Search Engine Advertising

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  • Search Engine Advertising

    1. 1. Search-Engine-Marketing in practice Ilmar Mihkelsoo Skype: ilmar.mihkelsoo E-post: adwords@altex.ee
    2. 2. <ul><li>E-mail: [email_address] </li></ul><ul><li>Phone: (+372) 621 0029 </li></ul><ul><li>Skype: ilmar.mihkelsoo </li></ul><ul><li>Homepage: www.altex.ee </li></ul><ul><li>Blog: www.altex-marketing.com </li></ul>Contact me:
    3. 3. What SEM acronym means <ul><li>SEO (Search Engine Optimization) – Visibility in organic search results </li></ul><ul><ul><li>One can measure success by comparing your search visibility with keywords important to you (also www.internetiturundus.com – searchengine raports) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Getting good results needs good SEO job </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Best for long-term </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cons: results are shown after some timeframe (from 1 month – 1 year) </li></ul></ul><ul><li>SEA (Search Engine Advertising) – paid ads on searchresults </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Term SEM is usually ised in this context </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Results are seen almost instantly and can be tweaked </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>SEA cost is decided by you </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cons: kogub kliente kuni 20% otsijate hulgas </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Search Engine Marketing (SEM) = SEO + SEA </li></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    4. 4. <ul><li>“ Here and now” </li></ul><ul><li>Results are very measurable </li></ul><ul><li>Quickly implemented </li></ul><ul><li>Fast optimization and tweaking </li></ul><ul><li>Does not appear as spam </li></ul><ul><li>Cost under controll </li></ul><ul><li>Better ROI </li></ul>Why is SEM “good”? Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    5. 5. Source : TNS Emor Adex 10.03.2009 Estonian market Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing   Turnover (mln EEK) Marketshare Growth (vs 2007) Newspapers 626,6 36% -13% Journals 171,6 10% -10% TV 468,8 27% -2% Radio 147,1 8% 10% Outside ads 137,8 8% 12% Internet 187,4 11% 26% Total 1739,2 100% -3%
    6. 6. SEM possibilities in Estonia <ul><li>Google – </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Pro: has good information base on SEM and its usability </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cons: not so friendly user-interface </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Neti.ee </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Pro: most popular on local market </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cons: PPV, rather than PPC; no possibility on-the-run tweaking </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Delfi search </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Pro: Good presence and your ad stands out </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Con: small user base and non-excisting transparency :) </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    7. 7. SEM and rest fo the World Source : http://seo.zunch.com Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing Search users Search / visits Search / visitors Google 43.7% 4.4 27.2 Yahoo 28.8% 4.4 21.7 MSN 12.8% 3.3 14.4 AOL/Time Warner 5.9% 2.6 11.6 Ask 5.4% 3.3 10.2 Conversion rate Result Pages Share Toolbar Searches Ask Network 62.2% 5.7% 0.1% Google Sites 85.5% 42.6% 50.3% Microsoft Sites 41.0% 14.4% 2.1% Time Warner Network 25.4% 5.4% 1.2% Yahoo Sites 59.3% 28.0% 46.2%
    8. 8. Where can you find it? Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    9. 9. Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    10. 10. Why are we talking AdWords <ul><li>Best reach </li></ul><ul><li>Sitable for all markets </li></ul><ul><li>Good targeting </li></ul><ul><li>Exportable campaigns </li></ul><ul><li>KnowHow usable elsewhere </li></ul><ul><li>Bonuses... best statistics etc. </li></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    11. 11. AdWords reach and help tools Ads appear: Searchs Content network + image ads Socialmedia - Facebook, forums Tools: AdSense, AdPlanner Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    12. 12. Lets try out Go to: google.com/adwords Login: aw.koolitus1@gmail.com Password: adwords123 Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    13. 13. Creating campaigns <ul><li>When starting a campaign... </li></ul><ul><li> Define your goals: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>HOW MANY visitors you want? - Mass vs Quality </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>How big is yout BUDGET ? - What is your client acquisition </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Think where and to whom you target </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>- Aim your ads where your client </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>- how to get collateral </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    14. 14. Creating campaigns Structuring: - By target audiences, products, sales, budgets, special promotions... Placements: - Always test possible sites abilities to offer your ads Ideas: check traffic sources in Analytics Target audiences concentration - When using specific placements you can get better usage statistics and price controll Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    15. 15. How do determine keywords Suggestions: - Use more phrases - Try do capture queries as specific as possible - Always use also ‘exact’ keywords - Using negative keywords can have good results Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing Broad hansapanga majandusaasta aruanne Phrase “ hansapanga majandusaasta aruanne” Exact [hansapanga majandusaasta aruanne] Negative -hansapanga majandusaasta aruanne
    16. 16. AW in practice <ul><li>Finding keywords </li></ul><ul><li>Different places, different usage </li></ul><ul><li>- searches </li></ul><ul><li>- webmail </li></ul><ul><li>- social-networks </li></ul><ul><li>2. Where to go for ideas </li></ul><ul><li>- Analytics </li></ul><ul><li>- Services / products you offer </li></ul><ul><li>- Related keywords, competitors, events - Synonyms, plural - Typos </li></ul><ul><li>- Competitors webpages, newsletters </li></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    17. 17. Google AdWords - keywords <ul><li>Use different keywords: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Popular keywords bring volumes </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Specific keywords more quality </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Typos are not your enemies  </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Using space helps users </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Dyscraphic users recieve better </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Make on-the-go changes: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Change match types– “broad match” expands, “exact match” narrows </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Look at your page statistics! If many confused users, use negative keywords </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    18. 18. <ul><li>Placements tool: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Creating a campaign or after - Can be added on-the-go </li></ul></ul><ul><li>AdWords Tools </li></ul><ul><li>- Tools tab on AdWords interface </li></ul><ul><li>Keyword tool: </li></ul><ul><li>adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal </li></ul>Tools Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    19. 19. <ul><li>You make bid, price depends on competition </li></ul><ul><li>You don’t pay more than you are willing to pay </li></ul><ul><li>Better the quality, lower the price </li></ul>Google AdWords - pricing Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    20. 20. Google AdWords - pricing <ul><li>Step 1: Your bid </li></ul><ul><ul><li>How much do your competitors pay? </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Step 2: Google and our Ad? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Is your Ad working? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Is your landingpage in accordance with your ad and keywords? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Is keyword producing search volumes? </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Step 3: Position </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Google calculates Quality score to determine your Ads position </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Step 4: Actual CPC </li></ul><ul><ul><li>You pay least sum needed for maintaining your position </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>You almost never pay the maximum sum you bidded </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    21. 21. Google AdWords – Good Ad <ul><li>Headline : </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Up to 25 characters, incl. spaces </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>No special symbols allowed </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Should consist a keyword used </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Text : </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Two rows, 35 characters each </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Must be trustworthy </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>More informative than commercial </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Should call to actionit </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Display URL: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Short and memorable </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Includes brandname </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Good if consists a keyword </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    22. 22. <ul><li>Using dynamic keywords {KeyWord:sõna} </li></ul><ul><li>Note the length of your keywords </li></ul>AdWordsi keyword possibilities Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    23. 23. Setting your price Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing Ad no CPC Bid Quality Score Rank # Position actual CPC 1 0,40 18 0,40 x 18 = 7,2 1 0,37 2 0,65 10 0,65 x 10 = 6,5 2 0,39 3 0,25 15 0,25 x 15 = 3,8 3 0,01
    24. 24. Determing Quality Score Relevancy Home page loading speed Homepage accordance to set rules - no pop-ups allowed - no redirects Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    25. 25. What to watch for in keywords <ul><li>- Relevancy to landing page </li></ul><ul><li>High competition </li></ul><ul><li>CTR </li></ul><ul><li>Low search volume </li></ul><ul><li>Badly performing keyword affects all account </li></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    26. 26. Google AdWords - impressions <ul><li>High impr. vol but low no. clicks? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Is your campaigns localized correctly? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>What is average position – competition is getting higher and your ad gets burried? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Is your Landing page in accordance with your Ad? </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Spy on competition, keep your eyes open </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Tweak on-the-go (optimize): </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Check wording in your ad </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Raise bids </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Check is your ad rightly targeted </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Google your own keywords </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    27. 27. Google AdWords - impressions <ul><li>Sinu reklaami ei näidata? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Põhjuseks võivad olla ebasobivad reklaamid (saad hoiatuse) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>... Või otsisõnad, mida keegi ei otsi... </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>... Või Sinu maksimaalne summa, mida kliki eest maksad (ei ole piisav, et esilehele jõuda oma reklaamiga) </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Tehke jooksvalt täiendusi: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Vaadake üle reklaami sõnastus </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Vaadake üle märksõnad – vajadusel muutke neid üldisemaks </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Tõstke pisut kliki hinda </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Googledage oma märksõnu </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    28. 28. Low CTR? What is bad CTR? - High volume of impressions and low no. Of clicks 1. Are Ads shown? 2. What is your quality score? 3. Are keywords working? - assign negative keywords - delete non-performing keywords - use phrases 4. How is competition – wher Ads appear? Even with good CTR track your ‘bounce rate’ NOTE: Pay attention to your account, visit often! Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    29. 29. Landing pages <ul><li>Kuidas valida maandumislehte? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>According to services / products offered </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>According to desirable action / result </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Desired destination is as near as possible </li></ul></ul><ul><li>2. Good Landing page ... </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Has clear structure and navigation </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Has information relevant to user landed </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Has few clicks possible to reach destination </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Gives an overview of other services and products you offer </li></ul></ul><ul><li>3. Extra possibilities </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Dynamic content </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Website Optimizer </li></ul></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    30. 30. Conversion tracking <ul><li>Helps to track users conversion to customers </li></ul><ul><li>- actual transactions can me measured </li></ul><ul><li>- how many reachs destination you set </li></ul>Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing
    31. 31. Innovative Internet Marketing TM Internet Marketing

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