• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
South Asia And The Indian Subcontinent

South Asia And The Indian Subcontinent



World Geography Unit on Indian Subcontinent

World Geography Unit on Indian Subcontinent



Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



0 Embeds 0

No embeds



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    South Asia And The Indian Subcontinent South Asia And The Indian Subcontinent Presentation Transcript

    • Global Studies Unit #6A: The Indian subcontinent
    • South Asia
    • Satellite View of South Asia
    • The Size of South Asia
    • Countries India Pakistan Bangladesh Nepal Bhutan Sri Lanka Afghanistan China Myanmar Iran
    • South Asia: Physical Map
    • The Ganges River System 1,560 miles long
    • “ Mata Ganga” (Mother Ganges)
    • The Brahmaputra River System 1,800 miles long
    • Floods on the Brahmaputra: 2003
    • Flooding on the Brahmaputra
    • The Indus River System 1,975 miles long
    • Elevation Levels
    • Mountains & Peaks Himalayas Mt. Everest ▲ Karakoran Mts. Hindu Kush Vindhya Hills Eastern Ghats Western Ghats Khyber Pass I I
    • The Himalayas
      • “ him” [snow]
      • “ aalaya” [home]
      • Mt. Everest is 29,035 feet. It is the highest mt. peak in the world.
    • The Himalayas
    • The Deccan Plateau
      • 31,800 square miles in size.
      • Elevation range: 2,000 – 8,000 feet high.
      • From the Sanskrit word, “dakshina” [“the south”].
    • The tibetan Plateau
      • The “Roof of the World.”
      • average elevation is 16,400 feet.
    • Climate of South Asia
    • Climate Regions of South Asia
    • Winter Monsoons: Nov.-April
    • Summer Monsoons: May-Oct.
    • Vegetation of South Asia
    • Major Farming Systems of South Asia
    • Economic Activities & Resources
    • Demographic Data for South Asia
    • Population Density
    • Population Density
    • Eastern Philosophies Hinduism and Buddhism
    • Eastern Religious Philosophies Hinduism and Buddhism
      • Hinduism
      • Old Indian religion
      • Both polytheistic and monotheistic
      • All powerful world soul or force in all of us
      • Based on reincarnation and the caste system
      • All of us are trying to rejoin the world’s soul
      • Buddhism
      • Siddartha Gautama – first Buddha or “enlightened one”
      • Based on understanding relationship between desire and pain
      • Eliminate desire to eliminate suffering
      • Eliminate desire = achieve Nirvana and break cycle of reincarnation
    • Hinduism in Detail
      • Oldest surviving major world religion
      • Polytheistic and monotheistic at the same time
      • Brahman – the world’s soul (monotheistic)
      • Different Hindu gods -- really just manifestations of Brahman
      • Creation – Brahman shattered – each of us has a piece of Brahman – it’s the “life force” in all living things
      • Reincarnation – cycle of rebirth based on Karma (the way you live your life)– we’re all eventually trying to rejoin Brahman – only members of the priest class with good Karma will be able to rejoin Brahman
      • Caste system: 14 levels of humans from Brahmin (priest class) to Untouchables (lowest humans)
    • What do Hindus believe?
      • One impersonal Ultimate Reality – Brahman
      • Manifest as many personal deities
      • True essence of life – the soul is Brahman trapped in matter
      • Reincarnation – Brahman is continually born into this world lifetime after lifetime
      • Karma – spiritual impurity due to actions keeps us bound to this world (good and bad)
      • Ultimate goal of life – to reunite with the divine, becoming as one with Brahman
    • Who do Hindus worship? – the major gods of the Hindu Pantheon Brahma , the creator god
    • All deities are but forms (attributes and functions) of the impersonal Brahman
    • Buddhism in Detail
      • Siddhartha Gautama – Hindu prince who had a crisis of faith and walked among the people and observed the world
      • Four Noble Truths
        • Everyone suffers
        • Suffering is caused by desire
        • To eliminate suffering – eliminate desire
        • To eliminate desire – follow the Eight fold path to righteousness
      • Eliminating desire would thus allow a person to become “enlightened” or a Buddha. This was called achieving a state called Nirvana
      • Achieve Nirvana and break the cycle of reincarnation and join the world’s soul
      • Anyone not achieving Nirvana would ensure their good Karma and would go up on the ladder of reincarnation
    • Religions of South Asia
    • Siddhartha Gautama (563-483 BCE)
      • Born in NE India (Nepal).
      • Raised in great luxury to be a king.
      • At 29 he rejected his luxurious life to seek enlightenment and the source of suffering.
      • Lived a strict, ascetic life for 6 yrs.
      • Rejecting this extreme, sat in meditation, and found nirvana .
      • Became “The Enlightened One,” at 35.
    • What is the fundamental cause of all suffering? Desire!
      • Therefore, extinguish the self, don’t obsess about oneself.
    • Four Noble Truths
      • There is suffering in the world. To live is to suffer. ( Dukkha )
        • The Buddha found this out when he was young and experienced suffering and death in others.
    • Four Noble Truths
      • The cause of suffering is self-centered desire and attachments. ( Tanha )
    • Four Noble Truths
      • The solution is to eliminate desire and attachments. ( Nirvana = “extinction” )
    • Four Noble Truths
      • To reach nirvana , one must follow the Eightfold Path.
    • Eightfold Path Nirvana
      • The union with the ultimate spiritual reality.
      • Escape from the cycle of rebirth.