@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media

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  • + Prescient Toby Ward 6 months ago
    Great presentation, Beth. Fantastic work!
  • + blkjkrabbit66 blkjkrabbit66 6 months ago
    Incredibly useful. Thank you for this post!
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@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media - Presentation Transcript

  1. @TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media Image source: iStock Presented to:
  2. Public Relations 1.0 Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock, www.dceb.ie
  3. Public Relations 2.0 Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock, www.dceb.ie, opensalon.com, http://www.blackglass.com.au
    • Demanding clients/bosses
    • Billable hours/not enough hours
    • Spamming the media
    • Shortage of media
    • Publics ignoring the media
    • Online crises
    • Dodging crises
    • Sole focus on the media
    • Ignoring publics
    • Publics talking/seeking information online
    • Publics don’t see silos
    Some of Today’s PR Challenges Image source: iStock
  4. New PR 2.0 Challenges
    • PR pros continue to want to be a controlling mouthpiece
      • i.e. ghost blogging, ghost comments, etc.
    • Potential lack of blogger relations/ community understanding and skills
    • Working with companies who are fearful to engage online
    • New, ever changing tools to keep up with
      • Continued messaging push, no conversation
    Image source: www.strangezoo.com
  5. PR 2.0 Opportunities
    • Outreach to ALL publics
    • Removal of gatekeepers (i.e. the media)
    • Listening and analyzing ALL conversations
      • Natural conversations that are not coerced
    • Communities can share your key messages & influence others
    • PR pros are already prepared
    Image source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
  6. Your workload has just doubled!
    • PR 1.0 doesn’t go away with PR 2.0
    • Integrated strategies & planning
    • Listening/Analyzing
    • Search Engine Optimization
    • Identify & engage with influencers
    • Manage communities
    • Integration of new technologies
    • Measurement
    • Stay updated on trends & train constantly
    • More conversations
    Image & partial content source: John Bell, Ogilvy
  7. Social Media Skeptics Say…
    • Social media can’t be measured
    • It’s just people online with nothing better to do
    • Social media is a fad ( yep, since 1992+/- & still going )
    • We cannot give up control (messaging, brand, etc.)
    • Our goal is to promote/sell our products/services, not chit-chat online
    • Everyone department must have a say and approve
    • Social media is too expensive
    • Legal won’t approve
    Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
  8. Becoming Social One Step at a Time Image source: www.harmonichealth.net
    • Understand the change
    • Monitor/Listen
    • Analyze/Benchmark
    • Develop a Plan
      • Goal
      • Objectives
      • Strategies
      • Tactics
    • Get management approval
    • Identify participants
    • Educate internally
    • Train all employees/Share policies
    Strategy & Implementation Image source: www.meditatus.co.uk
  9. Typical Measurement & Value of PR Image sources: harperstudio.typepad.com, 4.bp.blogspot.com, publichealth.columbus.gov, bmwblog.com, conversationmarketing.com
  10. PR & SM are not Measured the Same
  11. SM Measurement = Engagement Image sources: digitalstrategy.govt.nz, orionwell.files.wordpress.com, itqb.unl.pt, iStock, gognis.net
  12. Monitor/Listen Image source: iStock. Search Marketing Gurus, AdAge
  13. Where to Listen Image source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
  14. How to Listen
      • Google / Yahoo Alerts
      • Google Blog Search
      • Technorati
      • Co.mments
      • Serph
      • Addictomatic
      • Disqus
      • Radian6
      • Twitter Search
      • Blogpulse
      • Lijit
      • Linqia
      • Custom Scoop
      • Ice Rocket
      • NetVibesMotive Quest
      • Nielsen BuzzMetrics
      • Cymphony
      • Trakur
      • SEER
      • Techrigy
      • CyberAlert
      • Umbria
      • ChatterGuard
    Image source: Techrigy
  15. Analyze: Usage ● ● ● ● Daily Usage ● ● ● Weekly Usage (2-3 times) ● ● Bi-weekly Usage ● Monthly Usage ○ Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● Twitter ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● Flickr ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ● ● ● Ning ● ● ● N/A ● ● ○ ● ● ● ● YouTube ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ● ● ● ● ● ● Facebook ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ○ ● ● ● ● ● ● Yelp ● ○ ○ ○ ● ○ Forums N/A N/A ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ●
  16. Analyze: Tonality & Messaging KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  17. How to get started with PR 2.0
    • Start with a plan:
      • Goals
      • Measurable Objectives
      • Strategy
      • Tactics
    • Measure the plan
    • Adjust the plan
    Image source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
  18. Goal
    • What do you hope to gain by engaging in social media?
    • Does your goal fit into the overall executive goal?
    Image source: getentrepreneurial.com
  19. The Goal of Being Social… Image source: om.netregistry.net
  20. Measurable Objectives
    • To be measurable, objectives MUST address:
      • A specific desire communication or behavioral effect;
      • A designated public (or publics) among whom the effect is to be achieved;
      • The expected level of attainment; and
      • The timeframe in which those attainments are to occur.
    • To increase positive mentions that include key message in key industry blogs by 15% within six months .
    • To increase number of presentation downloads by online public #1 by 20% within 3 months .
    • To launch Facebook fan page and have 15% of online public #2 join within 6 months .
    Measurable Objectives
  21. Typical PR Objectives
    • Output: Physical products (release, content, etc.)
    • Outtake: What publics take away
      • Messages, perceptions, understandings
    • Outcome: Quantifiable changes in attitudes, behaviors, or opinions.
  22. Social Media Objectives
    • Output: Total opportunities to see (OTS); share of positive OTS, total number of OTS key messages; share of positive positioning
    • Outtake: Percentage of change in awareness, percentage change in preference; percentage of change in talking about key messages.
    • Outcome: Percentage change in downloads; percentage change in sales, percentage change in requests for information.
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  23. Write Objectives for each Public KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  24. Social Media Strategies
    • What is the approach to achieving objectives and reaching the goal?
    • Example: Establish a Facebook Fan Page to keep publics connected.
    Image source: nassaulibrary.org
  25. Social Media Tactics
    • What activities will be conducted to carryout specific objectives?
    • Example: Set up the Facebook account and invite publics to join via an e-mail invitation.
    Image source: socsci.uci.edu
  26. SM Tools: Fish where the fish are
    • Microblogging: Twitter
    • Photo sharing: Flickr, Picasa
    • Social Networking: LinkedIn, Facebook, Ning Groups
    • Information/Review Sharing: SlideShare, Yelp
    • Video Sharing: YouTube, Viddler, Vimeo
    • Blogging: WordPress, Blogger, TypePad
    Image source: semclubhouse.com
  27. Achieving Management Approval
    • Prepare data with an executive mindset
      • Quantified and Qualified
    • Provide executives with benchmarked analysis
    • Share your plan
    • Demonstrate how your plan will lead to online engagement, relationship building and sales
    • Explain it’s not just a PR initiative, but a corporate one
      • Publics don’t differentiate silos online
    • Promise to only fish where the fish are
    • Be a known social media expert, build trust
  28. Selling SM Internally: Be the Expert
    • Be strategic―social media is about business
    • Understand social media and know the tools
    • Engage in social media
      • On your own time if necessary
    • Share industry case studies (positive & negative) with all departments
    • Develop relationships with content providers
    • Socialize your findings (Are they complaining about customer service or product reliability?)
    • Work with legal
    • Get buy-in from other managers already engaged in social media (Those with LinkedIn & Facebook accounts)
    • Invite online influencers to come & speak to your company
    Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
  29. Who should be involved?
    • Traits to consider:
      • Enjoys communicating (and does it clearly, professionally, and with a human touch)
      • Is comfortable with the media
      • Likes to write and has deep industry knowledge
      • Enjoys sharing
      • Can handle confrontation in a calm and non-defensive manner
      • Is passionate about the brand
    • Departments to consider:
      • PR/Marketing/Communications
      • Customer Service/Client Relations
      • Engineering/Technical Folks
      • Sales
      • Business Development
      • Administration/Boards
      • Deans, Dept. Heads
      • Human Resources
      • Investor Relations
  30. Developing a Social Media Policy
    • Should you have one? YES! And train employees on it.
    • Some basics for employees :
      • Be transparent, truthful and honest
      • Have a filter:
        • Provide value, be respectful, be professional, stick to the area of expertise, don’t violate company privacy/confidentiality/legal guidelines
      • Don’t do or say anything to tarnish the brand
      • Be a leader
      • Apologize when necessary
      • Be human
    • Find sample guidelines at: http://123socialmedia.com/2009/01/23/social-media-policy-examples/
  31. Social Media is a Journey
    • Implement the plan
    • Have a publishing schedule for blogs
    • Monitor employees’ usage and content
    • Continue coaching & evangelizing
    • Prepare for any potential crises
    • Course correct if necessary
    Image source: Flickr: reflectivesport
  32. Implement the Plan
  33. Benchmark & Measure Changes Before: After: Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● /KM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /KM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / KM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /KM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  34. Other measurement items
    • RSS Feeds
    • Comments
    • Favorites
    • Bookmarks
    • New vs. returning traffic
    • Pings/Trackbacks (inbound links)
    • Shared / Retweeted (track with Twurl, etc.)
    • Google Page Ranking
    • Net Promoter Score
    • Conversation Index
  35. Measuring Your Blog: Outcomes
    • First and foremost, companies don’t blog… people do.
    • How can a company blog be measured to prove value?
      • How does the blog affect behavior & relationships?
      • What’s the intended outcome?
        • Financial
        • Relationship
        • Transactional
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Content Source: Image source: topankblog.com
  36. Financial Outcomes
    • To raise money or sell something
      • The metrics and math are simple
        • Cost per click-through (CPC)
        • Cost per sale
        • Cost per lead
        • Cost per dollar raised
      • How to measure
        • Specific URLs for each blog post
        • Use web analytic software
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
    • Example:
      • $120/year for the blog
      • Salary is $50/hr.
        • Employee spends 10 hours a week on the blog
        • $26,000/year
      • The blog generates 50 click-throughs a day
        • 18,250 click-throughs/year
      • Cost per click:
        • $26,120/(365x56) = $1.43
  37. Relationship Outcomes
    • The typical desired effect of a blog is to develop relationships with publics
    • Relationships are tougher to tie to ROI
    • Do a survey prior to implementing your social media plan to determine:
      • Trust, satisfaction, commitment, and control mutuality
    • Implement tactics within your social media plan that allow for the ability to potentially collect email addresses for additional surveys.
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  38. Traffic Outcomes
    • The basic way to see if your blog is successful…
      • Are people visiting?
      • How long are they staying?
      • What are they reading?
      • Where are they coming from?
    • Tools:
      • Google Analytics
      • ClickTracks
      • Compete
      • WebTrends
      • WebSideStory
      • Omniture
      • etc.
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  39. Measuring Your Blog: Outtakes
    • Social Capital & Social Networking
      • Information flows more easily
      • Innovation and efficiency increase
      • Legal costs go down
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: natewhitehill.com
  40. Measuring Your Blog: Outputs
    • How many people are paying attention to your blog?
    • Higher ranks can lead to speaking engagements and more influence
    • Keep track of and measure the blog’s influence over time
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image Source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
  41. Measuring Other Blogs: Outtakes
    • One big focus group of customers, prospects, investors, employees, potential employees, etc.
    • Look for messages, themes, & perceptions of your brand.
    • How does the blogosphere position your brand?
    Content source: Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: ecshome.com
  42. Measuring Other Blogs: Outputs
    • Quality of the Discussion
      • Depth of coverage (number of times & mentions)
      • Dominance (is it 100% about your brand?)
      • Subject (primary topic)
      • Tonality (will the reader be more or less likely to do business with you?)
      • Positioning of key messages
      • Nature of the posting
      • Who is being discussed?
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  43. Measuring other Blogs: Outcomes
    • Quality of the discussion:
      • There are three things that get measured:
        • Links (do you have more inbound links?)
          • Technorati, BlogPulse, Alexa, etc.
        • Visitors (is there an increase in traffic being driven to you?)
          • comScore, Compete, Alexa, Nielsen, etc.
        • Sentiment (are bloggers helping change sentiment?)
          • Market Sentinel, Biz360
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  44. SM Measurement Recap
    • Identify audiences and publics
    • Define objectives for each audience/public
    • Define measurement criteria
    • Define the benchmark
    • Select measurement tools
    • Analyze data, draw actionable conclusions, and make recommendations
    • Make changes measure again
    Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  45. Resources:
    • PR 2.0 by Deirdre Breakenridge
    • Putting the Public back in Public Relations by Brian Solis and Deirdre Breakenridge
    • Measuring Public Relationships by Katie Delahaye Paine
    • KDPaine’s PR Measurement Blog: http://kdpaine.blogs.com/
    • Naked Conversations, by Robert Scoble & Shel Israel
  46. Questions? Image source: sixminutes.dlugan.com

+ Beth HarteBeth Harte, 6 months ago

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