Main privacy settingsPost privacy:status updates, photos, etc.Profile accessibility:who can find and send you a friendship requestTimeline and Tagging:how others can post info or tag pictures of youApps and Websites:whether or not Apps can have access to your informationPast posts:limiting what people can see from your old newsBlocking specific people and apps
Posting: privacy settingsFacebook allows you to share posts with a drop down menu from yourTimeline and News Stream.You may choose:- Public- Friends- CustomYou may also select a default setting for posts in the settings menu.
Profile accessibilityThese Settings Control:- Who can find you in a search- Who can send you a friend request- Who can send you messagesOptions include:- Friends (Private)- Friends of Friends (Semi Private)- Everyone (Public)
Timeline and taggingThese Settings Determine:- Who can post on your Timeline (Wall)- Who can Tag your posts and uploads (Tag: attach your name as a link that leads to your profile and timeline)- Who can use your name to Tag their own posts and uploads- Whether or not Facebook can use facial recognition to automatically tag photos with your name that are uploaded on any Timeline.
Apps and websites- Check all the games, applications and websites connected to your Facebook account (created by Facebook and third parties).- All apps interact with your publicly available profile information as well as your friends lists.- Most apps interact with the “basic information” of you and your friends. (always check what is included in the “basic information” definition and make sure you are comfortable to share this information)
Apps settingsList of apps you use- You can delete Apps from this list (you cannot “get back” any information you already share with them, they just can’t get more)- You can look at the information each app interacts with- Manage what parts of your personal “basic information” your friends can carry with them as they use apps.- Turn off or on “Instant Personalization” at partnering websites to see what you friends have shared there.- Turn off or on search engine results for your name.
Past posts- You can enable limiting past posts to only friends- Each post must be changed back manually for share it with others, but the only option is “public”- This will effect all past posts, starting back from your most current- This will not recall information that people have saved or shared : it just means no one can access it via your account anymore- Remember: nothing will ever comeback, once it’s out
Blocking- You can block people so they cannot: “friend” you see your profile message you, etc.- You can block: app invites from people specific apps invitations from certain people
Account security- Secure Browsing: choose https (‘s’ is for ‘secure’)- Login Notifications: you can receive emails if your account is accessed from an unknown device- Login Approvals: you can restrict logins from unknown devices- App Passwords: you can add additional password layers to Apps- Recognized Devices: if you turn on Login Approvals you can add devices to this list- Session Information: you can see where you have logged in from in the past
Account security: tip- Facebook Pages cannot see your details (depending on your settings)- Businesses that use personal profiles can see all your details: ‘like’ a business, never ‘friend’ it.
How Facebook Currently Uses Your Data- To advertise goods/services to you from companies who pay Facebook for the privilege of your data (Advertising)- To connect you with people you may know or like (Social Networking)
Data you share on purposeRegistration information- Name- Family status- Address- Birthdate- Chat contacts- Phone Number- Status Updates- Uploaded photos or video- Comments and “likes”- Tags- Global Positioning
Data you might notshare on purpose- Clicks- Searches- IP address- Advertisers who work with FacebookFacebook uses ALL the data you share to serve you advertisementsbased on your interests and your habits.
FriendsIf you write or comment on someone else’s page or website, their settings willdetermine who sees your post, no matter your privacy settings.Your fiends will also drag your information along when they use Apps.
Subscribers Subscribers only receive public information and posts.It’s like having a private and a public profile at the same time.
In a nutshell:- Check your settings and be aware of what you share- Respect your friends’ privacy- Use common sense!
P 08 9384 2811W thewhiteroomagency.com.auE email@example.com