Games At Kellett

1,232 views
1,149 views

Published on

Presentation given by teachers from Kellett School, Hong Kong to the 21st Century Learning Conference, Sept 09

0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,232
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
52
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
3
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Games At Kellett

  1. 1. Using Video Games as a Spur for Creative Writing…. and lots more! <ul><li>Emma Adams, Katie Hitchcox, Katrina Hall </li></ul><ul><li>Kellett School Hong Kong </li></ul>
  2. 2. Why Computer Games in the Classroom? To extend ethos of play as a learning tool established in early schooling To ‘tap in’ to the dominant media in the experience of students aged 6+ To give an alternative authentic context for writing To use 21 st Century resources in our classrooms - “Good teachers use Good resources”
  3. 3. Background <ul><li>2006 - Writing identified as a key area for development </li></ul><ul><li>2007 - Initial module developed using Rollercoaster Tycoon in Year 5 </li></ul><ul><li>2008 - Rollercoaster Tycoon module developed and refined </li></ul><ul><li>2009 - New modules added at Year 1 - Moshi Monsters </li></ul><ul><li>Year 6 - Samorost </li></ul>
  4. 4. Inspirations Derek Robertson Ollie Bray Kim Pericles Tim Rylands
  5. 5. Year 6 - Samorost An introduction to Samorost What is Samorost? Teamwork
  6. 6. Drama Writing Animoto Movie
  7. 9. Year 1 – Moshi Monsters Daily Challenge
  8. 10. Moshi Monsters Examples
  9. 11. Maia’s Story In their words…
  10. 12. Year 5 – Rollercoaster Tycoon
  11. 14. Future Plans! Year 6 – Guitar Hero Early Years – Phonics, Audio Stories with iTouch Early Years Literacy Nintendogs Y6/7 Transfer Unit Inanimate Alice Learning Support/Numeracy Brain Training with Nintendo DS
  12. 15. References Samorost - http://amanita-design.net/samorost-1/ Moshi Monsters – www.moshimonsters.com Derek Robertson - http://ltsblogs.org.uk/consolarium/ Tim Rylands - http://www.timrylands.com/blog/ Kim Pericles - http://kpericles.edublogs.org/ Kellett Blog – http://www.kellettschool.blogspot.com Photos: Ewan McIntosh, Kim Pericles, Clive Dawes,
  13. 16. Contacts Emma Adams – eadams@kellettschool.com @assistantpinhk Katrina Hall – khall@kellettschool.com Katie Hitchcox – khitchcox@kellettschool.com

×