09 ELA Conf Slideshow
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

09 ELA Conf Slideshow



Review photos and descriptions from the 2009 annual conference or gain insight on how you can benefit from a membership in ELA!

Review photos and descriptions from the 2009 annual conference or gain insight on how you can benefit from a membership in ELA!



Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



1 Embed 1

http://www.linkedin.com 1



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

09 ELA Conf Slideshow 09 ELA Conf Slideshow Presentation Transcript

  • Education Law Association
    Annual Conference
    October 21-24, 2009
    Louisville, Kentucky
    The Brown Hotel
  • Welcome to Louisville, thank you for coming!
  • 2009 President Kathleen CrumeColorado Springs, CO
  • General Session Presentations
    1. Millennials and the Americans with Disabilities Act in Higher Education: Laura Rothstein, J.D., Professor of Law & Distinguished University Scholar, Louis D. Brandeis School of Law; University of Louisville, Kentucky
    2. Reforming Education with the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act: Charles P. Rose, J.D., General Counsel; U.S. Department of Education’ Washington, DC.
    3. Supreme Court Update: Christopher P. Borreca, J.D.; Founding Partner Thompson & Horton, LLP, Houston, TX; Perry Zirkel, J.D., Ph.D., Professor, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA
  • Networking Social Events
  • Networking Professional Event
    The “Role-Alike”
    Members split into their constituency groups over lunch to discuss those current legal issues most impacting their position as an attorney, administrator, or professor.
  • 2009
    M.A. McGheheyAward Winner
    R. Craig Wood, J.D.
    Charlottesville, VA
  • 2009 Joseph C. Beckham Dissertation of the Year Award
    Scott R. Bauries, J.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Kentucky College of Law
  • 2009 Steven S. Goldberg Award
    Benjamin Superfine, Assistant Professor, College of Education, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • 2009 George Jay Joseph
    Education Law Writing Award
    Lauren Foley, J.D.
    “From Comparing Plus Factors to Context Review: The Future of Affirmative Action in Higher Education.”
  • Breakout Sessions
    Attendees could attend up to 12 of more than 55 sessions offered during the conference. Session presentations cover a wide range of contemporary issues and new research topics.
  • After a long but wonderful day of sessions and meeting, ELA members take the opportunity to see the sights in Louisville!
  • Take part in the future of the Education Law Association
    Introducing our 2010 Board of Directors:
    Past President: Kathie Crume, CO
    President: Brad Colwell, IL
    President-Elect: Ed Darden, DC
    Vice-President: David Doty, UT
    Board Member: William Thro, VA
    Board Member: Ed Nichols, AL
    Board Member: Preston Green, PA
    Board Member: John Borkowski, IL
    Board Member: Suzanne Eckes, IN
    Board Member: Susan Clark, OH
    Board Member: Tom Hutton, WA
    Board Member: Robert LeBlanc, TX
    Board Member: Susan Bon, VA
  • Make plans now to join us in 2010!
    Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Nov. 10-13