Classification of partially edentulous arches


Published on

Published in: Education
1 Comment
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Classification of partially edentulous arches

  1. 1. Presented by: Dr. Shady A. M. NegmBachelors Degree School of Dentistry, Pharos University. 1
  2. 2. The Kennedy method of classification is probably the most widely accepted classification of partially edentulous arches today. In an attempt to simplify the problem and encourage more universal use of a classification and in the interest of adequate communication, the Kennedy classification will be used in this textbook. The student can refer to the Selected Reading Resources section for information relative to other classifications. 2
  3. 3. 3
  4. 4. The classification of a partially edentulous arch should satisfy the following requirements:1) It should permit immediate visualization of the type of partially edentulous arch that is being considered.2) It should permit immediate differentiation between the tooth-supported and the tooth- and tissuesupported removable partial denture.3) It should be universally acceptable. 4
  5. 5. KENNEDY CLASSIFICATION• Kennedy divided all partially edentulous arches into four basic classes. Edentulous areas other than those determining the basic classes were designated as modification spaces.• The following is the Kennedy classification: 5
  6. 6. Class I: Bilateral edentulous areas located posterior to the natural teeth 6
  7. 7. Class II: A unilateral edentulous area located posterior to the remaining natural teeth 7
  8. 8. Class III: A unilateral edentulous area with natural teeth remaining both anterior and posterior to it 8
  9. 9. Class IV: A single, but bilateral (crossing the midline), edentulous area located anterior to the remaining natural teeth 9
  10. 10. 10
  11. 11. • Rule 1: Classification should follow rather than precede any extractions of teeth that might alter the original classification. 11
  12. 12. • Rule 2: If a third molar is missing and not to be replaced, it is not considered in the classification. 12
  13. 13. • Rule 3: If a third molar is present and is to be used as an abutment, it is considered in the classification. 13
  14. 14. • Rule 4: If a second molar is missing and is not to be replaced, it is not considered in the classification (e. g., if the opposing second molar is likewise missing and is not to be replaced). 14
  15. 15. • Rule 5: The most posterior edentulous area (or areas) always determines the classification. 15
  16. 16. • Rule 6: Edentulous areas other than those determining the classification are referred to as modifications and are designated by their number. 16
  17. 17. • Rule 7: The extent of the modification is not considered, only the number of additional edentulous areas. 17
  18. 18. • Rule 8: There can be no modification areas in Class IV arches. (Other edentulous areas lying posterior to the single bilateral areas crossing the midline would instead determine the classification; see Rule 5. ) 18
  19. 19. ReferencesMcCrackens Removable PartialProsthodontics 11th ed. -Carr,McGivney,Brown {Elsevier Mosby}. 19
  20. 20. 20