Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.


Introducing the official SlideShare app

Stunning, full-screen experience for iPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply



Published on

Published in: Education

1 Like
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

No notes for slide


  • 1. Buddhism
  • 2.  Buddhism - the philosophical and ethical system considered by many people as a philosophy, less as a religion. The founder and creator of the basic tenets lived between 560 to 480 BC and his name was Siddhartha Gautama who was the son of the prince of the house of Śākyo, the ruler of one of the city-states of northern India. Buddhism is sometimes considered to religion dharma and non-theistic religion.
  • 3. DOCTRINES OF BUDDHISM  Many different strands of Buddhist thought has evolved from the original teachings of Buddha Shakyamuni after his death. We distinguish learning, practicing, focus on selected topics of the Buddha's teachings and culture. However, despite of a number of significant differences there are also many common threads for all Buddhist traditions and schools.
  • 4. THE FOUR NOBLE TRUTHS  The First Noble Truth of Suffering - "Birth is suffering, aging is suffering, death is suffering. Sorrow, lamentation, pain, grief and despair are suffering. Society dislike is suffering'' The Second Noble Truth of the Cause of Suffering-cause of suffering is desire. The third noble truth of the cessation of suffering - the cessation of suffering is the total disappearance and cessation, renunciation, abandonment, liberation, letting go of desire. The Fourth Noble Truth of the Path Leading to the cessation of suffering - the way to the cessation of suffering is the Noble Eightfold Path - right view, right resolve, right speech, right action, appropriate life, right aspiration, right concentration, proper meditation
  • 5. Basics of Buddhism are easy to understand and use: nothing in the world is static or does not change, our actions have consequences, and they can change in any time or situation.
  • 6.  So Buddhism calls for all people, regardless of race, nationality or gender. It also teaches practical methods such as meditation, so that we can put into practice it teachings, take responsibility for our own lives, change for the better, develop the awareness, compassion and wisdom. In the world there are about 350 million Buddhists, and their number is constantly growing in the countries that are not traditionally Buddhist (e.g. those in Europe and North America). There are different forms of Buddhism, but all traditions are connected not to resort to violence, but to freedom from dogma, tolerance and - in most cases - meditation.
  • 7.