Tropicana Las Vegas Reviews
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Tropicana Las Vegas Reviews

on

  • 217 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
217
Views on SlideShare
217
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Tropicana Las Vegas Reviews Tropicana Las Vegas Reviews Document Transcript

    • Tropicana Las Vegas ReviewsWelcome To Every Hotel, 100,000 plus listings on every continent.Review: 3.2 out of 5 based on 45 local reviews by Joel Chambers via google 2012-12-06Still seams a little outdated, no coffee maker or mini fridge in the room. Not much to do here butis close to larger casinos. by Anthony Angellotti via google 2012-11-14Not the best for the money.Layout not guest friendly ..$$$deadbolt didnt work ..TV poor 1 / 34
    • reception.. by N.O. Foodie via google 2012-11-09* Shower had mold * Smoke detector was gone when we checked in ( they got us a new onethe next day ) * Dead bolt lock did not work and they did not want to fix it. * The windows arevery, very thin you can hear all the noise from road and the airport. It sounds like thehelecopters are landing in the room. I do not think there was a night that I did not wake up atleast twice because of the noise from the outside. * Room was clean and the staff was friendly.But the foor quality was real good but very pricey. by Anthony Cohen via google 2012-10-30I hate my wife working there... Tropicana needs to get with google and update shops,food justcasino all together for maps. 2 / 34
    • by stacia vegas via google 2012-03-09RPM Nightclub has been remodeled from Club Nikki at the Tropicana. I went for the softopening and was very impressed with the updated decor. They took out all the "beachy"decorations and went for a clean, white ambiance. It really reminded me of pure with all thewhite booths. Great remodel :) There is a small gaming area with a bar that is 10 times fasterthan the main bar and a good sized dance floor. We had a booth that was centrally located andvery spacious with hidden drawers to store personal belonging out of sight. The waitress wasvery friendly and stopped by frequently to check on us and make sure we had everything weneeded. The security staff was also very good and actually helped my drunk friend find hermisplaced purse! Days Open: Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday Hours: 10:30pm-close (usually4-5am) Guestlist: Free-$20 before 12 midnight and Free-$20 after 12 midnight. Guestlist wait:5-30 minutes. Hosted Entry: $10/girl and $30/guy (includes cover and no wait in line) VIPTABLES Wednesday: $250 for locals/girls for 1 skyy vodka (includes tax, gratuity, entry for up to7 people or unlimited girls) $800 for 2 bottle table: 1 premium bottle and 1 bottle of Skyy Vodka(includes tax, gratuity, entry for up to 10 people) Friday/Saturday: $550 for 1 bottle table: 1bottle of Skyy Vodka (includes tax, gratuity, entry for up to 8 people) $900 for 2 bottle table: 1premium bottle and 1 bottle of Skyy Vodka (includes tax, gratuity, entry for up to 8 people)$1300 for 3 bottle table: 2 premium bottles and 1 bottle of Skyy Vodka (includes tax, gratuity,entry for up to 12 people) The music is mainstream hip-hop, top 40, commercial house music.On Wednesday the resident DJ Hollywood gets the crowd going. The weekends have recentlybeen hosted by Jordan Sparks and Mary J Blige. Fat Man Scoop and Donald Glaude have alsostopped by RPM. Im very excited for the next pool season to start so I can check out theremodel of the day club! RPM Nightclub is a good choice if you are looking for a fun night out onthe town!HIDE YOUR POSSESSIONSÂ ... by Mags K. via yelpHIDE YOUR POSSESSIONS 3 / 34
    •   I have been delayed in writing this, mainly to give it good thought and see how the Hotelresolved the issue. The problem is the staff lost or stole MY WEDDING SHOES. I am OCD- bigtime- in order to be an organized bride I kept everything in a huge box, perfectly, everything wasin its place. Before leaving for the rehearsal I put everything in its place to make the next day gosmoothly. Bell hop arrived, my wedding box was banged the heck up, I had cute signs for familyto carry down the aisle, they were torn and crinkled. Terrible.  After the rehearsal I returned toa turned down room. Everything looked in place.   I awoke early the next day, went to lay everything out for the moms to see, the shoeswere gone. We looked everywhere and called security. They said I forgot them...ummm no Ididnt, The shoe box was empty in my car where I took the shoes out.    I will spare the drama, basically security accused me, said the cameras dont show anystealing (its easy for bell service or maids to steal genius) I couldnt find a pair shoes hoursbefore the wedding that would fit the length of my dress, all pictures waist down ruined, dressruined, tripped going up and down the aisle.  I had to wear my nude rehearsal shoes.  Tropicana remedied the situation by giving me a two night stay after I called numeroustimes, if I call in advance and avoid "black out" dates. Great. I seriously believe they only didthat because I am a born and raised Las Vegan and they realized I wasnt going away.   Shame on you Tropicana, I have been going to this hotel since I was 5, seriously, I havethe pictures by your pool. As a local I see that Vegas is truly dying with this sub par service. Who steals a brides shoes?  Pathetic- I hope they break your ankle.Again like the Luxor, its undergone... by Danielle R. via yelpAgain like the Luxor, its undergone and still undergoing some major renovations. I dont knowwhat the rooms look like, but the front desk and some of the gaming area has been newlyredone.  And it looks pretty nice, its no Cosomo nice, but its no Harrahs bad.They are also adding a Bagatelle, which weve all been waiting with baited breath to see howthis changes the Nikki Beach debacle that occurred there previously.  This place is infamousfor crazy brunches in NYC [Google it] I think its supposed to open at the end of the month. 4 / 34
    •  But definitely missed pool season on this one.Sports book was a lot nicer than I envisioned too, albeit it was subarctic temperatures in there. The hole casino smells like that carpet Vanilla powder that your mom used to put down beforeshe vacuumed in the 80s, maybe its just me. But it smells very strongly of vanilla covering upbooze and cigs, in other words, not that great.My boyfriend and I decided we wanted... by Katy T. via yelpMy boyfriend and I decided we wanted a weekend away for his 30th birthday and figured whatbetter place to spend it than Sin City?  When searching around for hotels, we were having ahard time that fit our desire for a nice place to stay and our low budget.  We finally settled onthe Tropicana, with no real expectations.When we arrived, we were so pleasantly surprised.  We were there during the renovations, sonot everything was open, but it didnt matter to us.  Our room was brand new and gorgeous, itis on a great location on the strip, and we paid about $40 per night after the ridiculous discountwe got.  We had such a blast on this trip and the Trop will always have a place in our hearts.**Casino Review Only**Tropicana... by Paul B. via yelp**Casino Review Only** 5 / 34
    • Tropicana has gone through a major a renovation to keep up with the times. The flooring andthe ceilings have been upgraded, new paints on walls has a coconut scent pumped throughoutthe casino.Casino: The dealers here are very friendly and lots of action going on in the middle part of thecasino. Also they have people that massage you while gambling and plenty drink waitresseswhen I was gambling the slots.The casino renovation has really paid off to fit in with the theme but the coconut scent was justtoo strong for me, even compared to the Mirage and Mandalay Bays air scent system. Someparts if the hotel are still in the 70s and 80s area with the low ceilings that would make a 6person want to bend when walking under it. Also popcorn ceilings are still around so thisproperty has a ways to go with the overhaul.The Tropicana is considerd a mid rated casino compared to the surrounding casinos like MGMand Mandalay Bay, so the comps here are pretty generous but have yet to try it because Imostly stay in my base hotel Mirage.Entertainment options can be better and not enough adult attractions for a party a goer but theuse to have Nikki Beach but that failed. Tropicana needs more options for the younger crowd ifit wants to be reinvent itself as a hip resort.The newly remodeled casino is nice,... by William B. via yelpThe newly remodeled casino is nice, and so glad they kept the famous old ceiling. Â Craps had$5 min when I visited. ÂSo why the two stars? Â Well, we had stayed here eons ago, liked it ok given the age of thisplace, and were drawn in to the your first $200 is on us promotion. Â Sounded too good to betrue. Â When we signed up, it still sounded too good. Â The gotcha came after we tried to getour $200 losses - it is redeemed to you in forced play credits, i.e., the $200 is not handed to 6 / 34
    • you, you have to cycle thru those credits again.  And given the lousy payouts on the slots, wecame out very far in the red.So avoid the deceptive promotion, and you might enjoy this place ok.  Me and my wife willnever step foot in here again.Never stayed here but have lots... by Arnel D. via yelpNever stayed here but have lots if offers to stay for free... No thanks.  Its getting older andeven with the renovations there really isnt much action in this place. They do have a nice sportsbook though.  Also, they are located right next to he MGM and Hooters.BEDBUGS. ÂStayed 2nd week... by a c. via yelpBEDBUGS. ÂStayed 2nd week of November 2012.  My boyfriend upgraded to a room on the 17th floor. He had bites on him after the first night, so we slept in the 2nd bed.  Next morning I watcheda bedbug crawl across the pillow on Bed #1 - and captured it for Management to see. ÂThey sent our clothes only (but refused to treat our luggage) to be dry cleaned ASAP.  Thefloor manager kept repeating that an infestation "looks like a murder scene and smells" - no,thats more like 2 months of untreated bedbugs.  He said that since there wasnt blood all over 7 / 34
    • the linens, it looked like this was just an isolated bug that might have crawled under the door. But where theres one, there are more - every hotel worker knows that!When we went to talk to the Manager about getting our room fee refunded, he refused because"the room tested negative".  HOW DOES A LIVE BEDBUG CAUGHT AND PHOTOGRAPHEDBY HOTEL STAFF CLASSIFY AS A NEGATIVE TEST?!  He then said that he also could notrefund our charges because we booked on Kayak and had already paid.  Instead theybegrudgingly gave us a $60 voucher for lunch in the hotel while hoping for our dry cleaning tocome back in time for our flight. ÂRidiculous handling of this issue.  Will never be back here.Fail.  Would have been better... by Josh B. via yelpFail.  Would have been better to tear it down.  They put some lipstick on it, but its still oldand tired, and the food is just ok at best.   The most laughable part has to be the "food court"which I would describe as more of a "prison cafeteria."Worst customer service ever! Our... by Rachel M. via yelpWorst customer service ever! Our car was broken into in their parking lot and they told us theywould comp our rooms. They moved us to dingy, outdated rooms and then when we tried tocheck out refused to comp the rooms as promised! Go anywhere but the tropicana! 8 / 34
    • All in all it was nice but not... by Shari F. via yelpAll in all it was nice but not impressive.  I got a good deal on our room so, for the price, wewere quite pleased.  If I had paid full price I would have been disappointed.Staff:  Everyone was very nice and helpful. Check in and check out was quick.  Bell servicewas fast and friendly as was valet service.  We called housekeeping for a blanket and it wasdelivered quickly and with a smile.Rooms:  The room was fresh, clean and nice enough but nothing to get super excited about. The bed was very comfortable but the only bedding was a comforter sandwiched between twosheets.  This is the reason we requested a blanket. ÂWere used to having a coffee maker in the room and they didnt provide one which wasannoying.  The did have free wifi but I had to call tech support to get it to work.  That onlytook about 5 min tho and it worked great after that. ÂThe bathroom was clean and newish but I couldnt turn the water on in the tub without help frommy husband.  You had to pull REALLY hard to get it on.  The worst was my pet peeve - theshower head was installed for Hobbits.  At 5 8" I had to bend way over to wash my hair.  Ireally hate that a lot.  Also, the morning we got up to leave the lights in the bathroom wouldntturn on at all.  We were in a hurry so we just turned on the light right outside the bathroom andmade do. ÂEntertainment & Food:  Not much offered. The Laugh Factory had 2 for 1 tickets for thosestaying there and we might have gone but the only night there was a show we had tickets to aconcert already.  The Mob thing didnt interest us at all.  The restaurants were a bit to priceyand the hours limited.  ÂThere wasnt even a fun place to go have a few drinks.  We spent most of our time over atNew York New York or MGM.  Theyre both just a short walk away and they have so many 9 / 34
    • places to choose from for drinks and food that everyone could find a place they would like.Casino: We dont gamble but my husband didnt like the cocktail waitress outfits. ÂPool: Looked nice but it was closed. Â BUMMER!Easy free parking. Swanky new south... by Frankie T. via yelpEasy free parking. Swanky new south beach theme. Gonna interview Murray Sawchuck.I saw the magic show for the first time here and had an amazing interview with MurraySawchuck. A world-renowned magician who goes out of his way to be very hilarious and yettotally appropriate for kids. Not sure how he does that. My book will contain an interview withhim and he really is a magic expert I found out. Hes also the local magic expert for the famousVegas-based TV show "Pawn Stars". The crowd loved not only his zany fun humor, but histricks. You are constantly saying "What?!!" or "How did he do that?" His wife Chloe will alsomake your jaw drop with her beauty playing the Magicians Assistant role. The Laugh Factory issuper easy to get to via the front entrance near the parking lot. Its a lot less walk then mostshowrooms at a casino. Â Its tons of fun and Murray is funny as hell too, a real bonus.Everyone in the entire place was laughing so hard, and even getting up to see if there wereescape hatches, wires, or cheats. His slight of hand will leave you gasping, hes great. I plan totake my mom and friends soon, and see the show again. Maybe this time I can figure out howhe did at least one trick... maybe. After the show he was mobbed for autographs because dueto his world travels and TV appearances everyone knows him. If you dont, you should. 10 / 34
    • new remodel did them good.Rooms... by Matt V. via yelpnew remodel did them good.Rooms smelled of smoke, even though it was non-smoking. Â (room 1789)staff were great though and the location is really good especially if you have a car. Â Easy in/outof the strip areaMy girlfriend I stayed here this... by Stephen T. via yelpMy girlfriend I stayed here this past Christmas on a Groupon deal. The remodel looks great!Except our rooms did not. The bathroom floor tile was damaged and still dirty. The tub hadstains and the floor had a Kool-aid-colored stain right at the entryway. The staff kindly moved usto a different room and refunded our resort fee, but the bathroom was still in pretty poor shapefor a hotel that just remodeled, especially at their regular price Id wager.I also didnt enjoy the fact that the hotel room didnt have any movie channels, not even HBO!Even a Motel 6 has HBO, and this lack definitely made me want to spend less time in the roomand more time out of the hotel, rather than spending money in it.However, I enjoyed my time playing $5 Blackjack. I cant recall my favorite dealer there... Sam?John? A generic name like that. Very informative, patient with bets, and, best of all, I won adecent bit of money! (I mightve not if I had listened to my partners at the table; never takegambling advice from old men.) The slots were less fun. Overly complicated with little payout tokeep me interested.The restaurants closed early in the hotel, it seemed, during our stay. Not sure if this was 11 / 34
    • because of the holiday season, but I was annoyed to find I couldnt order some relatively cheapfood in the hotel.Also, the business center was closed! Despite the fact that the resort fee explicitly goes to payfor that sort of thing. Couldnt print out any directions, coupons, or ticket-vouchers for showswithout paying five bucks at the regular computer stations near the front. Honestly, I felt gippedand was deeply disappointed by the staffs response to the situation. On the time in question, Icalled from a courtesy phone right next to the place to ask if someone could come by thebusiness center so I could print some tickets and the lady called the desk even while I wasstanding right beside it! Then she BSd me, saying that the business center is closed duringChristmas even though no such notice was posted anywhere that it would be, and even after Isaw people manning it the day we left!This is definitely a hotel to stay at only with a coupon. Otherwise, youre better off paying a littlemore for a place worth the price, or just staying cheap with a motel and spending your timeoutside on The Strip.Kudos to the Tropicana for a beautifully... by Sebastian T. via yelpKudos to the Tropicana for a beautifully done restoration! Â In an era when so many of theclassics have been demolished, it was wonderful to see the Tropicana with new life. Â Theremodel has been done perfectly and we loved the comparatively intimate, clean, fresh feel ofthe property. Â Its not "glitzy." Â There is not really a "wow factor." Â The casino itself is actuallypretty small. Â But, what you get is a very nice, well priced resort, with fairly large rooms and allthe amenities you might want. Â The pool area is a stand-out too. ÂService at the Trop was great - fast valet parking and check-in and a very friendly staffthroughout. Â We had a small issue with our closet door, (it was off the track, and Im not verymechanical), and a friendly engineer was there pronto to set things right.There is, however, a "but" coming. Â Lets see . . . Â you book around 900 rooms, full of mostly 12 / 34
    • male athletes there for a sports competition, and it never occurs to you that the boys might behungry after coming in from the playing fields? ÂSaturday night, we were starved, and not in the mood to dress for a nicer dining room.  Thewait in the casual restaurant was nearly 2 hours, and the queue at the "food court" place wasnot much better.  Room service, (and there are two options), did not answer the phone or . . .when they did . . . immediately put you on hold.  (We waited once for 28 minutes).  When theorder WAS placed, the delivery time, for a PIZZA, was 1 3/4  hours.  (We ordered thatbecause the harried woman told us it would be the quickest thing).  Geeze!  Bring on someextra staff or get creative by building some items in advance, for quick delivery.  So frustrating!By the way, we went for lunch, several times, at "The Beach Café."  The service was actuallypretty good, during "off" hours, and the food decent.  The only problem was that, on one visit,3 or our 4 plates arrived luke-warm.  Cold won ton soup is not very appealing.Bottom line:  We loved the hotel itself but the food service needed some tweaking.You know what?  After the remodeling?... by Kent M. via yelpYou know what?  After the remodeling?  Place aint that bad.  Rooms were clean and thecasino/lobby were cool.  Only gripe is that the casino floor is kinda small (did most of mygambling across the street at MGM).  And that they pump some weird coconut thing into theair (all my clothes smelled like it when I got home). ÂIf youre on a budget, but want to be somewhat close to other casinos, I recommend it. 13 / 34
    • Ive stayed at The Trop a number... by Laura L. via yelpIve stayed at The Trop a number of times throughout the years.  My recent stay was my firstsince their renovations. ÂMy stay was perfectly fine.  I have no complaints.Whats cool?  - As with most casinos, they appear to pump in oxygen.  In the case of The Trop, theirs isscented with something reminiscent of Coconut and Vanilla.  - The casino is very clean. - The casino staff is extremely friendly, even allowing me to check in hours before their postedcheck in. - The Laugh Factory is great. - I got an AMAZING room rate by booking my trip months in advance. ÂWhat needs work? Â- In our particular room, the caulking on the bathtub needed replacing.- The housekeeper either did not care or did not understand enough English; when we said wedid not want the room made up as my daughter was napping, she walked in anyway.  Shedidnt understand that we just needed more towels.  She just kept cleaning even when weprotested.  Eventually, we just gave up and let her clean the room around us.- They dont have great options for restaurants on property.  They could benefit from finedining options.- A resort fee for this property is ridiculous, especially in the Winter when the pool is closed. The resort fee was $14.95 and is now $19.95 and the only benefit it gave that I used was the2-4-1 comedy show tickets (which you can also find in coupon books outside the hotel).Will I stay here again?  Sure.  I generally alternate between hotels on the North Strip andSouth Strip on every trip depending on my itinerary.  This trip was all about the South Strip, soThe Trop was a great value and a good choice for my stay. 14 / 34
    • Had I known better this was the... by ron z. via yelpHad I known better this was the hill billy hotel of Las Vegas I wouldve paid an extra bill to stayat the aria or venetian where I was last trip. internet doesnt work, pool was closed due to a"biohazrd" (a nice way of saying someone took a dump) and renovation is done half ass. Stayaway from this place if you dont like hill billies and feces im swimming pools.Our room was pretty nice and we... by John M. via yelpOur room was pretty nice and we got a good price.   The service was excellent, we neverhad to wait for valet parking or bell service.  At some of the big hotels these waits can beannoying.  The best feature of this hotel is the location.  It an easy walk to most everything. The comedy show at half price was very funny.  On the downside, the casino first $200.00promotion is a little bogus, but we are not really gamblers.  About half the restaurants seemedclosed but there are a lot of choices on adjoining properties.   Room are better thanExcalibur or Luxor, but not nearly as nice as at the MGM Grand or the Venetian.  And thatresort fee...... if they said it was for wireless Internet and valet parking and was optional, I wouldhave taken it.  But as others have said, its a poor pricing strategy if you want happy guests.  ÂI liked the coconut smell a lot more than the smokey tobacco smell at most other places, but mydaughter hated it. 15 / 34
    • Pros: I have to say, I was surprised... by Danielle T. via yelpPros: I have to say, I was surprised with the Tropicana rooms. I wasnt expecting them to be asbig as they were. I went with a friend and we were in a 2 queen room. And there was still plentyof space, even after we scattered our things about as we seem to do. And it was a room with aview of what was once Club Nikki/Nikki Beach.The casino didnt smell of smoke as most of the casinos seem to. It smelled of something else,which to me, was a good thing, but a bad thing for my friend; I think the smell made her allergiesact up. There was a good amount of food places on the way to the rooms, so that wasconvenient, as well as the coffee place right at the elevator bay and the 24-hour Starbucks andfood court. Their food court was not the usual, with McDonalds and Pizza Hut or whatever theyhave. They had their own menu and was better than a run-of-the-mill food court.Con: Self park is a bit far from the front desk. And the front desk is a bit far from the rooms. Thewalks to the cabs and the rooms were horrible, especially in high heels and sober - You girlsknow what Im talking about lol.Its Vegas with a Miami vibe/decor.... by Eastsac G. via yelpIts Vegas with a Miami vibe/decor. Stayed 3 nights. Was originally going to stay in the ParadiseTower but ended up with a mini upgrade to Club Tower on 18th floor, big corner/quiet roomoverlooking the pool. Nice big tub/bathroom, great TV, decent sized sitting area, comfortablebed. Yes, its a bit of a walk to the entrance/casino but if youre a pool person, was a quick ridedown the elevator and out the door. Perfect!Great pool area because its not your standard rectangle. It kind of meanders around different 16 / 34
    • areas some which are shaded and also a swim up blackjack table. Also like the fact theres lotsof grassy areas to drag your lounge chair onto and not have to sit jam packed like sardines onhot cement. Music is a bit too loud and after 3 days I could tell you what song was going to playat what time because its on a loop. Can rent giant loungers that remind you of a king sized bedor a cabana. Also has an outside bar and servers which comes in handy. Good pour tooalthough pricey. Had HH at the Ambhar lounge from 4-6 pm.Took advantage of the up to $200 free slot play if you lose. Unfortunately I did lose $200+ firstnight so received $100 play first night, $50 the next 2 nights. Ending up winning overall so it wasa no brainer to sign up. Pretty good pay on the video slots & DH won playing blackjack. Allemployees we dealt with with very nice. Had no problem getting drinks comped no matter wherewe were playing. Sports book is huge and mostly deserted so easy to place a bet.Nice open, airy feel to the whole place. The aroma they pump in is kind of annoying at first butthen you dont even smell it after a while. Some nice on site shopping kiosks that arent toopricey. Didnt eat at any of the restaurants but the menus looked decent. Revamped steakhouse and new Italian restaurant that had a prix fixe meal at $30.Some say it has an "older" clientele. I found it to be be a very well mixed group from young toold and not at all pretentious. They did have dancers up on a table late at night to entice thegentlemen. Not my cup of tea.They were just opening a brand new pool area the weekend we left but I hear theyre going tocharge hotel guests because its going to be open to the public as a "private" club. It lookedbeautiful but come on, youre going to charge your HOTEL GUESTS?Only complaints I have are: Noise level of the music and announcements all over the property and even the live band isincredibly ear shattering. Talked to more than one employee who wished they could wearearplugs. So loud in the Ambhar lounge finally gave up and moved to the bar next to the SportsBook. The first day literally could not talk to the person next to me in the lounge chair at thepool. Also, need a music loop thats longer than the 8-12 hours it currently is. Gets REALLYboring hearing the same music day after day. One of the bartenders said he was going to shoothimself about a month ago if he heard Ricky Martin sing Livin La Vida Loca one more time :)Ticks me off to pay a "resort fee". Just raise the room rate. Didnt bring my laptop so that perkwas useless. Didnt use the gym. Â They say it covers use of the pool. REALLY! Also wassupposed to be for printing boarding pass and HH at the bar but I noticed anyone could use 17 / 34
    • these "perks". Stop charging resort fees!Not enough older quarter slots. Could find only ONE double diamond machine.Would probably stay here again though if I could get a decent rate. Rates 3 1/2 stars.Just a quick aside regarding taxis in Vegas: They long haul on a regular basis. Always ask forthe "cheapest" route. We paid $14.50 from the airport, friends paid $24 and then we paid $11.10back. Also got pulled over by the state taxi "police" because a driver was long hauling us fromdowntown back to the Trop. Bad, bad, bad.We literally booked the Tropicana... by Nida K. via yelpWe literally booked the Tropicana when we landed in Vegas on this handy hotel app and we gotthe room for $30/night. Not too shabby since the rest of our bachelorette party peeps werentcoming in until the next day and we wanted to keep it cheap. I was a little skeptical aboutstaying here since this hotel is super old but their recent remodel actually made our stay quitenice. The hotel decor is ultra swanky and hip, you couldnt even tell that this hotel is over 50years old.The three of us got a room in the Club Tower and I thought the room was decent sized, clean,and up to date with the times. I have absolutely no complaints about the Tropicana so for acheap option, Id consider staying here again. The Tropicanas location is on the south end ofthe strip so its a little far from all the new popular hotels in town so expect to spend moolah ontaxis if youre going to the mid/north end of the strip. 18 / 34
    • Had a family wedding to attend... by Dan H. via yelpHad a family wedding to attend this past weekend and most everyone was booked into "TheNew Tropicana." Â I would never opt to stay at this end of the strip as it is a long schlep to thebumpin part. The monorail doesnt even come this far so you have to walk over to the MGM tocatch it.Well I was more than pleasantly surprised by the remod. Looks great, even smells great. Myroom was spacious and looked out on the strip as I was in the Paradise Tower, which BTW isclosest to the casino and front door. No fridge, but I hear you can rent one for $10 per night.What was most impressive was the friendly staff. Everyone from the two check-in ladies, to theconvenience store and house cleaning staff were all smiles. They really did a great job on theirhires. The pool area has also undergone a remod and while it aint the Wynn pool, it is very nicewith plenty of shade for pale faces like me.The lounge is conveniently located by the Paradise Tower elevators, and the band jammingthere on Friday - Sunday was a funky good time. We spent around an hour there all three nightsbefore going out for the evening.Would I stay here again? Would not be my first choice because of the location, but if family orfriends were already booked I would gladly join in again.Stayed here mid July 2012 on a... by Alex V. via yelpStayed here mid July 2012 on a weekend. I was able to snag a 3 nights for $150 deal throughFacebook. Overall I was satisfied with our stay but this hotel seems more like hotel for "older 19 / 34
    • folk". When you first walk you feel like your at a hospital because its really bright and white. Therenovations are noticeable and the rooms are comfy. Won a bit of money on black-jack androulette. The coconut/smoke mixture in the air got annoying after the 2nd day. Resort fee is 15dollars which is less than a majority of the other resorts. The light let in from the blinds didntreally bug me. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget.Pros-Check-in was fast.-Hotel does not get crowded (like other hotels).-Room was nice.-Pool area is nice even though it was a mixture of older and younger folk.Cons-Our room felt like it was miles from the casino floor.-Bathrooms didnt seem so remodeled to me.I stayed at the Trop about 7 years... by Tim A. via yelpI stayed at the Trop about 7 years ago and said I would not be back because of the condition. I have to say the remodel is quite nice.  The room was well done and the casino (althoughsmall) looked very nice.  The restaurants were also good.  However, once again I will not beback to the Trop because of the ridiculous resort fee.  I will go back to the Ceasers propertieswhere these ridiculous fees dont exist.  Trop if your rooms had actually cost more per night Iwould have given you a good review and been back, but no one likes to feel rear-ended. 20 / 34
    • Excellent place to stay.  Just... by Meredith M. via yelpExcellent place to stay.  Just got back from my 3rd stay at the Trop and it didnt disappoint. ÂIsrael who works at the front desk is amazing!  So nice and friendly.  Took very good care ofus during our stay. ÂThe Paradise Tower room was perfect yet again, very clean and a great view of the pool. ÂThe only bad part was the weather for the first couple days we were there....rain??  Not theTrops fault though.  We thoroughly enjoyed the pool on Wednesday and Thursday.  Thepool is very large and there is plenty of seating whether you want sun or shade. ÂThe Trop is a small casino but thats why I like it.  There isnt a lot of people milling around andcheck in is quick and painless (no waiting!)Cant wait to visit again :) Upon arriving here we had a very nice person check us in nameBarbara.  Barbara was awesome and… Read more »I for one was totally impressed... by Erika E. via yelpI for one was totally impressed with the Tropicana. We booked with expedia and stayed onenight in the paradise tower. The room was properly appointed, and clean (carpet, tile, etc). I justloved the fact that I could open the windows! Such a trip in Vegas.The casino is small, but a whole lotta fun! The dealers are pretty an the go go dancers work thatlittle stage. The bar is fun too, the band and musician I saw were great. Totally kept the ladiesmoving and grooving. 21 / 34
    • We had two meals at the Beach Cafe and those were both very good with nice service.I think it is fair to say that the Tropicana is a 3 star hotel with a 4 star rating. A good spot if youare traveling with a group, it is intimate enough that you will be able to find each other - both atthe casino and the pool!Just got back from a four-night... by Rena T. via yelpJust got back from a four-night stay at the Trop.  We stayed in the new tower and our roomwas very nice.  The beds were super comfy.  The restaurant options were limited, we ate atthe steak house.  The food was pretty good, and expensive.  As part of the resort fee, youget wifi and parking.  I didnt get to enjoy the spa or the pool though the pool looks pretty nice. I would definitely stay here again.My wife and I along with another... by S H. via yelpMy wife and I along with another couple stayed over a weekend in November. At the time thecheck in desk area was in the middle of renovations. As were other parts of the hotel.My first complaint was that they put us in the second tower which is a long walk just to get to thecasino, booze, fun etc. There is also no direct access to this tower from the parking lot. Pain inthe arse! 22 / 34
    • Our friends first room smelled of puke. So they moved them to another room. Fortunately onlythe bathroom smelled of vomit.The front desk employees had zero personality unless you consider "bitchy" a worthypersonality trait. The rest of the staff were nice and seemed personable.The cost of the sodas in the vending machines made losing money at the Craps table seeminexpensive in comparison.Lastly, the parking structures looked like they were falling apart. There was literally a gap in thethe road surface of the second floor of the garage that I could slip my arm through.If you are looking for a crash pad I guess the Tropicana will suffice. Otherwise, keep looking.Came here for a show in June for... by Jennifer N. via yelpCame here for a show in June for Dancing With the Stars and the lobby area really appealed tome- the relative calmness (I like balance). So when it came for me to help my friend find hotelrooms for her birthday this weekend, I wanted to stay here- plus found a good deal online.Arrived around 2 PM & found that the registration line was starting up. Had a trainee get ourrooms, but the manager helped us do a mini upgrade to get two conjoined rooms in the ClubTower. Perfect, since we wanted to visit the pool a few times during our stay. We were prettysure that the online special we got included the resort fees, but the manager comped usanyways. So nice of him! In no time, we were in our rooms and they were lovely. Ive stayed in afew hotels on the Strip (Excalibur, Sands, Caesars, Monte Carlo) and I liked how refreshing itwas, really liked the shutters- nice touch. Had a nice view to the pool area and a New Yorkskyline. Never touched/turned on the tv, but it looked like a nice size. Loved the ipod docks-good motivator while getting ready for the evening... and the mirrors! Plenty of them to checkand recheck yourself before going out. 23 / 34
    • People say that the bathrooms looked a little outdated, but I disagree. Yes, they used oddlywarm colors, but it was spacious and the fixtures worked fine, thats all I need. I remember themsaying there would be complimentary waters, but I didnt see any on neither day. Hmmm...The pool area is nice, but smaller than I thought. We had trouble finding chairs (looks likepeople stake them out all day), but eventually people started clearing out. The jacuzzi jets wereoddly loud and awkward- I couldnt talk to the person next to me. Strange. We never ate at thehotel, since we did the 24-hr buffet, so I cannot comment on the restaurants. We did get somedrinks at the bar & the girls were pretty nice there.The Club tower was a bit far of a walk- wished there was an easier and faster way to get to theparking lot! We saw Thunder From Down Under across the bridge the first night we got there, sothat was super helpful in terms of location.  Overall, I really liked staying at a chill, quiet roomafter clubbing & drinking all night.I stayed at the tropicana thanksgiving... by oscar n. via yelpI stayed at the tropicana thanksgiving weekend 2012. The room is very nice. Looks just thepictures posted. It is very clean and looks brand new. There is a coconut smell through out thehotel, its not overwhelming like others say it is. It actually smells pretty good. The food isexpensive and ok. I suggest eating somewhere else for less money. The casino does not pay. Iwon more money at other Casinos. Both tables and slots. So basically if you want a nice room.Stay here. But eat and  gamble some where else.Wow! 24 / 34
    • The Tropicana doesnt... by Robert H. via yelpWow!The Tropicana doesnt look anything like it used to. Â Its outside appearance may havesomething to be desired in comparison to its much newer neighbors on the strip, but inside iswhere The Trop shines.The hotel and casino are bright, clean and fresh smelling.Their front desk agents are friendly and accommodating. Â Slots are looser than most othercasinos on the strip (I sat at one machine for over 4 1/2 hours with only my $20 initialinvestment). Â Nice!If youre new to their players club, you get up to $200 back in slot play. Â You cant beat that.I stayed at Planet Hollywood and had a very different experience. ÂI will definitely return to The Tropicana!!!I really enjoyed this hotel. Ive... by R C. via yelpI really enjoyed this hotel. Ive stayed at Treasure Island, MGM, and now the Tropicana and Ireally enjoyed it the most. TI was nice but the bathroom was very small and the shower/tub waspretty tight space wise. Also it was a pretty loud casino with expensive table games and not awhole lot of character. MGM was nice, but SOO BIG. Finally by the third day or so I knew whereI was in the casino. The rooms were nice in this hotel, but again I didnt like the bathrooms toomuch. Very modern but only a shower. I like the tub option! 25 / 34
    • Tropicana, however was such a nice relaxing place to stay. They had these great bathtubs andnice plantation shutters in the room which gave them a warm feel. They had new flatscreen TVstoo! The fitness center was very nice, I went to that a couple times and also the pool was a lot offun. The resort fee here is only 15 dollars (20 at most other places on the strip).ONE MAIN CRITICISM: not much food in the hotel! The Beach Cafe was OK but not great,there are a couple expensive places we didnt try, and the "food court" is pretty terrible. Theyogurt place and Starbucks were nice to have, but otherwise they need to add more food stuff!Good trip though. Id stay there again.I remember my fiancee told me at... by Terry C. via yelpI remember my fiancee told me at the time that she stayed at the Tropicana a few years agoand remembered the tropical bed sheets. A coworker told me that she stayed there a few yearsago and it was "ghetto".Well for my bachelor party we stayed there through a deal we got online. So it wasnt expensiveat all. The remodeled the place a few years ago and its really nice. Its got that Miami feel to it.The rooms were clean and the hotel itself was pretty posh in my opinion. The hotel gave usadjoining rooms, which was nice sinc 2 hours after checking in one of my friends misplaced hisroom key. Nice job jerk!The front desk people were nice. We arrived from the airport at 10 am and we were given ourroom around 10:30 AM for an additional $20. I thought it was money well spent so we took itand crashed there and took a quick nap.As for the casino, its smaller than most of ther casinos but they do offer what everybody wants.Table games and slot machines. The convience of having a bridge that connects to two othercasinos are a plus, your not stuck wasting money at the two expensive restaurants they havethere. 26 / 34
    • I think the biggest downfall of this wonderful place was the fact that they are a little far awayfrom the main action of the strip. So if you want to see the water show at the Bellagio, than youmight want to either walk up there during the night, or take the monorail tram from the MGM tothe Flamingo and walk across the street to watch the show. If you take a cab to go down thestrip, it might cost more since the only road to get into the Trop is Tropicana Blvd.Overall the rooms were nice, and the place itself was great. I had no complaints at all. The staffwere great and professional. The wifi is pretty weak, my phone was useless in the rooms. Theshower head is basically made for a person who isnt taller than 5 feet 7 inches. Me being sixfeet, I had to bend down quite a bit to wash my hair.And if your wondering about winning money at the casino there...good luck. How the heck doesa dealer hit a 21 on six cards three straight times!?OK OK Let me explain. I had a hard... by Christina O. via yelpOK OK Let me explain. I had a hard time NOT giving this place 5 stars. There were errors hereand there that could have been taken care of and avoided but at the same time, it was all made"right" at the end. So, I really dont have any complaints.I was out here during the week of the 2012 Presidential election. The strip wasnt real packed.So, it was the perfect time to be visiting. With all the buzz about the election and the electoralvotes, etc, my family and I had our eyes peeled with every TV screen we passed by. The mostunfortunate thing was that our room was one of the ones that had been remodeled but in doingso, we werent ever given the proper remote for the TV and we also werent given a remote witha guide button that worked. Without a guide button, we also didnt know what channels we hadaccess to or not. Boo! So that was one problem. Â I asked the front desk about the TV. Theysaid that they would send someone to bring us a replacement remote. I waited for 3 hours. THatdidnt happen. I asked again when I was leaving the hotel, for someone to please leave us thatremote in our room while we were out. That didnt happen. I finally turned on the TV, well triedto, but it was out. Apparently there was a casino-wide surge and tons of poker machines out on 27 / 34
    • the gambling floor werent working, the computers at the front desk werent working and theTVs were not working. Oh joy!Another problem for us was that when we had house keeping come, we were going throughtissues in our room like crazy. I was suffering from crazy allergies and so was my auntie. Whenthe housekeeping staff came, we never had our tissue supply replenished. So, I had to ask thathousekeeping come to our room at 3AM when we had run out of tissue as well as toilet paper.That was issue number two. Again, keep in mind that all it took was a phone call and it wasfixed. It was nice that I received what Id asked for in about 10 minutes after making the phonecall, not an hour or two.The last issue was that some of our electrical outlets were not working. That was a bummerwhen we had cell phones and iPads to plug in and charge.The hotel is on the strip, very close to the sign that welcomes you into Las Vegas. Itsconnected, via bridge, to the MGM. So, that was a nice stroll between the properties. Theminute you walk in, it smells like cocoa butter and coconut. I like the smell but Im sure there areplenty who are not fond of that scent. Our room was just as I had asked, 2 beds, near anelevator and on a lower level floor. I didnt want to get stuck in a hotel elevator with 45678943other people who were coming and going in between each and every floor. I also had beengiven a pool view. That was nice, until I noticed that there was a guy outside my window after Idcome out of the bathroom from having taken a shower. I sure hope it was tinted. I called thefront desk right away and asked who and why he was out there. I think he and I both kindastartled each other. Luckily, I had my towel wrapped around me but sheesh. Â The desk told methat he was putting up some new banners and they should have let the guests know but werentsure that theyd done it or not. Umm, OK great but do something about him!! They got him awayfrom my window immediately. THanks!The rooms are spacious and are pretty clean. I do it at every hotel, checked for bugs and bedmites and things. All clear!! The shower was nice and large. But, with as big a tub as we had, Ihad hoped that wed received a stopper for our drain so that we could take a bath if wed chosento do so. I didnt mention this until the end of my stay.I stayed at the Trop for about one week. I got to know the ladies who cleaned my room. Afterthe first time I met them, I asked them for a few things and that they make sure that certainitems were always well stocked. After that, it went smoothly and perfectly. Occasionally, I wouldleave them a drink or snack with their tip. So, Id say that we had a pretty good relationship forthat week. 28 / 34
    • The decor is simple and on the more tropical side. The sundries store clerks are fabulous;charming and  very friendly. The beach cafe was perfect when I was craving a simple turkeysandwich. The prices werent bad either.The five stars comes from my not having to pay my resort fees, for the service that I receivedfrom the staff, for the assistance I received from the concierge and for the value of my money.Id definitely stay here again if given the opportunity.I was lucky enough to book my one weeks stay for under two hundred bucks. So, if I am luckyenough to find a similar promotion again, Id stay here without any hesitation. THANKS!!I was really surprised at how great... by Mark A. via yelpI was really surprised at how great the Tropicana was, not that I had bad expectations oranything.  Stayed for four nights with some homies for the WSOP.  My room was very clean,they gave us a free upgrade to a city view, the a/c worked perfectly, and the entire hotel wasspotless.The pool area was super crowded but we found some seats anyway, but wound up just hangingin the pool in the 120 degree summer drinking beers.  The music from the "MTV" type poolclub thing they have there (Nikki Beach) was a bit too loud, Ill admit, but it sounded like peoplewere having fun so who cares.  The main pool was crowded but did not feel like it in the poolitself, because its so big.  There is also a big shaded area in the main pool with a blackjacktable and bar.We ate at the pizza place inside and it was great, and there is a Starbucks in easy hangoverdistance from the elevators for your afternoon breakfast coffee.Check-in was super easy. 29 / 34
    • Some minor things - there are no curtains, just wooden slats, but if you do Vegas right you reallywont care and will wake up when you are supposed to anyway. Â Our city view room was shinyat night, lights were lighting up at the MGM and there was also some kind of light - advertisinggoing on on the side of the building itself, so a little bit of blinkies through the night.Also no coffee maker in the room, and the pool could have used a more attentive cleanup crew- there were cups and cans flying all over the place. Â The parking lot is far from the lobby, but itwas never a huge issue for us, even in the heat. Taxis you can get right outside the door.Small casino, older clientele, and far to walk from the strip were minor things that didnt reallybother me, except once when we (wrongly) decided to try to walk home instead of taxi-it.Overall I would recommend this place, it was a great stay and there are definitely so manyworse hotels in this price range, even more expensive, in Vegas that I dare anyone who hascomplained on Yelp to stay at, theyll be running back to the Tropicana crying and saying "SorryTropicana I love you!"I could take it or leave it. We... by Chris O. via yelpI could take it or leave it. We were told the rooms would be comped but we were charged a $20fee when we checked in and then charged the full room rate when we checked out. Gamingarea was small but there were lots of slots if that is your thing. The drinks were cheap comparedto other casinos if you had to pay for them.This place is tiny! It really lacks... 30 / 34
    • by Nancy M. via yelpThis place is tiny! It really lacks the pizazz of the bigger resorts. Seriously, I dont know how thishotel is a 4-star hotel. Is it because they renovated?!?! It looks like a huge bottle of white-outthrew up on the exterior of the place. Also, remind me why Im paying a resort fee of $14.99 pernight?!?! I would have never considered this place a resort. Stupid priceline! I should havenever bid on a hotel. LOLAnyways, the room was not as updated as I thought it would be. Although the bed was how Ilike it...white and fluffy with down comforters, the bathroom left much to be upgraded. It felt likea cheesy motel bathroom. The fixtures on the sink and bathroom were not new or shining. Andthe tiles were an ugly dull yellow color. And surprisingly we had no coffee maker. Really?!?!What happened? Even the maid came by to give us stuff for our coffee maker but our roomdidnt have one. :/Also, on our first night there the ice machine on our floor was outta ice/broken, Im not surewhich one so I made the trek to the 4th...OMG! Seriously...no ice! I had to go up to the 5th floorjust to get some ice because when I asked room service they wouldve charged me 5 bucks toget ice for me. :( Boo!They have a food court which I was expecting to see like at Excalibur, Monte Carlo, and NewYork New York with McDonalds, Starbucks, etc. BUT what you get is like a cafeteria. Theyhave a bunch of menus sitting in front of the cashier for different cuisines and then you wait andwait for your food at the tables provided. My friend ordered a slice of pizza and still had to waitalthough they have 6 pies waiting under the heat lamp. Yes, seriously! :/ Boo!As for gambling, I went around the hotel to see what games they had and came back around in5 mins. They really dont have a huge gaming floor. Although I did like their offer for new playerclub members...in slots, (example) if you lose $200 they give you half back ($100) the same dayin playing credit. Thats not a shabby incentive to gamble more. Of course only for NEWmembers! Lets start crackin! :)I probably wont stay here again because they really didnt have much to offer me, but at leastthe location is centralized. You can walk across to Excalibur and take the free trams toMandalay or Luxor. :) Or like me...be glad you have a car rental. LOL 31 / 34
    • Great job on the remodel!My... by Damion C. via yelpGreat job on the remodel!My wife and I stayed here this past week in a suite(bedroom/living room). Â Huge space for theprice we paid! Â The room was very clean, the beds were very comfy, and the air was workingperfectly.Check in was smooth and fast.The layout is easy.Spa...My wife loved her massage but said the other parts were very lacking.Beach Cafe, good food, try the Pastrami sandwhich on pretzel bread!!!Biscayne Steak...had wine and appetizers...all great! Â Good Service!Pool had a nice layout, not to over crowded.Not as "smokey" as other places...the do pump in the smell of vanilla or coconut?Door man were very helpful to get a big party to another hotel.Check out was easy...Will be staying here again.If I based my review on only the... by Cheryl V. via yelpIf I based my review on only the room itself, I would probably the Trop 4 or 5 stars. Â For asomewhat renovated hotel, it is what it is, and would probably be worth staying at again for thevalue. Â But, since all of us Yelpers base our reviews on the entire experience, let me expandwhy the Trop only gets two:My sister and I were celebrating our birthday weekend in Veags (were twins) and had booked aSaturday night at the Trop via an online deal. Â Excited, since weve never stayed there before 32 / 34
    • but knew it was this famous place on the strip, we looked into good food around the area, andwhat else we can do that was close.  Having stayed at other hotels not in the middle of thestrip before, discovering that the Tropicana was much more south than what was ideal, wemade the most of it and understood there would be some travelling in the car.  Okay, noproblem.  We made dinner reservations further up the strip and booked show tickets at PlanetHollywood.  We were set.We arrive in Vegas around 1:30pm, and decide to have lunch first before checking in, since itwas too early to do so and our lunch reservation was North Strip.  After lunch and somegames, we head down a little bit after 4pm (check-in begins at 3), and thats when the troublestarts.  4pm, and our room wasnt ready?  Hmmm, okay, how long, we ask?  About 45 minsto an hour.  Ugh.So, we take whatever is available, which is a smoking room (we had reserved a non-smokingone), and as the woman is giving us our keys, we hear the party checking in next to us gettingkeys for their NON-SMOKING room.  What???  We ask, are there no other non-smokingrooms left, even if we upgraded?  No, she said.  Nothing we can do about it... cant wait anhour for the other room because we had show tickets... so we headed to our smoking floor andour smoking room.Which, brings us back to the beginning.  Smoking room wasnt bad.  Had a bit of a smell butonce you get the air going, it didnt linger.  The room was clean and the beds were comfy. And the HD TV actually had an HD signal.  Awesome.So, next time, when you book, call ahead to see if the room is ready, and if you are doing thingsin the middle of the strip, stay closer to where youll be.  The Trop, as cool as it was to actuallystay there, isnt worth the trouble (or the trouble parking in the small garage), and youll mostlikely think youre getting your moneys worth elsewhere.We have just returned after 7 nights... by Sarah S. via yelp 33 / 34
    • We have just returned after 7 nights at the Tropicana. We had a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel! This was our 2nd trip to Vegas and having previously stayed at the Signature we really preferred this end of the strip! We had a city view room in the paradise tower, our room looked out over MGM and a little bit of NYNY. The room was a good size with a super comfy bed and lounging sofa. The bathroom whilst as many other reviews have stated has not been fully updated (low shower / old bath) we didnt find this an issue. If anything the shower was at least powerful and hot a great way to wake up after the previous days frozen margaritas! The toiletries werent all that great but we had taken out own so werent too bothered by this! The pool area was stunning with plenty of beds to choose from and enough shady areas to escape the midday sun. It also played some great music to pass away the hours! Towels are provided free of charge! Onto the casino was small but had enough games/slots to keep us entertained. We did however spend most of our evenings out and about on the strip but it was nice to return to the relaxing atmosphere of the trop at the end of the day. The food options are quite limited but we enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the beach cafe along with late night snacks in the tiny but perfectly formed food court. Also having a Starbucks on site was great for the daily caffeine kick start! Finally the coconut smell they pumped into the casino honestly I loved it... Im not a smoker so the smell of stale smoke in the casinos can get a bit much and to enter a casino that actually smells good makes a refreshing change! ic_youtube 34 / 34Powered by TCPDF (www.tcpdf.org)