• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content

Loading…

Flash Player 9 (or above) is needed to view presentations.
We have detected that you do not have it on your computer. To install it, go here.

Like this document? Why not share!

KSDE games resources

on

  • 583 views

Links and resources supporting a PowerPoint presentation given at a workshop at the KSDE conference in Wichita, KS October 25, 2010

Links and resources supporting a PowerPoint presentation given at a workshop at the KSDE conference in Wichita, KS October 25, 2010

Statistics

Views

Total Views
583
Views on SlideShare
583
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
8
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft Word

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    KSDE games resources KSDE games resources Document Transcript

    • Resources and Links This Handout & Presentation – http://www.slideshare.net/dadams.altec Don't Bother Me Mom--I'm Learning! by Marc Prensky – Paragon House Publishers (2006) What Video Games Have to Teach Us About Learning and Literacy by James Paul Gee – Palgrave Macmillan; 2nd edition (2007) How Computer Games Help Children Learn by David Williamson Shaffer – Palgrave Macmillan (2008) Born Digital: Understanding the First Generation of Digital Natives by John Palfrey – Basic Books (2008) Grand Theft Childhood: The Surprising Truth About Violent Video Games and What Parents Can Do by Lawrence Kutner – Simon & Schuster (2008) Brain Rules by John Medina – Pear Press (2008) http://www.brainrules.net/ “Reality Bytes: Eight Myths About Video Games Debunked” by Henry Jenkins http://www.pbs.org/kcts/videogamerevolution/impact/myths.html Federation of American Scientists - Summit on Educational Games (2006) http://www.fas.org/gamesummit/ “Games, Motivation, and Learning” - White Paper (PDF) http://caspianlearning.co.uk/Whtp_Games_Motivation_Learning.pdf “You Play World of Warcraft? You're Hired! Why multiplayer games may be the best kind of job training” by John Seely Brown and Douglas Thomas (Wired Magazine, April, 2006) http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/14.04/learn.html Marc Prensky’s Web site – http://www.marcprensky.com/writing/ Henry Jenkins’ blog – http://henryjenkins.org Games in Education video by Mark Wagner and Michael Guerena of the Orange County (CA) Department of Education's Educational Technology group -- http://video.google.com/videoplay? docid=6117726917684965691 Spider World, VR Therapy for Spider Phobia – http://www.hitl.washington.edu/research/exposure/ Snow World, Virtual Reality Pain Reducation – http://www.hitl.washington.edu/research/vrpain/ Virtual Walk on the Moon – http://www.digitalspace.com/papers/design-research-chapter/index.html Revolution! – http://www.educationarcade.org/node/357 4Kids – http://4kids.org Matrix Games -- http://matrixgames.altec.org/ Arcademic Skill Builders – http://www.arcademicskillbuilders.com Olathe pilot Study - http://www.arcademicskillbuilders.com/nsf/pilot_study.shtml Mr. Nussbaum -- http://www.mrnussbaum.com/ Oswego County School District – http://resources.oswego.org/games/
    • “Education World: Sites to See” – http://www.educationworld.com/a_tech/sites/sites082.shtml “Span It” Basic Engineering – http://www.lethsd.ab.ca/lakeview/Classrooms/grade3t/games/spanit.htm “Big Al” Biology – http://www.bbc.co.uk/dinosaurs/bigalgame/index.html “Design a Planet” Planet Characteristics – http://astroventure.arc.nasa.gov/ National Library of Virtual Manipulatives – http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/vlibrary.html Club Penguin – http://clubpenguin.com Virtual Stock Exchange – http://vse.marketwatch.com/Game/Homepage.aspx Hollywood Stock Exchange – http://hsx.com/ GWAP (ESP Game and others) - http://www.gwap.com Food Force – http://www.food-force.com Food Force 2 – http://foodforce2.com/ Free Rice – http://www.freerice.com/ Third World Farmer – http://www.3rdworldfarmer.com/ Darfur is Dying – http://www.darfurisdying.com Stop Disasters – http://www.stopdisastersgame.org Magic Pen – http://magic.pen.fizzlebot.com/ Crayon Physics Deluxe (pay, free demo) - http://www.crayonphysics.com/ Dimension Math (fee-based, free demos) -- http://www.dimensionm.com/ You Are the Historian (can run offline) – http://www.plimoth.org/education/olc/index_js2.html Team Treks – http://www.teamtreks.com/ Minyanland – http://www.minyanland.com/ ElectroCity – http://www.electrocity.co.nz/ Nanoquest – http://www.nanoquest.ie/ Real Lives – http://www.educationalsimulations.com/ Traveler IQ – http://www.travelpod.com/traveler-iq The Forbidden City – http://www.beyondspaceandtime.org Lunar Quest – http://www.seriousgamesresearch.com/ Web Rangers – http://www.nps.gov/webrangers/ Peacemaker (pay, free demos) – http://www.peacemakergame.com Budget Hero – http://americanpublicmedia.publicradio.org/engage08/budgethero/ Redistricting Game - http://www.redistrictinggame.org/ Thinking Worlds (pay, online demos) – http://www.thinkingworlds.com/ Simple Machines - http://www.msichicago.org/online-science/simple-machines/activities/simple- machines-1/