Sockwa | G3 Review | Barefoot Marathon Momma Demos the Sockwa G3
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Sockwa | G3 Review | Barefoot Marathon Momma Demos the Sockwa G3

on

  • 465 views

A little while back in November I partook in #BareChat on Twitter hosted by Barefoot Dawsy from Beginning Barefoot. The discussion forum takes place every second Wednesday (with the next one on Jan. ...

A little while back in November I partook in #BareChat on Twitter hosted by Barefoot Dawsy from Beginning Barefoot. The discussion forum takes place every second Wednesday (with the next one on Jan. 9th) and covers barefoot running, minimalist running, how we fuel our bodies, etc. It’s a great hour of chatting and meeting people with similar interests. Plus there are giveaways at the end of the hour sometimes! Who doesn’t like a giveaway??! I know I do, especially when I win. Which is exactly what happened back in November.

Sockwa, a cool shoe company owned and operated by David Zasloff, is based out of Ventura County, California and started back in the spring of 2008. Sockwa began designing shoes for the soccer circuit and has now expanded globally. Their motto is “Shoes designed for people who’d rather go barefoot.”

Hmmm…seems to me I know someone like that. Oh wait, it’s me! I love walking around the house barefoot, no matter the season. I especially enjoy being barefoot at our cottage in the summer. But there are times when a shoe is needed, such as going grocery shopping, heading into the bank or volunteering at my son’s school. But for me, there is nothing more irritating than wearing a bulky, heavy thick-soled shoe. So I was extremely happy when I won a pair of Sockwa G3 shoes on #BareChat!

For more information on Sockwa, please visit http://www.sockwa.com.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
465
Views on SlideShare
463
Embed Views
2

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0

1 Embed 2

http://www.slashdocs.com 2

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Sockwa | G3 Review | Barefoot Marathon Momma Demos the Sockwa G3 Sockwa | G3 Review | Barefoot Marathon Momma Demos the Sockwa G3 Document Transcript

  • Review: Sockwa G3 « barefoot marathon momma 2/5/13 3:11 PM barefoot marathon momma MY JOURNEY TO MINIMALIST RUNNING RSS Review: Sockwa G3 05 Jan A little while back in November I partook in #BareChat on Twitter hosted by Barefoot Dawsy from Beginning Barefoot (http://beginningbarefoot.com/about/). The discussion forum takes place every second Wednesday (with the next one on Jan. 9th) and covers barefoot running, minimalist running, how we fuel our bodies, etc. It’s a great hour of chatting and meeting people with similar interests. Plus there are giveaways at the end of the hour sometimes! Who doesn’t like a giveaway??! I know I do, especially when I win. Which is exactly what happened back in November. Sockwa, (http://www.sockwa.com/) a cool shoe company owned and operated by David Zasloff, is based out of Ventura County, California and started back in the spring of 2008. Sockwa began designing shoes for the soccer circuit and has now expanded globally. Their motto is “Shoes designed for people who’d rather go barefoot.” Hmmm…seems to me I know someone like that. Oh wait, it’s me! I love walking around the house barefoot, no matter the season. I especially enjoy being barefoot at our cottage in the summer. But there are times when a shoe is needed, such as going grocery shopping, heading into the bank or volunteering at my son’s school. But for me, there is nothing more irritating than wearing a bulky, heavy thick-soled shoe. So I was extremely happy when I won a pair of Sockwa G3 (http://www.sockwa.com/collections/g2-g3) shoes on #BareChat! They even arrived on Christmas Eve no less! I yelled “Merry Christmas to me!” as I walked in the door after collecting the mail. I was surprised to see the package in our mailbox as I had assumed they would be delivered by UPS in a box to our door. But to my delight they arrived in a soft envelope since they were packaged in a reusable bag of their own! Well done Sockwa (http://www.sockwa.com/)! I’m a stickler for detail and I love the fact that I don’t have to a) recycle another box (especially at Christmas) and b) I love that I have a place to keep my G3!s clean when I’m not wearing them.http://barefootmarathonmomma.com/2013/01/05/review-sockwa-g3/ Page 1 of 7
  • Review: Sockwa G3 « barefoot marathon momma 2/5/13 3:11 PM (http://barefootmarathonmomma.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/img_1993.jpg) Love the packaging! Since we have close to a foot of snow outside I knew I wouldn’t be testing them outdoors. But with it being Christmas I knew I would be on my feet a lot and home to give them a good try. I usually test all my shoes indoors anyways before heading out in them. So I slipped them on immediately! Oh my, these are comfy shoes! Think favourite slippers mixed with being barefoot. I was so happy with them that I wore them on Christmas Day too! Of course, my family asked, “What are on your feet? They look like water shoes!”. And yes, they do in a way. But thankfully they don’t feel like them. They are not super tight-fitting like water shoes, or restrict your movement like water shoes. In fact, I think mine were a little loose-fitting but that could be due to the fact that I have very narrow feet. (http://barefootmarathonmomma.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/img_1984.jpg) Look how thin that sole is! Weighing just 2-4 oz. per foot these are by far the lightest shoes I now own. And being zero drop with a sole of 1.2 mm not only gives you that barefoot feel but also strengthens the muscles in your foot which in turn improve your posture, balance and your gait. Something I can definitely benefithttp://barefootmarathonmomma.com/2013/01/05/review-sockwa-g3/ Page 2 of 7
  • Review: Sockwa G3 « barefoot marathon momma 2/5/13 3:11 PM from since I tend to slouch and I’ve had far too many injuries in my feet lately. My G3! (http://www.sockwa.com/pages/features-benefits)s are extremely compact too. I could fit these in my purse if I really needed to. In fact, I almost lost them in my duffel bag when we were travelling since they are so thin. (http://barefootmarathonmomma.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/img_1991.jpg) They roll up smaller than most clothes I own! Plus they are machine washable and drier safe! Simplicity at it’s best. And with my feet there will be a lot of washing going on! LOL (Now that’s our little secret!) As I mentioned earlier I am a stickler for detail whether it does or doesn’t necessarily change the performance of a shoe. The G3!s have an awesome sole! No slipping in these, especially on wet surfaces. And look at the attention to detail! Love it! (http://barefootmarathonmomma.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/img_1986.jpg) Everyone will know what I’m wearing when they see my footprints!http://barefootmarathonmomma.com/2013/01/05/review-sockwa-g3/ Page 3 of 7
  • Review: Sockwa G3 « barefoot marathon momma 2/5/13 3:11 PM (http://barefootmarathonmomma.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/img_1992.jpg) Love the logo on the side! I had thought that my feet would sweat a lot in these shoes but to my surprise they didn’t. At little, but not as much as they normally would. The true test will be when the weather warms up and I can get outside in them. I’m actually looking forward to using them this spring when I start learning the art of slack lining. And I’m sure I will be wearing them a lot on our boat when I’m wakeboarding. So come on winter….you’ve had your turn. Let spring have theirs! Thank you to David Zasloff for not only the giveaway of the G3!s but also for taking the time to phone me personally to make sure I received the correct size! Amazing customer service in my books!! And thank you to Barefoot Dawsy from Beginning Barefoot (http://beginningbarefoot.com/author/shaundaws/) for hosting #BareChat! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us in 2013! ***Sockwa provided me with the G3 shoe free of charge but all opinions/statements in this review are my own. ***I will be reviewing the G3!s again this spring once I’ve had the chance to get outside with them. So stay tuned!!http://barefootmarathonmomma.com/2013/01/05/review-sockwa-g3/ Page 4 of 7
  • Review: Sockwa G3 « barefoot marathon momma 2/5/13 3:11 PM About these ads (http://en.wordpress.com/about-these-ads/) share http://nib.ly/ijPy 6 Comments Posted by BarefootMarathonMomma on January 5, 2013 in Uncategorized Tags: Barefoot Dawsy, Beginning Barefoot, comfy, compact, G3, lightweight, minimalist, shoes, Sockwa, traction, washable, zero drop 6 Responses to Review: Sockwa G3 1. RunToInspire January 5, 2013 at 8:57 pm oh they look amazing!! (Happy New Year BTW) Reply BarefootMarathonMomma January 5, 2013 at 9:00 pm Thanks and Happy New Year to you too!! Looking forward to reading your adventures for 2013! Replyhttp://barefootmarathonmomma.com/2013/01/05/review-sockwa-g3/ Page 5 of 7
  • Review: Sockwa G3 « barefoot marathon momma 2/5/13 3:11 PM 2. Barefoot Dawsy January 5, 2013 at 9:43 pm Great review Momma! Glad to see you’re enjoying them Hope to see you on Jan 9th for #BareChat! Reply 3. Jeff Gallup January 7, 2013 at 11:00 am Very cool! These seem so amazing close to barefoot, its awesome. Can’t wait to hear how they hold up on a run! Reply 4. RunFastMama January 8, 2013 at 7:46 am Those are sweet! I like how they are, well, sock like! I imagine they are very comfy and I would love to have a pair in my checked bag for after the Goofy Marathon, but I digress Great review! Reply BarefootMarathonMomma January 8, 2013 at 8:57 am They are super comfy! And I am so excited for you right now!! I can’t wait to hear all about the Goofy Challenge as it’s a race I would love to do one day. Have a great time, safe travels and I’ll be cheering you on from Canada! Reply Blog at WordPress.com. Theme: Choco by .css{mayo}. Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)http://barefootmarathonmomma.com/2013/01/05/review-sockwa-g3/ Page 6 of 7
  • Review: Sockwa G3 « barefoot marathon momma 2/5/13 3:11 PM Follow Follow “barefoot marathon momma” Powered by WordPress.comhttp://barefootmarathonmomma.com/2013/01/05/review-sockwa-g3/ Page 7 of 7