2011 baseball bulletin 2

  • 387 views
Uploaded on

 

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
387
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
2
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. BASEBALL BULLETIN II Rules, Revisions and InterpretationsMAY 2011 PIAA Statewide Rules Interpreter: Martin “Marty” T. Ondrovic Rule 6-2-4b Rule 6-2-4 b Throwing to an Unoccupied Base Stepping to a Base COMMENT: NFHS Rules provides that the The pitcher, while touching the rubber, must pitcher is charged with a balk if, while in step directly toward a base before throwing to contact with the pitcher’s plate, he throws tothat base. If a pitcher turns or spins off his non an unoccupied base except for the purpose -pivot foot without actually stepping, it is a of making a play. balk. In stepping to a base, the pitcher must lift his entire non-pivot foot off the ground SITUATION: Runners on first and second, and bring it down in a location different from pitcher in a set position. Runner breaks for where it started and toward the base. The en- third base and the pitcher throws to third tire non-pivot foot must move in a direction base. and distance to the base. This will constitute a step. The pitcher is not allowed to lift his RULING: Legal play. non-pivot foot up and bring it back down in the same spot where it started. SITUATION: Runners on first and second, pitcher in a set position. Runner “bluffs” Rule 8-4-2 q going to third base and the pitcher throws to third base. However, the runner did not go. On or Beyond a Succeeding Base COMMENT: While the ball is dead, no run- RULING: Balk. The key to understanding the ner may return to touch a missed base or above two plays is for the umpire to use one he has left too soon after he has ad- good judgment in deciding whether or not vanced to and touched a base beyond the the runner was making an “actual attempt” missed base. A runner may return to a to advance to third base or whether the run- missed base (or one he left too soon) during ner was “bluffing,” These plays will likely the time the ball is dead if he has not happen with a 3-2 count and two out. touched the next base. A runner may, of course, return to any missed base (or one he COMMENT: Another situation regarding has left too soon) while the ball is in play this rule concerns appeal plays. It is NOT a unless a following runner has scored. balk for the pitcher, while in contact with the rubber, to throw to an unoccupied base The next base or base beyond refers to the if it is for the purpose of making an ap- position of the runner at the time the ball peal play. (Note that a pitcher does not have went out of play. to step back off the rubber to make an ap- peal play.) PIAA Officials’ Anita L. Fox Debrah J. Rosenberger Cathy M. Good Staff: Chapters’ Secretary Officials’ Secretary Office Assistant PIAA Executive Bradley R. Cashman Dr. Robert A. Lombardi Melissa N. Mertz Mark E. Byers Staff: Executive Associate Executive Assistant Executive Assistant Executive Director Director Director Director
  • 2. Rule 8-4-2 ( On or Beyond a Succeeding Base (Cont’d) SITUATION: Batter hits a home run out of the RULING: It is permissible for the runner to ball park or a ground rule double and misses return to second base while the ball is dead. first base (ball is dead.) When the ball went out of play the runner originally on second base was past third RULING: The batter-runner may return to first (between third and home.) The runners next base to correct the mistake before touching base is therefore home. While the ball is dead, second, but if the batter-runner touches sec- the runner may return to second base and re- ond he may not return to first, and if the de- touch at any time prior to touching home fensive team appeals the batter-runner is de- plate. However, if the runner advances to and clared out at first. touches home plate while the ball is dead, the runner may not return and is subject to an ap- SITUATION: Batter hits the ball to the short- peal. stop who throws wild into the stands (ball is dead). The batter-runner misses first base, but SITUATION: Runner on first, and the play is a is awarded second base on the overthrow. hit and run. Batter hits a fly ball to left field that is caught. The runner touches second in RULING: Even though the umpire has advancing but misses second on the way back awarded the batter-runner second base on the to first. The throw back to first is wild and overthrow, the batter-runner must touch first goes into the stands. When the wild throw was base before touching second base. If the batter made the runner was between first and sec- -runner does not does not return to first base ond. before touching second, the batter-runner RULING: Runner is awarded third base. If the would be out on an appeal at first. runner reaches first and then second in ad- vancing to the awarded base, the runner’s fail- SITUATION: Runners on first and second, one ure to touch second base is corrected under out. Batter hits a deep fly ball that is caught the theory that touching the base the “last by F9. The runner on second was running time by” corrects any previous error. when the ball was hit, did not tag up, and pro- ceeded to touch and round third base. After SITUATION: Same situation as above with a the runner from second has rounded third runner on first, and the play is hit and run. In base, F9 throws behind the runner from first, this play the runner on first on the hit and run, who is returning to first base. F9’s throw is misses second on his way to third, and in re- wild and goes out of play. The umpire calls turning to first, misses second again. The run- “Time” and awards the runners, home and ner retouches first, and then touches second third. When the umpire calls “Time,” the run- on his award of third base. ner from second is between third and home, and the runner from first is between first and RULING: Even though the runner missed sec- second. At this point, the coach yells to the ond base twice, the runner has corrected his runner from second (who is between third and infractions under the theory that touching the home) to go back and tag up at second base. Is base the last time by corrects any previous this permissible, or is the runner considered a error. base beyond and the runner left too soon? 2011 BASEBALL BULLETIN IPage 2 RULES, REVISIONS AND INTERPRETATIONS
  • 3. 2011 BASEBALL BULLETIN II Page 3 RULES, REVISIONS AND INTERPRETATIONS Rule 1-5 Rule 7-3-5c Player Equipment (NEW) Batting InfractionsCatcher’s Pitch Card. A new item in baseball. Similar to a quarterback’s play selection that SITUATION: With none out and R2 on sec- he wears on his wrist. A catcher may wear ond, F1’s pitch on a 3-0 count to a right- such an item while participating. This is con- handed batter B1 is inside, B1 does not move sidered legal equipment. and the pitch does not hit him. R2 is attempt- ing to steal third as B1 takes ball four. B1 Rule 3-1-3; 3-1-4 does not move immediately to first base and Starting Player/Designated Hitter F2 has to move around him in his attempt to retire R2.SITUATION: DH is batting for the starting pitcher. Substitute pitcher enters the game, RULING: Legal play. There is no interfer- with the DH still batting for substitute pitcher. ence. Specific acts, which constitute interfer- Coach now wants to insert the original pitcher ence, are; batter leaning over the plate, step- to replace the designated hitter. Can this be ping out of the batters box, or any other done? movement or relocation of the batter thatRULING: Yes, but with some modifications. impedes the catcher. If the batter stands still Under Rule 3-1-3, the original pitcher is a immediately after a pitch, he is absolved starting player and may re-enter. By making from responsibility for whatever follows. this move, the team loses the DH. (3-1-4) (CB 7.3.5E)COMMENT: The team is now down to nine players in the lineup and two players, the sub- stitute pitcher and the original pitcher, are Rule 7-3-5d batting in the same batting position (one must Batter Interference be removed). Also, when removing either player, at that precise time, ONE loses his eli- SITUATION: With a runner on third and gibility to return. none out, runner on third attempts to score on a passed ball. Pitcher covers the plate as Rule 6-2-2 Exception catcher retrieves the ball. Batter who is still Pitcher, Number of Warm Ups standing in the batters box while watching the catcher retrieve the ball, is struck withSTARTER: Eight (8), one minute, (timed from the throw from the catcher, preventing the 1st throw). pitcher from making the play.STARTER: Five (5), one minute, between in- nings, (timed from third out of previous in- RULING: The batter had enough time to get ning). out of the way or clear himself from theRELIEF: Eight (8), during an inning or prior area; thus he interfered with the play by re- to an inning, (no time limit). maining in the box. Since there were less than two out, the runner is out for batter’sRELIEF: Five (5), beginning at a subsequent interference. inning, one minute, (timed from the third out of previous inning).COMMENT: In either case, the umpire-in- chief may authorize more throws because of an injury or inclement weather.
  • 4. Rule 2-21-1 Rule 8-1-1e Offensive Interference Catcher’s Obstruction SITUATION: When is a fielder in the act of SITUATION: With runners on first and third, fielding a batted ball? the suicide squeeze is on as both runners start advancing. F2 reaches out and touches RULING: A fielder is in the act of fielding a the bat. The batter turns to look at catcher in batted ball when: dismay and the pitcher halts his delivery. 1. the umpire judges the fielder is entitled to protection under the interference rule; RULING: Even though the contact occurred 2. when the fielder is moving to play a bat- before the pitcher released the ball, ted ball; catcher’s obstruction is called. Batter is 3. when actually fielding the ball; awarded first base and each runner is 4. when rising up from fielding the batted awarded one base. ball; 5. while throwing the ball and while com- pleting the follow through from throw- Rule 8-2-6 ing the ball after the ball is released. Appeals NOTE: Only one fielder at a time can be con- SITUATION: The batter hits a ground ball to sidered as in the act of fielding a batted ball. F4, who bobbles the ball momentarily. Batter misses first base entirely and continues down the right field line. F4’s throw is in the dirt Rule 2-22-2 and F3 misses the ball, finally retrieving it and appealing to the first base umpire in voice Fake Tag stepping on first base before the batter returns to touch first. SITUATION: R1 on first base when B1 hits safely to right field. As R1 nears second base, RULING: If F3’s actions clearly indicate he is F4 simulates fielding a ground ball causing appealing the batter missing first base, the R1 to slide. While the ball is still in the out- batter is ruled out. If F3 doesn’t clearly indi- field, R1 gets up and tries to advance to third. cate an appeal (voice or manner,) then no R1 is thrown out on a close play. The offen- call should be made and the batter remains a sive coach argues that F4 committed obstruc- live runner. There are no accidental appeals tion on R1 by faking a tag and that R1 should granted. (CB 8.2.6E, F) be awarded third base. RULING: A fielder who simulates fielding a ground ball is not considered making a fake tag on a runner. Therefore, the play stands and R1 is out. 2011 BASEBALL BULLETIN IIPage 4 RULES, REVISIONS AND INTERPRETATIONS
  • 5. 2011 BASEBALL BULLETIN II RULES, REVISIONS AND INTERPRETATIONS Page 5 QUIZ SELECT BEST ANSWER1. With a runner on first, the batter hits a 3. A wild pitch deflects off the catcher and is ground ball to the second baseman. The rolling toward the dugout. It is apparent second baseman throws wildly on the first that the ball will go into the dugout. The throw to the shortstop in an attempt to turn catcher dives and touches the ball but can- a double play. The throw goes down the not stop it going into the dugout. Place the left field line and comes to rest by the tarp runner that was on first base. that is in foul territory on the third base a. One base from the time of the pitch side. As the left fielder attempts to pick up b. Two bases from the time of the pitch. the throw he inadvertently knocks the ball c. One base from the time of the touch behind the tarp out of play. When the ball as the catcher dives for the ball. st was deflected, the runner from 1 was past d. Two bases from the time of the touch second base and the batter-runner was past as the catcher dives for the ball. first. a. Since this was the first play by an 4. No outs, 3-0 count on the batter, R1 is infielder, and since both runners ad- stealing on the pitch. On the pitch the bat- vanced one base, the award is two ter checks his swing and the plate umpire bases from the time of the infielder’s rules a ball, no swing. The batter-runner throw. R1 is awarded home, batter- takes off for first base and in so doing in- runner third. terferes (out of the batter’s box) with the b. Since the ball was at rest when the catcher’s throw to second base to retire the left fielder attempted to pick up the runner. The runner is safe at second. On ball, the fielder applied a new appeal of the check swing, the base umpire “force” to the ball, therefore, the rules that the batter swung at the pitch. award is two bases from the time of infraction. a. Batter’s interference, batter is out, c. Place runners where, in the judgment runner returns to first. of the umpire, they would have been b. Batter’s interference, the runner is if the ball had not been deflected out out; batter stays at bat with a 3-1 of play. count. c. No interference as it was ball four2. Runner on first base, a ground ball to the when the batter crossed in front of the second baseman. The batted ball lodges catcher, batter returns with a 3-1 inside the second baseman’s uniform. It count, runner remains at second. was apparent there would be a double play. d. No interference as it was ball four a. Dead ball, double play. when the batter crossed in front of the st b. Dead ball, runner from 1 is out, bat- catcher, batter returns with a 3-1 ter-runner awarded first. count and the runner returns to first c. Dead ball, batter-runner is out, run- base. ner remains at first. d. Dead ball, batter-runner awarded second base, runner on first awarded 3rd base.
  • 6. QUIZ (cont’d) 5. With one out, the batter hits a hard ground 2. He can take the penalty, (batter ball that deflects off the pitcher toward the awarded first base, runner on first second baseman. The runner on first, who is to second because of being forced, running to second base, unintentionally col- the runner on third returns to third lides with the second baseman who is in the because he was not attempting to “act of fielding the batted ball” that deflected steal on the play.) off the pitcher. d. Call time when the shortstop catches the a. No interference as the ball has been ball; award all runners one base and the touched by the pitcher, ball is alive and batter first base for catcher’s obstruction. in play. b. Interference, the runner from first is out 7. Runners on first and second base, no outs. A and the batter-runner is awarded first low line drive to the third baseman is trapped, base. no catch. The third baseman runs the runner c. Interference, the runner from first is out from second back to second and the runner and the batter-runner is out because it is from first is standing on second base. The bat- a double play situation. ter-runner is safe at first. The third baseman d. Obstruction as the ball was deflected by tags both runners standing on second base. the pitcher and the second baseman has a. The following runner is always out in this to avoid the runner. Award the runner situation; call out the runner originally on second base and the batter-runner first first base. base. b. The lead runner was forced to leave sec- ond base; the original runner on second is 6. With runners on first and third base, the out. catcher obstructs the batter’s swing. The bat- c. Double play, both runners are out. ter hits a line drive to the shortstop that is caught. The shortstop, trying to double up the 8. One out, runner on first is stealing on the pitch. runner at first base throws the ball into the The batter hits a low line drive that the right stands. fielder catches. R1 who was stealing stops on a. Call time when the shortstop catches second base, as the right fielder in his effort to the line drive as the batter cannot ad- double R1 up at first base, his throw ends up in vance. Award the batter first base, the the dugout out of play. runner on first to second base and the a. R1 is awarded home; two bases from the runner on third base stays at third. time the throw was released. b. Call time as soon as the throw goes out b. R1 is awarded home because he cannot of play and award the runners on the return to touch first base as he is a base overthrow, runner on third scores, run- beyond the base that he failed to retouch. ner on first to third base and the batter- c. R1 is awarded third base if he returns and runner is awarded first base on retouches first base catcher’s obstruction. d. R1 is awarded home and if he attempts to c. Call time after no further play is possi- retouch first he will be awarded third, his ble. Inform the coach of his options. retouch of first will not be legal as he 1. He can take the result of the play, touched a base beyond his original base (batter is out, runner on third while the ball is dead. scores, runner on first to third.) 2011 BASEBALL BULLETIN IIPage 6 RULES, REVISIONS AND INTERPRETATIONS
  • 7. 2011 BASEBALL BULLETIN II RULES, REVISIONS AND INTERPRETATIONS Page 7 QUIZ (cont’d)9. R1 is stealing on the pitch. The catcher’s throw short hops the second baseman and goes into the second baseman’s jersey. The runner was obviously safe, but thinking that the ball got away, R1 breaks for third. The second baseman pulls the ball out of his jersey and throws to third and R1 is tagged out. a. Time is called; R1 goes back to second base. b. R1 is awarded third base. Ball out of play, two bases from time of catcher’s throw. c. R1 is awarded home. Ball is considered lodged, two bases from the point of infraction. d. R1 returns to first base, pitch counts.10. Runner on second, ball four to the batter. As the batter starts for first base, catcher throws back to pitcher, hits batter in the head and the ball deflects toward the backstop and remains in play. No intent on the batter to interfere, instead the emphasis put on the catcher’s errone- ous throw. a. Batter-runner out for interference; runner back to second base b. Play stands. c. Runner returns to second base, batter awarded first base. d. Runner from second is out for batter interference. QUIZ ANSWERS 1. B (8-3-3c; 8-3-5; CB: 8.3.3D; 8.3.3J) 2. D (5-1-1f #5; 8-3-3c; CB: 5.2.1B) 3. A (5-1-1g #3; 8-3-3d; 8-3-5b; CB: 8.3.3K) 4. A (5-1-2a; 7-3-5; CB: 7.3.5A thru D) 5. B (5-1-1f; 8-4-2k; Bulletin/Situation #4) 6. C (5-1-2b; 8-1-1e; 8-3-1c; CB: 8.1.1H thru P) 7. B (8-3-1b; 8-4-2j; CB: 8.4.2W) 8. C (8-3-3c; 8-3-5; CB: 8.2.1A and C; 8.2.6C; 8.3.5A) 9. B (5-1-1f; 8-3-3c; 8-3-5; CB: 5.1.1R and S) 10. B (No rule reference, No infraction)
  • 8. During the 2011 baseball Regular Season and Postseason, a disqualified baseball player, coach, and/or Team personnelshall not be permitted to participate for the remainder of the day and in all Contests on the next Contest day ofthe same level (varsity, junior varsity, or otherwise) of competition from which the player, coach, and/orTeam personnel was previously disqualified. For a coach, participation in the next Contest includes any contact bythe coach with members of the Team, including other coaches, between the time that the Team arrives at the Contestsite and the conclusion of the last Contest of the day, The Principal shall direct the coach not to attend all of the Contest(s), in accordance with ARTICLE XIII, Section 8, of the PIAA By-Laws; and NFHS Baseball Rules 1-5-1, 1-5-1 Pen, 1-5-9,10, 2-27-1, 3-1-1 Pen, 3-3-1g, 3-3-2, 4-4-1e, 6-2-1 Pen, 6-2-2, 6-2-3 Pen, 7-4-1h, 10-3-1, and/or 10-2-3c. The umpiremust complete and file this form, as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours following the completion of the Contestin which the disqualification took place by forwarding it to the above address.