Wikicauses (YGDA) - Top 100+ Causeworthy Digital Inspirations

1,633 views

Published on

The top 100+ digital inspirations for not-forprofit platforms, websites, technologies, new media and apps (as pulled together by Wikibrand's Sean Moffitt for the YMCA Global Digital Accelerator)

Published in: Technology, Business

Wikicauses (YGDA) - Top 100+ Causeworthy Digital Inspirations

  1. 1. Wikicauses Top 100+ Not-for-Profit Inspirations, Technologies, Websites and Apps
  2. 2. Inspirations sourced for the YGDA Translating 170 years of successful community building effectively into new digital spaces
  3. 3. Key Criteria for Inclusion on List           Smart user experience Novel, dynamic digital functionality Good audience/social/community engagement Clear differentiation of benefit Fresh, leading design interface Quantity, quality and interactivity of content Successful/innovative fundraising/business model Progressive communications view Appealing to youth Leading traffic generation/recognition
  4. 4. Types of Digital Causes/Websites/Platforms and Apps               Youth-targeted digital causes Fundraising/Challenges Digital “breakout rockstar” causes/charities Activism websites/causes Youth – Health/Active Causes/Platforms Social Entrepreneurship/Startups Crowdsourcing initiatives Travel/purpose-driven travel Digital education initiatives Events/video-based Initiatives Ambassador Programs Technologies/Social Media Innovations Showing Social Impact Mobile apps/solutions/mashups
  5. 5. 1. YOUTH TARGETED DIGITAL CAUSES (#1-11)
  6. 6. #1 Me To We http://www.metowe.com
  7. 7. #2 Plan Canada – Because I Am a Girl http://becauseiamagirl.ca
  8. 8. #3 UN Youth Australia http://www.unyouth.org.au
  9. 9. #4 Let’s F Cancer http://www.letsfcancer.com
  10. 10. #5 Too Young To Wed http://tooyoungtowed.org
  11. 11. #6 Rethink Breast Cancer http://rethinkbreastcancer.com
  12. 12. #7 The Girl Effect http://www.girleffect.org
  13. 13. #8 UNICEF http://www.unicef.org
  14. 14. #9 Apps for Good http://www.appsforgood.org
  15. 15. #10 Ashoka’s Youth Venture https://www.youthventure.org
  16. 16. #11 Global Changemakers http://www.global-changemakers.net
  17. 17. 2. FUNDRAISING CHALLENGES (#1221)
  18. 18. #12 Imagination Foundation - Caine’s Arcade http://www.imagination.is/cardboard_challenge
  19. 19. #13 TriggrZ – Intensify Influence http://www.triggrz.com
  20. 20. #14 One Million Acts of Green http://www.onemillionactsofgreen.com
  21. 21. #15 Do it in a Dress http://www.doitinadress.com
  22. 22. #16 The Giving Pledge http://givingpledge.org
  23. 23. #17 DoSomething.Org http://www.dosomething.org
  24. 24. #18 Camp Nothing http://www.goodfornothing.com
  25. 25. #19 Free Rice http://freerice.com
  26. 26. #20 Creative for Good (Wolrd Economic Forum) http://www.weforum.org/bestpractices/creative-good/
  27. 27. #21 Giving Tuesday http://www.goodfornothing.com
  28. 28. 3. DIGITAL BREAKOUT/ROCKSTAR CHARITIES (#22 – 28)
  29. 29. #22 Charity Water http://www.charitywater.org
  30. 30. #23 Water is Life http://www.waterislife.com
  31. 31. #24 To Write Love on Her Arms http://twloha.com
  32. 32. #25 Movember http://www.movember.com
  33. 33. #26 Earth Hour http://www.earthhour.org
  34. 34. #27 End 7 http://www.end7.org
  35. 35. #28 Red Nose Day http://www.rednoseday.com
  36. 36. 4. ACTIVISM WEBSITE/CAUSES (#29-36)
  37. 37. #29 The Awkward Conversations Project http://www.youtube.com/user/thoseawkwardchat s
  38. 38. #30 Get Up – Active for Australia https://www.getup.org.au
  39. 39. #31 The Big Lunch http://www.thebiglunch.com
  40. 40. #32 Stand.Org http://stand.org
  41. 41. #33 MoveOn.Org http://front.moveon.org
  42. 42. #34 Human Rights Campaign http://www.hrc.org
  43. 43. #35 Change.Org http://www.change.org/
  44. 44. #36 The Line http://www.theline.gov.au
  45. 45. 5. YOUTH – HEALTH/ACTIVE CAUSES/PLATFORMS (#37-43)
  46. 46. #37 The Fresh Air Fund http://www.freshair.org
  47. 47. #39 Jumpstart (Canadian Tire) http://jumpstart.canadiantire.ca/en/
  48. 48. #39 Right to Play http://www.righttoplay.com/
  49. 49. #40 The Weight of the Nation (HBO) http://theweightofthenation.hbo.com
  50. 50. #41 Greatist http://greatist.com
  51. 51. #42 Nike Plus http://nikeplus.nike.com/plus/
  52. 52. #43 The November Project http://november-project.com
  53. 53. 6. SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP/STARTUPS (#44-50)
  54. 54. #44 Techhub http://www.techhub.com
  55. 55. #45 Nesta http://www.nesta.org.uk
  56. 56. #46 Nike+ Accelerator http://nikeaccelerator.com
  57. 57. #47 Global Startup Youth http://www.globalstartupyouth.org
  58. 58. #48 Gen Y Capital Partners http://genycap.com
  59. 59. #49 500 Startups http://500.co
  60. 60. #50 Ashoka https://www.ashoka.org
  61. 61. 7. CROWDSOURCING INITIATIVES (#51-56)
  62. 62. #51 Genius Rocket http://www.geniusrocket.com
  63. 63. #52 Pursuit http://pursu.it
  64. 64. #53 Kiva http://www.kiva.org
  65. 65. #54 Crowdrise http://www.crowdrise.com
  66. 66. #55 Threadless http://www.threadless.com
  67. 67. #56 Razoo http://www.razoo.com
  68. 68. 8. TRAVEL/PURPOSE-DRIVEN TRAVEL (#57-60)
  69. 69. #57 airbnb https://www.airbnb.com
  70. 70. #58 Peaceful Countries http://www.peacefulcountries.com
  71. 71. #59 Crooked Trails http://crookedtrails.org
  72. 72. #60 The Vagabond Project http://www.thevagabondproject.tv
  73. 73. 9. DIGITAL EDUCATION/EMPLOYMENT INITIATIVES (#61-67)
  74. 74. #61 Vittana http://www.vittana.org
  75. 75. #62 Wonderopolis http://wonderopolis.org
  76. 76. #63 Codeacademy http://www.codecademy.com
  77. 77. #64 Lynda.com http://www.lynda.com
  78. 78. #65 TED Ed http://ed.ted.com
  79. 79. #66 General Assembly https://generalassemb.ly
  80. 80. #67 Idealist http://www.idealist.org
  81. 81. 10. EVENTS/VIDEO-BASED INITIATIVES (#68-71)
  82. 82. #68 TedX Youth Day http://tedxyouthday.ted.com
  83. 83. #69 CNN Heroes http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/cnn.heroes/index.ht ml
  84. 84. #70 127 Defining Moments (Outside Magazine) http://www.127definingmoments.com/
  85. 85. #71 Funny or Die http://www.funnyordie.com
  86. 86. 11. AMBASSADOR PROGRAMS (#72-78)
  87. 87. #72 Ambassadors for Life http://ambassadorsforlife.org
  88. 88. #73 World Vision Child Ambassadors http://www.wvchildambassadors.org
  89. 89. #74 Humans of New York http://www.humansofnewyork.com
  90. 90. #75 Ford Fiesta Movement http://www.fiestamovement.com
  91. 91. #76 lululemon Ambassadors http://www.lululemon.com/community/ambassado rs
  92. 92. #77 UNICEF Goodwill Ambassadors http://www.unicef.org/people/index.html
  93. 93. #78 Ammado https://www.ammado.com
  94. 94. 12. TECHNOLOGIES/SOCIAL MEDIA INNOVATIONS (#79-88)
  95. 95. #79 Bang The Table http://bangthetable.com
  96. 96. #80 Ushahidi http://www.ushahidi.com
  97. 97. #81 Nature Valley Trail Views http://www.naturevalleytrailview.com
  98. 98. #82 Newsana http://www.newsana.com
  99. 99. #83 What’s Trending http://whatstrending.com
  100. 100. #85 Thunderclap https://www.thunderclap.it
  101. 101. #86 Curators of Sweden http://curatorsofsweden.com
  102. 102. #87 Alltop http://alltop.com
  103. 103. #88 Montblanc World Second http://worldsecond.montblanc.com
  104. 104. 13. SHOWING SOCIAL IMPACT (#89-92)
  105. 105. #89 New York Public Art Fund http://www.publicartfund.org
  106. 106. #90 Charity Republic http://www.charityrepublic.com
  107. 107. #91 Social Impact Award http://socialimpactaward.net
  108. 108. #92 The Zero Footprint Calculator http://calc.zerofootprint.net
  109. 109. 14. MOBILE APPS/SOLUTIONS/MASHUPS (#93-
  110. 110. #93 Full Fitness App https://itunes.apple.com/ca/app/full-fitnessexercise-workout/id536049508?mt=8
  111. 111. #94 Fleetly App http://www.fleetly.com
  112. 112. #95 So Fit App http://sofitmobile.com
  113. 113. #96 Volunteer Match App http://www.volunteermatch.org
  114. 114. #97 Life 360 App http://www.life360.com
  115. 115. #98 Path https://path.com
  116. 116. #99 Map My Fitness http://www.mapmyfitness.com
  117. 117. #100 Flipboard https://flipboard.com
  118. 118. #101 Charity Miles http://www.charitymiles.org
  119. 119. #102 The Silent History http://www.thesilenthistory.com
  120. 120. #103 Sulia http://sulia.com
  121. 121. #105 Appysnap App http://appysnap.com
  122. 122. #106 Instagram http://instagram.com
  123. 123. #107 Sparked App http://hello.sparked.com
  124. 124. #108 Session M App http://www.sessionm.com
  125. 125. #109 Badgeville http://badgeville.com/
  126. 126. Have any other suggestions? • Send me your thoughts at: sean@wiki-brands.com • Look for my post and interviews on what makes these cause platfroms and technologies so special

×