwardpaz.com Subscribe to the FREE dybye! Weekly Word of Encouragement at www.dybye.org
    • TABLE OF CONTENTS Introduction Letter 1 My Commitment 2 The Six Areas of Life 3 The “Seventh Area” of Life – Your Dream 5 Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! – How To 6 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! – How To 7 Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! – How To 12 Designing Your Best DAY Ever! – How To 13 Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop 14 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – January 2010 24 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – February 2010 42 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – March 2010 60 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – April 2010 80 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – May 2010 98 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – June 2010 116 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – July 2010 136 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – August 2010 154 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – September 2010 172 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – October 2010 192 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – November 2010 210 Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop – December 2010 228 Dedication 247
    • Introduction Letter Dear Goal-Setter, This upcoming year is going to be your best year ever! I know this to be true because you are holding, in your hands, a simple, easy-to-use tool that will support you in: • Setting personal goals • Developing healthy habits in each area of your life • Tracking progress • Reflecting on accomplishments • Managing projects, tasks, and other “things to do” No longer do you have to struggle with balancing your many ambitions and responsibilities. The Designing Your Best Year Ever! 2010 Goals Journal is designed to provide the space where you can manage all your life’s goals in one place! But just like anything else in life, this tool will only have value to you if you use it! Just owning this goals journal will not make this upcoming year more enjoyable and productive. It is the consistent use of it that will produce the best results. Here are the first 3 steps you should take to start getting the most use out of this journal: Step #1 – Read and Sign the “My Commitment” page. Step #2 – Read and familiarize yourself with “The Six Areas of Life.” Step #3 – Read each of the “How To” sections. After completing these first three steps, you will have a strong understanding of how this journal is to be used. Just remember, it is the consistent use of this journal month in and month out that will yield the best results! As long as you remain committed to the goal-setting process, this will be your best year ever! Sincerely, Edward Paz Founder/Executive Director Designing Your Best Year Ever! (dybye!) Non-Profit Organization Let’s Stay Connected! E-Mail – edwardpaz@dybye.org Website – www.dybye.org Blog – www.inspireyourdream.com Facebook – www.facebook.com/edwardpaz Twitter - www.twitter.com/edwardpaz 1
    • My Commitment Commitment is what transforms a promise into reality. Abraham Lincoln Thoroughly read the following commitments necessary for designing and experiencing your best year ever, and when you are ready to do so, sign and date below. I, ______________________________________ am committed to making this upcoming year my best year ever! I, ______________________________________ am committed to living a life that is well- designed as opposed to un-designed. I, ______________________________________ am committed to using this Designing Your Best Year Ever! 2010 Goals Journal each month of this upcoming year. I, ______________________________________ am committed to reaching out to the Designing Your Best Year Ever! community for help and support when I need it. Signature: __________________________________ Date: ___________________________ With your commitment made, let me now briefly introduce you to the areas of life that you will need to set goals in, so that you can truly have your best year ever… 2
    • The Six Areas of Life Just as your car runs more smoothly and requires less energy to go faster and farther when the wheels are in perfect alignment, you perform better when your thoughts, feelings, emotions, goals and values are in balance. Brian Tracy The process of designing and experiencing your best year ever, emphasizes setting specific and measurable goals in every area of your life. Could you really be satisfied with the progress you were making with your career, if your ethics, family, health, personal finances or social life were not also experiencing similar progress? With the importance of life balance in mind, this journal is designed to provide the space where you can set goals that will help you to develop healthy habits and disciplines in every area of your life, every month of the year! Below you will find suggested monthly goals that you can set for yourself within the Designing Your Best Month Ever! Goal-Setting Workshops found in this goals journal. 1. Spiritual & Ethical Unless we stand for something we shall fall for anything. Peter Marshall • I spend time in prayer or meditation 16 times. • I uphold my ethics and integrity 20 times. • I write in my prayer journal 24 times. • I invest 30 minutes a day “investigating” faith 12 times. 2. Family & Home The strength of a nation derives from the integrity of the home. Confucius • I invest 1 hour cleaning out the garage 4 times. • I prepare a home-cooked meal and eat dinner with my family 12 times. • I have 30 minutes of “quality time” with a family member 12 times. • I encourage or express appreciation for a family member 16 times. 3. Physical & Health The first wealth is health. Ralph Waldo Emerson • I do 30 minutes of cardiovascular activity 20 times. • I eat 4-5 small meals a day 16 times. • I do 3 sets of push-ups and crunches 24 times. • I track my calorie intake 30 times. 3
    • The Six Areas of Life Wisdom is your perspective on life, your sense of balance, your understanding of how the various parts and principles apply and relate to each other. Stephen Covey 4. Financial & Career If you are faithful in little things, you will be faithful in large ones. But if you are dishonest in little things, you won’t be honest with greater responsibilities. St. Luke • I go the “extra mile” on my job 12 times. • I track my daily expenses 31 times. • I invest 2 hours looking for a new job 10 times. • I deposit $20 into my savings account 8 times. 5. Mental & Educational If I had six hours to chop down a tree, I would spend four hours sharpening my axe. Abraham Lincoln • I read 10 pages of “xyz” book 20 times. • I listen to “xyz” audio book/podcast 16 times. • I write my “To-Do” List in the Designing Your Best DAY Ever! pages of this journal 15 times. • I update my monthly “Daily Discipline Scorecard” 12 times. 6. Social & Cultural Teach this triple truth to all: A generous heart, kind speech, and a life of service and compassion are the things which renew humanity. Buddha • I invest 30 minutes a day developing my friendship with “xyz friend” 12 times. • I help someone in need 16 times. • I encourage a friend 20 times. • I invest 1 hour a day studying my culture and family background 10 times. Now that you have a better understanding of the types of monthly goals that you can set within each area of your life, it is also vitally important that you are aware of a “special” seventh area of life that very few individuals ever even give a second thought… 4
    • The “Seventh Area” of Life – Your Dream The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. Eleanor Roosevelt Whether you are aware of it yet or not, within you there is a dream! You have a dream to become, build, or be a part of something great in your lifetime. Your dream is the manifestation of your specific purpose in this world, and until you find yourself pursuing this dream, great levels of joy and fulfillment will escape you! Your dream is to make a difference! I don’t know in which arena the fulfillment of your dream lies, but it could be to make a difference/contribution in: • Politics/Government • Wildlife • Music • Fashion • Computers/Technology • Agriculture • Education • Sports • Art • Religion • Media (TV, Radio, Internet, etc.) • Third-World Countries • Science • Medicine • Law • Literature The truth is…the world needs your dream! There is a unique contribution to society that you were specifically created to make and if you don’t make it, no one else will! But similar to the goals that you have in the other areas of your life, your dream will only come to pass as you develop the habits that move you in its direction. The following are some examples of monthly goals you can set for yourself, within the pages of this journal, to ensure that you are making consistent progress towards your dream: • I invest 30 minutes writing down ideas for my dream 20 times. • I work on my dream for 1 hour 16 times. • I invest 1 hour researching ideas for my dream on the internet 15 times. • I invest 1 hour working on the business plan for my dream 12 times. • I read 10 pages in a book that is related to my dream 25 times. Regardless of how grandiose your dream may be, I am confident that it will come to pass as you focus on the daily disciplines month in and month out! As the old saying goes, “The only way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time!” If one advances confidently in the direction of one’s dreams, and endeavors to live the life which one has imagined, one will meet with a success unexpected in common hours. Henry David Thoreau 5
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! – How To You can either make a living or design a life. Jim Rohn Before setting your goals for the month of January, it is recommended that you invest a couple of hours working through the Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop found on page 14 of this goals journal. This workshop will not only provide the space where you can reflect on your accomplishments from the past year, but it will also help you to determine one “focus goal” in each of the major areas of your life for 2010. The Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop has four parts which I will briefly describe here: Part One: Accomplishments In Part One of the workshop, take the time to first reflect on 2009 and its many blessings. In each area of life, write out as many “accomplishments” and experiences that you are grateful for from the past year. This exercise will not only help you to remember all the good from 2009, but it will also encourage you to reach even higher in 2010! Part Two: 2010 Goals Part Two of the workshop is where your goal-setting for 2010 begins! Simply ask yourself, “What do I want?” and write out your answers for each of the areas of life listed. There is room to write out up to eight goals for each area of life so make sure to write out whatever comes to mind! Part Three: 2010 Primary Goals Next it is critical that you choose two primary goals from each of the seven areas of life that are more important to you than the rest. Look at your list of goals within each area of life and ask yourself, “What do I REALLY want?” The goals that “jump out” to you after asking yourself this question should most likely be your 2010 Primary Goals. Part Four: 2010 Focus Goals The final step of the Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop is to choose one “Focus Goal” from each area of your life from the primary goals you just listed. Your “Focus Goals” are the goals that you are absolutely committed to seeing to completion in 2010. After choosing a “Focus Goal” from each area of life, write the date when it is to be completed, why the completion of the goal is important to you and two sacrifices you will make this upcoming year to ensure that nothing stands in the way of it coming to pass! Upon the completion of this workshop, you will be among the 5% of individuals who have clearly defined goals for the upcoming year! The next pages will describe a process that you can use to be among the less than 1% of individuals who consistently set goals throughout the year… 6
    • Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! – How To In my experience motivation has only been sustained by an individual who has written life goals with deadlines and measurements, all put together in a parcel an individual believes in. Peter Daniels The Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshops in this journal are designed to provide the space where you can “praise your progress” and set goals that will help you do develop the habits that will move you in the direction of your Primary Goals for 2010. The brief instructions for this five-part workshop are as follows: Part One: Accomplishments Each month, first reflect on your accomplishments and blessings from the previous month. This exercise will provide the space where you can appreciate your progress and express gratitude for the positive things in your life. It will also encourage you to keep moving forward! Part Two: Monthly Goals Next, write out a habit, in each area of life, that you will focus on developing that will move you in the direction of your yearly goals for 2010. Be sure that your habit is specific and measurable! Examples of monthly goals can be found on pages 3-5. Part Three: Daily Disciplines After determining your monthly goals, write a “Today I” phrase for the habit you are focusing on that month. Then, place an abbreviated form of the habit in your daily discipline scorecard so that you can track your progress throughout the month. Part Four: Sacrifices With your daily disciplines clearly established, it is important to next write out 2–3 sacrifices you will make throughout the month. Sacrifice those things that would distract you from completing the daily disciplines you are setting out to accomplish. Part Five: Other Projects/Things to Do In this final part of the workshop, simply write out any other projects, goals, appointments and things to do that must be accomplished during the month. Be sure to also write in the corresponding due date for each item listed! Before introducing you to the process of Designing Your Best WEEK Ever!, over the next several pages you will find an example Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop. The example given is intended to provide for you an idea of what a completed workshop can look like. 7
    • ACCOMPLISHMENTS - Examples List your accomplishments, from the previous month, which you are proud of & are grateful for: Spiritual & Ethical 1. Went to church 2 times. 3. Prayed for my son consistently. 2. Was less stressed out this month. 4. Made effort to quit cursing. Physical & Health 1. Ate less fast food. 3. Ran for 30 minutes 8 times. 2. Went to the gym 8 times. 4. Made the decision to quit smoking. Family & Home 1. Spent quality time with daughter. 3. Made progress with cleaning spare bedroom. 2. Ate dinner with the family 10 times. 4. Began making plans for family vacation. Mental & Educational 1. Listened to audio books instead of radio. 3. Watched “Planet Earth.” 2. Started taking class at community college. 4. Finished reading 2 books. Financial & Career 1. Saved $90. 3. Started bringing lunch to work. 2. Tracked daily expenses 20 times. 4. Opened a new savings account. Social & Cultural 1. Went to a Warriors game. 3. Spent quality time with best friend. 2. Volunteered at a homeless shelter. 4. Went to a Jazz festival. MY DREAM 1. Began dreaming again. 3. Told my brother about my dream. 2. Read a book about my dream. 4. Wrote a list of “dream ideas.” 8
    • MONTHLY GOALS - Examples List one habit, within each area of life, which you will focus on developing this month: Spiritual & Ethical: By September 1, I… spend time in prayer 16 times. Physical & Health: By September 1, I… do 30 minutes of cardiovascular activity 20 times. Family & Home: By September 1, I…have “quality conversation” with my son 12 times. Mental & Educational: By September 1, I… read 10 pages of “xyz” book 25 times. Financial & Career: By September 1, I…track my daily expenses 20 times. Social & Cultural: By September 1, I… help someone in need 10 times. MY DREAM: By September 1, I… invest 30 minutes thinking about my dream 12 times. DAILY DISCIPLINES - Examples Write your monthly goal as a “Today I” affirmation: Spiritual & Ethical: Today I… pray. Physical & Health: Today I… do 30 minutes of cardiovascular activity. Family & Home: Today I… have “quality conversation” with my son. Mental & Educational: Today I… read 10 pages of “xyz” book. Financial & Career: Today I… track my daily expenses. Social & Cultural: Today I… help someone in need. MY DREAM: Today I… think about my dream for 30 minutes. 9
    • DAILY DISCIPLINE SCORECARD - Example Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day. Jim Rohn DAY OF THE MONTH 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 SPIRITUAL & ETHICAL PRAY 16X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X PHYSICAL & HEALTH CARDIO 20X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X FAMILY & HOME TALK TO SON 12X X X X X X X X X X X X X MENTAL & EDUCATIONAL RD 10 PGS. 25X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X FINANCIAL & CAREER TRACK EXP. 20X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X SOCIAL & CULTURAL HELP OTHERS 10X X X X X X X X X X X MY DREAM DREAM 12X X X X X X X X X X X X X X Instructions: 1. Under each area of life fill in a daily discipline you will commit to for the month. 2. When the daily discipline is complete mark an “X” in the box that coincides with the day of the month in which it was completed. Habit is a cable; we weave a thread of it each day and at last we cannot break it. Horace Man
    • SACRIFICES - Examples List the sacrifices you will make, to ensure that nothing stands in the way of accomplishing your primary goals. 1. I do not turn on the computer at work until I have spent time in prayer. 2. I do not start watching TV until I have had a quality conversation with my son. 3. I do not get into bed until I have written down my expenses.. 4. I turn off my cell phone until I’ve thought about my dream for 30 minutes. OTHER PROJECTS/THINGS TO DO - Examples ITEM DUE DATE 1. Get oil changed October 3 2. Schedule eye exam October 17 3. Set up meeting with “Johnny’s” teacher. October 29 4. Buy Dad’s Birthday Gift October 12 5. Clean out garage October 12 6. Buy new running shoes. October 31 7. Write Thank-You Note to “Sally” for the birthday gift she bought me October 10 11
    • Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! – How To The key is not to prioritize what’s on your schedule, but to schedule your priorities. Stephen Covey The process of Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! has three simple steps and should be completed either on the Saturday or Sunday evening prior to the week you are preparing for. Step One: Schedule when you intend to do your daily disciplines. Because your daily disciplines will lead to the attainment of your goals for the month, actually doing them should be a high priority! And like Stephen Covey says, you must, “schedule your priorities.” Using the weekly time grid, write in when you will accomplish your disciplines throughout the week. Step Two: Schedule your other appointments, events and things to do. After your daily disciplines have been scheduled, next write in the appointments, events, meetings and other things that need to be attended to during the upcoming week. Completing this step will give you accurate picture of how “busy” your week is going to be, and it will also allow you to see where you will have time for rest and relaxation! Step Three: Schedule your rest and relaxation! It is critical that, during your week, there are scheduled times when you are to do absolutely nothing! To perform at optimum levels throughout the week, our bodies and minds need to be well rested. In our busy, fast-paced society, it is likely that if you do not have scheduled times during the day to rest, it will not happen; therefore, scheduling in these times is a necessity! The following is an example of what a Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! time grid could look like: TIME SUN – 11 MON – 12 TUE – 13 WED – 14 THU – 15 FRI – 16 SAT – 17 12 LUNCH LUNCH LUNCH LUNCH LUNCH REST 1pm REST WORK WORK WORK WORK WORK REST 2 REST WORK WORK WORK WORK WORK CARDIO 3 REST WORK WORK WORK WORK WORK 4 REST WORK WORK WORK WORK WORK DOCTOR 5 WORK WORK WORK WORK APPT. 6 Q.T. REST CARDIO CARDIO REST CARDIO 7 W/ SON REST Q.T. W/ SON Q.T. 8 DINNER DINNER DINNER W/ SON 9 PLAN WK. READ READ READ READ 10 PRAY PRAY PRAY PRAY PRAY PRAY PRAY With a clearer understanding of the process of Designing Your Best WEEK Ever!, the next page will give you an example of how to best utilize the Designing Your Best DAY Ever! pages within this goals journal… 12
    • Designing Your Best DAY Ever! – How To You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. Abraham Lincoln The Designing Your Best DAY Ever! pages are specifically intended to provide the space where you can, on a daily basis, write out a list of the six most important tasks (not including your daily disciplines) that must be completed that day. To take the most advantage of the Designing Your Best DAY Ever! pages, the following steps are recommended: Step One: In the order of their importance, write out six tasks that you must complete that day. I understand that it is very likely that in a given day you have much more than six “things to do,” but this particular space is for the six most important! Step Two: Work on your top priority task first, and, when completed, move to your next task. Keep your F.O.C.U.S - Finish One Challenge Until Successful! As tempting as it may be to “multi- task,” see your “thing to do” to completion before moving on to the next item on your list. Step Three: Move the tasks that you do not complete that day to the next day’s list and repeat process! It’s OK if each day you do not complete every task that you set out to do! Just make sure you keep writing the tasks down onto the next day’s list until they are completed! Do not let the simplicity of this method for getting things done fool you! As obvious of an approach as it may be, I have found it to be a very effective method for remembering and completing the duties of the day in the order of their importance. For example: Monday, October 5 1. Pay Capital One credit card bill online 2. Call Mom and remind her about party on Saturday 3. Put air in tires. 4. Return books to library. 5. Buy milk and cheese. 6. Schedule eye exam. Never underestimate the power of making a list and working through that list by the order of the tasks’ importance one by one! There is no doubt that as you complete each of your various tasks in this way, you will truly experience some of your best, most productive days ever! 13
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! ® Goal-Setting Workshop The reason why most people face the future with apprehension instead of anticipation is because they don't have it well designed. Jim Rohn 14
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part One: 2009 Accomplishments Spiritual & Ethical – What positive character traits did you develop? ; How did you get involved in your church/place of worship? ; How did you “live out” your spirituality? ; What “spiritual material” did you read/listen to? ; What spiritual disciplines did you develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Physical & Health – What eating/exercise habits did you develop? ; What eating/exercise programs did you begin and/or complete? ; What medical/dental/vision stuff did you take care of? ; What health disciplines did you develop? ; What sports or athletic events did you participate in? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Family & Home - What family relationships did you develop? ; What home projects did you complete? ; How did you contribute to your household? ; What experiences did you have with your family? ; What home disciplines did you develop? ; What birthdays/anniversaries did you celebrate? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Mental & Educational - What audiobooks/podcasts did you listen to? ; What classes did you complete? ; What books did you read? ; What workshops, seminars or conferences did you attend? ; What mental/educational habits did you develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ 15
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part One: 2009 Accomplishments Financial & Career - How much money did you save, earn, invest or give to charity? ; What financial lessons did you learn? ; What progress on your job are you most proud of? ; What debt did you pay down? ; What financial disciplines/habits did you develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Social & Cultural - What friendships did you develop? ; What extracurricular activities/clubs did you participate in? ; Who did you serve/volunteer for? ; How did you learn about your culture? ; What plays, concerts, sporting events, etc. did you attend? ; What social disciplines did you develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ MY DREAM - What specific progress did you make towards your dream? ; Who did you get involved with your dream? ; What resources did you acquire to further your dream? ; What habits did you develop to make your dream a reality? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ 16
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part Two: 2010 Goals Spiritual & Ethical – What positive character traits do I want to develop? ; How do I want to get involved in my church/place of worship? ; How do I want to “live out” my spirituality? ; What “spiritual material” do I want to read/listen to? ; What spiritual disciplines do I want to develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Physical & Health - What ideal weight do I want to get to? ; What eating/exercise habits do I want to develop? ; What eating/exercise programs would I like to begin and complete? ; What medical/dental/vision stuff do I want to take care of? ; What health disciplines do I want to develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Family & Home - What family relationships do I want to develop? ; What home projects do I want to complete? ; How do I want to make a deeper contribution in my household? ; What experiences do I want to have with my family? ; What home disciplines do I want to develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Mental & Educational – How do I want to expand my mind? ; What books do I want to read? ; Which seminars, workshops or conferences do I want to attend? ; What mental/educational habits do I want to develop? ; What classes do I want to take? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ 17
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part Two: 2010 Goals Financial & Career - How much money do I want to save, earn, invest or give to charity? ; What levels do I want to achieve on my job/business? ; What skills do I want to improve upon to further my career? ; Who do I want to give to philanthropically? ; What financial disciplines/habits do I want to develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ Social & Cultural - What friendships do I want to develop? ; What extracurricular activities do I want to take part in? ; Who do I want to serve/volunteer for? ; How do I want to learn about my culture? ; What plays, concerts, sporting events, restaurants, etc. do I want to experience? ; What social disciplines do I want to develop? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ MY DREAM - What specific progress do I want to make towards my dream? ; Who do I want to get involved with my dream? ; What resources do I want to acquire to support my dream? ; Who do I want to share my dream with? ; What habits do I want to develop that will make my dream a reality? 1. _____________________________ 5. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 6. _____________________________ 3. _____________________________ 7. _____________________________ 4. _____________________________ 8. _____________________________ 18
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part Three: 2010 Primary Goals Spiritual & Ethical 1. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ Physical & Health 1. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ Family & Home 1. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ Mental & Educational 1. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ Financial & Career 1. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ Social & Cultural 1. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ MY DREAM 1. _____________________________ 2. _____________________________ 19
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part Four: 2010 Focus Goals My Focus Goal for the Spiritual & Ethical area of my life is… By ______________________ I … ____________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ This goal is important to me because… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 2 Sacrifices I will make to ensure this goal becomes a reality… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ My Focus Goal for the Physical & Health area of my life is… By ______________________ I … ____________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ This goal is important to me because… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 2 Sacrifices I will make to ensure this goal becomes a reality… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 20
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part Four: 2010 Focus Goals My Focus Goal for the Family & Home area of my life is… 1. By ______________________ I …___________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ This goal is important to me because… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 2 Sacrifices I will make to ensure this goal becomes a reality… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ My Focus Goal for the Mental & Educational area of my life is… By ______________________ I … ____________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ This goal is important to me because… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 2 Sacrifices I will make to ensure this goal becomes a reality… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 21
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part Four: 2010 Focus Goals My Focus Goal for the Financial & Career area of my life is… By ______________________ I … ____________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ This goal is important to me because… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 2 Sacrifices I will make to ensure this goal becomes a reality… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ My Focus Goal for the Social & Cultural area of my life is… 1. By ______________________ I … __________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ This goal is important to me because… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 2 Sacrifices I will make to ensure this goal becomes a reality… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 22
    • Designing Your Best YEAR Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop Part Four: 2010 Focus Goals My Focus Goal for MY DREAM is… By ______________________ I … ____________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ This goal is important to me because… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 2 Sacrifices I will make to ensure this goal becomes a reality… _______________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________________ 23
    • Designing Your Best MONTH Ever! Goal-Setting Workshop JANUARY 2010 If you are not making the progress you would like to make and are capable of making, it is simply because your goals are not clearly defined. Paul J. Meyer 24
    • JANUARY 2010 Sun Mon Tue Wed _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 3 4 5 6 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 10 11 12 13 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 17 18 19 20 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 24/31 25 26 27 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________
    • JANUARY 2010 Thu Fri Sat Notes 1 2 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 7 8 9 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 14 15 16 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 21 22 23 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ 28 29 30 _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________ _____________________
    • _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ 27
    • ACCOMPLISHMENTS – December 2009 Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has plenty; not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some. Charles Dickens List your accomplishments, from the previous month, which you are proud of and can be grateful for: Spiritual & Ethical 1. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ Physical & Health 1. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ Family & Home 1. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ Mental & Educational 1. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ Financial & Career 1. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ Social & Cultural 1. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ MY DREAM 1. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all the others. Marcus Tullius Cicero 28
    • GOALS – January 2010 The plans of the diligent lead surely to advantage, but everyone who is hasty comes surely to poverty. King Solomon List one habit, within each area of life, which you will focus on developing this month: (For examples turn to pages 3-5) Spiritual & Ethical: By February 1, I… __________________________________________ Physical & Health: By February 1, I… __________________________________________ Family & Home: By February 1, I… __________________________________________ Mental & Educational: By February 1, I… __________________________________________ Financial & Career: By February 1, I… __________________________________________ Social & Cultural: By February 1, I… __________________________________________ MY DREAM: By February 1, I… __________________________________________ DAILY DISCIPLINES – January 2010 List the habit as a “Today I…” daily discipline affirmation: Spiritual & Ethical: Today I… __________________________________________ Physical & Health: Today I… __________________________________________ Family & Home: Today I… __________________________________________ Mental & Educational: Today I… __________________________________________ Financial & Career: Today I… __________________________________________ Social & Cultural: Today I… __________________________________________ MY DREAM: Today I… __________________________________________ You will never change your life until you change something you do daily. John C. Maxwell 29
    • DAILY DISCIPLINE SCORECARD – January 2010 Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day. Jim Rohn DAY OF THE MONTH 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 SPIRITUAL & ETHICAL PHYSICAL & HEALTH FAMILY & HOME MENTAL & EDUCATIONAL FINANCIAL & CAREER SOCIAL & CULTURAL MY DREAM Instructions: 1. Under each area of life fill in a daily discipline you will commit to for the month. 2. When the daily discipline is complete mark an “X” in the box that coincides with the day of the month in which it was completed. Habit is a cable; we weave a thread of it each day and at last we cannot break it. Horace Mann
    • SACRIFICES – January 2010 He who would accomplish little must sacrifice little; he who would achieve much must sacrifice much; he would attain highly must sacrifice greatly. James Allen List the sacrifices you will make to ensure that your goals remain your top priority this month. Examples: I do not eat fast food more than once a week. I do not watch T.V. until I… I do not play video games until I... I do not spend any money on… I do not surf the Internet until I… 1. ______________________________________________________________________________________ 2. ______________________________________________________________________________________ 3. ______________________________________________________________________________________ 4. ______________________________________________________________________________________ What proportion of my life am I prepared to give in exchange for accomplishing this desire? In other words, do my desires reflect just what I would like to have happen or what I am prepared to sacrifice to have happen? Peter J. Daniels OTHER PROJECTS/THINGS TO DO – January 2010 ITEM DUE DATE 1. __________________________________________________________ __________________ 2. __________________________________________________________ __________________ 3. __________________________________________________________ __________________ 4. __________________________________________________________ __________________ 5. __________________________________________________________ __________________ 6. __________________________________________________________ __________________ 7. __________________________________________________________ __________________ 31
    • _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________________________________________________ 32
    • Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! - January 3 – 9, 2010 My plan for when I will do what needs to get done this week… TIME SUN – 3 MON – 4 TUE – 5 WED – 6 THU – 7 FRI – 8 SAT – 9 6am 7 8 9 10 11 12 1pm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 The key is not to prioritize what’s on your schedule, but to schedule your priorities. Stephen Covey 33
    • Designing Your Best DAY Ever! - January 3 – 9, 2010 The 6 most important things I have to do today are… Sunday – January 3 Thursday – January 7 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ Monday – January 4 Friday – January 8 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ Tuesday – January 5 Saturday – January 9 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. __________________________ Wednesday – January 6 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ The secret of your success is found in your daily agenda. John C. Maxwell 34
    • Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! - January 10 – 16, 2010 My plan for when I will do what needs to get done this week… TIME SUN – 10 MON – 11 TUE – 12 WED – 13 THU – 14 FRI – 15 SAT – 16 6am 7 8 9 10 11 12 1pm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time, for that is the stuff life is made of. Benjamin Franklin 35
    • Designing Your Best DAY Ever! - January 10 – 16, 2010 The 6 most important things I have to do today are… Sunday – January 10 Thursday – January 14 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ Monday – January 11 Friday – January 15 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ Tuesday – January 12 Saturday – January 16 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. __________________________ Wednesday – January 13 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. Abraham Lincoln 36
    • Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! - January 17 – 23, 2010 My plan for when I will do what needs to get done this week… TIME SUN – 17 MON – 18 TUE – 19 WED – 20 THU – 21 FRI – 22 SAT – 23 6am 7 8 9 10 11 12 1pm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 We need a sense of the value of time – that is, of the best way to divide one’s time into one’s various activities. Arnold Bennett 37
    • Designing Your Best DAY Ever! - January 17 – 23, 2010 The six most important things I have to do today are... Sunday – January 17 Thursday – January 21 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ Monday – January 18 Friday – January 22 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ Tuesday – January 19 Saturday – January 23 1. ___________________________ 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ 6. __________________________ Wednesday – January 20 1. ___________________________ 2. ___________________________ 3. ___________________________ 4. ___________________________ 5. ___________________________ 6. ___________________________ One today is worth two tomorrows. Benjamin Franklin 38
    • Designing Your Best WEEK Ever! - January 24 – 30, 2010 My plan for when I will do what needs to get done this week… TIME SUN – 24 MON – 25 TUE – 26 WED – 27 THU – 28 FRI – 29 SAT – 30 6am 7 8 9 10 11 12 1pm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail. Benjamin Franklin 39
    • DEDICATION To Paul J. Meyer and Jim Rohn It is your goal-setting philosophies and methods that are found throughout the pages of this journal. It is because of your work, that my work is possible. Thank you for teaching me how to live a life of design through the use of the practical tool of effective goal-setting. I am committed to continuing the work that you began, and I will not rest until I have done all I can do to teach the world this skill of goal-setting that has so radically impacted my life. Thank You for inspiring my life’s purpose. I will miss you both dearly. Edward Paz