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@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media
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@TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media

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Presented by Beth Harte to the Greater Fort Worth, TX Public Relations Society of America (PRSA). Topic: Planning, implementing and measuring social media.

Presented by Beth Harte to the Greater Fort Worth, TX Public Relations Society of America (PRSA). Topic: Planning, implementing and measuring social media.

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  • 1. @TheForefront: Successfully Navigating Social Media Image source: iStock Presented to:
  • 2. Public Relations 1.0 Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock, www.dceb.ie
  • 3. Public Relations 2.0 Image sources: support.rmicorp.com. iStock, www.dceb.ie, opensalon.com, http://www.blackglass.com.au
  • 4. <ul><li>Demanding clients/bosses </li></ul><ul><li>Billable hours/not enough hours </li></ul><ul><li>Spamming the media </li></ul><ul><li>Shortage of media </li></ul><ul><li>Publics ignoring the media </li></ul><ul><li>Online crises </li></ul><ul><li>Dodging crises </li></ul><ul><li>Sole focus on the media </li></ul><ul><li>Ignoring publics </li></ul><ul><li>Publics talking/seeking information online </li></ul><ul><li>Publics don’t see silos </li></ul>Some of Today’s PR Challenges Image source: iStock
  • 5. New PR 2.0 Challenges <ul><li>PR pros continue to want to be a controlling mouthpiece </li></ul><ul><ul><li>i.e. ghost blogging, ghost comments, etc. </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Potential lack of blogger relations/ community understanding and skills </li></ul><ul><li>Working with companies who are fearful to engage online </li></ul><ul><li>New, ever changing tools to keep up with </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Continued messaging push, no conversation </li></ul></ul>Image source: www.strangezoo.com
  • 6. PR 2.0 Opportunities <ul><li>Outreach to ALL publics </li></ul><ul><li>Removal of gatekeepers (i.e. the media) </li></ul><ul><li>Listening and analyzing ALL conversations </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Natural conversations that are not coerced </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Communities can share your key messages & influence others </li></ul><ul><li>PR pros are already prepared </li></ul>Image source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
  • 7. Your workload has just doubled! <ul><li>PR 1.0 doesn’t go away with PR 2.0 </li></ul><ul><li>Integrated strategies & planning </li></ul><ul><li>Listening/Analyzing </li></ul><ul><li>Search Engine Optimization </li></ul><ul><li>Identify & engage with influencers </li></ul><ul><li>Manage communities </li></ul><ul><li>Integration of new technologies </li></ul><ul><li>Measurement </li></ul><ul><li>Stay updated on trends & train constantly </li></ul><ul><li>More conversations </li></ul>Image & partial content source: John Bell, Ogilvy
  • 8. Social Media Skeptics Say… <ul><li>Social media can’t be measured </li></ul><ul><li>It’s just people online with nothing better to do </li></ul><ul><li>Social media is a fad ( yep, since 1992+/- & still going ) </li></ul><ul><li>We cannot give up control (messaging, brand, etc.) </li></ul><ul><li>Our goal is to promote/sell our products/services, not chit-chat online </li></ul><ul><li>Everyone department must have a say and approve </li></ul><ul><li>Social media is too expensive </li></ul><ul><li>Legal won’t approve </li></ul>Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
  • 9. Becoming Social One Step at a Time Image source: www.harmonichealth.net
  • 10. <ul><li>Understand the change </li></ul><ul><li>Monitor/Listen </li></ul><ul><li>Analyze/Benchmark </li></ul><ul><li>Develop a Plan </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Goal </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Objectives </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Strategies </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Tactics </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Get management approval </li></ul><ul><li>Identify participants </li></ul><ul><li>Educate internally </li></ul><ul><li>Train all employees/Share policies </li></ul>Strategy & Implementation Image source: www.meditatus.co.uk
  • 11. Typical Measurement & Value of PR Image sources: harperstudio.typepad.com, 4.bp.blogspot.com, publichealth.columbus.gov, bmwblog.com, conversationmarketing.com
  • 12. PR & SM are not Measured the Same
  • 13. SM Measurement = Engagement Image sources: digitalstrategy.govt.nz, orionwell.files.wordpress.com, itqb.unl.pt, iStock, gognis.net
  • 14. Monitor/Listen Image source: iStock. Search Marketing Gurus, AdAge
  • 15. Where to Listen Image source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
  • 16. How to Listen <ul><ul><li>Google / Yahoo Alerts </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Google Blog Search </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Technorati </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Co.mments </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Serph </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Addictomatic </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Disqus </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Radian6 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Twitter Search </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Blogpulse </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Lijit </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Linqia </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Custom Scoop </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Ice Rocket </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>NetVibesMotive Quest </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Nielsen BuzzMetrics </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cymphony </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Trakur </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>SEER </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Techrigy </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>CyberAlert </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Umbria </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>ChatterGuard </li></ul></ul>Image source: Techrigy
  • 17. Analyze: Usage ● ● ● ● Daily Usage ● ● ● Weekly Usage (2-3 times) ● ● Bi-weekly Usage ● Monthly Usage ○ Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● Twitter ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● Flickr ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ● ● ● Ning ● ● ● N/A ● ● ○ ● ● ● ● YouTube ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ● ● ● ● ● ● Facebook ● ● ● ● ● ● ○ ○ ● ● ● ● ● ● Yelp ● ○ ○ ○ ● ○ Forums N/A N/A ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ● ●
  • 18. Analyze: Tonality & Messaging KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  • 19. How to get started with PR 2.0 <ul><li>Start with a plan: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Goals </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Measurable Objectives </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Strategy </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Tactics </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Measure the plan </li></ul><ul><li>Adjust the plan </li></ul>Image source: Brian Solis, PR 2.0.com
  • 20. Goal <ul><li>What do you hope to gain by engaging in social media? </li></ul><ul><li>Does your goal fit into the overall executive goal? </li></ul>Image source: getentrepreneurial.com
  • 21. The Goal of Being Social… Image source: om.netregistry.net
  • 22. Measurable Objectives <ul><li>To be measurable, objectives MUST address: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>A specific desire communication or behavioral effect; </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>A designated public (or publics) among whom the effect is to be achieved; </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The expected level of attainment; and </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The timeframe in which those attainments are to occur. </li></ul></ul>
  • 23. <ul><li>To increase positive mentions that include key message in key industry blogs by 15% within six months . </li></ul><ul><li>To increase number of presentation downloads by online public #1 by 20% within 3 months . </li></ul><ul><li>To launch Facebook fan page and have 15% of online public #2 join within 6 months . </li></ul>Measurable Objectives
  • 24. Typical PR Objectives <ul><li>Output: Physical products (release, content, etc.) </li></ul><ul><li>Outtake: What publics take away </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Messages, perceptions, understandings </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Outcome: Quantifiable changes in attitudes, behaviors, or opinions. </li></ul>
  • 25. Social Media Objectives <ul><li>Output: Total opportunities to see (OTS); share of positive OTS, total number of OTS key messages; share of positive positioning </li></ul><ul><li>Outtake: Percentage of change in awareness, percentage change in preference; percentage of change in talking about key messages. </li></ul><ul><li>Outcome: Percentage change in downloads; percentage change in sales, percentage change in requests for information. </li></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 26. Write Objectives for each Public KM = Key Message NKM = No Key Message Positive Negative Neutral None Weekly Weekly Weekly Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Bi-Weekly Monthly Monthly Monthly Monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Less than monthly Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  • 27. Social Media Strategies <ul><li>What is the approach to achieving objectives and reaching the goal? </li></ul><ul><li>Example: Establish a Facebook Fan Page to keep publics connected. </li></ul>Image source: nassaulibrary.org
  • 28. Social Media Tactics <ul><li>What activities will be conducted to carryout specific objectives? </li></ul><ul><li>Example: Set up the Facebook account and invite publics to join via an e-mail invitation. </li></ul>Image source: socsci.uci.edu
  • 29. SM Tools: Fish where the fish are <ul><li>Microblogging: Twitter </li></ul><ul><li>Photo sharing: Flickr, Picasa </li></ul><ul><li>Social Networking: LinkedIn, Facebook, Ning Groups </li></ul><ul><li>Information/Review Sharing: SlideShare, Yelp </li></ul><ul><li>Video Sharing: YouTube, Viddler, Vimeo </li></ul><ul><li>Blogging: WordPress, Blogger, TypePad </li></ul>Image source: semclubhouse.com
  • 30. Achieving Management Approval <ul><li>Prepare data with an executive mindset </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Quantified and Qualified </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Provide executives with benchmarked analysis </li></ul><ul><li>Share your plan </li></ul><ul><li>Demonstrate how your plan will lead to online engagement, relationship building and sales </li></ul><ul><li>Explain it’s not just a PR initiative, but a corporate one </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Publics don’t differentiate silos online </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Promise to only fish where the fish are </li></ul><ul><li>Be a known social media expert, build trust </li></ul>
  • 31. Selling SM Internally: Be the Expert <ul><li>Be strategic―social media is about business </li></ul><ul><li>Understand social media and know the tools </li></ul><ul><li>Engage in social media </li></ul><ul><ul><li>On your own time if necessary </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Share industry case studies (positive & negative) with all departments </li></ul><ul><li>Develop relationships with content providers </li></ul><ul><li>Socialize your findings (Are they complaining about customer service or product reliability?) </li></ul><ul><li>Work with legal </li></ul><ul><li>Get buy-in from other managers already engaged in social media (Those with LinkedIn & Facebook accounts) </li></ul><ul><li>Invite online influencers to come & speak to your company </li></ul>Partial content source: Shashi Bellamkonda, Network Solutions
  • 32. Who should be involved? <ul><li>Traits to consider: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Enjoys communicating (and does it clearly, professionally, and with a human touch) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Is comfortable with the media </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Likes to write and has deep industry knowledge </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Enjoys sharing </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Can handle confrontation in a calm and non-defensive manner </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Is passionate about the brand </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Departments to consider: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>PR/Marketing/Communications </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Customer Service/Client Relations </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Engineering/Technical Folks </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Sales </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Business Development </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Administration/Boards </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Deans, Dept. Heads </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Human Resources </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Investor Relations </li></ul></ul>
  • 33. Developing a Social Media Policy <ul><li>Should you have one? YES! And train employees on it. </li></ul><ul><li>Some basics for employees : </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Be transparent, truthful and honest </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Have a filter: </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Provide value, be respectful, be professional, stick to the area of expertise, don’t violate company privacy/confidentiality/legal guidelines </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Don’t do or say anything to tarnish the brand </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Be a leader </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Apologize when necessary </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Be human </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Find sample guidelines at: http://123socialmedia.com/2009/01/23/social-media-policy-examples/ </li></ul>
  • 34. Social Media is a Journey <ul><li>Implement the plan </li></ul><ul><li>Have a publishing schedule for blogs </li></ul><ul><li>Monitor employees’ usage and content </li></ul><ul><li>Continue coaching & evangelizing </li></ul><ul><li>Prepare for any potential crises </li></ul><ul><li>Course correct if necessary </li></ul>Image source: Flickr: reflectivesport
  • 35. Implement the Plan
  • 36. Benchmark & Measure Changes Before: After: Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /NKM ● /NKM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / NKM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Industry Bloggers Industry Media National Media Investors Public 1 Public 2 Blogs or Online Media ● ● ● ● / NKM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● /KM Twitter ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● ● / KM ● ● ● / NKM Flickr ● ● ● /NKM ● ● /NKM ● ● / NKM ○ /NKM ● /KM ● ● / KNM Ning ● ● / KM ● /NKM N/A ● ● /KM ○ ● ● ● ● / NKM YouTube ● ● ● /NKM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ○ /NKM ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM Facebook ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● /NKM ○ /NKM ○ /KM ● ● ● ● /KM ● ● / KM Yelp ● / NKM ○ /NKM ○ /KM ○ /NKM ● /KM ○ / KNM Forums N/A N/A ● /KM ● ● /KM ● ● ● /KM ● ● ● ● / NKM
  • 37. Other measurement items <ul><li>RSS Feeds </li></ul><ul><li>Comments </li></ul><ul><li>Favorites </li></ul><ul><li>Bookmarks </li></ul><ul><li>New vs. returning traffic </li></ul><ul><li>Pings/Trackbacks (inbound links) </li></ul><ul><li>Shared / Retweeted (track with Twurl, etc.) </li></ul><ul><li>Google Page Ranking </li></ul><ul><li>Net Promoter Score </li></ul><ul><li>Conversation Index </li></ul>
  • 38. Measuring Your Blog: Outcomes <ul><li>First and foremost, companies don’t blog… people do. </li></ul><ul><li>How can a company blog be measured to prove value? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>How does the blog affect behavior & relationships? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>What’s the intended outcome? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Financial </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Relationship </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Transactional </li></ul></ul></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Content Source: Image source: topankblog.com
  • 39. Financial Outcomes <ul><li>To raise money or sell something </li></ul><ul><ul><li>The metrics and math are simple </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Cost per click-through (CPC) </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Cost per sale </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Cost per lead </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Cost per dollar raised </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>How to measure </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Specific URLs for each blog post </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Use web analytic software </li></ul></ul></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations <ul><li>Example: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>$120/year for the blog </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Salary is $50/hr. </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Employee spends 10 hours a week on the blog </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>$26,000/year </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The blog generates 50 click-throughs a day </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>18,250 click-throughs/year </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cost per click: </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>$26,120/(365x56) = $1.43 </li></ul></ul></ul>
  • 40. Relationship Outcomes <ul><li>The typical desired effect of a blog is to develop relationships with publics </li></ul><ul><li>Relationships are tougher to tie to ROI </li></ul><ul><li>Do a survey prior to implementing your social media plan to determine: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Trust, satisfaction, commitment, and control mutuality </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Implement tactics within your social media plan that allow for the ability to potentially collect email addresses for additional surveys. </li></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 41. Traffic Outcomes <ul><li>The basic way to see if your blog is successful… </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Are people visiting? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>How long are they staying? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>What are they reading? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Where are they coming from? </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Tools: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Google Analytics </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>ClickTracks </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Compete </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>WebTrends </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>WebSideStory </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Omniture </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>etc. </li></ul></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 42. Measuring Your Blog: Outtakes <ul><li>Social Capital & Social Networking </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Information flows more easily </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Innovation and efficiency increase </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Legal costs go down </li></ul></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: natewhitehill.com
  • 43. Measuring Your Blog: Outputs <ul><li>How many people are paying attention to your blog? </li></ul><ul><li>Higher ranks can lead to speaking engagements and more influence </li></ul><ul><li>Keep track of and measure the blog’s influence over time </li></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image Source: David Armano, Logic + Emotion
  • 44. Measuring Other Blogs: Outtakes <ul><li>One big focus group of customers, prospects, investors, employees, potential employees, etc. </li></ul><ul><li>Look for messages, themes, & perceptions of your brand. </li></ul><ul><li>How does the blogosphere position your brand? </li></ul>Content source: Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations / Image source: ecshome.com
  • 45. Measuring Other Blogs: Outputs <ul><li>Quality of the Discussion </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Depth of coverage (number of times & mentions) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Dominance (is it 100% about your brand?) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Subject (primary topic) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Tonality (will the reader be more or less likely to do business with you?) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Positioning of key messages </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Nature of the posting </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Who is being discussed? </li></ul></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 46. Measuring other Blogs: Outcomes <ul><li>Quality of the discussion: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>There are three things that get measured: </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Links (do you have more inbound links?) </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Technorati, BlogPulse, Alexa, etc. </li></ul></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Visitors (is there an increase in traffic being driven to you?) </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><ul><li>comScore, Compete, Alexa, Nielsen, etc. </li></ul></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Sentiment (are bloggers helping change sentiment?) </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Market Sentinel, Biz360 </li></ul></ul></ul></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 47. SM Measurement Recap <ul><li>Identify audiences and publics </li></ul><ul><li>Define objectives for each audience/public </li></ul><ul><li>Define measurement criteria </li></ul><ul><li>Define the benchmark </li></ul><ul><li>Select measurement tools </li></ul><ul><li>Analyze data, draw actionable conclusions, and make recommendations </li></ul><ul><li>Make changes measure again </li></ul>Content source: KD Paine & Partners, Measuring Public Relations
  • 48. Resources: <ul><li>PR 2.0 by Deirdre Breakenridge </li></ul><ul><li>Putting the Public back in Public Relations by Brian Solis and Deirdre Breakenridge </li></ul><ul><li>Measuring Public Relationships by Katie Delahaye Paine </li></ul><ul><li>KDPaine’s PR Measurement Blog: http://kdpaine.blogs.com/ </li></ul><ul><li>Naked Conversations, by Robert Scoble & Shel Israel </li></ul>
  • 49. Questions? Image source: sixminutes.dlugan.com

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