Podcasting For Beginners

826 views
784 views

Published on

Presentation at the Texas School Public Relations Association. February 2009. By Christie Goodman, APR, of IDRA.

Published in: Education
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
826
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
2
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • Podcasting For Beginners

    1. 1. Podcasting for Beginners Telling Your Story Christie L. Goodman, APR February 2009
    2. 2. What makes a podcast a podcast?
    3. 3. Time-shift and place-shift Efficient because of opt-in Audience not defined by geographic boundaries Educated, influential audience No news media filter Cost effective Benefits of Podcasting
    4. 4. Goal Objective Strategy Tactic
    5. 6. What is podcasting good for from an organization point of view?
    6. 7. Put a plan in writing
    7. 8. Dissemination Technology Content Goal Setting
    8. 9. Dissemination Technology Content Goal Setting
    9. 10. Goal Setting What do you want to accomplish? Where do you want to be when you’re done?
    10. 11. Goal Setting Who is your audience? What niche do you want to reach?
    11. 12. Goal Setting Show frequency, format, length
    12. 13. Goal Setting Who does which tasks?
    13. 14. Goal Setting How will you cover the costs?
    14. 15. Dissemination Technology Content Goal Setting
    15. 16. Content Topics and Segments (ident, intro, outros, music, interview, feedback)
    16. 17. Content Process for recording each episode (e.g., interviewer and interviewees)
    17. 18. Content Production Process Plan Topic Schedule Record Send File Edit Podcast Listen/Approve Write Post Online
    18. 19. Content Generating Feedback
    19. 20. Dissemination Technology Content Goal Setting
    20. 21. Technology Recording equipment
    21. 22. Technology Editing and Production
    22. 23. Technology Feedback Mechanisms
    23. 24. Technology Data collection
    24. 25. Dissemination Technology Content Goal Setting
    25. 26. Dissemination Your own site or blog
    26. 27. Dissemination iTunes
    27. 28. Dissemination Promotion through your regular channels
    28. 29. Dissemination Community Building
    29. 30. Dissemination Community Building
    30. 31. Resources
    31. 32. KidCast: Learning and Teaching with Podcasting Bringing Podcasting to the Classroom! Book and companion podcast Voices.com offers a free guide on how to start a podcast
    32. 33. PR & Communications-Related Podcasts For Immediate Release: The Hobson and Holtz Report http://www.forimmediaterelease.biz/index.php/weblog/about_us/ Inside PR http://www.insidepr.ca/ Trafcom News Podcast http://trafcom.typepad.com/podcast/ New Comm Road Podcast http://www.newcommroad.com/ On the Record...Online http://ontherecordpodcast.com/pr/otro/
    33. 34. School-Related Podcasts
    34. 35. Podcast Alley http://www.podcastalley.com/ Podcasts Pickle http://www.podcastpickle.com/ Podcast Bunker http://www.podcastbunker.com/ Podcast Central http://www.podcastcentral.com/ Pod Bean https://www.podbean.com/ Education Podcast Network http://epnweb.org/ Education Podcasts education.podcast.com Podcast Directories
    35. 36. Podsafe Music The Podsafe Music Network http://music.podshow.com/ Podsafe Audio http://www.podsafeaudio.com/ Garage Band http://www.garageband.com/ Sound effects A1 Free Sound Effects http://www.a1freesoundeffects.com/ Sound Effects Library http://www.sound-effects-library.com/ Sound Dogs http://www.sounddogs.com/ Partners in Rhyme http://www.partnersinrhyme.com/
    36. 37. A sampling of business podcasts Amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/gss/detail/10840/104-3191986-6116755 Bloomberg Media http://www.bloomberg.com/media/podcast/ Cisco Systems http://newsroom.cisco.com/dlls/podcasts/audio_feeds.html Deloitte http://www.deloitte.com/dtt/article/0%2C1002%2Ccid%25253D105840%2C00.html General Motors http://fastlane.gmblogs.com/podcast/gm_fastlane_podcast.xml Intuit http://intuit.podasp.com/ Macromedia http://weblogs.macromedia.com/podcast/archives/2005/06/macromedia_podc.html McDonalds http://www.mcdonalds.com/corp/podcasts.html NASA http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/podcasting/ Peterson's http://www.petersons.com/podcasts/ College testing company Purina http://www.purina.com/downloads/Podcast.aspx?DCMP=RAC-PUR-Podcasts&HQS=Home Simon & Schuster http://www.simonsays.com/ Listing of college and university podcasts http://www.oculture.com/2006/10/university_podc.html
    37. 38. This presentation and links to resources are online at: http://delicious.com/prsanantonio
    38. 39. Creating schools that work for all children Intercultural Development Research Association 5815 Callaghan Road, Suite 101 San Antonio, Texas 78228 www.idra.org contact@idra.org 210.444.1710

    ×