Great britain8


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Great britain8

  1. 1. A flag of Great Britain is a symbol ofA flag of Great Britain is a symbol of unity.unity. The British flag consists of three crosses: 1) A direct wide red cross on a white background, so-called "cross of Saint George" is the symbol of England. 2) A white cross buck on a blue background is a cross of Saint Andrey, patron of Scotland. 3) A red cross bias on a white background is a cross of Saint Patrick, patron of Ireland. Very beautiful Flag of the Incorporated Kingdom of Great Britain appeared in the total.
  2. 2. Great Britain; a complete official form is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and North Ireland is the island state on the north-west of Europe. The capital of Great Britain is London. The island of Great Britain consists of four main parts: England (the southern and middle part of the island), Wales (a mountainous peninsula in the west), Scotland (the northern part of the island) and North Ireland. Official language - English.
  3. 3. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a constitutional monarchy. It means that the sovereign reigns but does not rule. Britain does not have a written constitution, but a set of laws. Parliament is the most important authority in Britain. Technically Parliament is made up of three parts: the Monarch, the House of Lords; and the House of Commons. In reality the House of Commons is the only one of the three which has true power. The monarch serves formally as head of state. But the monarch is expected to be politically neutral and should not make political decisions. The present sovereign is Queen Elizabeth II. She was crowned in Westminster Abbey in 1953. The House of Commons consists of Members of Parliament. There are 650 of them in the House of Commons. They are elected by secret ballot. General elections are held every five years. Parliament is responsible for British national politic. Local governments are responsible for organizing of education, police and many others.
  4. 4. Buckingham palace: The Buckingham palace is the official London residence of the British monarchs.
  5. 5. Wheel of review of London: Both the London Eye and the Millennium Wheel, this huge 443-foot wheel on the South Bank of river Thames gives a fabulous bird's eye view of London.
  6. 6. Big Ben Clock Tower in London: Big Ben is the nickname for the great bell of the clock at the north end of the Palace of Westminster in London.
  7. 7. Westminster Abbey: Westminster Abbey, located near the Houses of Parliament, is more a historical site than a religious site.
  8. 8. Trafalgar Square: Trafalgar Square, the largest square in London, is often considered the heart of the city.
  9. 9. Tower Bridge: Tower Bridge - Restoring the Most Famous Bridge in the World.
  10. 10. St. Paul's Cathedral: Stands as a symbol and focus of the presence of God in the world and is served by a community of people who work and worship in this place.
  11. 11. Hyde Park: Hyde Park is one of the largest parks in central London, and one of the Royal Parks of London, famous for its Speakers' Corner.
  12. 12. The British museum is a main historical archaeological museum of the British empire and one of the largest museums of the world. Third on visited museum of the world. The British museum:
  13. 13. Oatmeal, fried eggs, omelet, coffee, sandwich, garnish and meat or fish dishes, patties, sausages, sweet, of cause TEA.
  14. 14. Traditions and customs of Great Britain - one of most unusual, refined, leaving in a depth centuries subjects. Many people, from all continents follow suit, delight in elegance, affectation of the English holidays.