• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Mentor Together Mysore Mentor Review Meeting, April 2012
 

Mentor Together Mysore Mentor Review Meeting, April 2012

on

  • 327 views

11 female volunteer mentors began mentoring relationships with 22 girls (14-16 years) at the Balakiyara Bala Mandira Government Home for Girls, in December 2011. We had our first review meeting on the ...

11 female volunteer mentors began mentoring relationships with 22 girls (14-16 years) at the Balakiyara Bala Mandira Government Home for Girls, in December 2011. We had our first review meeting on the first 3 months of mentoring, at the Infosys Mysore campus. In the first 3 months, a total of 80 mentor-mentee meeting happened, with mentors averaging 7 meetings each. In the 160 hours of mentoring that we did, the main focus was helping the girls get settled into these new relationships. Mentoring curriculum used was English and Life Skills.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
327
Views on SlideShare
327
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Mentor Together Mysore Mentor Review Meeting, April 2012 Mentor Together Mysore Mentor Review Meeting, April 2012 Presentation Transcript

    • Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 1
    •  Facilitate democratic and empowering mentoring relationships between disadvantaged youth populations and committed volunteer mentors, which further the capabilities of such youth to pursue their own valued goals and dreams. Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 2
    •  Matches made: 11 mentors mentoring 22 girls Total number of meetings: 80 Average number of meetings/mentor: 7 Range of meetings: 5-11 Total hours put into meetings: ~160 hours Curriculum used: English and Life Skills Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 3
    •  The Youth Mentoring Survey (YMS) is the most comprehensive measure of match relationship quality (MRQ) available with published validity evidence. The YMS was designed to complement the mentor-completed Match Characteristics Questionnaire (MCQ), and strong correlations between the two measures have been obtained. Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 4
    •  The YMS measures relational and instrumental (growth-focused) Match Relationship Quality (MRQ) The first section (25 items) measures relational quality, instrumental quality, and prescription. The second section (22 items) assesses how much match time is devoted to activities focused on fun, sharing/relating, and learning/growing. Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 5
    •  Internal Quality (higher percentages better)  Relational scale - degree to which mentees feels happy, close, satisfied with relationship : 79.81%  Instrumental scale - the degree to which the youth perceives growth benefits from the match: 81.82%  Prescriptive – mentee does not feel that the mentor is too prescriptive: 57.20% Focus/Structure of activities (higher percentages better)  Fun - how much activities focus on hanging out and having fun: 57.80%  Sharing - how much activities focus on talking and sharing emotionally: 68.44%  Growth - how much activities focus on academics, outlook, and character development: 83.94% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 6
    • Not true at all 0% A little true 9% Not true at all Pretty true A little true 23% Pretty true Very true 68% Very true Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 7
    • Not true at all 0% A little true Not true at 13% all Pretty A little true true 14% Pretty true Very true 73% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 8
    • Not true Very true at all 18% Not true at all 18% A little truePretty true 18% A little true Pretty true 46% Very true Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 9
    • Not true at A little all true 4% Pretty true 5% 14% Not true at all A little true Very true Pretty true 77% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 10
    • Not true Not true at at all Very true all A little 32% 27% true Pretty true A little true 32%Pretty true 9% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 11
    • Not true at A little true all 9% 0% Not true at all A little Pretty true true Very true 36% 55% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 12
    • Not true at A little all true Pretty true 9% 9% 9% Not true at all A little true Pretty true Very true Very true 73% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 13
    • A little true Not true at 0% all 5% Not true at allVery true A little true 45% Pretty true Pretty true 50% Very true Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 14
    • • My mentor focuses too much on school. • Avg score: 3.41/5• I wish my mentor would not try so hard to get me to talk about things I dont want to talk about. • Avg score: 2.41/5• I wish my mentor would not get on my case so much (about how I act, what I wear, etc.) • Avg score: 2.19/5 Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 15
    • • Goof around and do things that make you laugh? Half the Everytime More than time 0% half the 5% time 9% Never Less than Less than half half the time the Half the time time 4% Never 82% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 16
    • • Do the thing that you really wanted to do that day (your top choice)? Never Less than 5% half the Never time 9% Less than half the Half time Everytime the Half the time 45% time 18% More than half More the time than half Everytime the time 23% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 17
    • • Other things we do score highly: • Do new things--things you never did before you got matched? Avg Score: 3.09/5• Things we can do better at: • Just hang out and do things like play games together? Avg. score: 1.95/5 Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 18
    • • Talk about things you hope will happen in your life (your hopes and dreams)? Less than Never Half the Never half the 0% time time 5% Less than half 4% the time More than half the Half the time Everytime time 64% 27% More than half the time Everytime Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 19
    • • Talk about any bad things that happen in your life? More than Everytime half the 9% time Never Half the 9% time 5% Less than half the Less than Never time half the 68% time 9% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 20
    • • Talk about how you are doing at school? Half the time More than 9% half the time Never 14% Less than half the time Half the time Everytime More than half the 77% time Everytime Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 21
    • Talk about how to behave well and stay out of trouble(self-control, making betterdecisions, etc.)? Never Less than 4% half the time 5% Never Half the time Less than half the 18% Everytime time Half the time 55% More than half the time 18% Copyright 2012 www.mentortogether.org 22