Read-A-Like
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Read-A-Like

on

  • 1,165 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
1,165
Slideshare-icon Views on SlideShare
1,165
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Read-A-Like Read-A-Like Presentation Transcript

    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Amber Brown is Not a Crayon By Paula DanzigerJunie B. Jones Series: Amber Brownis Not a Crook By Barbara Park Series: Junie B. Jones Her third grade year is a sad time for Amber, Book 9 because her best friend Justin is getting ready to move to a distant state.11 Junie B. Jones book available
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Angel’s Mother’s Wedding By Judy Delton Angel in Charge also available Angel’s Mother’s Boyfriend Angel is worried because her mother does not seem to be making any preparations for her by Judy Delton upcoming wedding. Series: Angel
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Picture This By Jasmine Jones Dork Diaries: Tales from a Series: Lizzie McGuireNot-So-Fabulous 20 Lizzie McGuire titles Life available by Rachel Renee RussellSeries: Dork Diaries Its picture day and Lizzies parents have pressured her into wearing the unicorn sweater Book 2 her grandmother gave her for Christmas.
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: The Absent Author By Ron Roy Series: A-Z Mysteries 24 A-Z Mysteries The Big Nap available By Bruce HaleSeries: Chet Gecko Dink Duncan and his two friends investigate Mystery the apparent kidnapping of famous mystery author Wallis Wallace. 10 Chet GeckoMysteries available
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Bones and the Big Yellow Mystery By David A. Adler Series: Bones Book 1 The Great 4 Bones titles availableSnake SwindleBy Jurgen Banscherus Young Detective Jeffrey Bones begins gathering Series: Klooz clues when Mr. Green asks for his help finding the school bus he lost while shopping at the 6 Klooz Titles mall. available at LTE
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Umbrella Summer By Lisa Graff Mick Harte was Here After her brother Jared dies, ten-year-old Annie worries about the hidden dangers of by Barbara Park everything, from bug bites to bicycle riding, until she is befriended by a new neighbor who is grieving her own loss.
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Julie of the Wolves By Jean Craighead George Hatchet by Gary PaulsenOther stories about Escaping from an unwanted marriage, a Brian: thirteen-year-old Eskimo girl gets lost on the Brian’s Hunt Alaskan tundra and is befriended by a wolf Brian’s Winter pack. The River
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Catherine, Called Birdy By Karen Cushman Firehorse The daughter of an English country knightby Diane Lee Wilson keeps a journal in which she records the events of her life, particularly her longing for adventures beyond the usual role of women and her efforts to avoid being married off.
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: The Field Guide By Tony DiTerlizzi Series: The Spiderwick Chronicles Book 1 6 Spiderwick books Philippa availableFisher’s Fairy Godsister When the Grace children go to stay at their Great Aunt Lucindas worn Victorian house, by Liz Kessler they discover a field guide to fairies and other creatures and begin to have some unusual experiences.
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Bigger By Patricia Calvert Jeremy Fink When his father disappears near the Mexican and the border at the end of the Civil War, twelve- Meaning of year-old Tyler decides to go after him and bring him home, acquiring on the journey a Life strange dog which he names Bigger. by Wendy Mass
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: The Golden Compass By Philip PullmanArtemis Series: His Dark Fowl Materials Artemis Book 1 Fowl: The Opal The Amber Spyglass also Deception available By Eoin ColferSeries: Artemis Fowl Accompanied by her daemon, Lyra Belacqua sets out to prevent her best friend and other6 Artemis Fowl books kidnapped children from becoming the subject available of gruesome experiments in the Far North..
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: The Vanishings By Jerry B. Jenkins Series: Left BehindSecond Chance Book 1By Jerry B. JenkinsSeries: Left Behind Four young friends, Judd, Vicki, Lionel, and Book 2 Ryan, band together to find faith and fight the evil forces that threaten their lives when they are left behind on Earth after Gods Rapture.
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Red Pyramid By Rick Riordan Series: The Kane Chronicles Book 1 The Throne of Fire is Tunnels also AvailableBy Roderick Gordon Brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane accidentally unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes the Series: Tunnels doctor to oblivion and forces his two children to embark on a dangerous journey, bringing them closer Book 1 to the truth about their family and its links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the Deeper is also pharaohs. available
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Artemis Fowl By Eoin Colfer Series: Artemis Fowl Book 1 Harry Potter 6 Artemis Fowl books areand the Goblet available of Fire by J.K. Rowling When a twelve-year-old evil genius tries to restore his family fortune by capturing a fairySeries: Harry Potter and demanding a ransom in gold, the fairies fight back with magic, technology, and a4 Harry Potter books particularly nasty troll. are available
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Catmagic By Holly Webb Shadows Lottie is not enthused about having to spendby Jacqueline West the summer with relatives she hardly knows, but is comforted by the fact that they own aSeries: The Book of pet shop, and things get even better when she Elsewhere is talking to the animals one day and they start to talk back. Book 1
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Inkheart By Cornelia Funke Inkheart Trilogy Inkspell is also available Eragon by Christopher Paolini Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her fatherSeries: Inheritance Mo, a bookbinder, can "read" fictional characters to life when an evil ruler named Book 1 Capricorn, freed from the novel "Inkheart" years earlier, tries to force Mo to release an4 Inheritance books immortal monster from the story. are available
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: The Fellowship of the Ring By J.R.R. Tolkien Series: Lord of the Rings Book 1 Inheritance 5 Lord of the Rings are availableby Christopher Paolini Book 4 Frodo the hobbit and a band of warriors from the different kingdoms set out to destroy the Ring of Power before the evil Sauron graspsSeries: Inheritance control.
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: The Coming of Dragons By A.J. Lake. Drowned Series: Darkest age Wednesday Book 1 by Garth NixSeries: Keys to the Two eleven-year-olds, Edmund and Elspeth, Kingdom discover that they have been given fantastic gifts to use against the ancient and evil forces Book 3 that have been awakened by powerful magic during the Dark Ages in Great Britain. 7 Keys to the Kingdom are available
    • If You Like: You Might Also Like: Uglies By Scott Westerfeld Series: Uglies Book 1 The Hunger Tally is faced with a difficult choice when her Games new friend Shay decides to risk life on the outside rather than submit to the forcedby Suzanne Collins operation that turns sixteen-year-old girls into gorgeous beauties, and realizes that there is a Series: Hunger whole new side to the pretty world that she Games doesnt like. **The Hunger Games and Uglies are not available at Book 1 LTE but are available at the middle schools.
    • The Cabinet Charlie Bone Mister Midnightof Wonders and the By Erin Hunter MondayBy Marie Rutkoski Time Twister Series: By Garth Nix Series: By Jenny Nimmo Series: Warriors Kronos Series: Keys to theChronicles Charlie Bone Kingdom Dragon’s Magyk The Lightning Nest By Angie Sage Thief Redwall By Emily Rodda Series: By Rick Riordan By Brian Jacques Series: Septimus Series: Percy Series: Dragons of Heap Jackson and Redwall Deltora the Olympians
    • Images and Annotations from Titlewave and Opac Finding Read-A-Likes: TITLEWAVE | Follett Library Resources. 1. Survey students to find out what they like to read. (2012). TITLEWAVE | Follett Library Resources. 2. Find the title in OPAC. Retrieved May 2, 2012, from 3. Read about book including reading/interest level. Is it http://www.titlewave.com part of a series?Welcome to Lake Travis 4. Click on details button for the genre and/or topic.Independent School District. 5. Scroll through other titles like it keeping(n.d.). Welcome to Lake TravisIndependent School District. reading/interest level, whether it is part of a seriesRetrieved May 2, 2012, from and whether original book is aimed more towards girlshttp://library.laketravis.txed. or boys in mind.net/cataloging/servlet/pres 6. List other titles available if the original book is part ofentadvancedsearchredirector series as well as if other titles are available if theform.do?l2m=Library%20Search&tm=TopLevelCatalog Read-a-Like is a series. 7. Share power point!