Utah Division of Wildlife Resources • Turn in a poacher: 1-800-662-3337 • wildlife.utah.gov




                 FISHING
 ...
Fishing                   For decades,      CONTENTS
Utah Fishing • 2010

                                                ...
CONTACT US                                     HOW TO USE THIS




                                                       ...
in Red Fleet Reservoir. To learn how you can help        Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilita-
Utah Fishing •...
GENERAL RULES: LICENSES AND PERMITS




                                                                                  ...
consecutive days, including the day you buy       Flaming Gorge Reservoir
Utah Fishing • 2010
                            ...
An Arizona second-pole permit is not valid       FEES




                                                                ...
GENERAL RULES: FISHING METHODS
Utah Fishing • 2010

                      Utah Code § 23-20-3
                          Th...
• Dead white bass may be used as bait       the Taking Nongame Fish section of this guide




                            ...
one-day, seven-day or 365-day Utah shing or                    seven-day or 365-day Utah shing or com-
Utah Fishing • 2010...
• Starvation Reservoir (Duchesne County)            crops, or a pasture that is arti cially irrigated.




               ...
gates and rights-of-way entering the land. If            Prohibited fish
Utah Fishing • 2010
                      metal fe...
either be released or killed immediately                    • South Fork of Provo River (below Deer




                  ...
GENERAL RULES: POSSESSION AND
Utah Fishing • 2010

                      TRANSPORTATION
                      Utah Code § ...
Release of tagged or                                  to abandon a sh or cray sh or allow it to spoil or




             ...
vested a limit of trout, you cannot harvest              water, you can’t sh at that river until you
Utah Fishing • 2010
 ...
FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES




                                                                                          ...
RULES FOR SPECIFIC WATERS
Utah Fishing • 2010

                      Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-20
 ...
Beaver Creek, Cache County                           Districts: general locations known as the North




                 ...
• CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second        Cold Springs Lakes, Box Elder County
Utah Fishing • 2010
             ...
Utah Fishing • 2010
  Community fishing                                    Emery County: Green River State Park Golf
      ...
Duck Fork Reservoir, Sanpete County                 Ferron Reservoir tributaries, Sanpete County
Utah Fishing • 2010
     ...
• When ice shing, the hole size may not                  • Anglers must not release any bass they




                    ...
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook

5,021

Published on

Utah fishing regulations and information for 2010

Published in: Sports
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
5,021
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
7
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Transcript of "2010 State of Utah Fishing Guidebook"

  1. 1. Utah Division of Wildlife Resources • Turn in a poacher: 1-800-662-3337 • wildlife.utah.gov FISHING 2010 UTAH GUIDEBOOK 1 Utah Fishing • 2010
  2. 2. Fishing For decades, CONTENTS Utah Fishing • 2010 a Utah shing in Utah trip meant that 3 Contact information 3 Highlights you would 5 General rules: licenses and bring home a stringer full of fat permits rainbow trout. 7 Fishing license fees Today, you can still catch tasty 8 General rules: fishing methods rainbows, but you can also come 14 General rules: possession and home with native cutthroats, walleye, transportation striped bass, cat sh, wipers and many 16 Bag and possession limits other species of sh. To learn more 17 Fish consumption advisories about these sh, see the articles on 17 How to measure a fish pages 39–41. 18 Rules for specific waters Over the past year, there have 21 Community fishing waters been some exciting developments 33 Watercraft restrictions in the Division’s e orts to raise tiger 33 Utah’s boating laws and rules muskie here in Utah. You can read 35 Battling invasive species and about the past and future of this disease program in the article on page 41. 36 Did it get wet? Decontaminate it! You should also be aware of an 37 Catch-and-release fishing tips important regulation change that will 38 Restoring Utah’s rivers improve opportunity for all anglers at 39 Fish for something different Utah’s community shing ponds. You’ll 40 A closer look at cutthroats nd details in the article on page 46. 41 More tiger muskie for Utah Anglers of all ages and ability 42 Report illegal stocking levels nd adventure in Utah’s diverse 43 Fishing facts sheries. 44 Warmwater hatcheries offer To preview some of these great diversity shing spots—and to plan future 45 State Parks annual passes trips—visit the Division’s YouTube 46 Changes at community fisheries site at www.youtube.com/UDWR. 47 Suggest fishing changes There, you’ll nd videos about native 47 Definitions cutthroats at Strawberry, splake in 50 Identifying Utah’s native and Fish Lake, tiger muskie at Pineview nonnative fish and more. This guidebook is a proclamation of the Utah Wildlife Board. Please be aware that it’s only a summary of the rules and laws that govern Utah shing. On the cover: Keith Kimball from Rich eld, Utah For an in-depth look at the state’s sh- with the four-pound largemouth bass he caught ing regulations, visit wildlife.utah.gov/ at Warm Creek in Lake Powell. Photo courtesy of rules or the nearest Division o ce. Mike McNabb. 2
  3. 3. CONTACT US HOW TO USE THIS Utah Fishing • 2010 Offices are open 7 a.m. – 6 p.m., GUIDEBOOK Monday through Thursday. 1. Review the general rules (licenses, shing methods and transportation) on pages 5–16. Division offices 2. Check general season dates and bag and pos- Salt Lake Office session limits on pages 15–16. 1594 W North Temple 3. Look up a speci c water on pages 18–32. (If Box 146301 the water you’re looking for is not listed here, it is Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 subject to the general rules.) (801) 538-4700 Southeastern Region HIGHLIGHTS 319 N Carbonville Road, Ste A What’s new this season? Price, UT 84501 (435) 613-3700 Free Fishing Day: This year, Free Fishing Day will be held on June 5. It’s a great opportunity to Southern Region share your favorite shing spot with a friend or 1470 N Airport Road family member. For more information, see page 5. Cedar City, UT 84721 (435) 865-6100 Lower limit at community fisheries: The daily limit has been lowered to two sh at Utah’s Central Region community sheries. This change will give anglers 1115 N Main Street a better chance to catch sh at these popular lakes Springville, UT 84663 and ponds. For more information on the regula- (801) 491-5678 tion change, see the article on page 46. New community fisheries: Four new com- Northeastern Region munity sheries are now open to the public. They 152 E 100 N include Black Ridge Reservoir, Leigh Hill Reservoir, Vernal, UT 84078 Millrace Park Pond and Sandy Urban Fishery. For (435) 781-9453 a complete list of Utah’s community sheries, see the information box on page 21. Northern Region 515 E 5300 S More tiger muskie: Last year, the Division Ogden, UT 84405 stocked 15,000 tiger muskie in Utah reservoirs (801) 476-2740 and launched Utah’s rst tiger muskie breeding program. For more information about the new breeding program and where to sh for tiger muskie, see the article on page 41. Wildlife Board members Increased yellow perch limit: The statewide Jake Albrecht Rick Woodard, Chair daily limit for yellow perch has increased to 50 sh. Del Brady Ernie Perkins, Vice Chair Bill Fenimore James F. Karpowitz, Invasive mussel larvae found in two wa- Tom Hatch Division Director ters: In 2008, the Division identi ed zebra mussel Keele Johnson Executive Secretary larvae in Electric Lake and quagga mussel larvae 3
  4. 4. in Red Fleet Reservoir. To learn how you can help Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilita- Utah Fishing • 2010 combat these mussels and other aquatic invasive tion Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with species, see page 35. Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments Underwater spearfishing changes at of 1972, the U.S. Department of the Interior and Fish Lake: Beginning in 2010, the underwater its bureaus prohibit discrimination on the basis of spear shing season at Fish Lake will close earlier race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex. than it did in 2009. The season now begins at 6 If you believe that you have been discriminated a.m. on June 5 and ends on Sept. 15. against in any program, activity or facility, or if you desire further information, please write to: Regulation changes at Kolob Reservoir: For The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service many years, Kolob Reservoir could only be shed O ce for Diversity and Civil Rights by anglers who used arti cial ies and lures. This Programs—External Programs year, the reservoir will be open to bait shing in 4040 North Fairfax Drive, Suite 130 the summer months. For a detailed look at this Arlington, VA 22203 regulation—and the other rules speci c to Kolob Private lands: The Division cannot guarantee Reservoir—please see page 25. access to any private land. You may only access Accessing public waters: If you plan to sh cultivated or properly posted private land if you public water (a natural lake, river or stream) that’s obtain WRITTEN permission from the landowner on private land, you must enter and exit the water or the landowner’s authorized representative. For from a public access point. To learn more, see the more information, see Trespassing on page 11. information box on page 11. Division funding: The Division is mostly funded by the sale of hunting and shing licenses and And remember through federal aid made possible by an excise tax on the sale of rearms and other hunting- and Buy your license on the phone: You can now shing-related equipment. buy a Utah shing license over the telephone. Just call 1-800-221-0659. The line is sta ed 24 hours a day, seven days a week. In addition to the fee for Take a closer look at the the license, you’ll also be charged a $2 transaction rules fee for each item you buy. This guidebook summarizes Utah’s Community fisheries: You can learn more shing laws and rules. Although it is a about Utah’s 41 community sheries by picking convenient quick-reference document for up a copy of the Division’s Utah Community Utah shing regulations, it is not an all- Fishing booklet. The free booklet is available at encompassing resource. wildlife.utah.gov/cf or at any Division o ce. For an in-depth look at the state’s shing laws and rules, visit wildlife.utah.gov/rules. Corrections: If errors are found in the printed You can use the references in the guidebook, the Division will correct them in the guidebook—such as Utah Administrative online version. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks Rule R657-13-6 and Utah Code § 23-20- to view all of the Division’s guidebooks and 3—to search the Division’s Web site for the proclamations. detailed statute or rule that underpins the Protection from discrimination: The Division guidebook summary. receives federal nancial assistance from the U.S. If you have questions about a particular Fish and Wildlife Service. Under Title VI of the Civil rule, call or visit the nearest Division o ce. 4
  5. 5. GENERAL RULES: LICENSES AND PERMITS Utah Fishing • 2010 Utah Code §§ 23-19-1 and 23-20-3 Obtaining a shing license is the rst step to shing in Utah. If you’re under the age of 12, you don’t need a license to sh unless you want to sh with two poles or use a setline. If you’re 12 years of age or older, you must buy a license before you can sh. This section provides information about the di erent licenses that are available. Free Fishing Day ond pole or a setline, you must purchase a Utah Utah Code § 23-19-1 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-3 shing or combination license and a second-pole The one day you don’t need a license to sh or setline permit. Please see pages 9–10 of this in Utah is Saturday, June 5, 2010, which is Free guide for more information about second-pole Fishing Day. Everyone in Utah can sh for free that and setline permits. day, but please remember that all of the state’s other shing laws and rules still apply. 12 years of age and older Utah Code § 23-19-21 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-3 Under 12 years of age If you’re 12 years of age or older, you must Utah Code § 23-19-21 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-3 purchase a shing license or a combination license If you’re under 12 years of age, you do not to sh in Utah. You can choose from four need a shing license to sh in Utah. You can di erent licenses: sh without a license and take a full bag and • One-day licenses allow you to sh for possession limit. one day. The only exceptions are if you’d like to sh • Seven-day licenses allow you to sh for with a second pole or a setline. If you’re under the seven consecutive days. age of 12 and would like to sh with either a sec- • 365-day licenses allow you to sh for 365 Don’t lose your hunting and fishing privileges If you commit a wildlife violation, you could lose the privilege of hunting and shing in Utah. The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources can suspend the license of anyone who knowingly, intention- ally or recklessly violates wildlife laws. Your license can be suspended for a wildlife violation if: You are convicted. You plead guilty or no contest. You enter a plea in abeyance. You will be noti ed of any action against your privilege after criminal proceedings conclude. And remember, if your license is suspended in Utah, you may not be permitted to hunt or sh in most other states. (Visit ianrc.org to see a map of participating states.) 5
  6. 6. consecutive days, including the day you buy Flaming Gorge Reservoir Utah Fishing • 2010 the license. To sh across state lines at Flaming Gorge, you • 365-day combination licenses allow you to must have a valid shing license from one state do three things in Utah: and a reciprocal shing permit from the other • Fish state. For example, if you buy a Utah resident or • Hunt upland game and waterfowl nonresident shing license, you can sh the Utah • Apply for hunting permits portion of Flaming Gorge. After buying your Utah When you buy a combination license, you also license, if you decide you also want to sh the get a price break compared to buying your hunt- Wyoming portion of the reservoir, you must buy a ing and shing licenses separately. Wyoming reciprocal shing permit. Fishing and combination licenses are available For more information on obtaining a Wyo- at wildlife.utah.gov and from license agents and ming reciprocal shing permit, call the Wyoming Division o ces. You can also call 1-800-221-0659 Game and Fish Department at (307) 777-4600. to purchase your license by phone. Utah reciprocal shing permits are available You must have your license with you while at wildlife.utah.gov and from Utah Division of you’re shing, and you cannot alter your license or Wildlife Resources o ces and license agents that transfer it to another person. sell Utah shing licenses. A Wyoming second-pole permit is not valid Fishing across state lines in Utah, even with a reciprocal shing permit. (interstate waters)— A Utah second-pole permit must be purchased reciprocal fishing permits if you’d like to sh in Utah with two poles at the Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-5 same time. Utah shares three waters—Bear Lake, Flam- ing Gorge and Lake Powell—with other states. Lake Powell Utah, Idaho, Wyoming and Arizona have entered Reciprocal shing permits for Lake Powell into the following agreements to allow anglers to are available to Utah and Arizona residents only. sh across state lines: To sh across the state line at Lake Powell, a resident of Utah or Arizona must have a valid Bear Lake shing license from one state and a reciprocal If you have a valid Utah shing or combination shing permit from the other state. For example, license, or a valid Idaho shing or combination to sh the Arizona portion of the reservoir, a Utah license, you can sh anywhere on Bear Lake that’s resident needs a Utah resident shing or combi- open to shing with one shing pole. With the nation license and a reciprocal shing permit purchase of a valid Utah shing or combination from Arizona. license and a Utah second-pole permit, or Utah residents may obtain an Arizona recipro- a valid Idaho shing or combination license and cal shing permit at gf.state.az.us. Arizona resi- an Idaho two-pole permit, an angler may sh dents may obtain a Utah reciprocal shing permit with two poles anywhere on Bear Lake that is at wildlife.utah.gov and from Division o ces and open to shing. A second-pole or two-pole permit license agents that sell Utah shing licenses. must be purchased from the state of original If you’re not a resident of either state, you license purchase. must purchase a Utah nonresident shing license to sh the Utah portion of Lake Powell and an Arizona nonresident license to sh the Arizona portion of the reservoir. A state park is associated with this water. Visit stateparks.utah.gov for more information. 6
  7. 7. An Arizona second-pole permit is not valid FEES Utah Fishing • 2010 in Utah, even with a reciprocal shing permit. A Utah second-pole permit must be purchased Resident licenses if you’d like to sh in Utah with two poles at the same time. 1-day (14 years of age or older) $8 7-day (14 years of age or older) $16 More information about reciprocal permits 365-day youth (12–13) $5 • Utah reciprocal shing permits are valid for 365-day (65 years of age or older) $21 365 days from the day you buy them. 365-day (over 14 years of age and • You must sign your name on your reciprocal $26 under 65 years of age) permit the same way you signed your name on your shing license. 365-day combination $30 • You are subject to the laws and rules of the state in which you’re shing. Nonresident licenses • Only one bag limit may be taken and held in 1-day (14 years of age or older) $12 possession, even if you’re licensed to sh in both states. 7-day (14 years of age or older) $32 365-day youth (12–13) $5 Fishing contests Utah Admin. Rule R657-58 365-day (14 years of age or older) $70 You can hold a shing contest in Utah, but you 365-day combination $80 must follow the rules, many of which changed this year. For the current shing contest rules, please see Utah Admin. Rule R657-58 at wildlife. Reciprocal fishing utah.gov/rules or contact the nearest Division permits o ce. Flaming Gorge Reservoir (for use If you plan to hold a shing contest at a Utah with a Wyoming shing license — $10 State Park, you should also check with the park to see page 6 for details) see if there are any additional rules that apply to the area. Lake Powell (for use with an Arizona resident shing license—see pages $8 6–7 for details) Licenses for residents with special needs Other fishing permits Utah Code § 23-19-36 If you’re a Utah resident and have certain Setline permit* $15 physical or mental disabilities—or a terminal (residents and nonresidents) illness—you may qualify for a free shing license. Second-pole permit# $15 A child who has been placed in the custody of the (residents and nonresidents) state by a court order may also qualify. To learn if you qualify, please see Utah Code § 23-19-36 * To learn more about setline permits, please see page 10 at wildlife.utah.gov/rules or contact your nearest of this guide. Division o ce. # To learn more about second-pole permits, please see pages 9–10 of this guide. 7
  8. 8. GENERAL RULES: FISHING METHODS Utah Fishing • 2010 Utah Code § 23-20-3 There are laws and rules that govern shing in Utah. By obeying these regulations and being an ethical angler, you will help keep shing great for everyone. Please be familiar with the following general rules for taking sh and cray sh. You’ll nd some exceptions to these rules in the Rules for Speci c Waters section that begins on page 18. Taking game fish ing Gorge is available on pages 22–23, and You may take game sh using only the follow- information about shing at Lake Powell is ing methods: available on page 25. • When you’re shing through the ice, you Angling may not sh through a hole that’s more Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-6 than 12 inches wide. The only exceptions You may not sh with more than one shing are at Bear Lake, Flaming Gorge Reservoir line except when: and Fish Lake. For more information about • You are shing for cray sh. Please ice shing at these waters, please see the see page 12 of this guide for more informa- Rules for Speci c Waters section that begins tion about shing for cray sh. on page 18. • You have a second-pole or setline permit. Information about shing with a Bait second pole is available on page 9. Informa- Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-12 tion about shing with a setline is available Several rules pertain to the use of bait in Utah: on page 10. • Use or possession of corn, hominy or live • You are ice shing at Flaming Gorge. Please bait sh while shing is unlawful. see pages 22–23 for the rules speci c to • Use or possession of tiger salamanders (live Flaming Gorge. or dead) while shing is unlawful. While shing, you must be within sight of • Use or possession of any bait while shing the equipment you’re shing with (this distance on waters designated arti cial y and lure cannot exceed 100 feet). The only exception to only is unlawful. this rule is if you have a setline permit. Please see • Use or possession of arti cial baits which are page 10 for more information about shing with commercially imbedded or covered with sh a setline. or sh parts while shing is unlawful. There are a few additional angling rules to • Use or possession of bait in the form of fresh keep in mind: or frozen sh or sh parts while shing is • No arti cial lure may have more than unlawful, except as provided below: three hooks. • Dead Bonneville cisco may be used as • No line may have attached to it more than bait only in Bear Lake. two baited hooks, two arti cial ies or two • Dead yellow perch may be used as arti cial lures. The only exceptions to this bait only in Deer Creek, Echo, Fish rule are if you’re using a setline or you’re Lake, Gunnison, Hyrum, Johnson, shing at Flaming Gorge Reservoir or Lake Jordanelle, Mantua, Mill Meadow, Powell. Please see page 10 of this guide Newton, Pineview, Rockport, Starva- for more information about shing with a tion, Utah Lake, Willard Bay and Yuba setline. Information about shing at Flam- reservoirs. 8
  9. 9. • Dead white bass may be used as bait the Taking Nongame Fish section of this guide Utah Fishing • 2010 only in Utah Lake and the Jordan River. (pages 12–13) and the Rules for Speci c Waters, • Dead shad from Lake Powell may be Lake Powell section, on page 25. used as bait only in Lake Powell. It is You may not take or land a sh by snagging illegal to remove dead shad from the or ga ng, and you may not have a ga in your Glen Canyon National Recreation Area. possession while shing. The only exception is • Dead, fresh or frozen salt water spe- Lake Powell, where you may use a ga to land cies including sardines and anchovies striped bass. may be used as bait in any water Chumming is prohibited on all waters except where bait is permitted. Lake Powell. (Chumming means to dislodge or • Dead mountain sucker, white sucker, deposit into the water any substance, not at- Utah sucker, redside shiner, speckled tached to a hook, line or trap, which may attract dace, mottled sculpin, fat head sh.) Please see the Rules for Speci c Waters, Lake minnow, Utah chub and common Powell section, on page 25 for more information carp may be used as bait in any water about chumming at Lake Powell. where bait is permitted. On some waters, you cannot sh from a oat • The eggs of any species of sh caught tube or a boat (please see the Watercraft Restric- in Utah, except prohibited sh, may tions section on pages 33–34 for more informa- be used in any water where bait is tion). In addition to the rules in this guide, boaters permitted. should be aware that other agencies may have • Use of live cray sh for bait is legal only on placed additional restrictions on the use of oat the water where the cray sh is captured. It tubes, nonmotorized boats or boats with motors is unlawful to transport live cray sh away at some waters in Utah. from the water where they were captured. • Commercially prepared and chemically Fishing with more than one pole Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-7 treated bait sh or their parts may be used as bait in any water where bait is permitted. If you have a valid Utah second-pole permit, • Manufactured, human-made items that and a valid shing or combination license, you may not be digestible—including items can sh with two poles at any water in the state that have been chemically treated with food during its open shing season. You may keep only stu s, chemical sh attractants or feeding one limit of sh, however. A second-pole permit stimulants—may not be used on waters does NOT allow you to keep two limits of sh. where bait is prohibited. Second-pole permits are available for $15 at wildlife.utah.gov and from license agents and Restrictions on taking fish and crayfish Division o ces. Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-11 A second-pole permit is a 365-day permit, You can use arti cial light while shing, but you must also have an unexpired one-day, unless you’re underwater spear shing. Use of seven-day or 365-day Utah shing or combination arti cial light is unlawful while engaged in license in order to use it. (A second-pole permit underwater spear shing, unless you are shing is not valid unless it’s accompanied by a valid for burbot at Flaming Gorge. shing or combination license.) Only the person You may not obstruct a waterway or use any to whom the second-pole permit is issued can use chemical, explosive, electricity, poison, crossbow, the permit. rearm, pellet gun or archery equipment to take If you’re under 12 years of age and would like sh or cray sh. The only exceptions are found in to sh with a second pole, you must have a valid 9
  10. 10. one-day, seven-day or 365-day Utah shing or seven-day or 365-day Utah shing or com- Utah Fishing • 2010 combination license, and a second-pole permit. bination license in order to use it (a setline When shing with a second pole, you must be permit is not valid unless it’s accompanied within sight of the equipment you’re shing with by a valid shing or combination license). (this distance cannot exceed 100 feet). See also • If you’re under 12 years of age and would “Interstate Waters” on pages 6–7. like to use a setline, you must have a valid A person may use up to six lines, poles or one-day, seven-day or 365-day Utah shing tip-ups—without a second-pole permit—when or combination license, and a setline permit. shing at Flaming Gorge Reservoir through the ice. Please see pages 22–23 for more information. Dipnetting Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-10 Setline fishing You can use a handheld dipnet to land Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-8 game sh that you’ve legally taken by angling. Setlines are lines that are anchored to a However, you may not use a handheld dipnet to non-moving object and that are not attached to a take game sh. The only exception is at Bear Lake, shing pole. If you obtain a setline permit, and a where handheld dipnets may be used to take Utah shing or combination license, you can use a Bonneville cisco. setline to take sh from the following waters: the When shing for Bonneville cisco at Bear Bear River proper (downstream from the Idaho Lake, the opening of your dipnet may not exceed state line, including Cutler Reservoir and outlet 18 inches. If you’re dipnetting through the ice at canals); the Little Bear River below Valley View Bear Lake, there is no restriction on the size of the Highway (SR-30); the Malad River; and Utah Lake. hole you can drill in the ice. Please see the Rules The following rules apply to setline shing: for Speci c Waters, Bear Lake section, on page 18 • You may not sh with more than one for more information. setline. You may also use a handheld dipnet to take • A setline may not contain more than 15 cray sh and nongame sh, except prohibited sh. hooks. For a list of sh that are prohibited in Utah, please • When shing with a setline, you must be see page 12 of this guide. within 100 yards of the surface or the bank of water you’re shing from. Underwater spearfishing Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-9 • One end of your setline must be attached to a non-moving object that is not attached to You may underwater spear sh—for both a shing pole. Your setline must also have a game and nongame sh—from 6 a.m. on the legible tag attached to it that includes your rst Saturday of June through Nov. 30 at the name, address and setline permit number. following waters: • While shing with a setline, you can also • Causey Reservoir (Weber County) sh with one shing pole. If you have a valid • Deer Creek Reservoir (Wasatch County) second-pole permit, you can sh with two • Flaming Gorge Reservoir (Daggett County) shing poles while you’re also shing with • Jordanelle Reservoir (Wasatch County) a setline. • Kens Lake (San Juan County) • Setline permits are available for $15 at • Lake Powell (Gar eld, Kane and San Juan wildlife.utah.gov and from license agents counties) and Division o ces. • Lost Creek Reservoir (Morgan County) • A setline permit is a 365-day permit, but • Pineview Reservoir, with the exception of you must also have an unexpired one-day, tiger muskie (Weber County) • Red Fleet Reservoir (Uintah County) 10
  11. 11. • Starvation Reservoir (Duchesne County) crops, or a pasture that is arti cially irrigated. Utah Fishing • 2010 • Steinaker Reservoir (Uintah County) “Permission” means written authorization from • Willard Bay Reservoir (Box Elder County) the owner or person in charge to enter upon private • Yuba Reservoir (Juab and Sanpete counties) land that is cultivated or properly posted. Permis- At Fish Lake (Sevier County), you may under- sion must include all of the following details: water spear sh for all sh species from 6 a.m. on • The signature of the landowner or land the rst Saturday of June through Sept. 15. manager Underwater spear shing hours are from • The name of the person being given o cial sunrise to o cial sunset. It is illegal to use permission arti cial light while underwater spear shing, and • The appropriate dates free shafting is prohibited. • A general description of the land There are a few exceptions to these regulations: “Properly posted” means that “No Trespass- • At Flaming Gorge, you can underwater ing” signs—or a minimum of 100 square inches spear sh for burbot from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, of bright yellow, bright orange or uorescent 24 hours per day. You can also use arti cial paint—are displayed at all corners, on shing light while spear shing for burbot at streams crossing property lines, and on roads, this reservoir. Please see pages 22–23 for rules speci c to Flaming Gorge. Obey access laws, show • At Lake Powell, you can underwater courtesy spear sh for carp and striped bass from Jan. In July 2008, the Utah Supreme Court 1 through Dec. 31. issued an opinion (Conatser v. Johnson) • At Pineview Reservoir, you cannot under- recognizing the public’s right to walk on water spear sh for tiger muskie. privately owned riverbeds and streambeds • At all waters open to angling—during while engaging in lawful recreational activi- their open seasons—you can underwater ties that use the state’s waters. spear sh for carp. Here are a few things to keep in mind if The underwater spear shing bag and pos- you plan to sh or boat in any areas a ected session limits are the same limits that apply to by this decision: anglers who use other shing techniques at the • Enter and exit the water at a lawful approved spear shing waters. access point, such as a highway right- of-way, public property or private Trespassing Utah Code §§ 23-20-14 and 23-20-3.5 property with the landowner’s written While shing or engaging in any wildlife- permission. related activities, you may not: • Behave responsibly and respect the • Enter upon privately owned land that is culti- landowner’s rights. vated or properly posted without the permis- • Pack out your trash, pick up any litter sion of the landowner or land manager you see and be courteous to others. • Refuse to immediately leave the private It’s important to note that the Supreme land if requested to do so by the landowner Court’s ruling is not necessarily the nal word or land manager on this subject. The Utah Legislature can • Obstruct any entrance or exit to private land choose to change the law at any time. “Cultivated land” is land that is readily identi- The Division’s full explanation of this able as land whose soil is loosened or broken up ruling is available online at wildlife.utah.gov/ for the raising of crops, land used for the raising of shing/waters_access.php. 11
  12. 12. gates and rights-of-way entering the land. If Prohibited fish Utah Fishing • 2010 metal fence posts are used, the entire exterior side Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-13 must be painted. The following nongame sh are prohibited, You may not post private property you do not which means you can’t take them or hold them in own or legally control or land that is open to the your possession. If you catch any of these sh, you public as provided by Utah Code § 23-21-4. must release them immediately: In addition, it is unlawful to take protected • Bonytail wildlife or their parts while trespassing in viola- • Bluehead sucker tion of Utah Code § 23-20-14. • Colorado pikeminnow (formerly, Colorado squaw sh) Native American Trust Lands • Flannelmouth sucker If you’re shing on land that belongs to any • Grass carp of the Native American tribes in Utah, you must • Humpback chub observe tribal regulations concerning the taking • June sucker of sh. These regulations are available from the • Least chub Native American tribe that owns the land. • Northern leatherside chub • Southern leatherside chub Taking crayfish • Razorback sucker Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-15 • Roundtail chub Fishing for cray sh (also called “crawdads”) is • Virgin chub a fun activity for the whole family. • Virgin spinedace If you’re under the age of 12, you do not need • Wound n a license to sh for cray sh. If you’re 12 years of age or older, you must have a valid Utah shing or Taking nongame fish combination license to sh for cray sh. You may Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-14 take cray sh for personal, noncommercial pur- If you have a valid Utah shing or combina- poses at any body of water where there’s an open tion license, you may take nongame sh— shing season. You may not take cray sh if the EXCEPT those listed in the Prohibited Fish section shing season at that water is closed, however. above—for personal, noncommercial purposes, You may take cray sh by hand or with a trap, as long as you’re shing at a body of water during dipnet, liftnet, handline, pole or seine. You must its open shing season. also obey all of the following rules: There are, however, more than a dozen • You may not use game sh or their parts waters where carp are the only nongame sh for bait, or use any substance that is illegal you may take. Those waters are listed in the Carp for shing. section on page 13. • Seines (nets) may not exceed 10 feet in To take nonprohibited nongame sh, you may length or width. use angling, traps, archery (excluding crossbows), • You may not use more than ve lines, and dipnets, liftnets, seines or a handheld spear from not more than one of those lines can have above the surface of the water. When using these hooks attached to it. (On the lines without methods, please remember the following rules: hooks, simply tie your bait to the line so the • Seines (nets) may not exceed 10 feet in cray sh can grasp the bait with its claw.) length or width. • You may not transport live cray sh away from • Cast nets may not exceed 10 feet in the body of water where you captured them. diameter (a ve-foot radius). • Nongame sh that are legal to take must 12
  13. 13. either be released or killed immediately • South Fork of Provo River (below Deer Utah Fishing • 2010 after you remove them from the water. You Creek Dam) may not leave them on the shoreline. • Snake Valley waters (west and north Underwater spear shing for nongame sh of US-6 and the part of US-6 and US- (other than carp) is only allowed at the waters 50 in Millard and Juab counties) listed in the Underwater Spear shing section on page 10–11. Taking brine shrimp Utah Admin. Rule R657-52 Carp Many people who visit the Great Salt Lake You may use a variety of techniques— want to take some of the lake’s brine shrimp home including angling, archery (excluding crossbows), with them. You may take brine shrimp from the a spear from above the surface of the water, or lake without a shing license, but you may not underwater spear shing—to take carp in any take more than one gallon in a seven-day period. water during its open shing season. Carp are the only nongame sh you may take Checkpoints and officer in the following waters: contacts Utah Code §§ 23-20-25 and 77-23-104 • San Juan River • Colorado River The Division is the trustee and guardian of • Green River (from the con uence Utah’s sh and wildlife. Division conservation with the Colorado River upstream to o cers monitor the taking and possession of sh, the Colorado state line in Dinosaur and the required licenses and equipment used for National Monument) shing. You should expect to encounter conserva- • Green River (from the Colorado state tion o cers and biologists checking anglers at line in Browns Park upstream to waters and at checkpoints across Utah. Flaming Gorge Dam, including Gorge If you meet a conservation o cer, you must Creek, a tributary that enters the provide the items he or she asks for, including any Green River at Little Hole) licenses required for shing, any devices used to • White River (Uintah County) participate in shing and any sh that you’ve taken. • Duchesne River (from the Myton SR- These contacts allow the Division to collect valuable 40 bridge to the con uence with the information about sh populations in Utah. Green River) • Virgin River (main stem and the north and east forks) • Ash Creek • Beaver Dam Wash • Fort Pierce Wash • La Verkin Creek • Santa Clara River (from Pine Valley Reservoir downstream to the con u- ence with the Virgin River) • Diamond Fork • Thistle Creek • Main Canyon Creek (tributary to Walls- burg Creek) 13
  14. 14. GENERAL RULES: POSSESSION AND Utah Fishing • 2010 TRANSPORTATION Utah Code § 23-20-3 Once you’ve taken a sh or cray sh, several rules apply to how you can use it. Please be familiar with the following general rules for possessing and transporting sh and cray sh. Dead fish and crayfish a registered commercial shing installation, a Utah Code § 4-37-305 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-16 private pond owner or a short-term shing event, At most Utah waters, you can dress or you may only possess or transport dead sh if you llet game sh, remove their heads or tails, or have a receipt. The receipt must include all of the otherwise physically alter the sh at either of the following information: following times: • The species and number of sh • Immediately after you nish shing (while • The date the sh were caught still at the water where you caught the sh) • The certi cate of registration number of the –OR– installation, pond or short-term shing event • After you reach a sh-cleaning station, • The name, address and telephone a camp or your principal means of land number of the seller transportation To help prevent the spread of disease, dead sh NOTE: Do not dispose of entrails and and cray sh may not be moved between waters. carcasses on the bank. Leave them in the water where you caught the sh. Live fish and crayfish Utah Code § 23-13-14 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-17 There are a few Utah waters where di erent lleting rules apply. Trout and/or salmon taken • You may not release sh or cray sh into at Strawberry Reservoir, Sco eld Reservoir and the wild except as provided in the Wildlife Panguitch Lake—and smallmouth bass taken Code, rule, proclamation or order of the at Jordanelle—may not be lleted, and their Wildlife Board. For example, you can release heads or tails may not be removed in the eld or sh caught at Sco eld Reservoir back into in transit. Sco eld, but you cannot take live sh from While you are in the act of shing, it is Sco eld and place those sh in another unlawful to possess sh that have been dressed water. Any person who moves live sh from or lleted. This does not apply to sh that are one body of water to another is guilty of a processed for immediate consumption or to sh class A misdemeanor. held from a previous day’s catch. • You may use live sh stringers, live wells If you have a valid shing or combination or holding cages to store sh or cray sh license, a legal limit of game sh or cray sh can while shing on the water where you accompany you as you travel within Utah or as caught them. you leave Utah. • A trout, salmon or grayling may not be You may possess or transport a legal limit of released if it’s been held on a stringer or game sh or cray sh caught by another person in a sh basket, live well or any other type if you have a donation letter from that person of device. (please see the Donating section on page 15 for • You may not transport live sh or more information.) cray sh away from the water where they If you have purchased or obtained sh from were taken. 14
  15. 15. Release of tagged or to abandon a sh or cray sh or allow it to spoil or Utah Fishing • 2010 marked fish be used in a manner not normally associated with Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-18 its bene cial use. For example, using the meat of You may not, without prior authorization game sh as fertilizer or for trapping bait is not from the Division, perform any of the considered a bene cial use of the meat.) following activities: • Tag, mark or n-clip sh for the purpose Season dates and of o ering a prize or reward as part of a bag and possession limits Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-19 contest • Introduce a tagged, marked or n-clipped This section provides general rules for shing sh into any water in the state in Utah. Many waters have localized and speci c • Tag, mark or n-clip a sh and return it to rules. These rules can be found in the Rules for the water Speci c Waters section beginning on page 18. On waters that have a speci c rule, that rule Disposal of aquatic wildlife takes precedence over the general rules below: Utah Code § 23-20-9 Donating Closed areas The following are the only places where you All of the state’s sh hatcheries are closed to may donate or give protected aquatic wildlife or shing. All of the state’s waterfowl management its parts to another person: areas are also closed to shing unless they’re • The residence of the donor posted open to shing or they’re listed as open to • The residence of the recipient shing in the Rules for Speci c Waters section that • A meat locker begins on page 18. • A storage plant Season dates • A meat-processing facility Utah’s general sh and cray sh season is Jan. You may not donate sh in the eld. 1 through Dec. 31, 2010. Fish may be caught by A written statement of donation must be kept angling or setline 24 hours a day. Underwater with the protected aquatic wildlife or parts that spear shing is allowed from o cial sunrise to includes all of the following information: o cial sunset. See “Underwater Spear shing” on • The number and species of protected pages 10–11 for details. aquatic wildlife or parts donated • The date of donation Bag and possession limits • The license or permit number of the donor • Any trout, salmon or grayling that is not • The signature of the donor immediately released and that’s held in your possession—whether the sh is Purchasing or selling dead or alive—is part of your bag and Utah Code § 23-20-3 possession limit. You may not purchase or sell protected • A trout, salmon or grayling may not be aquatic wildlife or its parts except as provided in released if it’s been held in or on a stringer, the Wildlife Code, rule, proclamation or order of sh basket, livewell or by any other device. the Wildlife Board. • Any sh that doesn’t meet the size, bag or Wasting species rules for the water you’re shing Utah Code § 23-20-8 must be returned to the water immediately. You may not waste any sh or cray sh or per- • In Utah, the bag and possession limits are mit them to be wasted or spoiled. (Waste means the same. For example, once you’ve har- 15
  16. 16. vested a limit of trout, you cannot harvest water, you can’t sh at that river until you Utah Fishing • 2010 any more trout until you’ve consumed or consume at least one of the cutthroats you donated at least some of the trout you’ve harvested earlier. You may continue to sh harvested. So, if you eat one trout, you can while in possession of a full limit, but you harvest one more the next day; if you eat must immediately release any additional a full limit, you can harvest a full limit the sh you catch. next day. • Residents and nonresidents who are under • You may not sh at waters that have a 12 years of age may sh without a license speci c bag or size limit if you possess sh and take a full bag and possession limit. in violation of that limit. For example, if the • The following general bag and possession cutthroat trout limit at a river you’d like to limits apply statewide, except as provided sh is two cutthroats, and you harvested in the Rules for Speci c Waters section that three cutthroats earlier that day at another begins on page 18: BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS Bluegill and green sun sh in the 50 Northern pike* 6 aggregate* Tiger muskellunge* 1 over 40 Bonneville cisco 30 inches Bullhead 24 Sacramento perch 10 Burbot (Anglers must not release No limit Striped bass No limit any burbot they catch. All burbot Trout, including salmon, grayling 4 caught must be immediately and hybrids in the aggregate, killed.) except no more than two can be Channel cat sh* 8 lake trout/mackinaw. Also, you Community sheries (The limit 2 can take extra brook trout at some includes sh of any species, but waters in the state.* anglers are encouraged to release all largemouth bass. See the Walleye* 10, only complete list of community waters 1 over 24 on page 21.) inches Crappie* 50 White sh* 10 Cray sh No limit White bass No limit Largemouth and smallmouth bass 6 Wiper* 6 in the aggregate* Yellow perch* 50 Nongame species (except prohib- No limit ited sh; see page 12 for a list of * On some waters, speci c bag or size restrictions apply. prohibited sh) Please see the Rules for Speci c Waters section on pages 18–32 for variations. 16
  17. 17. FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES Utah Fishing • 2010 Go online to learn about elevated mercury levels in some of Utah’s sh. Fish are an important part of a healthy diet, First, the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources and most are safe to eat on a regular basis. You and the Utah Department of Environmental should, however, limit your intake of some sh Quality (DEQ) obtain sh samples from lakes and populations found in certain Utah waters. rivers across the state. Then, the DEQ analyzes Why? Recent testing identi ed elevated the samples and forwards the results to the Utah levels of mercury in some populations of sh. Department of Health (DOH). After reviewing Over time, eating these sh can be dangerous if the data, the DOH decides whether to issue a consumed in large amounts. consumption advisory. Be sure to visit the Utah Fish Advisories Web This tight partnership makes shadvisories. site— shadvisories.utah.gov—before eating utah.gov your best resource for accurate, up-to- the sh you catch. The advisory site is updated date sh consumption advisories. frequently and has the latest information about mercury levels in Utah’s sh and waters. For more information If you decide to share your sh with To learn more about Utah’s ongoing battle family or friends, be sure to communicate any with mercury, visit www.deq.utah.gov/Issues/ relevant advisories. Mercury/workgroup.htm. For more information about the health e ects of mercury, visit The latest, most accurate data www.atsdr.cdc.gov/tfacts46.html. Three government agencies work together closely to keep the Utah Fish Advisories Web site current. HOW TO MEASURE A FISH 1. Place the sh on its side with the jaw closed. 2. Squeeze the tail n together or turn it so you obtain the maximum overall length. 3. Measure a straight line from the tip of the snout to the Length extreme tip of the tail n. 17
  18. 18. RULES FOR SPECIFIC WATERS Utah Fishing • 2010 Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-13-20 The rules below take precedence over the general rules listed earlier in this guide- book. The seasons, bag limits and other restrictions in this section apply only to the waters listed below. General rules apply to all of the waters NOT listed in this section (see the Bag and Possession Limits section on page 16 to learn more about catching and harvesting sh at waters that are NOT listed in this section): American Fork Creek, Utah County • When ice shing for sh other than East from Utah Lake to I-15. cisco, the size of the hole may not exceed • CLOSED March 1 through 6 a.m. on the rst 18 inches. Saturday of May. • Anglers may keep foul-hooked Bonneville cisco that are taken through normal, legal Ashley Creek, Uintah County shing activities. Steinaker (Thornburg) diversion to the water • A person may not possess a multipoint treatment plant near the mouth of Ashley Gorge. hook with a weight permanently or rigidly • Limit 2 trout. attached directly to the shank; or a weight • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. suspended below a multipoint hook unless Aspen-Mirror Lake, Kane County the hook is on an unweighted dropper line • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the third that is at least three inches long. Saturday of April. Bear Lake tributaries, Rich County • Fishing from a boat or a oat tube is unlawful. (a) Big Spring Creek from Lamborn Diversion (ap- Badger Hollow, Wasatch County proximately 500 yards below SR-30) downstream See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. to Bear Lake and that area extending from the mouth out into the lake 1,000 feet, or as buoyed. Barney Lake, Piute County • CLOSED April 15 through 6 a.m. on the • Limit 2 trout. second Saturday of July. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. • CATCH AND RELEASE ONLY, AND ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY (Jan. 1 through April Bear Lake, Rich County 14 and from 6 a.m. on the second Saturday • See Fishing Across State Lines on pages 6–7 of July through Dec. 31). for license requirements. (b) Swan Creek from the headwater spring • Limit 2 trout. downstream to Bear Lake and that area extending • Cutthroat trout or trout with cutthroat from the mouth out into the lake 1,000 feet, or as markings with all ns intact must be imme- buoyed. diately released. Only cutthroat trout that • CLOSED April 15 through 6 a.m. on the have had one or more healed ns clipped second Saturday of July. may be kept. • CATCH AND RELEASE ONLY, AND ARTIFICIAL • Cisco may be taken with a handheld dipnet. FLIES AND LURES ONLY (Jan. 1 through April Net opening may not exceed 18 inches in 14 and from 6 a.m. on the second Saturday any dimension. When dipnetting through of July through Dec. 31). the ice, the size of the hole is unrestricted. A state park is associated with this water. Visit stateparks.utah.gov for more information. 18
  19. 19. Beaver Creek, Cache County Districts: general locations known as the North Utah Fishing • 2010 See Logan River. Boulder Slope, East Boulder Slope, South Boulder Slope, Gri n Top, Boulder Top, Escalante Moun- Beaver Creek, San Juan County tain; EXCEPT Pine Lake, Wide Hollow Reservoir and Tributary to La Sal Creek. Lower Bowns Reservoir in Gar eld County where • CLOSED to the possession of cutthroat trout general rules apply, and EXCEPT Dougherty Basin or trout with cutthroat markings. Lake in Gar eld County where separate speci c • All cutthroat trout must be immediately rules apply. released. • Limit 4 trout. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. • Only 2 trout over 14 inches. Beaver River, Beaver County • Bonus limit of 4 brook trout (total limit From Minersville Reservoir upstream to the bridge of no more than 8 trout if at least 4 are at Greenville. brook trout). • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second Seasonal Restrictions: The following restriction Saturday of July. applies to most Boulder Mountain lakes, ponds and reservoirs. Beer Creek, Utah County • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the third Includes Benjamin Slough, east from Utah Lake Saturday of April and Nov. 1 through Dec. 31. to I-15. The above restriction does not apply to the follow- • CLOSED March 1 through 6 a.m. on the rst ing waters, which are OPEN year round: Barker Saturday of May. Reservoir, Garkane East Fork Impoundment, Gar- kane Main Impoundment, Lower Barker Reservoir, Benches Pond tributaries, Sanpete County Lower Bowns Reservoir, North Creek Reservoir, • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second Pine Lake, Posey Lake, Oak Creek Reservoir and Saturday of July. Wide Hollow Reservoir (all in Gar eld County); Bicknell Bottoms, Wayne County and Blind Lake, Coleman Reservoir, Cook Lake, This area is along the Fremont River. Donkey Reservoir, Miller Lake and Pine Creek • OPEN to shing, except where posted Reservoir (all in Wayne County). CLOSED. Bountiful Lake, Davis County Big Spring Creek, Rich County See Community Fishing Waters. See Bear Lake tributaries. Broad Hollow, Wasatch County Black Ridge Reservoir, Salt Lake County See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. See Community Fishing Waters. Brough Reservoir, Uintah County Blue Lake, Tooele County • Limit 1 trout over 22 inches. • No limit for tilapia. • All trout 22 inches or smaller must be im- • Anglers must not release any tilapia they mediately released. catch. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. • All tilapia must be immediately killed. Brown Duck Basin, Duchesne County Uinta Mountains—all streams in the Brown Duck Boulder Mountain streams and lakes, Basin and the outlet of Clemments Reservoir to its Gar eld and Wayne counties con uence with Lake Fork Creek. Bag and Possession Limits: Including the Dixie National Forest; Teasdale and Escalante Ranger 19
  20. 20. • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second Cold Springs Lakes, Box Elder County Utah Fishing • 2010 Saturday of July. Also called Honeyville Ponds. • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the Satur- Bryants Fork, Wasatch County day before Memorial Day. See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. Co-op Creek, Wasatch County Bullock Reservoir, Uintah County See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. • Unlawful to use whole sh for bait. Cut bait sh must not be larger than one inch in Coal Canyon, Wasatch County any dimension and no more than one piece See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. per hook. Colorado River, Grand and San Juan counties Calder Reservoir, Uintah County • Limit 24 channel cat sh. • Limit 1 trout over 22 inches. • Limit 12 northern pike. • All trout 22 inches or smaller must be im- • Species of threatened and endangered sh mediately released. occur in the Colorado. See page 12 for a list • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. of prohibited sh. Canyon View Park Pond, Utah County Cottonwood Reservoir, Uintah County See Community Fishing Waters. • Limit 6 bass, only 1 bass may be over 15 inches. Causey Reservoir, Weber County • Unlawful to use whole sh for bait. Cut • CLOSED to the possession of kokanee bait sh must not be larger than one inch salmon with any red color within the in any dimension, with no more than one high water mark of the reservoir from piece per hook. Aug. 15 through 6 a.m. on the last Saturday of September. Cove Pond, Salt Lake County See Community Fishing Waters. Causey Reservoir tributaries, Weber County Right and left forks of South Fork Ogden River. Cow Hollow, Wasatch County • Limit 2 trout and salmon in the aggregate. See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. • CLOSED Aug. 15 through 6 a.m. on the last Currant Creek, Wasatch County Saturday of September. From Water Hollow Creek upstream to the head- waters, including all tributaries to Currant Creek Chicken Creek, Wasatch County Reservoir, but not the reservoir itself. See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. • Limit 2 trout. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. Chipman Creek, Wasatch County See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. Deer Creek Reservoir, Wasatch County • Limit 6 bass. All bass over 12 inches must Clinton Pond, Davis County be immediately released. See Community Fishing Waters. Deer Valley Lakes, Wasatch County Clyde Creek, Wasatch County • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. See Strawberry Reservoir tributaries. A state park is associated with this water. Visit stateparks.utah.gov for more information. 20
  21. 21. Utah Fishing • 2010 Community fishing Emery County: Green River State Park Golf Course Ponds and Huntington Game Farm Ponds waters Iron County: Leigh Hill Reservoir, Parowan The following rules apply to all the sher- ies listed below: Pond and Woods Pond Juab County: Burraston Ponds • Limit 2 sh. (Daily bag and possession Salt Lake County: Black Ridge Reservoir, limit is a combined total of 2 sh for all Cove Pond, Kidney Pond, Midas Pond, Millrace species. For example, you could catch Park Pond, Riverton Pond, Sandy Urban Fish- and keep 1 trout and 1 channel cat sh, ery, Sunset Pond and Willow Park Pond or 2 trout, or 2 channel cat sh, but no Utah County: Canyon View Park Pond, more than the limit of 2 sh per day.) Highland Glen Park Pond, Manila Creek Pond, • Anglers are encouraged to voluntarily Salem Pond, Spanish Oaks Reservoir, Spring release all largemouth bass. Lake and Vivian Park Pond (Note: Spanish Oaks • Waters are open to shing only when the Reservoir is closed Dec. 1 through 6 a.m. on community parks are open to the public. the last Saturday of February.) Box Elder County: Mayors Pond and Pioneer Washington County: Hurricane Pond Park Pond (Grandpa’s Pond), Razor Ridge Pond, Skyline Cache County: Skylars Pond (West Willow Drive Pond and Tawa Ponds (Upper and Lower) Pond) Weber County: Fort Buenaventura, Glass- Carbon County: Gigliotti Pond mans Pond and Meadow Creek Pond Davis County: Bountiful Lake, Clinton Check the Community Fishing booklet Pond, Farmington Pond, Jensen Park Pond or visit wildlife.utah.gov/cf for speci c site (Syracuse Pond), Kaysville Ponds, Mabey Pond recreation rules. and Steed Pond • Jan. 1 through Sept. 30, CATCH AND Duck Creek, Kane County RELEASE ONLY. • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the third • Oct. 1 through Dec. 31, limit 2 trout under Saturday of April. 16 inches. Duck Creek Springs Lake, Kane County Dougherty Basin Lake, Gar eld County • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the third Boulder Mountain—lake and out ow from dam Saturday of April. downstream one-quarter mile. • Fishing from a boat or a oat tube • CLOSED to the possession of cutthroat trout is unlawful. or trout with cutthroat markings. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. Duck Fork Creek and other tributaries to • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second Duck Fork Reservoir, Sanpete County Saturday of July. • Limit 2 tiger trout. • CLOSED to the possession of cutthroat trout Dry Creek, Utah County or trout with cutthroat markings. East from Utah Lake to I-15. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. • CLOSED March 1 through 6 a.m. on the rst • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second Saturday of May. Saturday of July. 21
  22. 22. Duck Fork Reservoir, Sanpete County Ferron Reservoir tributaries, Sanpete County Utah Fishing • 2010 • Limit 2 tiger trout. • Limit 4 trout. • CLOSED to the possession of cutthroat trout • Bonus limit of 4 brook trout (total limit or trout with cutthroat markings. of no more than 8 trout if at least 4 are • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. brook trout). • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second East Fork Little Bear River and its tributar- Saturday of July. ies, Cache County Upstream from Porcupine Reservoir. Fish Lake, Sevier County • CLOSED Aug. 15 through 6 a.m. on the last • Limit 4 trout, no more than 2 may be lake Saturday of September. trout/mackinaw and only 1 may be a lake trout/mackinaw larger than 20 inches. East Fork Little Bear River, Cache County • Underwater spear shing is permitted from Porcupine Dam downstream to the Avon-Paradise 6 a.m. on the rst Saturday of June through County road (165), second stream crossing below Sept. 15. reservoir. • When ice shing, the size of the hole may • Limit 2 trout and salmon in the aggregate. not exceed 18 inches. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. Flaming Gorge Reservoir, Daggett County East Fork Sevier River, Gar eld and Piute See Fishing Across State Lines on pages 6–7 for counties license and permit requirements. (a) Feeder canal from the diversion near Antimony • Limit 4 trout or kokanee salmon (EXCLUD- to Otter Creek Reservoir: ING LAKE TROUT) in the aggregate, no more • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second than 3 may be kokanee salmon. Saturday of July. • Limit 8 lake trout/mackinaw, only 1 may (b) From the BLM boundary (about four miles exceed 28 inches. south of the town of Antimony) upstream to the • All kokanee salmon caught from Sept. con uence of Deer Creek: 10 through Nov. 30 must be immediately • Limit 2 trout. released. • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. • Linwood Bay, west of a line from the east- East Fork Smiths Fork River, Summit County ernmost point of the south shore of Linwood • CLOSED Aug. 15 through 6 a.m. on the last Bay (mouth of canyon) to easternmost point Saturday of September. of the north shore of Linwood Bay (Lucerne Point), CLOSED between o cial sunset Echo Reservoir, Summit County and sunrise, Oct. 15 through 6 a.m. on the • Limit 6 bass, only 1 bass may be over second Saturday of December. 12 inches. • Limit 6 cat sh. • Limit 10 smallmouth and largemouth bass Farmington Pond, Davis County in the aggregate. See Community Fishing Waters. • No limit for burbot. Anglers must not Ferron Reservoir, Sanpete County release any burbot they catch. All burbot • Limit 4 trout. must be immediately killed. • Bonus limit of 4 brook trout (total limit • No line may have more than 3 baited of no more than 8 trout if at least 4 are hooks or arti cial ies in series or more brook trout). than 3 lures. 22
  23. 23. • When ice shing, the hole size may not • Anglers must not release any bass they Utah Fishing • 2010 exceed 18 inches. catch. • A person may use up to six lines without a • All bass must be immediately killed. second-pole permit when shing at Flaming Gorge Reservoir through the ice. When Grassy Trail Reservoir, Carbon County using more than two lines at Flaming Gorge • CLOSED TO FISHING. Reservoir, the angler’s name shall be at- Green River, Carbon, Daggett, Emery, Grand, tached to each line, pole or tip-up, and the San Juan, Uintah and Wayne counties angler shall check only their lines. (a) From con uence with Colorado River upstream • Open to taking burbot by means of under- to Colorado state line in Dinosaur National Monu- water spear shing from Jan. 1 through ment: Dec. 31, 24 hours each day. Arti cial light • Limit 24 channel cat sh. is permitted while engaged in underwater • Limit 12 northern pike. spear shing for burbot. Arti cial light may • No limit for smallmouth bass. Anglers must not be used to take other sh species with not release any bass they catch. All bass spear shing techniques. No other species must be immediately killed. of sh may be taken with underwater (b) From Colorado state line in Browns Park spear shing techniques between o cial upstream to Flaming Gorge Dam; including Gorge sunset and o cial sunrise. Creek, a tributary entering the Green River at Gigliotti Pond, Carbon County Little Hole: See Community Fishing Waters. • Limit 3 trout (2 under 15 inches and 1 over 22 inches). Glassmans Pond, Weber County • All trout from 15 to 22 inches must be See Community Fishing Waters. immediately released. • No limit for smallmouth bass. Gooseberry Creek, Sanpete County • Anglers must not release any smallmouth A Sco eld Reservoir tributary. bass they catch. • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second • All smallmouth bass must be immediately Saturday of July. killed. Gooseberry Reservoir tributaries, Sanpete • ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES ONLY. County • CLOSED to shing from a boat with a motor • CLOSED Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second between the Utah-Colorado state line and Saturday of July. Flaming Gorge Dam. Grandaddy Lake tributaries, Duchesne Green River State Park Golf Course Ponds, County Emery County Located in the Uinta Mountains. See Community Fishing Waters. • All tributaries to Grandaddy Lake CLOSED Gunlock Reservoir, Washington County Jan. 1 through 6 a.m. on the second Satur- • Limit 6 largemouth bass: 4 may be under 10 day of July. inches, and 2 may be over 20 inches. Grantsville Reservoir, Tooele County • All largemouth bass from 10 to 20 inches • No limit for smallmouth bass. must be immediately released. A state park is associated with this water. Visit stateparks.utah.gov for more information. 23

×