Synthesis of the Decision and Policy Analysis Program 2009
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Like this? Share it with your network

Share

Synthesis of the Decision and Policy Analysis Program 2009

  • 662 views
Uploaded on

Program synthesis document for the Decision and Policy Analysis Program from the International Centre for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT).

Program synthesis document for the Decision and Policy Analysis Program from the International Centre for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT).

More in: Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
662
On Slideshare
662
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
3
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. The Decision and Policy Analysis (DAPA)1 Program believes strongly in the power of information for designing effective policies in terms of investments in agricultural development and natural resource conservation and management. Our goal is to contribute to improved decision-making across Latin America. We do this by providing novel and accurate information about agricultural systems and associated natural resources at all levels, from farm to continent. To ensure that the rural poor benefit from both public- and private-sector policies, we also work with key governmental and nongovernmental organizations. Outputs and impact • Scenario analyses of potential technologies, The DAPA Program focuses on providing policies, or practices suitable for assisting policy-relevant research outputs for four thematic communities and their agriculture to adapt to areas where significant demand exists in Latin progressive climate change. America. These are: • Develop new pro-poor business models and • Ecosystem services and benefits to the poor. guidelines for public and private policy that • Climate change and building resilience into would ensure that the rural poor benefit from agricultural systems. supply chains. • Designing pro-poor and equitable supply chains in a dynamic world. Main activities and projects • Impact targeting, facilitation, and • Africa Trial Sites Catalogue: a network assessment. supporting cultivar testing in Africa. • A spatial policy-targeting tool for ecosystem Although they are thematically diverse, the services management in the Amazon. underlying research processes are similar, namely, • Assessing and anticipating the consequences spatial and economic analyses. Specifically, some of introducing benefit-sharing mechanisms for of our outputs include: managing water in the Andes. • Ex ante targeting of agricultural technologies • Coffee Under Pressure (CUP): evaluating the to maximize potential impact for the benefit of impact of climate change on coffee in Central the rural poor. America, and identifying viable adaptation • Design of payment schemes for managing options for rural communities. water-based ecosystem services in the Andes; • Analysis of the Colombian agricultural sector’s these schemes would be socially equitable, vulnerability in the face of progressive climate economically viable, and environmentally change; in collaboration with a range of friendly. Colombian partners. • Economic modeling to identify appropriate • PARASID: a monitoring system of land cover policies for managing carbon in Amazonian for Latin America, a project being developed in agroecosystems. collaboration with TNC. • Broad-scale analyses of the impact of climate • Gap analysis of germplasm holdings globally. change on tropical agriculture. 1. For an explanation of acronyms and abbreviations see www.ciat.cgiar.org/newsroom/pdf/acronyms_syntheses.pdf International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT) Eco-Efficient Agriculture for the Poor
  • 2. Main partners and collaborators • Wanjiku Chiuri, Rural Development Specialist AGCommons • Amazon Initiative • Bioversity and Gender (w.chiuri@cgiar.org) International • CATIE • CCAFS • CIFOR • • Laure Collet, Spatial Analyst and Modeling CONDESAN • CPWF • CRS • DNP (Colombia) (l.collet@cgiar.org) • Global Crop Diversity Trust • GCP • Green • Andy Farrow, Spatial Analyst Mountain Coffee Roasters • ICRAF • ICT KM (a.farrow@cgiar.org) • King’s College London • Oxfam • SSA CP • • Glenn Hyman, Spatial and Impact Analyst Stanford University • Sustainable Food Lab • (g.hyman@cgiar.org) TNC • UF • Peter Laderach, Climate Change and High- Value Goods (p.laderach@cgiar.org) Donors • Mark Lundy, Markets Specialist AGCommons • CPWF • GCP • Global Crop (m.lundy@cgiar.org) Diversity Trust • Green Mountain Coffee Roasters • Marcela Quintero, Ecosystem Services, Water, • World Bank and Soils (m.quintero@cgiar.org) • Simone Staiger, Facilitating Impact Expert Team members (s.staiger@cgiar.org) • Andy Jarvis, Climate Change Specialist and Program Leader (a.jarvis@cgiar.org) • Robert Andrade, Impact Assessment Officer Contact: Andy Jarvis (r.andrade@cgiar.org) (a.jarvis@cgiar.org) Tel.: +57 2 4450000 November 2009 ciat-comunicaciones@cgiar.org www.ciat.cgiar.org