Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Like this? Share it with your network





Brief summary of the basic points of Jainism.

Brief summary of the basic points of Jainism.



Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



4 Embeds 23

http://nclc.blackboard.com 19
http://www.slideshare.net 2
http://learn.valenciacollege.edu 1
http://www.docshut.com 1



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Jainism Presentation Transcript

  • 1. Jainism
    Alison, Briki and Claire
  • 2. Introduction to Jainisim
    The Universe is eternal, but goes through a cycle continuously.
    Time consists in 2 periods, ascending (Utsarpinee) and descending (Avasarpini). In each these 2 cycles (which are repeated over and over again), 24 Jinas have come into existence.
    The first Jina is believed to have appeared about six trillion years ago.
    The universe has living beings (Jiva) and non-living beings (Ajïva). Karma is based on a Jiva’s interaction with other Jiva and Ajïva.
  • 3. The Beginning
    The history of Jainism can be traced back through 24 Jinas.
    The first Jina was supposed to be a giant who lived 8.4 million years ago.
    Recent and last Jina was Vardhamana, who was born 550 BCE.
  • 4. Vardhamana
    Also known as Mahivira.
    Founder of the Jain community.
    Attained enlightenment after 13 years of deprivation.
    Died after committing salekhana in 467 BCE.
    “Conquered love and hate, pleasure and pain, attachment and aversion, and has thereby freed ‘his’ soul from the karmas obscuring knowledge, perception, truth and ability.
  • 5. Basic Beliefs
    The universe is constructed from many layers, which are heavens and hells. It has no beginning and no ending.
    Everyone is bound to the universe by karma-the accumulated bad deeds a person has done.
    The endless cycle of reincarnation is only achieved after having reached enlightenment.
  • 6. The Layers of the Universe
    Supreme abode-where liberated souls live, at the very top of the layers of the universe.
    Upper world-where celestial beings live, also known as the 30 heavens.
    Universe space-the cloud layers around the upper world
    Middle world-consists of the Earth and the rest of the universe
    Nether world-the 7 hells
    The Nigoda-where all the lowest forms of life live. (The base of the universe.)
  • 7. The 3 Basic Principles, or The 3 Ratnas
    Right faith
    Right knowledge
    Right action
  • 8. 5 Principles of Living (Vows)
    Ahimsa: non violence
    Satya: Only speak the truth
    Asteya: Do not steal
    Brahma-charya: Sexually monogamous
    Aparigraha: Detach from material things, people, and places.
  • 9. Basic Practices
    A vegetarian diet is followed, to prevent harm to any animal.
    Sacred texts are often read daily.
    The 4 stages of life are followed.
  • 10. 4 Stages of Life
    Brahmacharya-ashrama: student life
    Gruhasth-ashrama: family life
    Vanaprasth-ashrama: social services and family life
    Sanyast-ashrama: monk life (a period of renunciation)
  • 11. Groups of Jains
    Shvetambaras-known for monks that wear white robes.
    Digambaras-known for monks that do not wear anything.
    Sadhu is a monk. Sadhvi is a nun.
  • 12. Cosmology
    The universe goes through time cycles, called Kalchakra. Each Kalchakra consists of a Utsarpini and an Avsarpini. Each Utsarpini and Avsarapini is divided into 6 periods called Aras.
    It is believed we are in our 5thAra of the Avarpini period. There are about 18,500 until the next Ara.
  • 13.
  • 14.
  • 15. Diffusion
    Jainism is practiced mainly in India, where there are about 10.2 million followers.
    Relocation diffusion has occurred, bringing Jainism to North America, Western Europe, East Asia, and Australia.
  • 16. Organization of Jainism
    The 2 sects of Jainism (Digambar and Svetambar) divided 200 years after Mahavira achieved enlightenment.
    Svetambaras believe the split occurred when the chief monk AcharyaBhadrabahu predicted a 12 year famine, and lead 12,000 Digambar followers to southern India.
    The followers who remained became the Svetambar sect.
  • 17. Differences between Digambar and Svetambar
    Digmabars believed that women cannot attain enlightenment in the same birth.
    Svetambars believe women may attain enlightenment, and that Malinath (a Jina, or Tirthankar) was in fact a woman.
    Digambars also believe that Mahavir was unmarried.
    Svetambarsbelive that Mahavir married a woman, and had a daughter.
  • 18. Impact on the Physical Environment
    Jainas leave little or no imprint on the broader ecological system and hold an affinity for the ideals of the environmental movement
    The path to reach the Siddha Locka entails great care in regard to how one lives in relationship to all other living beings that surround one in the earthly realm
    Thus, they avoid activities associated with violence and follow a vegetarian diet
    Jainism contains concepts that can lead to the enhancement of core human-earth relations
  • 19. The Five VowsIn Relation to the Physical Environment
    Nonviolence: fosters and attitude of respect for all life forms
    Truthfulness: a truthful person cannot easily dismiss the suffering caused by uncontrolled waste
    Not Stealing: reflects on the world’s limited resources and prompt one to think of the needs of future generations
    Sexual Restraint: minimizes population growth
    Non possession: gives one pause to think twice before indulging in the acquisition of material goods, one of the root causes of current ecological concern
  • 20. The Peaceful Nature of Jainism
    Jainism is often described as one of the most peaceful religions
    There have been no wars fought in the name of Jainism
    Jainism has been a major cultural, philosophical, social and political force since the dawn of civilization in Asia
    The Jaina tradition has existed in tandem with Hinduism in India since at least 800 BCE
    Today, the language remains at peace with other world religions