Readers' advisory 2.0 / Suggestions de lecture 2.0
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Readers' advisory 2.0 / Suggestions de lecture 2.0

on

  • 1,581 views

Ontario Library Association SuperConference 2009

Ontario Library Association SuperConference 2009

Statistics

Views

Total Views
1,581
Views on SlideShare
1,581
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
3
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Readers' advisory 2.0 / Suggestions de lecture 2.0 Readers' advisory 2.0 / Suggestions de lecture 2.0 Presentation Transcript

    • Readers’ advisory 2.0 Suggestions de lecture 2.0 Alexandra Yarrow Librarian, Rideau Branch Ottawa Public Library http://delicious.com/alexandrayarrow http://www.librarything.com/catalog/alexandrayarrow http://ottawapubliclibrarian.blogspot.com/ www.BiblioOttawaLibrary.ca
    • http://delicious.com/alexandrayarrow/
    • Plan for today
      • Definitions: Reader’s advisory, appeal factors, Web 2.0, Library 2.0, RA 2.0
      • RSS feeds
      • Absolutely crucial RA blogs
      • French RA web sites and blogs
      • Specialized web sites and blogs: bookstores, literary prizes, newspapers, RA genres
      • Online book clubs
      • Twitter
      • Best sites for new RA trends: read-alikes, reading maps and reader profiles
      • ,
      • Resource list(s)
    • Reader’s advisory and appeal factors
      • “ Appeal was a groundbreaking concept because it shifted the focus away from material to its experience.” Duncan Smith
      • Appeal = Areas of change
      • Other areas of change:
      • Fine-tuning of terms used to express feelings a book evokes: affect, mood and tone
      • Design issues encompassing layout and format (audiobook? graphica?)
      • New concepts
      • Genre sliding
      • Nancy Pearl’s “doorways”
      • See “An RA Big Think” Library Journal 7/15/2007 (tagged RA_background_reading on Delicious)
      • Story line
      New aspects related to story line : content, genre, subject, theme and type
      • Frame
      Unpacking frame : description, language, learning/experiencing, setting and style
      • Pacing
      • Character
    • What is Web 2.0?
      • Web 2.0: A “second generation of the World Wide Web […] focused on the ability for people to collaborate and share information online.” Characteristics of Web 2.0:
        • Dynamic
        • Organized
        • Creative
        • Open source software
        • Fosters open communication
        • Interactive / collaborative
        • User centered: Anyone can add content or contribute!
      • Examples of web 2.0 tools:
        • Blogging and mircoblogging (eg. Twitter)
        • Wikis
        • Social networking sites (eg. Facebook, MySpace)
        • Photo or video sharing (eg. Flickr, YouTube)
        • Podcasting
        • Social bookmarking (eg. Delicious)
        • Virtual worlds (eg. Second Life)
      Some web 2.0 tools!
    • Tim O’Reilly and Web 2.0
      • “ The Web as platform”
      • “ Harnessing collective intelligence”
      • “ Rich user experiences”
      • “ Leveraging the long tail through customer self-service.”
      Source: http://www.oreillynet.com/lpt/a/6228 RA_background_reading on Delicious
    • The flip side?
      • The Annoyed Librarian : "All the twopointoh stuff makes it so easy for users to generate idiocy. Just think, back in the old days, one had to find a publisher willing to put up with your idiocy, but the twopointoh publishers depend upon it. Without a lot of user-generated idiocy, Blogger, Wordpress, Livejournal, and the like would be barren wastelands. But now, there's an endless supply of idiocy to read!"
    • What is Library 2.0?
      • “ The application of Web 2.0 thinking and technologies to library services and collections.” -Jack M. Maness. "Library 2.0 Theory: Web 2.0 and Its Implications for Libraries." Webology 3.2: June, 2006
      • Wikipedia: “a loosely defined model for a modernized form of library service that reflects a transition within the library world in the way that services are delivered to users. The focus is on user-centered change and participation in the creation of content and community . […] This includes online services like the use of OPAC systems and an increased flow of information from the user back to the library .”
      • Not a new version of the library or its services, but a response to the impact that Web 2.0 technologies have had. - Toward Academic Library 2.0: Development and Application of a Library 2.0 Methodology by Michael C. Habib
    • Implications of Library 2.0
      • Small libraries can rival big libraries!
      • Users have new expectations!
      • Tagging in a new way: sad, happy, good, bad, etc.
    • Sounds cool… How does this work?
      • “ A complete social discovery system for libraries.”
    • RA_BiblioCommons on Delicious
    • Reader’s Advisory 2.0
      • “ RA 2.0 is the art of using digital tools not only to share information with and advise readers on finding the right book for the right mood, but to collaborate with both colleagues and patrons/readers to create, enhance, and use old and new readers' resources and forums; RA 2.0 helps us create community and address the social aspects of reading by going to where the readers are , as well as inviting them into our organizing, reviewing, and publicizing processes .”
      • Source: Laura Calderone, Diana Herald, and Sarah Cords on the RA in a Day 2008 wiki: http://sites.google.com/site/ra2point0/
      RA_background_reading on Delicious
    • A note about RSS feeds
      • RSS = Really simple syndication
      • Real-time updates to web content
      • 2 components: RSS “feed” or channel (the site you want to tune into, coded for RSS) + RSS reader or aggregator (software that interprets the RSS feed for you and updates you with messages).
      • Sites with an RSS feed normally display this symbol
      • A great list of RSS readers available free online is here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_feed_aggregators#Web-based_software
      RA_RSS on Delicious
    • Absolutely crucial RA blogs
      • Quillblog: http://www.quillandquire.com/blog/
      • Overbooked: http://www.overbooked.org/
      • Globe and Mail Books: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/books
      • Guardian Books: http://books.guardian.co.uk/
      • Reader’s Advisor Online Blog: http://www.readersadvisoronline.com/blog/
      • Dewey Divas and Dudes: http://deweydivas.blogspot.com/
      • Ann Arbor Public Library Book Blog: http://www.aadl.org/catalog/books
      • Blog of a Bookslut: http://www.bookslut.com/blog/
      • Library Journal’s In the Bookroom blog:
      • http://www.libraryjournal.com/blog/770000077.html
      • Bookninja: http://www.bookninja.com/
      • Maud Newton: Blog http://maudnewton.com/blog/index.php
    • More great b l o g s !
      • Booklist has 3 blogs: Likely Stories ( http://blog.booklistonline.com/ ), Book Group Buzz ( http://bookgroupbuzz.booklistonline.com/ ) and Audiobooker ( http://audiobooker.booklistonline.com/ )
      • Brown Paper: http://niranjana.wordpress.com/
      • The Roaring 20s: Quarterlife Lit for the Twentysomething Set (Harper Library MySpace Blog) http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=162671982&blogID=384462034
      • EarlyWord: http://www.earlyword.com/
      • The Canadian Bookworm: http://cdnbookworm.blogspot.com/
      • The Good Book Psychic: http://bplbookpsychic.blogspot.com/
      • Waterboro Public Library (Maine): http://www.waterborolibrary.org/blog.htm
      • Book Bitch: http://www.bookbitch.com/
      • Ornery Librarian: http://ornerylibrarian.blogspot.com/
      • Princeton Library Lounge (Princeton Public Library): http://princetonlibrary.org/librarylounge/
      • ABC Book Reviews (Twinsburg Public Library): http://bethandcari.blogspot.com/
      • 5 th Estate: http://www.fifthestate.co.uk/
      • International Literary Quarterly: http://interlitq.wordpress.com/
      • RA_great_blogs on Delicious
    • French RA web sites and blogs (not all 2.0ish)
      • Romans@lire: http://www.banq.qc.ca/romans@lire/
      • Mag’ à Lire: http://www.mag-a-lire.info/wordpress/
      • A à Z: Guide de la bonne lecture http://www.guidelecture.com/ *free e-newsletter*
      • Livresse http://livresse.com/index.htm
      • Cyberpresse: lectures http://www.cyberpresse.ca/section/CPARTS02
      • Le Devoir: livres http://www.ledevoir.com/culture/livres.html
      • Salon du livre de Montreal http://www.salondulivredemontreal.com/index.asp
      • Critiques Libres http://www.critiqueslibres.com/
      • Figures de style http://www.figuresdestyle.com/index.php *free e-newsletter*
      • Evene.fr http://www.evene.fr/
      • Le Monde: Livres http://www.lemonde.fr/web/sequence/0,2-3260,1-0,0.html
      • Pause Lecture  http://www.pauselecture.net/index.php   
      • RA_French on Delicious
      • Both simple and mixte search are on the homepage screen
      • Recherche simple =
      • Sujet
      • Titre
      • Auteur(e)
      • Recherche mixte =
      • Sujet
      • Titre
      • Auteur(e)
      • Personnage(s)
      • Lieu du récit
      • Prix litt é raire
      • + LIMITES
      Looking for desperate housewives? Try subject = femmes de foyer… (you still have to check if they are desperate) Oeuvre de __ siècle (divided into 50-year periods) Genre littéraire: merveilleux, nouvelles, nouvelles à suspense, nouvelles d’horreur, nouvelles de science-fiction, nouvelles érotiques, nouvelles fantastiques, politique-fiction, romans à suspense, roman autobiographique, roman bigraphique, roman d’amour, roman d’aventures, roman d’espionage, roman d’horreur, roman de chevalerie, roman épistolaire, roman érotique, roman familial, roman fantastique, roman histotrique, roman humoristique, roman judicier, roman noir, roman policier, roman tiré d’un fait vécu, roman western, roman science-fiction!
    • Specialized web sites and blogs: Bookstores
      • Amazon.com , Amazon.ca , Amazon.co.uk , Chapters.indigo.ca (of course)
      • Barnes and Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/ Over 1 million titles + author interviews, book news and reviews. *Good book club section!*
      • Canadian Booksellers Association http://www.cbabook.org/main/default.asp
      • News, events, seasonal hot titles lists, info. Some areas members only…
      • Chapitre.com http://www.chapitre.com/ Very similar to Amazon and other bookstore sites.
      • Librairie Renaud-Bray http://www.renaud-bray.com Palmar ès, coups de cœur, carnets RB
      • Nicholas Hoare http://www.nicholashoare.com
      • Catalogue, Notes At Random and House Favourites (+ local events!)
      • PDF version of Notes At Random and list of local events available by e-mail
      • Ben McNally Books http://www.benmcnallybooks.com/
      • Indie Bound http://www.indiebound.org/ puts out Indie Next List ( http://www.indiebound.org/indie-next-list )
      • RA_bookstores on Delicious
    • Specialized web sites and blogs: literary prizes RA_literary_prizes on Delicious
    • Specialized web sites and blogs: newspapers and magazines
      • 3:AM Buzzwords blog http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/buzzwords/
      • The Independent http://arts.independent.co.uk/books/
      • New York Times Sunday Book Review http://www.nytimes.com/pages/books/review/index.html
      • The Times Literary Supplement (TLS) http://tls.timesonline.co.uk
      • BBC - Arts - Books www.bbc.co.uk/arts/books/
      • CBC Words at Large http://www.cbc.ca/wordsatlarge/
      • The Writer’s Caf é http://writerscafe.ca/
      • CBC.ca News - Arts - Book www.cbc.ca/arts/books/
      • Salon.com Books http://dir.salon.com/topics/books/
      • The Complete Review http://www.complete-review.com/
      • Book World: The Washington Post http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/print/bookworld/index.html
      • RA_newspapers_and_mags on Delicious
    • Newspapers and magazines (cont’d)
      • RA_newspapers_and_mags on Del.icio.us
      • AudioFile http://www.audiofilemagazine.com/ *free e-newsletter – Editor’s picks * *current issue free online*
      • Bookforum http://www.bookforum.com/
      • Bookmarks http://www.bookmarksmagazine.com/ *free e-newsletter* *selected reviews free online*
      • Books in Canada http://www.booksincanada.com/ *selected reviews free online*
      • Entre les lignes http://www.entreleslignes.ca/
      • Lettres québécoises http://www.lettresquebecoises.qc.ca/ *free e-newsletter*
      • Lire http://www.lire.fr/ *free e-newsletter*
      • Liaison http://revueliaison.ca/
      • The Literary review of Canada http://lrc.reviewcanada.ca/ *free e-newsletter*
      • The London Review of Books http://www.lrb.co.uk/
      • Mystery Scene http://www.mysteryscenemag.com/ *selected articles free online*
      • The New York Review of Books http://www.nybooks.com/ *free e-newsletter* *selected articles free online*
      • Nuit blanche http://www.nuitblanche.com/ *PARTS of articles free online*
    • Off-the-beaten-track magazines
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Mystery
      • Confessions of an idiosyncratic mind http://www.sarahweinman.com/ (crime)
      • CrimeSpree Magazine http://www.crimespreemag.com/
      • DEADline News www.cluelass.com/Guide/Deadline.html
      • The Cozy Library http://www.cozylibrary.com/ “ The only authors featured here are those whose books our "Cozy Librarians" have read and reviewed positively.”
      • Stop, You’re Killing Me!
      • http://www.stopyourekillingme.com/
      • RA_mystery and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Romance
      • Romance Junkies http://www.romancejunkies.com/
      • Romance Readers: Do it with passion!
      • http://www.romancereaders.com/index.html
      • (also have blog: http://www.romancereadersblog.com/ )
      • Romance Writers of America http://www.rwanational.org/
      • All About Romance Novels http://www.likesbooks.com/
      • Romantic Times http://www.romantictimes.com/
      • Affaire de Coeur
      • http://www.affairedecoeur.com/
      • RA_romance and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Science fiction
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Fantasy
      • Many of websites on the previous slide!
      • Fantasy Finder http://www.hoh.se/fantasyfinder/reviews.html
      • Black Gate (e-zine) http://www.blackgate.com/index.htm
      • Unchronia (alternative history) http://www.uchronia.net/
      • RA_fantasy and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Fan fiction
      • FanFiction.net: http://www.fanfiction.net/
      • FanFics.org: http://www.fanfics.org/
      • RA_fanfic and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Non-fiction
      • BiblioTravel http://www.bibliotravel.com/
      • All Readers http://allreaders.com/
      • Booklist Centre http://home.comcast.net/~dwtaylor1/
      • Book Reporter http://www.bookreporter.com/
      • Dear Reader and BPL online book clubs:
      • http://www.emailbookclub.com/book/sunonfiction.html and http://www.bpl.on.ca/reading/dearreader.htm#nonfiction
      • NPR Books http://www.npr.org/books
      • Reader’s Club: Nonfiction (then choose by category) http://www.readersclub.org/category.asp?cat=2
      • Reading Group Guides: Nonfiction http://www.readinggroupguides.com/findaguide/nonfiction.asp
      • Mostly NF : Interesting non-fiction books of many flavors http://mostlynf.wordpress.com/
      • Nonfiction Readers Anonymous http://nonanon.com/
      • ricklibrarian http://ricklibrarian.blogspot.com/
      • RA_nonfiction and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Non-fiction
      • Background reading: tagged RA_background_reading on Del.icio.us
      • “ Exploring Nonfiction” Library Journal 2/15/2007
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Horror
      • The Groovy Age of Horror http://groovyageofhorror.blogspot.com/
      • Horror Writers Association http://www.horror.org/
      • International Gothic Association http://gothic.english.dal.ca/
      • The Literary Gothic: The premier webguide to pre-1950 Gothic-tradition literature
      • http://www.litgothic.com/index_fl.html
      • RA_horror and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Westerns
      • Westerns:
      • The ReadWest Network http://www.readwest.com/
      • Western Writers of America: RoundUp http://www.westernwriters.org/roundup.html
      • A Directory of Western Authors http://www.westernauthors.com/
      • RA_western and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Graphica, comics and manga
      • Non 2.0 tool: Catalogue from Random House with notes by Robin from No flying, no tights website: http://www.randomhouse.biz/libraries/pdfs/Graphic_Novel_Catalog.pdf
      • The lair: http://www.noflyingnotights.com/lair/index.html
      • One Manga: http://www.onemanga.com/
      • The Anim é Café http://www.abcb.com/
      • RA_graphica and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • Specialized genre web sites and blogs: Urban lit
      • Urban lit: (see “Collection Development ‘Urban Fiction’: Streetwise Urban Fiction” by David Wright. Library Journal 7/15/2006)
      • Street Fiction http://www.streetfiction.org/
      • “ The Word on Street Lit” column in Library Journal http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6530172.html?q=the+word+on+street+lit
      • RA_urban and RA_genre_site on Delicious
    • RA for kids
      • School Library Journal blogs, including Good Comics for kids ( http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/blog/540000654.html ), A Fuse #8 Production ( http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/blog/1790000379.html and podcasts http://fusenumber8.blogspot.com/ ), Nonfiction Matters ( http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/blog/1880000388.html ) and others
      • Sidekicks: http://www.noflyingnotights.com/sidekicks/index.html
      • Just one more book: http://www.justonemorebook.com/
      • Read Roger (Horn Book editor blog): http://hbook.com/blog/
      • Tea Time (Annick Press blog): http://annickpressblog.blogspot.com/
      • Big A little a: http://kidslitinformation.blogspot.com/
      • BookMoot: http://www.bookmoot.com/
      • Cynsations: http://cynthialeitichsmith.blogspot.com/
      • Livres Ouverts : Sélection de livres pour les jeunes: http://www.livresouverts.qc.ca/index_V2.php
      • RA_kids on Delicious
    • RA for teens
      • No flying, no tights: http://www.noflyingnotights.com/index2.html (spinoffs: sidekicks and the link)
      • Orca Book Publishers Blog: http://orcabook.com/blog/
      • Turning the Paige: http://turnpaige.com/
      • Reading Rants! http://www.readingrants.org/
      • Teen Reads http://www.teenreads.com/
      • NancyKeane.com http://www.nancykeane.com/
      • YALSA booklists http://www.ala.org/ala/yalsa/booklistsawards/booklistsbook.cfm
      • Flamingnet Book Reviews http://www.flamingnet.com/
      • RA_teens on Delicious
    • Online book clubs: TPL Book Buzz http://bookbuzz.torontopubliclibrary.ca/ (see background reading article discussing process of creation of site)
      • Pros of online book discussion group:
      • More time for in-depth analysis and discussion
      • Less pressure to participate (subscribe/unsubscribe freely)
      • Less time investment (no travel)
      • Participants are anonymous
      • No meetings
      • 24/7
      • Cons of online book discussion group:
      • Membership unpredictable
      • Less immediacy
      • Less social, emotional connection
      • Results of TPL survey
      • What they want to discuss:
      • 78% fiction
      • High interest in non-fiction, mystery, biography
      • Moderate interest in sci-fi/fantasy, graphic books
      • Who they are:
      • 76% female
      • 40% age 18-35
      • 34% age 35-50
      • 18% age 50-65
      • 8% age 65+
    • Online book clubs: Hennepin County Library: Bookspace http://www.hclib.org/pub/bookspace/
      • “ Find a good book” leads to “If you like” search box as well as lists of databases and website resources
      • Reader-submitted lists!
      • Featured lists
      • What we’re reading (staff picks)
      • Blog
      • Comments on site enabled
    • Twitter
      • Kingston-Frontenac Public Library: http://twitter.com/KFPL
      • Cleveland Public Library: http://twitter.com/Cleveland_PL
      • Missouri River Regional Library: http://twitter.com/mrrl
      • RA_twitter_examples
    • Web sites for new trends in RA: R e a d - a l i k e s
      • Westmount Public Library: Read-alikes http://www.westlib.org/english/readalike.htm
      • Eleanor London Cote St-Luc Public Library: Read-alikes http://elcslpl.org/resources/suggreading.html
      • BPIM – Si vous avez aime… ville.montreal.qc.ca/pls/portal/url/page/BIBLIO_FR/ REP_SUGGESTIONS_LECTURE/REP_SI_VOUS_AIME/SI_VOUS_AIME
      • Hennepin County Library - If you like… author search http://www.hclib.org/pub/bookspace/FindAGoodBook.cfm
      • Waterloo Public Library: If you like… http://www.wpl.ca/site/goodreads/good_reads_if_you_like.asp
      • Author Read-alikes: The Prince George Public Library (BC) http://www.lib.pg.bc.ca/readerslounge/readalikes
      • If You Like…. Christchurch City Libraries (NZ) http://library.christchurch.org.nz/Guides/IfYouLike/
      • Public Library of Anniston-Calhoun County – Readalikes http://www.anniston.lib.al.us/readalikes.htm
      • Rolling Meadows Library – Readalikes http://www.rolling-meadows.lib.il.us/Readalikes.htm
      • All Together Now - Read Alikes http://atn-reading-lists.wikispaces.com/Read+Alikes (mostly Juvenile/YA/crossover)
      • Bookmarks and book lists compiled by L622: Readers Advisory students in the SLIS program at Indiana University http://ella.slis.indiana.edu/~pneskew/ra/booklists.html
      • RA_ read-alike on Delicious
    • Web sites for new trends in RA: Reading Maps
      • (a.k.a. reading paths)
      • PLA Reading Map presentation http://library.uwb.edu/pearl/
      • Wordsworthy Reading Paths http://wordsworthyreadingpaths.pbwiki.com/
      • Neal Wyatt Reading Maps http://www.overbooked.org/neal_wyatt_reading_maps/
      • Westmount Public Library: Reading Maps http://www.westlib.org/Readingmaps/default.htm
      • Background reading: tagged RA_background_reading on Del.icio.us:
      • “ Reading Maps Remake RA.” Library Journal 11/1/2006
      • RA_ reading_map on Delicious
    • RA_ reading_map on Delicious
    • Web sites for new trends in RA: reader profiles
      • Eleanor London Cote St-Luc Public Library: Reader’s Roadmap http://elcslpl.org/resources/readersroadmap.pdf
      • Patchogue-Medford Library: Reader's Advisory Survey http://www.pmlib.org/pmlreaderssurvey.htm
      • Markham Public Library Readers Resource: What to read next? http://mpl.markham.ca/readersresource/suggestion.htm
      • Williamsburg Regional Library System http://www.wrl.org/bookweb/RA/index.html - go to saved copy of html
      • MGPL Webrary ® : Matchbook DIY http://www.webrary.org/rs/matchbooksearch.html
      • Background reading: tagged RA_background_reading on Del.icio.us “Writing a Reader Profile; or, What I Like and Why” Booklist 10/1/2005
      • RA_ reader_profile on Delicious
    • LibraryThing
      • Free and (relatively) painless
      • Sign up and catalogue 200 books for free
      • Lifetime membership = $25 USD
      • Add it (Amazon.com, Amazon.ca, library catalogues)
      • Scan your barcodes in!
      • Tag it! (subject, reminder, specific-to-you-tag)
      • Review it!
      • Make friends (and influence people… or at least their reading tastes!)
      • Follow it! (using RSS)
      • It’s the “love child of Melvil Dewey and Web 2.0!”
    • LibraryThing-alikes
      • Shelfari
      • BookRabbit
      • GoodReads
      • RA_book_social_networking on Delicious
    • Shelfari blog: http://shelfari.typepad.com/
      • Second Life Library on Info Island
      • Medical Library
      • SciFi In the Sky Skypod
      • Mystery Manor
      • Fahrenheit 451 2:23 The Big Read; Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library
      • A Thousand Splendid Suns 3:14 ALDLive review by JoAnne Pulcino , Arapahoe Library Di s trict
      • American-Born Chinese 1:22 E lizabeth M c M unn ; MLIS San Jose State
      • A Fly on the Wall 2:10 Adriana; MLIS San Jose State
      • In the Company of the Courtesan 3:06 Topeka Library
      RA_video on Delicious
      • http://www.barnesandnoble.com/obsessed/
      RA_video on Delicious
      • Teen Readers Danbury Teen Council The young readers at the Danbury Teen Council share a passion for the written word.
      • http://media.barnesandnoble.com/index.jsp?fr_story=97951569ce7602ab8448fe11747a14ebb5818511&cds2Pid=21806&linkid=1295315
    • Arlington Heights Memorial Library LibVlog
      • Video book trailers and author interviews posted on their website
      • Many are not made in-house but act as RA tools to other items in collection
      RA_video on Delicious
    • Start small…
    • Other resources tagged on Delicious
      • RA_newsletters
      • RA_world
      • RA_listservs
      • RA_genre_listserv
      • RA_feeds
      • RA_wiki
      • RA_background_reading on Delicious
      • All items tagged OLA_2009 on Delicious
      Resource list(s)
    • Other recommended reading: The Bookaholics' Guide to Book Blogs
      • Is the internet proving to be the arena of free speech that it promised?”
      • Chapters about why people blog and different types of blogs (booksellers, publishers, fans, “the literary establishment”, writers, etc.)
      Review from The Independent: "Unless you're a blog fanatic, this book is bound to contain something you didn't know about -- some oddball site capable of yielding the kind of gem that'll make you think just as carefully as anything you'll find in print." Online review from The Complete Review: “ One weakness, however, is the almost complete absence of any sites outside the US and UK; the Canadian Bookninja slips in, but English-language sites from Australia and New Zealand, India, Malaysia, etc. are pretty much entirely ignored, not to mention any foreign-language sites.” (another) review from The Independent: "Where it is flawed is in not giving more coverage to good author- and reader-blogs, dedicating space instead to more parochial blogs about publishing and retailing (although the bitchy agent Ms Snark merits a surf).
    • Thank you!
      • Questions?
      • Contact me anytime:
      • Alexandra Yarrow , Librarian, Rideau Branch
      • Ottawa Public Library
      • [email_address]
      • http://delicious.com/alexandrayarrow
      • http://www.librarything.com/catalog/alexandrayarrow
      • http://ottawapubliclibrarian.blogspot.com/