At the end of the 18 - th century the building was seriously changed. The earth ramparts, which adjoined the Gate were removed; buttresses surrounded by circular bastions were added to four corners of the old tower to reinforce it; the gateway church was built in brick and reconstructed in 1810; the platform around the church was turned into a covered gallery. Extremely rare monument of the old-russian fortification. It was built in white stone in 1158-1164 by prince Andrei Bogolyubsky of Vladimir and was the main entrance and defensive tower of the new fortress , the assault of the mongol-tartar army and was not covered with shame at that. Today the Golden Gate is a part of the Vladimir and Suzdal museum, in 1992 it was inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO. The Golden Gate
The Cathedral of the Assumption
It is the unique monument of the white-stone architecture of Vladimir and Suzdal. The church was built in 1158-1160 by prince Andrei Bogolyubsky as a principle church of the Vladimir-Suzdal principality. The cathedral stands on a high hill over the Klyazma river. Four domes t ogether with a central one form a five-domed roof, that determined a model of the orthodox church for a long time.
The architectural complex of the Assumption Cathedral includes a bell-tower and St.George church.
The cathedral was restored in the 19-20 - th centuries. At a moment the Assumption cathedral is used by both the Vladimir-Suzdal museum and the Russian Orthodox Church. It is on the World Heritage List of UNESCO.