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Reaching Customers in a Social Media/ Multi-Device World at #IDSD (2012)
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Reaching Customers in a Social Media/ Multi-Device World at #IDSD (2012)

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    Reaching Customers in a Social Media/ Multi-Device World at #IDSD (2012) Reaching Customers in a Social Media/ Multi-Device World at #IDSD (2012) Presentation Transcript

    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 1 #IDSD (2012) source: comScore 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 2 #IDSD (2012)U.S. Mobile Phone Install Base source: comScore MobiLens, 3 Month Average ending April 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 5 #IDSD (2012) source: comScore MobiLens, 3 QFC Bellevue Washington source: months ending July 2011
    • insurance services 4.5% stock trading 4.7% U.S. Smartphone mens magazine content 5.3% Browser Activity automotive services 5.5% horoscopes 5.5% Home/Lifestyle 6.1% dating service 7.3% real estate listings 7.4% travel service 7.5%kids and family entertainment 7.7% Beauty/Fashion/Style 7.7% adult entertainment services 8.5% comics or humor 9.0% television guides 9.4% traffic reports 9.6% shopping guides 9.8% health information 9.8% electronic payments 10.1% gaming information 10.4% credit cards 10.9% auction sites 10.9%
    • @comScore job listings 11.0% @DigitalPhilip 7 #IDSD (2012) Food/Recipes/Cooking Tips 11.3% U.S. Smartphone business directories 12.2% online retail 14.0% Browser Activity classifieds 15.1% restaurant information 15.9% maps 16.9% bank accounts 17.0% stock quotes or financial news 17.2% movie information 17.5% photo or video sharing service 18.7% tech news 19.0% general reference 21.0% sports information 23.7% weather 25.2% entertainment news 25.8% news 33.0% social networking 34.2% search 47.7% source: comScore MobiLens, 3 months ending April 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 8 #IDSD (2012) 100% of Smartphone Platforms - 1%, Symbian - 1%, Palm - 4%, Microsoft - 12%, RIM - 51%, Google 31%, Apple source: comScore MobiLens, 3 Month3 months ending April 2011 source: comScore MobiLens, Average ending July 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 9 #IDSD (2012)Nokia Lumia 900 *http://techcrunch.com/2012/01/12/eyes-on-the-nokia-lumia-900/ source: comScore MobiLens, 3 months ending July 2011
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 10 #IDSD (2012)U.S. Mobile Phone Purchasing Trend source: comScore MobiLens, 3 Month3 months ending April 2011 source: comScore MobiLens, Average ending July 2012
    • 100%US Internet traffic source: comScore Device Essentials March 2012
    • 90%US Internet traffic comes from PC/MAC: 77% US Internet traffic from Windows PC 13% US Internet traffic comes from Mac source: comScore Device Essentials March 2012
    • 100%US Internet traffic source: comScore Device Essentials March 2012
    • 10%US Internet traffic comes from Non-PCs: 5.8% SmartPhones from 3.4% Tablets from source: comScore Device Essentials April 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 15 #IDSD (2012) 37 million December 2011 8 million December 2010 source: comScore Device Essentials
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 16 #IDSD (2012)                 source: comScore MobiLens, 3 Month Average ending April 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 17 #IDSD (2012) Tablets rule our PCs evenings rule our workdaysSmartphones rule our mornings 12:00 am 8:00 am 6:00 pm source: comScore MobiLens, comScore ending July 2011 source: 3 months Custom Analytics
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 18 #IDSD (2012) Smartphone PC/MAC Tablet Gaming source: comScore MobiLens, 3 months ending July 2011 source: comScore 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 19 #IDSD (2012) Comcast Video Subscriber Loss 2009 2009 2010 2010 2011 2011 -500,000 -600,000 -800,000 source: Comcast 10-k filings 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011
    • In April 2012187,362,000Americans watched 39%46,326,976,000online videos! source: comScore Video Metrix
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 21 #IDSD (2012) source: comScore 2012
    • @comScore 1.8h 2.4h 3.6h 6.3h AOL Microsoft Yahoo! Facebook source: comScore Media Metrix, April 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 23 #IDSD (2012)Online minutes f 1 out of 8 are spent on FacebookSocial Networking Minutes f f f 3 out of 4 are spent on Facebook f source: comScore Media Metrix (Total Minutes US) May 2012 source: comScore MobiLens, 3 months ending July 2011
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 24 #IDSD (2012) Smartphone owners source: comScore MobiLens, 3 Month3 months ending April 2011 source: comScore MobiLens, Average ending July 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 25 #IDSD (2012)Publisher Share of Display Ad Impressions 60%other f 22% Facebook  11% Yahoo! 4% 4% Microsoft 2% Google AOL source: comScore MobiLens, 3 months ending April 2011 source: comScore Ad Metrix, U.S., July 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 26 #IDSD (2012) Photocredit: Christian Bale in American Psycho
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 29 #IDSD (2012) source: comScore 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 30 #IDSD (2012) Unique Visitors 20 million May 2012 Unique Visitors 1/ million 2 May 2011 source: comScore Media Metrix, January 2011
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 31 #SMTravel12  65%  35% source: comScore Media Metrix, April 2012
    •  65% 12-17 6%  35% 18-24 18% 25-34 25% 35-44 20% 45-54 18% 55-64 9% 65+ 4%source: comScore Media Metrix, April 2012
    •  65%  35% Under $25K 12% 25,000 - 39,999 14% 40,000 - 59,999 21% 60,000 - 74,999 11% 75,000 - 99,999 16%100,000 or more 26% source: comScore Media Metrix, April 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 34 #IDSD (2012) source: comScore 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 35 #IDSD (2012) Advertiser Publisher Agency source: AT&T Year End Filings 2010
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 36 #IDSD (2012) source: AT&T Year End Filings 2010
    • Does an adthat nobody seesmake animpact?
    • Does an ad delivered to the wrong audiencemake an impact?
    • Reliance onUnverified Server Reports &Cookie DemographicsDoesMakingNotMeasurementMakeSense 3MS, the Internet Advertising Bureau’s (IAB) Five Guiding Principles for Digital Measurement http://www.iab.net/insights_research/mmms/mmms_guidelines © comScore, Inc. Proprietary and Confidential. 39
    • #1 ViewableMove to a “viewable impressions” standard.#2 Delivered On AudienceOnline advertising must switch to currency-based onaudience impressions, not gross ad impressions.
    • Don’t just count impressions served,count and optimize for impressionsthat had a chance to make a real impact: Validated Impressions in-view target audience target geography brand safe not fraudulent
    • vCE charter Study18campaigns380,898sites1,772,117,123impressions Allstate
    • comScore vCE charter study results in-view rates across top 500 publishers Sites 7 % in-view 98% in-view 69% in-view ? ? ? best average worst On average only 69% of ads where in-view, meaning 3 out of 10 are never seen. source: comScore vCE charter study
    • comScore vCE charter study results in-view rate value impact example CPM Imp Cost Value $3 x 60mm = $180k x 98% = $176.4k $3.6k x 69% = $124.2k $55.8k x 7% = $12.6k $167.4kIn this example, on average$55,800 goes to waste.
    • comScore vCE charter study results in-view rate value impact exampleBrand X: 88 million Impressionssource: comScore AdMetrix, 01-2012 to 04-2012 Lost Impact100% 098% 1,770,66069% 27,445,230 7% 82,335,690
    • Placing ads above-the-fold does not guarantee visibility.Above-the-fold in-view ratesranged from 48% to 96%. source: comScore vCE charter study
    • Some remnant inventory might actually be premium.Below-the-fold in-viewranged from 3% to 67%. source: comScore vCE charter study
    • On average, online display ads arein-view for 15.6 seconds!!(which makes them comparable to TV ads) source: comScore vCE charter study
    • comScore vCE charter study results target audience cookie issues demographic cookie accuracy ranged from 14% to 96%!! source: comScore vCE charter study
    • comScore vCE charter study results target geography hit rate On average across campaigns 4% missed the target geography. source: comScore vCE charter study
    • comScore vCE charter study results brand safety: exampleIn this example, on average advertisersoverpay $55,800!!
    • comScore vCE charter study results brand safety: delivery complexity delivery START AD EXCHANGE AD SERVER AD NETWORK AD NETWORK14 out of 17 campaigns had impressions PUBLISHERserved next to inappropriate content. PUBLISHER’S FRIEND WHO BORROWED THE AD TAGS source: comScore vCE charter study
    • comScore vCE charter study results not fraudulent By placing 1 pixel on the users screen hundreds of ads can load and counted as delivered, without ever been seen.
    • Impressions that had a chance to make areal impact! Validated Impressions in-view target audience target geography brand safe not fraudulent
    • Impact on Performance  Buyers = 20% 33% conversion ratePeople exposed to served ad ad impressions validated impressionsSuccess measurement based on served impressionsunderstates attitudinaland behavioral impact.
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 56 #IDSD (2012) Don’t just count impressions served, but count and optimize for impressions that have a chance to make a real impact. Source: comScore vCE Charter Study 2012
    • @comScore @DigitalPhilip 57 #IDSD (2012) source: comScore 2012