• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
IA Community (Summer 2013)
 

IA Community (Summer 2013)

on

  • 769 views

Presented as part of the University of Washington Information Architecture Institute (INFX 598) on July 12, 2013.

Presented as part of the University of Washington Information Architecture Institute (INFX 598) on July 12, 2013.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
769
Views on SlideShare
768
Embed Views
1

Actions

Likes
4
Downloads
7
Comments
1

1 Embed 1

https://www.linkedin.com 1

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

CC Attribution-NonCommercial LicenseCC Attribution-NonCommercial License

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel

11 of 1 previous next

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    IA Community (Summer 2013) IA Community (Summer 2013) Presentation Transcript

    • COMMUNITY @adcockm Michael Adcock July 12, 2013 – INFX 598
    • COMMUNITY “Hey, that looks familiar!”
    • pimpformationarchitect.com michaeladcock.info WHO AM I?
    • Helping Your Library Be The Best Partner For Research Thank You Michael Adcock Technical Support Analyst, Global Client Support Services Serials Solutions | 501 North 34th Street, Suite 200 | Seattle, WA, 98103, USA | 1-866-737-4257 x1081 | Michael.Adcock@serialssolutions.com
    • flickr.com
    • http://www.slideshare.net/AbbyCovert/what-is-this-ux-thing
    • http://iamania.com/
    • Personal Learning Network manage your resources
    • Personal Learning Network People as information resources Curate your collection of contacts and let them feed you information Periodically share your own findings (links, blog posts, etc.) Engage and connect people to each other and to helpful information http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_Learning_Networks
    • Twitter access your resources
    • Twitter Links to… articles blog posts book releases samples Discussion on… current practices and trends jobs psychological support amusing banter
    • Archive My Tweets “I wanted a way to browse and search my old tweets, archive them in case Twitter ever dies, and do this all on my own web server. Douglas Bowman of Stopdesign created something similar, but I felt there were too many steps involved for something so simple, so I created Archive My Tweets. Now I have a browsable and searchable archive of all my tweets.” Get it at: amwhalen.com/projects/archive-my-tweets
    • Who’s Who understand your resources
    • Who’s Who I want to introduce you to people. I’m not trying to play favorites or pimp out friends, but obviously this list is biased. These are “thought leaders” who love to share and collaborate. Please don’t think of them as rockstars! 
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Stephen Anderson Design Psychology, Seduction Dallas, TX @stephenanderson, @getmentalnotes poetpainter.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Fred Beecher Axure Prototyping, Unicorns Minneapolis, MN @fred_beecher nerdery.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Margot Bloomstein Content Strategy Boston, MA @mbloomstein appropriateinc.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dan Brown Documents/Artifacts, Conflict Bethesda, MD @brownorama communicatingdesign.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Leah Buley Working Solo, Sketching San Francisco, CA @ugleah ugleah.tumblr.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dana Chisnell Usability, Voting Boston, MA @danachis usabilityworks.net
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Adam Connor & Aaron Irizarry Design Critique Western MA & Southern CA @adamconnor, @aaroni268 adamconnor.com, thisisaaronslife.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Catriona Cornett Inspiration Philly, PA @inspireUX inspireux.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Abby Covert IA Practice, Teaching, Sketching New York, NY @Abby_the_IA abbytheia.wordpress.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Christian Crumlish & Erin Malone Social Interfaces, Play Oakland, CA & San Francisco, CA @mediajunkie, @emalone mediajunkie.com, emdezine.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Veronica Erb Sketchnoting, HTML Prototyping Washington, DC @verbistheword veronicaerb.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Karl Fast Education, Information Overload Kent, OH @karlfast karlfast.org
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: John Ferrara Game Design, Play Philly, PA @ferrarajc rosenfeldmedia.com/books/game-design/blog/
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Nick Finck Mobile UX, Community Seattle, WA @nickf nickfinck.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Deb Gelman Designing for Children, Fun Philly, PA @dgelman chaoticcurrents.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Thom Haller Content, Clear Communication Washington, DC @thomhaller thomhaller.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Kristina Halvorson Content Strategy Minneapolis, MN @halvorson blog.braintraffic.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Whitney Hess Empathy, Coaching Florida Keys @whitneyhess whitneyhess.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Andrew Hinton Context, Connections Atlanta, GA @inkblurt inkblurt.com Coming eventually!
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dan Klyn Understanding, Teaching, Architecture Grand Rapids, MI @danklyn understandinggroup.com Coming eventually!
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Livia Labate Management of Experience Design Bethesda, MD @livlab livlab.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Karen McGrane Content Strategy New York @karenmcgrane karenmcgrane.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Jess McMullin IA in the Public Sector Edmonton, AB @jessmcmullin citizenexperience.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Peter Morville Search, Findability Ann Arbor, MI @morville findability.org
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Brad Nunnally UX Design and Research, Speaking St. Louis, MO @bnunnally onestraythought.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Jeff Parks Interviews & Podcasts Ottawa, CA @jeffparks followtheuxleader.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Anders Ramsay Agile UX Brooklyn, NY @andersramsay andersramsay.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Eric Reiss Customer Service, Business Copenhagen, Denmark @elreiss fatdux.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Andrea Resmini Pervasive IA, Place-making, Education Jönköping, Sweden @resmini andrearesmini.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Lou Rosenfeld Publishing, Search Analytics Brooklyn, NY @louisrosenfeld louisrosenfeld.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Donna Spencer Organizing Content, Intranets Canberra, Australia @maadonna donnaspencer.com.au
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Jared Spool User Research, Usability, Conferences @jmspool uie.com, unicorninstitute.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Samantha Starmer Holistic Customer Experience Chicago, IL @samanthastarmer ?
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Don Turnbull Quantitative IA Austin, TX @donturn donturn.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Russ Unger UX Process, Career Mentoring Chicago, IL @russu userglue.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Todd Zaki Warfel Prototyping, Guerrilla Research San Francisco, CA @zakiwarfel zakiwarfel.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dan Willis The Art of Speaking, Taking Risks Washington, DC @uxcrank dswillis.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Christina Wodtke Strategy, Leadership Palo Alto, CA @cwodtke eleganthack.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Luke Wroblewski Web Form Design, Mobile Silicon Valley, CA @lukew lukew.com
    • Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Indi Young Mental Models San Rafael, CA @indiyoung rosenfeldmedia.com/books/mental-models
    • Conferences meet your resources
    • Conferences Interaction IA Summit Midwest UX
    • Local Activities play with your resources
    • Local Activities Seattle IA/UX Content Strategy Seattle Find more local activities at: www.seattleuxevents.com
    • Free Stuff lol moar resources
    • Link Goodies Andrew Hinton’s amazing Linkosophy (and updated) Russ Unger’s Career Workshop ’12 (2011), (2010) Whitney Hess’ UX Designer Resources Nick Finck’s Book List Jorge Arango, Andrea Resmini, Andrew Hinton, and Dan Klyn discuss Placemaking in IA Dan Willis’ UX Deathmatch Video The IA Summit Library
    • Jobs Serials Solutions is hiring: http://www.serialssolutions.com
    • Closing Thoughts
    • Closing Thoughts A mashup brought to you by the PimpIA and Titus Jones...
    • It's never been about information. It's always been about people. How they relate to that information, how that information makes them think, how it makes them feel, and how the structure of that information influences both things. Jesse James Garrett, IA Summit 2009 Watch the video: 10th Annual IA Summit Closing Plenary
    • And that’s what Information Architecture is. It’s about understanding! Richard Saul Wurman, IA Summit 2010 Listen to: RSW’s Discussion at the IA Summit in Phoenix
    • michaeladcock.info KTHXBAI