Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
1 revised blooms taxanomy
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

1 revised blooms taxanomy


Published on

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

No notes for slide
  • HISTORY – The Original Bloom’s Taxonomy
    Taxonomy of Cognitive Objectives: Handbook I, The Cognitive Domain
    1950s - developed by Benjamin Bloom and fellow university examiners (about 50 people)
    The name “Bloom’s Taxonomy” came from the senior editor -- being Benjamin Bloom
    Means of expressing qualitatively different kinds of intellectual skills and abilities
    Was adapted for classroom use as a planning tool
    Provides a way to organize thinking skills into six levels, from the most basic to the more complex levels of thinking
    Was hypothesized to be a cumulative hierarchy; that is, each lower level was believed necessary to move to the next level
  • Changes were based on 50+ years of history of using original Taxonomy and research on learning conducted by cognitive psychologists
    There are eight authors of the revised Taxonomy; the two editors were Lorin Anderson and David Krathwohl (who was one of the editors of the original Taxonomy)
    The names of six major categories were changed from noun to verb forms.
    The word knowledge was inappropriate to describe a category of thinking and was replaced with the word remember instead.
    Comprehension and synthesis were retitled to understand and create respectively, in order to better reflect the nature of the thinking defined in each category.
    Create was moved to the highest, that is, most complex, category
    The revised Taxonomy is not a cumulative hierachy
  • There are four types of knowledge.
  • Explain the knowledge dimensions
  • Transcript

    • 1. Revised Blooms Taxanomy
    • 2. Domains of Learning Courtesy:
    • 3. Blooms Taxonomy Original Bloom’s Taxonomy 3
    • 4. Revised Bloom’s Taxonomy (Cognitive dimension) 4 Blooms Taxonomy
    • 5.  retrieve relevant knowledge fromlong termmemory • Recognizing • Recalling Can you recall the name of a particularobject? 5 Blooms Taxonomy
    • 6.  Construct meaning from instructional messages, including oral, written and graphic communication. • Exemplifying • Interpreting • Classifying • Summarizing • Inferring • Comparing • Explaining 6 Can you represent verbal information visually (interpreting)? Blooms Taxonomy
    • 7.   Carry out oruse a procedure in a given situation. • Executing • Implementing 7 Can you use information in another situation? Blooms Taxonomy
    • 8.  Breakmaterial into its constituent parts and determine how the parts relate to one anotherand to an overall structure orpurpose. • Differentiating • Organizing • Attributing 8 Can you break information into parts to explore relationships? Blooms Taxonomy
    • 9.  make judgments based on criteria and standards • Checking • Critiquing 9 Can you make & justify a decision or course of action? Blooms Taxonomy
    • 10.  Put elements togetherto forma coherent orfunctional whole; reorganize elements into a new pattern orstructure • Generating • Planning • Producing 10 Can you generate new products, ideas, or ways of viewing things? Blooms Taxonomy
    • 11. • Factual Knowledge • Conceptual Knowledge • Procedural Knowledge • Metacognitive Knowledge Revised Bloom’s Taxonomy (Knowledge dimension) 11 Blooms Taxonomy
    • 12. 12 Blooms Taxonomy
    • 13. Revised Bloom’s Taxonomy Table 13 Blooms Taxonomy
    • 14. Blooms Digital Taxonomy Courtesy: