Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Sockwa | G2 Review | Story of a Barefoot Runner in a Pair of Sockwa G2
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×

Saving this for later?

Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime - even offline.

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

Sockwa | G2 Review | Story of a Barefoot Runner in a Pair of Sockwa G2

241
views

Published on

If you are a regular road-runner who is looking for minimal protection from the surface and are not satisfied by the weight of other minimalist options, you will likely be pleased with the Sockwa G2. …

If you are a regular road-runner who is looking for minimal protection from the surface and are not satisfied by the weight of other minimalist options, you will likely be pleased with the Sockwa G2. For those who are not ready or able to make the barefoot leap, this might be just the to get that maximum barefoot-feel without being truly barefoot.

For more on the G2/G3, please visit http://www.sockwa.com.

Published in: Sports

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
241
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Story of a Barefoot Runner: Sockwa G2 Minimalist Shoe Review 2/5/13 3:08 PM Share 0 More Next Blog» Create Blog Sign In Story of a Barefoot Runner Tuesday, November 15, 2011 Sockwa G2 Minimalist Shoe Review This article was originally published in the blog section of www.barefoot-running.us. Enjoy! Barefoot/Minimalist Miles 2012 Barefoot/Minimalist Miles 2011 Barefoot-VFF Mileage Log 2010 As a barefoot/minimalist runner, I run over 85% of my miles barefoot. I am very particular about any “shoes” that I wear for a run. In extreme weather (hot or cold), I will run in huaraches. For very rugged trails or Followers gravel levees I might wear Vibram KSOs. The Sockwa G2 offers Join this site something in-between. with Google Friend Connect When the Sockwa G2s arrived, my first thought was that they were Members (28) More basically water shoes. One of my co-workers that I train with runs in » water shoes. Her shoes and the ones I examined in the local mega-store have fairly thick, inflexible soles. Water shoes are difficult to fold in half. The Sockwas can be rolled into a small tube. There is also a noticeable weight difference. Already a member? Sign in About Me Blog Archive ► 2012 (20) ▼ 2011 (25) ► December (3) Terry Orsi Northern California ▼ November (1) Sockwa G2 Im a barefoot runner. Minimalist Ive been running The first evening I had them, I wore them around the house. They are Shoe Review barefoot since January very comfortable. They quite literally feel like you are wearing socks. I 2010. I ran my first ► October (1) barefoot race in May made sure to trim my toenails. Because of the snug fit, I was concerned ► August (2) 2010 (5K). Since then that any sharp nails might wear quickly on the neoprene uppers. I have run a a barefoot ► July (2) 10K trail run and two ► June (2) barefoot halfhttp://barefootterry.blogspot.com/2011/11/sockwa-g2-minimalist-shoe-review.html Page 1 of 4
  • 2. Story of a Barefoot Runner: Sockwa G2 Minimalist Shoe Review 2/5/13 3:08 PM ► May (1) marathons. I finished my first barefoot ► April (1) ultramarathon, the ► March (4) Skyline 50K, in August ► February (2) 2011. Currently, I am training for a repeat of ► January (6) the Skyline and will ► 2010 (14) make a second attempt at a barefoot 50-miler. Great Links View my complete Barefoot Running profile University Construction: Barefoot Teds Adventures My Shirt Designs The G2 has a ultra-thin 1.2 mm TPU sole. (For comparison, my Running Barefoot - huaraches are 4 mm.) The snug neoprene uppers offer some protection Harvard Skeletal Biology Lab from debris that might be kicked up on the road or trail. The top of the The Barefoot Runners shoe has a breathable spandex-type material. Society Fit: Blogs I Follow Like the name implies, the Sockwa G2 fits like a sock. It is snug, but very comfortable. Due to the ultra-thin sole, the shoe is extremely flexible. I Barefoot Running Go Barefoot Shirt was concerned that the snugness of the upper material would inhibit toe University Merrell M-Connect splay. However, during my runs my feet did not feel restrained. Lineup: The Mix Master Move Footbed: 4 hours ago The foot bed has a very thin layer of neoprene material. It is cushy, but Running Naked on Sharp Pointy not overly padded. Stuff Hoo-rag Giveaway Barefoot 5k Sticker First Test Run: Winners 2 days ago I took the G2s out for their first trial on a 10-mile morning training run. Barefoot Teds My intention was to only wear them for about a mile. They turned out to Adventures be so lightweight and comfortable that they stayed on for the first four EL MONO LOVES miles. At that point, I felt a slight hot spot developing on the tops of my SOLOWHEEL 1 week ago two smallest toes on my right foot. I removed them for 2 miles and then I tried them again for another mile. Another light hot spot developed under Barefoot Ken Bob Barefoot 10K Sticker Surf City Beach the inside ball of my right foot. So, I figured that was enough for their Derby (2011 first trial. November 06) 1 year ago view more products by Additional testing: barefootterry A couple days following the first run, I took them out for a 4-mile night run. I wanted to determine the cause of the “hot spot” issue. I started out with a quick mile (7:45 pace – fast for me). Next I did 2 miles very easy International (12-minute pace). I closed out the run with another fast mile. Not once Barefoot did I sense a hot spot developing anywhere on either foot. It appears that Running Day the initial “hot spot” issue on my toes could have been from some rubbing Shirts 2012 against the stitching toward the outside of the shoe. However, there were no issues on this and subsequent runs with the stitching. In addition to my first two runs, I took them out several more times on runs as well as wearing them for an afternoon at work. They provided protection from warm/hot asphalt on an 80-degree California afternoon. You can feel the warmth of the asphalt or concrete through the soles. The G2s are very comfortable to wear at work if nobody minds you wearing moccasin/sock-like shoes. The G2s can give a slight measure of protection from chip-seal asphalt. The chip-seal that these were tested on was pretty horrific and barelyhttp://barefootterry.blogspot.com/2011/11/sockwa-g2-minimalist-shoe-review.html Page 2 of 4
  • 3. Story of a Barefoot Runner: Sockwa G2 Minimalist Shoe Review 2/5/13 3:08 PM tolerable in bare feet. Since the Sockwas have excellent ground feel, you definitely feel the gravel. However, the shoes give some relief from the really sharp stuff. I did receive one blister on the ball of my foot during testing. However, in all fairness, I must state that the blister developed after I finished running a barefoot half marathon. I had gone back to run some friends to the finish during the last mile. The G2s had gotten wet and my feet were already slightly tender. Pros: Cons: Extremely lightweight Possible blistering Ultra-thin, flexible sole Comfortable feel Mens Performance Microfiber IBRD2012 Overall, I feel that the Sockwa G2 is an excellent addition to a by barefoot/minimalist runner’s arsenal of shoes. They allow for excellent BarefootRunnersSoc Create a custom tshirt ground feel and are extremely flexible – both musts for a barefoot runner. at zazzle.com. The G2s offer a thin layer of protection from general abrasions during road running. If you are a regular road-runner who is looking for minimal protection from the surface and are not satisfied by the weight of other minimalist options, you will likely be pleased with the Sockwa G2. For those who are not ready or able to make the barefoot leap, this might be just the to get that maximum barefoot-feel without being truly barefoot. Posted by Terry Orsi at 10:50 AM 2 comments: Janice November 15, 2011 at 4:04 PM Youve piqued my interest in these shoes. I may get a pair to tuck in a pocket for a long barefoot run where I might want to throw something on at some point. Hmmmm. Food for thought. Reply David Zasloff December 13, 2011 at 8:53 PM We are glad that you like the Sockwa G2. It has a super thin, 1.2 mm base thickness of the sole. This allows extreme tactile feel when navigating anywhere. We have just announced the introduction of our Sockwa G3 that will ship in February 2012. It has 5 New Colors and 3 NEW sizes. Now Women size 9 and Men size 12 and 13 have a barefoot footwear solution. Stay tuned for more, as we are always listening, creating, and selling. David Zasloff Founder www.sockwa.com www.sockwablog.comhttp://barefootterry.blogspot.com/2011/11/sockwa-g2-minimalist-shoe-review.html Page 3 of 4
  • 4. Story of a Barefoot Runner: Sockwa G2 Minimalist Shoe Review 2/5/13 3:08 PM Reply Enter your comment... Comment as: Google Account Publish Preview Newer Post Home Older Post Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom) Look for a personalized gift at Zazzle. Pageviews 13,937 Picture Window template. Powered by Blogger.http://barefootterry.blogspot.com/2011/11/sockwa-g2-minimalist-shoe-review.html Page 4 of 4