• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content







Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



2 Embeds 2

https://perez12.wikispaces.com 1
http://perez12.wikispaces.com 1



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Buddhism Buddhism Presentation Transcript

    • Buddhism The Rise and Development of Buddhism By: El Rey del Mundo
    • The Buddha Siddhartha Gautama (563-483 BC)
      • Birth
      • Youth
      • Marriage & parenthood
      • The Four Passing Sights (aging, sickness, death, renunciation)
    • Origin of Buddhism Spread of Buddhism during the lifetime of the Buddha (missionary work)
    • The Teachings of the Buddha The Four Noble Truths
    • Preface to the Four Noble Truths: The Middle Path Two extremes to be avoided: (1) Hedonism (Pleasure) (2) Asceticism (Deny Plesure)
      • This Middle Path is the Noble Eightfold Path :
      • Right Views
      • Right Intent
      • Right Speech
      • Right Conduct
      • Right Livelihood
      • Right Effort
      • Right Mindfulness
      • Right Concentration
      By avoiding these two extremes, we discover a Middle Path , a path which opens the eyes, which allows understanding, and leads to peace of mind, to wisdom, to full enlightenment, to Nirvana.
    • 1. The Noble Truth of Suffering
    • 2. The Noble Truth of the Cause of Suffering
    • 3. The Noble Truth of the Cessation of Suffering Nirvana
    • 4. The Noble Truth of the Path that leads to the cessation of suffering
    • Elaboration of the Noble Eightfold Path
      • Right thought/views
      • Right intent
      • Right speech
      • Right action/conduct
      • Right livelihood
      • Right effort
      • Right mindfulness
      • Right concentration
      Wisdom Morality Meditation
    • 1. Right Thought/Views
      • The Four Noble Truths
      • The idea of no-self - impermanence
      • Karma(past actions) & Samsara (rebirth)
      • Nirvana (Ultimate happiness)
    • 2. Right Intent (Resolution) Right intent or resolution is the intent or resolution to live & act in accordance with right views. Purposefully doing good Wisdom
    • 3. Right Speech
      • No lying
      • No slander
      • No harsh or rude talk
      • No profanity
      • No impolite or abusive language
      • No idle or foolish chatter
      • Strive to use language meaningfully & usefully, with wisdom & kindness
      • Learn to maintain “noble silence”
    • 4. Right Action/Conduct
      • No harming & killing
      • No stealing
      • No lying & deceitfulness
      • No sexual immorality
      • No use of intoxicants
      • Eat moderately & not after noon.
      • Stay away from dancing, singing, & dramatic spectacles.
      • Do not use garlands, scents, unguents, or ornaments.
      • Do not use high or broad (soft) beds.
      • Do not accept gold or silver (money in general?).
      Morality The Five Precepts (for everybody) & the Ten Precepts (for monks & nuns)
    • 5. Right Livelihood (Vocation or Work)
      • Choose professions that promote life, peace, & spiritual progress
      • Specifically prohibited professions: poison peddler, slave trader, prostitute, butcher, manufacturer & trader of liquor & other intoxicants, weapons manufacturer & trader, tax collector, caravan trader.
    • 6. Right Effort (purification of the mind)
      • Preventing evil & unwholesome states of mind from arising
      • Getting rid of such states of mind that may already exist
      • Bringing about good & wholesome states of mind
      • Developing & perfecting good & wholesome states of mind that are already present
    • 7. Right Mindfulness
      • Activities of the body (breathing, walking, sitting, eating, heartbeat, etc.)
      • Feelings (anger, fear, joy, pleasure, pain, etc.)
      • States of mind (thoughts, ideas, etc.)
      • Ways of conceptualizing things (the Four Noble Truths, the Wheel of Becoming, etc.)
      Focusing of attention on: Meditation
    • 8. Right Concentration
      • One-pointed concentration
      • Detachment from all sense objects & from negative states of mind; thought processes accompanied by joy
      • Cessation of all mental activities; internal calm, peace of mind, joy to the point of great elation
      • Cessation of all passions & prejudices; continued sense of joy
      • Cessation of joy; total tranquillity & equanimity -- Nirvana (& arhatship)
      Preliminary concentration on the Four Moods: love, compassion, cheerfulness, & impartiality (weighing both views equally) The highest level of Meditation
    • The Major Buddhist Traditions
      • Theravada (“The Way of the Elders”) - Sri Lanka & Southeast Asia
      • Mahayana (“The Greater Vehicle”) - China, Korea, & Japan (& Tibet & Mongolia)
      • Vajrayana (“The Way of the Diamond Thunderbolt”) - Tibet & Mongolia
      * * * Vajrayana is a development within the Mahayana tradition.
    • The Spread of Buddhism Spheres of Influence Theravada Mahayana Vajrayana * * Buddhism out of India by 1000 AD