Top 100-influential-education-blogs
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Top 100-influential-education-blogs

on

  • 2,197 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
2,197
Views on SlideShare
1,044
Embed Views
1,153

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
12
Comments
0

5 Embeds 1,153

http://learningspy.co.uk 1040
http://www.wusd.us 85
http://learningspy.edublogs.org 19
http://learningspy.wordpress.com 8
http://htmlcomponentservice.appspot.com 1

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Top 100-influential-education-blogs Top 100-influential-education-blogs Document Transcript

    • Top 100 Education Blogs
    • Top 100 Education BlogsOver the last 5 years there has been a sharp increase in the number of education blogs in various areas such asart education, technology, creative writing, mathematics and drama, from primary school level to lifelonglearning approaches.Despite this surge in education blogs, there havent been many attempts at classifying the blogs according totheir authority. We will present a ranking of education blogs ordered by their Onalytica Influence Index.The Influence Index we compute at Onalytica shares the same idea with the impact factor that nowadays allacademic journals publish on their cover. Essentially impact factors just represent what is common wisdom;that some publications matter more than others, and impact factors attempt to quantify this. Similarly, theOnalytica Influence Index measures the "punching weight" of education blogs compared to one another.At Onalytica we have been in the business of measuring influence since 2004. Our methodology is based onthe Input/Output model developed by the Nobel Prize winner Wassily Leontief.The model takes into account all references and citations between the blogs. Using this model, we developedthree measures: Influence Index, Popularity and Over-Influence.The Onalytica Influence Index is the impact factor of a blog, or how much that blog matters.Popularity represents how popular or well-known the blog is among other education blogs.Over–Influence seeks to capture how influential a blog is compared to how popular it is. There is a strongcorrelation between how popular or well-known a blog is and its influence. However some blogs carry moreinfluence than their popularity leads us to believe; this is what we call over-influence.Below we present a list of 100 most influential education blogs ordered by their Onalytica Influence Index.The most popular blog in our list is Larry Ferlazzos blog, however it is not the most influential. Its over-influence is 0.8, meaning that the blog carries only 80% of the influence we would expect from how well-known it is.The most influential is Dan Meyers blog and its Over-Influence score of 1.6 means that the blog carries 60%more influence than we would expect from its popularity. Similarly, the Hack Education blog, the second mostinfluential, is more than twice more influent than its popularity would lead us to believe.If a blog is over-influential, i.e. his over-influence is greater than 1, there is only one explanation: those whoreference or cite the blog are themselves influential blogs.Please contact us if we have missed any blogs or you would like more information on our influence measuringmethodology.andreea.moldovan@onalytica.comLondon, January 2013www.onalytica.cominfo@onalytica.com @onalytica
    • Top 100 Education BlogsRank Name Website Influence Popularity Over-Influence 1 Dan Meyers Blog blog.mrmeyer.com 100.0 90.9 1.6 2 Hack Education hackeducation.com 72.6 39.4 2.4 3 The Principal of Change georgecouros.ca 62.3 63.6 1.4 4 Larry Ferlazzos Websites of the Day ... larryferlazzo.edublogs.org 51.7 100.0 0.8 5 The Learning Network learning.blogs.nytimes.com 49.0 36.4 1.7 6 Dangerously Irrelevant dangerouslyirrelevant.org 46.4 54.5 1.2 7 Ideas and Thoughts ideasandthoughts.org 38.9 36.4 1.4 8 The Blue Skunk Blog doug-johnson.squarespace.com 34.8 45.5 1.0 9 Free Technology for Teachers www.freetech4teachers.com 34.8 72.7 0.7 10 The Thinking Stick www.thethinkingstick.com 34.4 30.3 1.4 11 David Wees davidwees.com 33.7 21.2 1.8 12 Practical Theory practicaltheory.org 32.9 27.3 1.4 13 Langwitches langwitches.org 29.7 33.3 1.1 14 Getting Smart gettingsmart.com 28.6 21.2 1.5 15 Ewan McIntoshs edu.blogs.com edu.blogs.com 28.2 30.3 1.1 16 Stephen Downes www.downes.ca 27.5 24.2 1.3 17 Annie Murphy Paul anniemurphypaul.com 26.2 21.2 1.4 18 Cogdogblog cogdogblog.com 25.9 27.3 1.1 19 Open Thinking educationaltechnology.ca 25.9 30.3 1.1 20 Moving at the Speed of Creativity www.speedofcreativity.org 25.5 45.5 0.8 21 21 Century Collaborative www.21stcenturycollaborative.com 24.2 9.1 2.1 22 Around the Corner-Mguhlin.org www.mguhlin.org 23.8 15.2 1.6 23 Vicky Loras Blog vickyloras.wordpress.com 22.7 42.4 0.7 24 Will Richardson willrichardson.com 22.6 30.3 0.9 25 Dougg - Off the Record dougpete.wordpress.com 22.4 24.2 1.1 26 The Learning Spy learningspy.co.uk 22.1 15.2 1.4 27 Burcu Akyols Blog burcuakyol.com 20.6 18.2 1.2 28 David Warlick davidwarlick.com 20.5 21.2 1.1 29 The Number Warrior numberwarrior.wordpress.com 20.2 12.1 1.5 30 Shanker Blog shankerblog.org 20.2 33.3 0.8 31 Continuous Everywhere But Differentiable Nowhere samjshah.com 20.1 33.3 0.8 32 Lets Play Math! letsplaymath.net 20.1 6.1 2.1 33 Learning in Hand learninginhand.com 20.1 12.1 1.5 34 This Week in Education scholasticadministrator.typepad.com 19.7 24.2 0.9 35 Nerdy Book Club nerdybookclub.wordpress.com 18.0 24.2 0.9 36 Assortedstuff www.assortedstuff.com 17.9 21.2 0.9 37 Irish Teacher Blogs irishteachers.tumblr.com 17.8 9.1 1.5 38 Diane Ravitchs Blog dianeravitch.net 17.8 69.7 0.4 39 Jeremy Harmers Blog jeremyharmer.wordpress.com 16.9 30.3 0.7 www.onalytica.com info@onalytica.com @onalytica
    • Top 100 Education Blogs40 Graham Wegner gwegner.edublogs.org 16.5 9.1 1.441 Krissy Venosdale venspired.com 16.0 21.2 0.842 Reflections of a Techie teachingtechie.typepad.com 15.7 6.1 1.643 Ozge Karaoglus Blog ozgekaraoglu.edublogs.org 15.7 27.3 0.744 Education Next educationnext.org 15.5 36.4 0.545 David Truss :: Pair-A-Dime for Your Thoughts pairadimes.davidtruss.com 15.4 27.3 0.746 Hooked on Innovation hookedoninnovation.com 15.3 12.1 1.147 Creative Star Blog creativestarlearning.blogspot.co.uk 15.2 3.0 2.048 Librarian in Black librarianinblack.net 14.8 9.1 1.349 TransformEd transformed.teachingquality.org 14.8 12.1 1.150 The Reading Zone thereadingzone.wordpress.com 14.1 9.1 1.251 Kevins Meandering Mind dogtrax.edublogs.org 13.9 33.3 0.552 C-o Connections coconnections.wonecks.net 13.8 6.1 1.453 4C in ELT fourc.ca 12.8 18.2 0.754 Jay P. Greenes Blog jaypgreene.com 12.6 15.2 0.855 Eduwonk.com www.eduwonk.com 12.5 15.2 0.856 Sean Banvilles Blog seanbanville.com 12.1 15.2 0.857 The Wejr Board chriswejr.com 12.0 27.3 0.558 Nyceducator nyceducator.com 11.8 21.2 0.659 Beyond School beyond-school.org 11.6 3.0 1.560 A Journey in TEFL evasimkesyan.edublogs.org 11.2 18.2 0.761 My Island View tomwhitby.wordpress.com 11.0 21.2 0.662 User Generated Education usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com 10.9 12.1 0.863 The Jose Vilson thejosevilson.com 10.8 6.1 1.164 Reading by Example howeprincipal.wordpress.com 10.6 12.1 0.865 Opencontent opencontent.org 10.2 3.0 1.366 Infocult: Uncanny Informatics infocult.typepad.com 10.2 3.0 1.367 Linking and Thinking on Education www.joannejacobs.com 9.9 6.1 1.068 Action-Reaction fnoschese.wordpress.com 9.7 15.2 0.669 Jim Burke: The English Teachers Companion jimburke.typepad.com 9.6 9.1 0.870 Maria Constantinides - TEFL Matters marisaconstantinides.edublogs.org 9.6 30.3 0.471 Learning in Burlingtion www.patrickmlarkin.com 9.5 15.2 0.672 Primary Tech primarytech.global2.vic.edu.au 9.5 24.2 0.573 Jabiz Raisdana www.jabizraisdana.com 9.5 6.1 1.074 Higher Ed Watch higheredwatch.newamerica.net 9.4 6.1 1.075 Social Tech fraser.typepad.com 9.3 3.0 1.276 Blogging About the Web 2.0 Connected Classroom blog.web20classroom.org 9.1 12.1 0.777 Reflections on Teaching mizmercer.edublogs.org 8.7 12.1 0.778 Blogush blogush.edublogs.org 8.6 15.2 0.679 Cathy Nelsons Professional Thoughts blog.cathyjonelson.com 8.6 9.1 0.780 Not so Distant Future futura.edublogs.org 8.5 9.1 0.7 www.onalytica.com info@onalytica.com @onalytica
    • Top 100 Education Blogs81 The Unquiet Librarian theunquietlibrarian.wordpress.com 8.5 9.1 0.782 Levdavidovic levdavidovic.wordpress.com 8.3 6.1 0.983 MathsClass mathsclass.net 8.3 9.1 0.784 Two Writing Teachers twowritingteachers.wordpress.com 8.3 9.1 0.785 Eduflack blog.eduflack.com 8.1 12.1 0.686 Danah Boyd www.zephoria.org 8.1 3.0 1.087 Life is Not a Race to Be First Finished allanahk.edublogs.org 7.9 6.1 0.888 The Electronic Pencil epencil.edublogs.org 7.9 9.1 0.789 Year Two Blog yeartwo.chorltonparkblogs.net 7.9 6.1 0.890 Agnostic, Maybe agnosticmaybe.wordpress.com 7.8 6.1 0.891 Earth Science with Mrs. Wilson mrswilsonscience.com 7.7 3.0 1.092 Doug Belshaw dougbelshaw.com 7.6 12.1 0.693 A Recursive Process blog.recursiveprocess.com 7.5 3.0 1.094 Teaching Chemistry blog.msbethea.com 7.5 3.0 1.095 Sherman Dorn shermandorn.com 7.4 6.1 0.896 So You Want to Teach www.soyouwanttoteach.com 6.7 6.1 0.797 Penelope Trunk homeschooling.penelopetrunk.com 6.4 3.0 0.898 South Dublin Libraries www.southdublinlibraries.ie 6.4 3.0 0.899 Allthingslearning allthingslearning.wordpress.com 6.4 15.2 0.4100 The Adventures of Library Girl www.librarygirl.net 6.4 3.0 0.8 www.onalytica.com info@onalytica.com @onalytica