IA Community (Summer 2013)

800 views
709 views

Published on

Presented as part of the University of Washington Information Architecture Institute (INFX 598) on July 12, 2013.

1 Comment
5 Likes
Statistics
Notes
No Downloads
Views
Total views
800
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
10
Comments
1
Likes
5
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

IA Community (Summer 2013)

  1. 1. COMMUNITY @adcockm Michael Adcock July 12, 2013 – INFX 598
  2. 2. COMMUNITY “Hey, that looks familiar!”
  3. 3. pimpformationarchitect.com michaeladcock.info WHO AM I?
  4. 4. Helping Your Library Be The Best Partner For Research Thank You Michael Adcock Technical Support Analyst, Global Client Support Services Serials Solutions | 501 North 34th Street, Suite 200 | Seattle, WA, 98103, USA | 1-866-737-4257 x1081 | Michael.Adcock@serialssolutions.com
  5. 5. flickr.com
  6. 6. http://www.slideshare.net/AbbyCovert/what-is-this-ux-thing
  7. 7. http://iamania.com/
  8. 8. Personal Learning Network manage your resources
  9. 9. Personal Learning Network People as information resources Curate your collection of contacts and let them feed you information Periodically share your own findings (links, blog posts, etc.) Engage and connect people to each other and to helpful information http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_Learning_Networks
  10. 10. Twitter access your resources
  11. 11. Twitter Links to… articles blog posts book releases samples Discussion on… current practices and trends jobs psychological support amusing banter
  12. 12. Archive My Tweets “I wanted a way to browse and search my old tweets, archive them in case Twitter ever dies, and do this all on my own web server. Douglas Bowman of Stopdesign created something similar, but I felt there were too many steps involved for something so simple, so I created Archive My Tweets. Now I have a browsable and searchable archive of all my tweets.” Get it at: amwhalen.com/projects/archive-my-tweets
  13. 13. Who’s Who understand your resources
  14. 14. Who’s Who I want to introduce you to people. I’m not trying to play favorites or pimp out friends, but obviously this list is biased. These are “thought leaders” who love to share and collaborate. Please don’t think of them as rockstars! 
  15. 15. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Stephen Anderson Design Psychology, Seduction Dallas, TX @stephenanderson, @getmentalnotes poetpainter.com
  16. 16. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Fred Beecher Axure Prototyping, Unicorns Minneapolis, MN @fred_beecher nerdery.com
  17. 17. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Margot Bloomstein Content Strategy Boston, MA @mbloomstein appropriateinc.com
  18. 18. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dan Brown Documents/Artifacts, Conflict Bethesda, MD @brownorama communicatingdesign.com
  19. 19. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Leah Buley Working Solo, Sketching San Francisco, CA @ugleah ugleah.tumblr.com
  20. 20. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dana Chisnell Usability, Voting Boston, MA @danachis usabilityworks.net
  21. 21. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Adam Connor & Aaron Irizarry Design Critique Western MA & Southern CA @adamconnor, @aaroni268 adamconnor.com, thisisaaronslife.com
  22. 22. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Catriona Cornett Inspiration Philly, PA @inspireUX inspireux.com
  23. 23. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Abby Covert IA Practice, Teaching, Sketching New York, NY @Abby_the_IA abbytheia.wordpress.com
  24. 24. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Christian Crumlish & Erin Malone Social Interfaces, Play Oakland, CA & San Francisco, CA @mediajunkie, @emalone mediajunkie.com, emdezine.com
  25. 25. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Veronica Erb Sketchnoting, HTML Prototyping Washington, DC @verbistheword veronicaerb.com
  26. 26. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Karl Fast Education, Information Overload Kent, OH @karlfast karlfast.org
  27. 27. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: John Ferrara Game Design, Play Philly, PA @ferrarajc rosenfeldmedia.com/books/game-design/blog/
  28. 28. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Nick Finck Mobile UX, Community Seattle, WA @nickf nickfinck.com
  29. 29. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Deb Gelman Designing for Children, Fun Philly, PA @dgelman chaoticcurrents.com
  30. 30. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Thom Haller Content, Clear Communication Washington, DC @thomhaller thomhaller.com
  31. 31. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Kristina Halvorson Content Strategy Minneapolis, MN @halvorson blog.braintraffic.com
  32. 32. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Whitney Hess Empathy, Coaching Florida Keys @whitneyhess whitneyhess.com
  33. 33. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Andrew Hinton Context, Connections Atlanta, GA @inkblurt inkblurt.com Coming eventually!
  34. 34. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dan Klyn Understanding, Teaching, Architecture Grand Rapids, MI @danklyn understandinggroup.com Coming eventually!
  35. 35. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Livia Labate Management of Experience Design Bethesda, MD @livlab livlab.com
  36. 36. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Karen McGrane Content Strategy New York @karenmcgrane karenmcgrane.com
  37. 37. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Jess McMullin IA in the Public Sector Edmonton, AB @jessmcmullin citizenexperience.com
  38. 38. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Peter Morville Search, Findability Ann Arbor, MI @morville findability.org
  39. 39. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Brad Nunnally UX Design and Research, Speaking St. Louis, MO @bnunnally onestraythought.com
  40. 40. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Jeff Parks Interviews & Podcasts Ottawa, CA @jeffparks followtheuxleader.com
  41. 41. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Anders Ramsay Agile UX Brooklyn, NY @andersramsay andersramsay.com
  42. 42. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Eric Reiss Customer Service, Business Copenhagen, Denmark @elreiss fatdux.com
  43. 43. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Andrea Resmini Pervasive IA, Place-making, Education Jönköping, Sweden @resmini andrearesmini.com
  44. 44. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Lou Rosenfeld Publishing, Search Analytics Brooklyn, NY @louisrosenfeld louisrosenfeld.com
  45. 45. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Donna Spencer Organizing Content, Intranets Canberra, Australia @maadonna donnaspencer.com.au
  46. 46. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Jared Spool User Research, Usability, Conferences @jmspool uie.com, unicorninstitute.com
  47. 47. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Samantha Starmer Holistic Customer Experience Chicago, IL @samanthastarmer ?
  48. 48. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Don Turnbull Quantitative IA Austin, TX @donturn donturn.com
  49. 49. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Russ Unger UX Process, Career Mentoring Chicago, IL @russu userglue.com
  50. 50. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Todd Zaki Warfel Prototyping, Guerrilla Research San Francisco, CA @zakiwarfel zakiwarfel.com
  51. 51. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Dan Willis The Art of Speaking, Taking Risks Washington, DC @uxcrank dswillis.com
  52. 52. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Christina Wodtke Strategy, Leadership Palo Alto, CA @cwodtke eleganthack.com
  53. 53. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Luke Wroblewski Web Form Design, Mobile Silicon Valley, CA @lukew lukew.com
  54. 54. Focus: Location: Twitter: Website: Presentations, Books, & Other Goodies: Indi Young Mental Models San Rafael, CA @indiyoung rosenfeldmedia.com/books/mental-models
  55. 55. Conferences meet your resources
  56. 56. Conferences Interaction IA Summit Midwest UX
  57. 57. Local Activities play with your resources
  58. 58. Local Activities Seattle IA/UX Content Strategy Seattle Find more local activities at: www.seattleuxevents.com
  59. 59. Free Stuff lol moar resources
  60. 60. Link Goodies Andrew Hinton’s amazing Linkosophy (and updated) Russ Unger’s Career Workshop ’12 (2011), (2010) Whitney Hess’ UX Designer Resources Nick Finck’s Book List Jorge Arango, Andrea Resmini, Andrew Hinton, and Dan Klyn discuss Placemaking in IA Dan Willis’ UX Deathmatch Video The IA Summit Library
  61. 61. Jobs Serials Solutions is hiring: http://www.serialssolutions.com
  62. 62. Closing Thoughts
  63. 63. Closing Thoughts A mashup brought to you by the PimpIA and Titus Jones...
  64. 64. It's never been about information. It's always been about people. How they relate to that information, how that information makes them think, how it makes them feel, and how the structure of that information influences both things. Jesse James Garrett, IA Summit 2009 Watch the video: 10th Annual IA Summit Closing Plenary
  65. 65. And that’s what Information Architecture is. It’s about understanding! Richard Saul Wurman, IA Summit 2010 Listen to: RSW’s Discussion at the IA Summit in Phoenix
  66. 66. michaeladcock.info KTHXBAI

×