• Like
Cfc training   fb 101 - 10072013
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

Cfc training fb 101 - 10072013

  • 45 views
Published

 

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
45
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
2
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. FACEBOOK PRIVACY SETTINGS, PAGES & GROUPS OCTOBER 5, 2013 Dinica Quesada, OEA Communications Specialist, quesadad@ohea.org
  • 2. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Manage Your Settings To view and adjust your privacy settings: 1. Click in the upper-right corner of any Facebook page 2. Select Privacy Settings from the dropdown menu 3. Click on a setting (ex: Who can see your future posts?) to edit it, or use the left column to view your other settings
  • 3. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Selecting an Audience How to choose who sees your posts: • • You'll also find an audience selector tool most places you share status updates, photos and other stuff. Remember, when you post to another person's timeline, that person controls what audience can view the post.
  • 4. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS How to choose who sees your posts: Selecting an Audience
  • 5. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Selecting an Audience Using lists to share to a specific group of people: Close Friends: You can add your best friends to this list to see more of them in your News Feed and get notified each time they post. Acquaintances: People on your acquaintances list will rarely show up in your News Feed. You can also choose to exclude these people when you post something, by choosing Friends except Acquaintances in the audience selector. Restricted: This list is for people you’ve added as a friend but just don’t want to share with, like your boss. When you add someone to your Restricted list, they will only be able to see your Public content or posts of yours that you tag them in. You can also create custom lists. • From your home page, scroll down to the Friends section and click More • Click Create List • Enter the names of friends you want to add to this list in the Members section and click Create
  • 6. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Changing Past Posts When you share something on your timeline, use the audience selector to choose who it's shared with. If you want to change who you shared something with after you post it, return to the audience selector and pick a new audience. You can also adjust the audience of many posts at once. Some important notes about this tool: • If you want to undo this action in the future, you'll need to adjust the audience of each individual post. • If you have shared a previous post with a Custom audience such as Friends except Acquaintances or Close Friends, this tool will not change the audience for those past posts. • If you tagged someone in the post, the audience of the post will still include the person you tagged and people they include in posts they're tagged in. • This tool only controls the audience for posts you've shared. If you've been tagged in someone else's post, they control the audience.
  • 7. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Your Activity Log To get to your activity log to you review and manage what you share on Facebook: • Click your privacy shortcuts select Who can see my stuff? • Click Use Activity Log. in the upper-right corner of the page and
  • 8. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Your Tag settings: Tagging
  • 9. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Tagging Remove a tag from a photo or post you’re tagged in: Hover over the story, click and select Report/Remove Tag from the dropdown menu. You can then choose to remove the tag or ask the person who posted it to take it down. You can also remove tags from multiple photos at once, Go to your activity log 1. 2. 3. 4. Click Photos in the left-hand column Select the photos you'd like to remove a tag from Click Report/Remove Tags at the top of the page Click Untag Photos to confirm Remember, when you remove a tag, that tag will no longer appear on the post or photo, but that post or photo is still visible to the audience it's shared with other places on Facebook, such as in News Feed and search.
  • 10. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Tagging What your friends and others share about you: • Tags can also be added to stories. Anyone can tag you in anything. Once you are tagged, you and your friends will be able to see it (such as in News Feed or in search). • If you do not want someone to tag you, you have to reach out to them and give them that feedback. If that does not work, you can block them. This will prevent them from tagging you going forward. You can also report the post. • If you are tagged in a comment, only the people who can see the comment can see the tag.
  • 11. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Sharing The good news: If a person shares your Friends Only post, only your friends will see the shared post. • • • • • However, when you comment on or "like" someone else's story, or write on their timeline, that person gets to select the audience. For example, if a friend posts a Public story and you comment on it, your comment will be Public. Often, you can see the audience someone selected for their story before you post a comment; however, the person who posted the story may later change their audience. If you do not want someone to tag you, you have to reach out to them and give them that feedback. If that does not work, you can block them. This will prevent them from tagging you going forward. You can also report the post. If you tag someone, that person and their friends can see your story no matter what audience you selected. The same is true when you approve a tag someone else adds to your story. Comments on Pages are always public. Always think before you post. Just like anything else you post on the web or send in an email, information you share on Facebook can be copied or re-shared by anyone who can see it.
  • 12. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS App Settings
  • 13. BASIC PRIVACY SETTINGS AND TOOLS Visibility & Notifications
  • 14. FACEBOOK PAGES Create a Page 1. Click Create Page from the More section at the bottom right of your homepage 2. Choose a Page category
  • 15. FACEBOOK PAGES Create a Page 1. Click Create Page from the More section at the bottom right of your homepage 2. Choose a Page category 3. Choose a subcategory and enter the required information, check the box next to I agree to Facebook Pages Terms and click Get Started
  • 16. FACEBOOK PAGES Create a Page
  • 17. FACEBOOK PAGES Create a Group 1. From your home page, go to the Groups section on the left side menu and click Create Group. members.
  • 18. 1. From your home page, go to the Groups section on the left side menu and click FACEBOOK PAGES Create a Group Create Group. 2. A window will appear, where you'll be able to add a group name, add members and select the privacy setting for your group. Click Create when you're done. 3. Once the group is created, you'll be taken to the group's page. To get started, click at the top right of the page and select Edit Group Settings. From here you can add a group description, tags, set a group email address, add a group picture and manage members.
  • 19. FACEBOOK RESOURCES Privacy, Pages and Groups Facebook Privacy Settings and Tools: http://on.Fb.Me/zikhgx Pages Basics: http://on.fb.me/16H9UNC Groups Basics: http://on.fb.me/170acZe Help Center: https://www.facebook.com/help/ What’s New on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1bwOYY3 quesadad@ohea.org