Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Robert Schumann
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

Robert Schumann


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

No notes for slide


  • 1. Robert Schumann By Javier Indave Daniel Echeverri & Chema Pout
  • 2. Carnaval (Op. 9)
    • Carnaval is one of the most important works of Robert Schumann.
    • It is a piano solo and was written from 1834 to 1835.
    • It consist of 21 pieces connected by a motif that repeats consecutivily.
  • 3. Carnaval (Op. 9)
    • Schumann dedicated this work to Karol Lipinski, a polish violinist.
    • Only 20 sections of the compositions are numbered. The other 2 (Sphinxes and Intermezzo: Paganini) were not numbered.
  • 4. Papillons (Op. 2)
    • Its a piano suite and it was written in 1831.
    • The name “Papillons” means “Butterflies” and it was inspired by a novel written by Jean Paul called Flegeljahre.
  • 5. Papillons (Op. 2)
    • Each movement is unrelated to the next ones, so every movement is different, but in the final one, the first movement’s theme returns.
  • 6. Phantasiestücke (Op. 12)
    • Phantasiestükcke is a work made of eight pieces for piano.
    • It was written in 1837
  • 7. Phantasiestücke (Op. 12)
    • Schuman composed the pieces with the characters of a story called the hero and the leander in mind
    • Eusebius, the first character, depicts the dreamer in Schumann while Florestan, the second one, represents his passionate side.
  • 8. Kinderszenen (Op. 15)
    • It was written in 1838
    • Kinderszenen is a set of 13 pieces of music for piano.
    • Originally it was a set of 30 pieces, but finally, Schumann chose 13 for the final version.
  • 9. Kinderszenen (Op. 15)
    • There is no known complete manuscript of Kinderszenen.
  • 10. Das Paradies und die Peri (Op. 50)
    • (Paradise and the peri)
    • This work is an oratorio for soloists, chorus and orchestra.
    • It was finished in 1843
    • Its based on a book written by Thomas Moore.
  • 11. Das Paradies und die Peri (Op. 50)
    • The peri, a persian islamic creature, is the main character of the story, having been expelled from paradise, tries to return again giving a gift to heaven. The peri is admitted after bringing a tear of a repentant old sinner who has seen a child praying.