Mind Blowing Lessons from the Cannes Lions 2012

  • 10,985 views
Uploaded on

This presentation summarizes the key lessons from the Cannes Lions Seminars 2012.

This presentation summarizes the key lessons from the Cannes Lions Seminars 2012.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
10,985
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
7

Actions

Shares
Downloads
472
Comments
17
Likes
35

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Are you ready!!Mind-Blowing Lessonsfrom the Cannes Lions 2012
  • 2. 2012 was aCOLOSSAL year for the Cannes Lions!
  • 3. The question used to be "Whos at Cannes and Why?" The question this year was"Whos not at Cannes and Why?"
  • 4. Agencies paid€14.8 million to submit their work
  • 5. 386 jury members were tasked with going through 34,000 entries!
  • 6. More #CannesLions Tweets per hourthis year than during the entire event last year Peaked @1000 tweets per hour!
  • 7. Cannes Lions Seminars were all about... ....big ideas ...big thinking!
  • 8. Thinking about...The Changing Consumer Fast-Evolving Technology Transforming Ad Biz
  • 9. Thinking that most likely you have notheard before...
  • 10. ...unless you were attending!
  • 11. So here goes...
  • 12. Earned Media has become bigger than Paid Media!
  • 13. rulesYes...social media will rule all media already!
  • 14. Why?
  • 15. Social media usage is deeply rooted into people’s life
  • 16. "Consumers today are smart,inventive & move faster than ever"as marketers we need to embrace that!
  • 17. 2.4 billion millennials!The biggest generational cohort the world has ever seen & theyre demanding awesomeness
  • 18. Millennials arent addicted tosocial media, they just use it to make their lives better
  • 19. When the show Glee starts, Twitter usage increases 1000%
  • 20. During the ENG vs. FRA match,there were 2.5 million tweets from 160 countries; 80% of the world!
  • 21. London Olympic games will be the mostSocial games ever! 30% of US will watch the games on 3 screens
  • 22. 48% of people 18-34 check their Facebook the minute they wake up.What device do you think they are using?
  • 23. It’s not just PEOPLE’S behavior that is evolving!Technology is fast-evolving TOO!
  • 24. 80% of todays technologydidnt exist five years ago!
  • 25. "Innovation is happening faster than a lot of people think."
  • 26. There will be 650 million smart phonesshipped this year.118% growth year on year
  • 27. PwC estimates 2.9 billion smartphones in 2016, 1 billion in China
  • 28. 1993 there were only 130 websites and 5 million internet users worldwide
  • 29. The internet is expected to double in size every 3-5 years !
  • 30. YouTube now has more content than ever broadcast on TV
  • 31. All these changes are hitting the world of advertising...HARD!
  • 32. The importance of Cyber Cannes Lions isntso much about the medium but the possibility and the threat it presents to the industry
  • 33. The word social will eventually go away,social ads will just be ads, social experience just an experience!
  • 34. Twitter is a front row seat to the worlds emotions!
  • 35. The old age of advertising was about selling
  • 36. The new age is about sharing
  • 37. Were moving from planningcampaigns for the future toadapting campaigns to the moment
  • 38. Planners should get away fromseeing the changes to come and move to creating the change themselves!
  • 39. Think outside the world of advertising,make it a part of the social fabric of life!
  • 40. Kraft Food is putting social at the center oftheir communication strategy. TV is now a TEASER for social media
  • 41. Therefore data is no longer a nice tohave but a need to have!
  • 42. Data enables us to create art & science,and gives us amazing ways to tell stories
  • 43. Choice of visualization has a huge role in success or failure of your project.
  • 44. In an era of information overload,right time is more important thanreal time, makes it relevant
  • 45. Dont look for the commonalities indata. Look for abnormality. Thats where the interesting nuggets lie.
  • 46. Data provides insights andopportunities for creatives targeting consumers
  • 47. Individual check-ins are not thatinteresting - aggregation of check-ins tells you the story of my life
  • 48. What is interesting about social is theaggregation. Aggregation tells you the story of your life
  • 49. The greatest thing about these socialplatforms is that we have focus groups every second of the day
  • 50. The digital world is perfect for us, because its always on!
  • 51. All the data and technology means nothing in isolation!
  • 52. Technology is no longer the marvel, its what we do with it
  • 53. Treat digital as an infrastructure & youwill come up with solutions you havenever seen before!
  • 54. The new creative process:creative directors work with technology directors
  • 55. Have a tech expert in room from day one!
  • 56. Move from “art & copy” to “art & code”
  • 57. Engagement >Consumption
  • 58. Creativity based on social engagement isnt additional,nor functional. Its fundamental
  • 59. Paul Adams principles for success#1: make social interaction part ofevery single project brief
  • 60. We are now living in a world where theconversation can become the campaign
  • 61. Close the loop with TV commercials byleveraging the power of second screen possibilities
  • 62. Think less about campaigns and more about platforms
  • 63. When the content is embedded in aconversation, it getsa lot more engaging!
  • 64. Experiences that are shared by a few canengage millions by creating talk value.
  • 65. There is no better way to engage with a consumer than relentlessly
  • 66. at the centre of the social graph is great content
  • 67. message to creatives: come talk to artists managers, theyre the content creators!
  • 68. big brands are looking fornew ways to make music and movies
  • 69. "The content has tobe authentic and havepass-through value...ithas to be rooted in the brand strategy"
  • 70. ‘content is king, distribution is queen’
  • 71. post and pray does not work with video content
  • 72. To sum up... Social media usage is deeply embedded in people’s life Technology is evolving faster than ever! Advertising business is being hit hard by these changes! Data is no longer a nice to have but a need to have! Move from “art & copy” to “art & code” Engagement > Consumption At the centre of the social graph is “great content”
  • 73. Forget about the 4 Ps and adopt the 3 Cs, Curiosity, Culture, Courage
  • 74. Cannes Lions Speakers quoted inthis presentation are: Lee Maicon - VP Insights & Planning - 360i René Rechtman - CEO - Goviral Joe Chen - Founder, Chairman, CEO - Renren Steve King - Chief Executive - Zenith Optimedia Amir Kassaei - Chief Creative Officer - DDB Worldwide Jim Stengel - CEO - Jim Stengel Co. - Former P&G Global Marketing Officer Linus Karlsson - Chairman and Chief Creative Officer - McCann NY and London Arianna Huffington - President, Editor-in-Chief - The Huffington Post Media Group Antonio Lucio - Global Chief Marketing, Strategy and CDC - Visa Dana Anderson - SVP, Marketing Strategy and Communications - Kraft Foods Joseph Tripod - EVP, Chief Marketing and Commercial Officer - The Coca-Cola Company
  • 75. Cannes Lions Speakers quoted inthis presentation are: Paul Adams - Global Head of Brand Design - Facebook Maria Luisa Francoli Plaza - Global CEO - MPG Dan Greenberg - CEO - Sharethrough Mark Tutssel - Cheif Creative Officer - Leo Burnett Marcel Fenez - Global Leader, Entertainment & Media Practice - PwC Dick Costolo - Chief Executive Officer - Twitter Selena Gomez - Actress and Singer Marc Pritchard - Global Marketing & Brand Building Officer - P&G Ross Levinsohn - Interim CEO, Executive Vice-President, Head of Global Media - Yahoo! Maurice Levy - Chairman, CEO, Chairman of the Management Board - Publicis Groupe Rei Inamoto - Chief Creative Officer - AKQA
  • 76. Cannes Lions attendees who’s tweets made this presentation possible! Brendan Burns - https://twitter.com/skin_macka WGSN - https://twitter.com/wgsn Louie Chow - https://twitter.com/louiechow Izzy De Leon - https://twitter.com/h_totheizzo AdPeople Worldwide - https://twitter.com/adpeopleww Sacha Declomesnil - https://twitter.com/sdeclomesnil Venables Bell - https://twitter.com/venablesbell Deborah Hall - https://twitter.com/web2mobile Social@Ogilvy - https://twitter.com/socialogilvy
  • 77. Cannes Lions attendees who’s tweets made this presentation possible! Jason Xenopoulos - https://twitter.com/jasonxenopoulos Lynessa Williams - https://twitter.com/lynessamarie Ebuzzing - https://twitter.com/ebuzzinguk Salim Majzoub - https://twitter.com/salimmajzoub Alison Phalen - https://twitter.com/aliphalen Brad - https://twitter.com/agencebrad Cannes Lions (Official Twitter Feed) - https://twitter.com/cannes_lions Barry Cunningham - https://twitter.com/barrycunningham Trendrr - https://twitter.com/trendrr
  • 78. Cannes Lions attendees who’s tweets made this presentation possible! Tim Collison - https://twitter.com/timcollison Warc Editors - https://twitter.com/warceditors Havas Media - https://twitter.com/havasmedia Marla Natoli - https://twitter.com/marlanatoli Thomas Jamet - https://twitter.com/tomnever Twitter Advertising - https://twitter.com/twitterads Robin Hassan - https://twitter.com/robinkayh R/GA - https://twitter.com/rga Joono Simon - https://twitter.com/joonosimon
  • 79. Cannes Lions attendees who’s tweets made this presentation possible! MPG Global Team - https://twitter.com/mpg_global Kirowski Isobar - https://twitter.com/kirowskiisobar Miron Mironiuk - https://twitter.com/mironmironiuk Dan Dutesco - https://twitter.com/dandutesco Digitas - https://twitter.com/digitas DDB Paris - https://twitter.com/ddbparis Gowthaman - https://twitter.com/gowthamanr H+K Strategies - https://twitter.com/hkstrategies Thomas Crampton - https://twitter.com/thomascrampton Debbie Passaris - https://twitter.com/dpassaris
  • 80. Cannes Lions attendees who’s tweets made this presentation possible! Johannes Kleske - https://twitter.com/jkleske Stefan Erschwendner - https://twitter.com/eranium ! / Mavs - https://twitter.com/jaymavs Craig Corica - https://twitter.com/ccorica Rei Inamoto - https://twitter.com/reiinamoto Daria - https://twitter.com/daria Rene Rechtman - https://twitter.com/rechtmanlondon Christina Fieni - https://twitter.com/christinafieni Burcu - https://twitter.com/bkolancali Alemsah Ozturk - https://twitter.com/alemsah
  • 81. This presentation was made by: Syed Abdul Karim Let’s connect: Twitter: @abdulkarim LinkedIn: www.linked.com/abdulkarim Blog: incito.syedabdulkarim.com Web: www.syedabdulkarim.com SlideShare: www.slideshare.net/akarim76