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Secret steps to creating online sales strategies
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Secret steps to creating online sales strategies

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How to create a successful strategy for online sales success. We show you each of the four steps you need to understand to create an online sales model for any website owner or manager

How to create a successful strategy for online sales success. We show you each of the four steps you need to understand to create an online sales model for any website owner or manager

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Secret steps to creating online sales strategies Secret steps to creating online sales strategies Presentation Transcript

  • Secret Steps for Online Strategies
    June 2010
  • Today’s Agenda
    IntroductionWho uses the Internet?Steps for online successSummary
  • Some of our clients...
    View slide
  • £4.5 billion
    imrg.org – April 2010
    View slide
  • Why online marketing?
    If you want to grow your business, you need to grow your sales
    Millions use search engines to find your services online everyday
    Getting online marketing right can drive £££’s in sales
  • Who will get more sales?
    Vs
  • Who uses the Internet?
    36,820,000 Internet users in the UK
    – 72% of market
    21.8 million use Internet everyday
    UK averages 34.5 hours per month per user vs EU average of 16 hrs!
  • Who uses the Internet?
  • Who uses the Internet?
  • So much potential…
    How can you capitalise?
  • Success!
  • Steps to online success
    £
  • To start your plan…
    What is your AOV (Average Order Value)
    - You need to know this!
    How much profit could you make on an average order?
    - Help decide how much to spend on marketing
    How much do you want to grow your business?
    - Can you actually cope?
  • Steps to online success
  • How estimate traffic levels
    Google gives us a lot of tools to help us with this now
    - Take all numbers with a pinch of salt
    Consider SEO and local listing traffic as well
    - Free traffic and lots of it!
    Think about offline marketing (if you do any)
    - This can impact visitors to your website
  • http://www.google.com/trends
  • http://www.google.com/trends
  • http://www.google.co.uk
  • http://www.google.co.uk
  • https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
  • Steps to online success
  • Conversion rate
    Two step process;
    - Conversion rate of people from SE to your site
    - Conversion rate of people on your site to enquiry
    Every site is different but we can use industry research to make educated guesses
  • Google’s golden triangle
  • Conversion rate
    From our own research we estimate about 2% click through rate on top positions on Google
    This is VERY industry specific and depends on numerous factors (0.6% to 78%!)
    Read more:
    http://blog.adido-solutions.com/2009/07/how-accurate-is-google-keywords-tool.html
  • Get better click through rates - SEO
    META descriptions
    - Used for search engine results pages
    - Good way to ‘hook’ users into your website
    TITLE tags
    - Most important thing to change
    - Good titles, help rankings. Fact. Change them!
  • Get better click through rates - PPC
    Top tips!
    - Include the phrase the you are targeting in the headline and / or description
    - Take the user to the most relevant page on your website
  • UK average conversion rates
    http://www.coremetrics.co.uk/solutions/industry-report.php
  • On site conversion rates
    Average UK online conversion rate is between 1% - 3%
    Again, this is VERY industry specific and depends on numerous factors (0.5% to 10%!)
    You have to measure this – website stats (Google Analytics)
  • How to improve conversion rates
    #1 tip : Check your website stats!
    - Which are pages going wrong?
    #2 tip : Make design changes
    - What is stopping people from buying
    - ASK PEOPLE!
    #3 tip : Review and continue to monitor
    - Look to make continual improvements
  • Top tip!
    - Check your bounce rate! Where are you losing clients?
  • How to improve conversion rates
  • How to improve conversion rates
  • How to improve conversion rates
  • Back to our scenario…
    Possible traffic on target phrases: 500,000
    Average click through from Google: 2% of 500k = 10,000
    Average conversion rate: 2% of 10,000 = 200
    AOV: £100 x 200 = £20,000
  • Steps to online success
  • How much to spend?
    Each industry is different so each click is worth very different amounts!
  • How much to spend?
    Each industry is different so each click is worth very different amounts! Make sure you get the best clicks possible!
    - ‘Mortgages’ £2.56 - £3.84
    - ‘Remortgages’ £9.71 - £14.57
    - ‘Bad Credit Remortgages’ £17.28 - £25.97
    FOR ONE CLICK TO YOUR WEBSITE!
    http://www.clickconsult.com/Internet-Marketing-Blog/pay-per-click/pay-per-click-management/high-cost-per-click-keywords.html
  • How much to spend?
    If AOV is £100, how much can you spend to get a sale?
    Say, 30% net profit so 10% of total goes to ad spend
    - 10% of £20,000 = £2,000 (leaving £4,000 profit!)
    - To get 10,000 visitors to your site = ave 20p per visit
    Remember, SEO clicks are free!
  • Steps to online success
    £4,000
  • How far can you go?
    Lot of things we can do to get more sales / enquiries
    • Improve conversion rate
    • Improve engagement
    • Get clients to come back more often
    • Improve average order value
    • Offer something for free to entice more spending
  • Thank you for listening!
    Want to know more about online marketing?
    Join us for one of our ‘Summer Seminars for Success!’
    Call us on 0845 260 2343
    Go to http://www.adido-solutions.com/seminars
    or follow us on – twitter.com/adido