• Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
1,038
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
18
Comments
0
Likes
2

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. WHAT IS SOCIAL MEDIA 201 2?
  • 2.
    • Social media refers to activites, practices, and behaviours among communities of people who gather online to share info, knowledge and opinions using conversational media.
    • Conversational media are web-based apps that make it possible to create and easily transmit content in the form of words, pictures, videos, and audio.
    Blogs and microblogs
  • 3. Web 2.0 / Social Media
  • 4.
  • 5. What about Web 2.0?
    • Web 2.0 is somewhat of a misnomer
    • Coined by O’Reilly media NY.
    • Not a technical term - marketing term to describe ‘social media’ apps.
    • Now interchangeable
    • All about social engagement.
    • Web 2.0 is also known as Social Media .
    • See the nominees for the 1 st Social Media Awards
  • 6. Intelligence is in the connections slideshare.net
  • 7. Social Media is all about Engagement !
    • Before you start a conversation or to continue it you have to engage your audience.
    • In business the questions for a social media tool is does it allow you to engage with customers, employees and other stakeholders by facilitating the following…
    • Communication
    • Collaboration
    • Education
    • Entertainment
  • 8. The Social Media Ecosystem 2011
    • A biological ecosystem is a complicated association of living organisms interacting with one another.
    • Some organisms cooperate with or compliment each other while others compete for resources essential for survival.
    • The same principles could apply when considering the relationships and interdependencies of tools and applications that live breed and compete in the social media world.
  • 9. Classification of 15 Categories
    • Social Networking
    • Publish
    • Photos
    • Audio
    • Video
    • Microblogging
    • Livecasting
    • Virtual Worlds
    • Gaming
    • Productivity apps
    • Aggregators
    • RSS
    • Search
    • Mobile
    • Interpersonal
  • 10. 1. Social Networking
    • Bebo
    • Facebook
    • Fast Pitch or Crunchbase
    • Friendster
    • Gather.com
    • KickApps
    • LinkedIN
    • MOLI
    • MySpace
    • NING
    • Orkut
    • Plaxo
  • 11. 2. Publishing
    • Blogger.com
    • Constant Contact
    • Joomla
    • Knol
    • Slideshare
    • Typepad
    • Wikia
    • Wikipedia
    • PB Works
    • Wordpress .com & .org
  • 12. 3. Microblogging
    • Plurk
    • Twitter
    • Twitxr
    • Tumblr
    • Blauk
    • Heello
    • Jaiku
  • 13. 4. Photo Sharing
    • Flickr
    • Photobucket
    • Picasa
    • Radar.net
    SmugMug Twitxr Zooomr Pix.ie
  • 14. 5. Audio
    • iTunes
    • Podbean
    • Podcast.com
    • Podcast.ie or PodcastingIreland
    • Rhapsody
    • LAST.fm
    • SoundCloud
    • ?
  • 15. 6. Video
    • Brightcove
    • Google Video
    • Hulu ( w )
    • Metacafe ( w )
    • Viddler ( w )
    • Vimeo ( w )
    • YouTube ( w )
    • Teacher Tube ( w )
    • SciVee ( w )
    • ??
  • 16. 7. Livecasting
    • BlogTalkRadio
    • Live 365
    • Justin.tv
    • SHOUTcast
    • TalkShoe
  • 17. 8. Virtual Worlds
    • Active Worlds
    • Kaneva
    • Second Life
    • There
    • ViOS
  • 18. 9. Gaming
    • Entropia Universe
    • EverQuest
    • Halo3
    • World of Warcraft
  • 19. 10. Productivity Applications
    • Acteva
    • AOL
    • BitTorrent
    • Constant Contact
    • Eventful
    • Google Alerts
    • Google Docs
    • Google Gmail
    • MSGTAG
    • ReadNotify
    • Survey Monkey
    • Tiddlywiki
    • Yahoo!
    • Zoho
    • Zoomerang
    • ???
  • 20. 11. Aggregators
    • Digg
    • FriendFeed
    • Google Reader
    • iGoogle
    • My Yahoo!
    • Reddit
    • Yelp
  • 21. 12. RSS (Rich Site Summary)
    • Atom
    • Feedburner
    • PingShot
    • RSS 2.0
  • 22. 13. Search
    • EveryZing
    • Google Search
    • IceRocket
    • MetaTube
    • Redlasso
    • Technorati
    • Yahoo! Search
    • HeyStacks (Irish SME)
  • 23. 14. Mobile
    • airG
    • AOL Mobile
    • Brightkite
    • CallWave
    • Jott
    • Jumbuck
    • SMS.ac
    • iPhone / Android
  • 24. 15. Interpersonal
    • Acrobat Connect
    • AOL Instant Messenger
    • Go To Meeting
    • iChat
    • Jott
    • Meebo
    • Skype
    • WebEx
  • 25.
    • Recommended Texts :-
    • Safko, L. (2010) The Social Media Bible
    • -Tactics, Tools and Strategies for Business Success Paperback
    • http://www.thesocialmediabible.com/
    • Qualman, E. (2011) Socialnomics : How social media transforms the way we live and do business.
    • http://www.socialnomics.net/
  • 26.
    • 1ST Irish Social Media Awards 2011 Nominees
    • http://socialmediaawards.com/
  • 27.
    • Facebook Page for a Business
    • A|wear Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/Awear1
    • Simply Zesty - http://www.facebook.com/simplyzesty
    • The Secret Garden - http:// www.facebook.com/SecretGardenCentre
    • GoHop.ie - http://www.facebook.com/GoHop.ie Wheelworx/Runworx - http:// www.facebook.com/wheelworx
  • 28.
    • What’sOnNI - http://www.facebook.com/www.whatsonni
    • TodayFM - https://www.facebook.com/todayfm Brasserie Sixty6 - http://www.facebook.com/brasseriesixty6restaurant
    • Blacknight - http://www.facebook.com/blacknight
    • Toyota Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/toyotaireland
  • 29.
    • Oxegen/MCD – http://www.facebook.com/oxegen
    • Spin 1038 –
    • http://www.facebook.com/spin1038
  • 30.
    • F/Page for a Non-Profit Organisation
    • Special Needs Parents Association - http://www.facebook.com/SpecialNeedsParentsAssociation
    • Defence Forces – http://www.facebook.com/DefenceForce
    • Science Gallery - http://www.facebook.com/ScienceGallery
    • FashionCREEP - http://www.facebook.com/fashioncreep
    • Concern Worldwide - http://www.facebook.com/concernworldwide
  • 31.
    • Stroke Action - http://www.facebook.com/strokeaction
    • Tourism Ireland - http://www.facebook.com/discoverireland
    • Irish Autism - http://www.facebook.com/Irishautism
    • Irish Premature Babies - http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_102246666516653#!/pages/irish-premature-babies/246233458273
  • 32.
    • Dublin Zoo - http://www.facebook.com/dublinzoo
    • Druid Theatre - http://www.facebook.com/druidtheatre
    • Look West - https://www.facebook.com/LookWest
    • IT Sligo - https://www.facebook.com/itsligo
    • Corrigans City Farm Blackpool – https://www.facebook.com/CorrigansCityFarmBlackpool
  • 33.
    • FOTA Wildlife Park – http://www.facebook.com/fotawildlife
    • Riverfest Limerick – http://www.facebook.com/RiverfestLimeric k Barnardos Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/barnardosireland
  • 34.
    • F/B Page for Owner Managed Business
    • Doo-Lally - http://www.facebook.com/doolallyfashion
    • Greenside Up – http://www.facebook.com/Greensideupveg
    • Vodafone Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/vodafoneireland
    • Garrendenny Lane – http://www.facebook.com/GarrendennyLane
    • Grace App – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Grace-App-for-iPhone-iTouch-and-iPad-Picture-Exchange-for-Non-Verbal-People/109061392465082
  • 35.
    • La Cucina – http://facebook.com/lacucina
    • Website Extraordinaire - www.Facebook.com/websiteextraordinaire
    • Treyvaud’s Restaurant – https://www.facebook.com/TreyvaudsRestaurant
    • The Secret Garden – http://www.facebook.com/SecretGardenCentre
    • Katie’s Chocolate – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Katies-Chocolate/121726734510286
  • 36.
    • Up To My Eyes – http://www.facebook.com/uptomyeyes
    • Wheelworx – http://www.facebook.com/wheelworx
    • What’s On NI – http://www.facebook.com/www.whatsonni
    • My Lunch IE – http://www.facebook.com/mylunch.ie
    • Glenisk Organic – http://www.facebook.com/GleniskOrganic
  • 37.
    • My Kids’ Time - http://www.facebook.com/mykidstime
    • Tom Murphy Menswear – https://www.facebook.com/tommurphymenswear
    • Tour America – http://www.facebook.com/touramericatv
    • Meteor Mobile – http://www.facebook.com/meteor
    • Blacknight – http://www.facebook.com/blacknight
  • 38.
    • Cara Pharmacy – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cara-Pharmacy#!/pages/Cara-Pharmacy/146033272100166
    • Springwools – http://www.facebook.com/springwools
    • Freshmilk Clothing – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Freshmilk-Clothing/361404786006
  • 39.
    • Making Things Look Better – http://www.facebook.com/keepgoingsureitsgrand
    • Voltaire Diamonds – https://www.facebook.com/VoltaireDiamonds
    • Spin 1038 – http://www.facebook.com/spin1038
  • 40.
    • Cork Independent – http://www.facebook.com/corkindependent
    • Power FM Dublin – http://www.facebook.com/powerfmdublin
    • Wedding Dates – http://www.facebook.com/weddingdates
    • Enjoy Malahide – http://www.facebook.com/enjoymalahide
  • 41.
    • Enjoy Malahide – http://www.facebook.com/enjoymalahide
    • Puddle Ducks – http://www.facebook.com/puddleducks
    • 3 Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/3Ireland
    • Hairy Baby – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hairy-Baby/20379962148
  • 42.
    • Integrated Facebook Campaign (Page, App and Ads) Concern - http://www.facebook.com/concernworldwide?sk=app_184644908221145
    • Jelly Bean Factory - http://www.facebook.com/JellyBeanFactory
    • Glenisk Organic – http://www.facebook.com/GleniskOrganic
  • 43.
    • MummyPages – http://www.facebook.com/MummyPages eMobile Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/emobileireland
    • Pizza Hut Ireland - http://www.facebook.com/getafreepizza
    • Tourism Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/IrelandTown
    • Lidl Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/lidlireland
    • Heineken – http://apps.facebook.com/yourheineken/
  • 44.
    • Maltesers Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/maltesersireland
    • VHI Breast Cancer Awareness – http://www.facebook.com/VhiBreastCancerAwareness
    • ABSOLUT Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/ABSOLUT.Ireland
    • Toyota Ireland – http://www.facebook.com/toyotaireland
  • 45.
    • Best Business Twitter Account – Marketing and Sales Moore Group – @mooregroup Grace App – @graceapp La Cucina – @italianfoodie Irish Food Guide - @irishfoodguide Sandymount Hotel – @sandymounthotel My Lunch IE – @mylunchie Realex Payments – @realexpayments Silicon Ireland – @siliconireland Flowers Made Easy – @flowersmadeeasy Newstalk 106-108 – @newstalkfm TV3 Xpose – @TV3Xpose Blacknight – @Blacknight Curious Wines – @curiouswines
  • 46.
    • Best Twitter Account – Support, CRM
    • Irish Food Guide – @irishfoodguide Wheelworx – @wheelworx
    • What’s On NI – @whatsonni
    • Tourism Ireland – @discoverireland, @gotoirelandgb, @gotoirelandus
    • Eircom – @eircom
    • Irish Weather Online – @iweatheronline Blacknight – @blacknight
    • We Are UPC – @weareupc
    • Vodafone Ireland – @vodafoneireland
  • 47.
    • Blog (Business)
    • Moore Group – http://www.mooregroup.ie/blog
    • Doo-Lally – http://www.doo-lally.com/headtotoe
    • Greenside Up - http://www.greensideupveg.blogspot.com/
    • A-Wear – http://www.theinsidethetrack.ie/
    • Garrendenny Lane – http://www.garrendennylane.com/blog
    • Grace App - http://www.graceapp.com/
    • La Cucina – http://italianfoodies.ie/
  • 48.
    • Irish Food Guide – http://www.irishfoodguide.ie/
    • Pims – http://www.pims.ie/wordpress
    • Spiderworking – http://www.spiderworking.com/blog
    • Italian Tile and Stone – http://tiles.ie/category/blog/
    • Wheelworx – http://www.wheelworxbikes.com/blog/
    • Alex Kennedy – http://alexkennedy.ie/
  • 49.
    • The Lunchbox – http://www.mylunch.ie/layout/content_listing.cfm/ck/58/ctk/35/xt/blog
    • Buyers Broker - http://buyersbroker.ie/blog /
    • Neworld - http://blog.neworld.com /
    • RABODirect - http://www.rabodirect.ie/blog/default.aspx
    • Tourism Ireland – http://blog.discoverireland.com
    • NMCI - http://blog.nmci.ie/
    • Irish Autism Action - http://irishautismaction.blogspot.com
  • 50.
    • Flowers Made Easy - http://www.flowersmadeeasy.com/blog
    • Blacknight - http://blog.blacknight.com/
    • Curious Wines - http://www.curiouswines.ie/blog/
    • Digital Times - http://digitaltimes.ie/
    • Temple Bar Cultural Trust - http://blog.templebar.ie/
  • 51.
    • Video Campaign / Video (non broadcast)
    • Grace App for Autism Wicklow TV
    • The Science Gallery
    • Morning Ireland, RTE
    • Flowers Made Easy
    • Event Junkies
    • Laughing Kookaburra
    • Wedding Dates
  • 52.
    • Online PR Campaign
    • Sandtex Ireland
    • Pizza Hut Delivery
    • Flowers Made Easy
    • Making Things Look Better
    • Vodafone Ireland
    • Wedding Dates
  • 53.
    • Use of Social Media By A State Body
    • Defence Forces
    • The Science Gallery
    • Irish Rail
    • Bord Bia
    • Tourism Ireland
    • Enterprise Ireland
    • Wexford Local Authorities
    • Environmental Protection Agency
    • Western Development Commission
    • Dublin Bus
  • 54.
    • Best Mobile App
    • Grace App
    • Today FM
    • Eco Appz Straywave Media
    • Oxegen 2010
    • Heineken Cup
    • iPhone App
    • Leinster Legends
    • Spin 1038
  • 55.
    • Customer Care Using Social Media (Integrated)
    • Grace App
    • ESB Electric Ireland
    • Tourism Ireland
    • Eircom
    • eMobile
    • Meteor
    • Blacknight
    • Vodafone Ireland
    • Greenside Up
  • 56.
    • Best Use of Social Media For A Sponsorship Campaign
    • Bank of Ireland
    • Leinster Blue Magic
    • Toyota Ireland
    • Wedding Dates
    • Bank of Ireland – Dragon’s Den
    • Betfair – ElectionPredict.com
  • 57.
    • Innovative Use of Social Media
    • Grace App Irish Food Guide Treyvaud’s Restaurant Today FM – Ray D’Arcy Show Jelly Bean Factory Harry’s Bar and Restaurant RABO Direct
    Pizza Hut Delivery Jameson (St. Patrick’s Day) Tourism Ireland TalktoEU Irish Autism Action Irish Premature Babies
  • 58.
    • Swinging Strings
    • Morning Ireland, RTE
    • Meteor
    • Irish Deaf Kids
    • Fade Street FYI,
    • 3e
    • Belfast Telegraph
    • True Colours App
    • Action Breast Cancer
    • RTE’s The Rumour Room
    • Temple Bar Cultural Trust
  • 59.
    • Social Media Effectiveness
    • Buyers Broker
    • Morning Ireland, RTE
    • Irish Premature Babies
    • Action Breast Cancer
    • Toyota Ireland
    • Bank of Ireland – Dragon’s Den
    • Lucozade
  • 60.
    • Social Media Effectiveness
    • Integrated Social Media Campaign
    • Defence Forces
    • Currys/PC World
    • eMobile
    • Morning Ireland, RTE
    • Meteor
    • Total Twitness (io)
    • RiverFest
    • Pizza Hut Delivery
    • Bulmers Pear
    • Barnardos Vodafone