Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×
Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

Sockwa | G2 Review | Footwear Review of Sockwa G2

408

Published on

A barefoot runner provides an in-depth review of running with the Sockwa G2. …

A barefoot runner provides an in-depth review of running with the Sockwa G2.

As a barefoot/minimalist runner, I run over 85% of my miles barefoot. I am very particular about any “shoes” that I wear for a run. In extreme weather (hot or cold), I will run in huaraches. For very rugged trails or gravel levees I might wear Vibram KSOs. The Sockwa G2 offers something in-between.

When the Sockwa G2s arrived from the company for testing, my first thought was that they were basically water shoes. One of my co-workers that I train with runs in water shoes. Her shoes and the ones I examined in the local mega-store have fairly thick, inflexible soles. Water shoes are difficult to fold in half. The Sockwas can be rolled into a small tube. There is also a noticeable weight difference.

For more information, please visit http://www.sockwa.com.

Published in: Sports
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
408
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM Minimal & Natural Running Home Barefoot Running Book Blog Features Interviews Barefooting 101 Gear Reviews Minimalist Shoes Gear Store Connect Facebook Group Twitter Contact Us Contribute Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 by Editor on October 31, 2011 As a barefoot/minimalist runner, I run over 85% of my miles barefoot. I am very particular about any “shoes” that I wear for a run. In extreme weather (hot or cold), I will run in huaraches. For very rugged trails or gravel levees I might wear Vibram KSOs. The Sockwa G2 offers something in- between. When the Sockwa G2s arrived from the company for testing, my first thought was that they were basically water shoes. One of my co-workers that I train with runs in water shoes. Her shoes and the ones I examined in the local mega-store have fairly thick, inflexible soles. Water shoes are difficult to fold in half. The Sockwas can be rolled into a small tube. There is also a noticeable weight difference. The first evening I had them, I wore them around the house. They are very comfortable. They quite literally feel like you are wearing socks. I made sure to trim my toenails. Because of the snug fit, I was concerned that any sharp nails might wear quickly on the neoprene uppers. Construction: The G2 has a ultra-thin 1.2 mm TPU sole. (For comparison, my huaraches are 4 mm.) The snug neoprenehttp://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 1 of 8
  • 2. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM uppers offer some protection from debris that might be kicked up on the road or trail. The top of the shoe has a breathable spandex-type material. Fit: Like the name implies, the Sockwa G2 fits like a sock. It is snug, but very comfortable. Due to the ultra-thin sole, the shoe is extremely flexible. I was concerned that the snugness of the upper material would inhibit toe splay. However, during my runs my feet did not feel restrained. Footbed: The foot bed has a very thin layer of neoprene material. It is cushy, but not overly padded. First Test Run: I took the G2s out for their first trial on a 10-mile morning training run. My intention was to only wear them for about a mile. They turned out to be so lightweight and comfortable that they stayed on for the first four miles. At that point, I felt a slight hot spot developing on the tops of my two smallest toes on my right foot. I removed them for 2 miles and then I tried them again for another mile. Another light hot spot developed under the inside ball of my right foot. So, I figured that was enough for their first trial. Additional testing: A couple days following the first run, I took them out for a 4-mile night run. I wanted to determine the causehttp://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 2 of 8
  • 3. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM of the “hot spot” issue. I started out with a quick mile (7:45 pace – fast for me). Next I did 2 miles very easy (12-minute pace). I closed out the run with another fast mile. Not once did I sense a hot spot developing anywhere on either foot. It appears that the initial “hot spot” issue on my toes could have been from some rubbing against the stitching toward the outside of the shoe. However, there were no issues on this and subsequent runs with the stitching. In addition to my first two runs, I took them out several more times on runs as well as wearing them for an afternoon at work. They provided protection from warm/hot asphalt on an 80-degree California afternoon. You can feel the warmth of the asphalt or concrete through the soles. The G2s are very comfortable to wear at work if nobody minds you wearing moccasin/sock-like shoes. The G2s can give a slight measure of protection from chip-seal asphalt. The chip-seal that these were tested on was pretty horrific and barely tolerable in bare feet. Since the Sockwas have excellent ground feel, you definitely feel the gravel. However, the shoes give some relief from the really sharp stuff. I did receive one blister on the ball of my foot during testing. However, in all fairness, I must state that the blister developed after I finished running a barefoot half marathon. I had gone back to run some friends to the finish during the last mile. The G2s had gotten wet and my feet were already slightly tender. Cons: Pros: Extremely lightweight Possible blistering Ultra-thin, flexible sole Comfortable feel Overall Impression: The Sockwa G2 is an excellent addition to a barefoot/minimalist runner’s arsenal of shoes. They allow for excellent ground feel and are extremely flexible – both musts for a barefoot runner. The G2s offer a thin layer of protection from general abrasions during road running. If you are a regular road-runner who is looking for minimal protection from the surface and are not satisfied by the weight of other minimalist options, you will likely be pleased with the Sockwa G2. For those who are not ready or able to make the barefoot leap, this might be just the to get that maximum barefoot-feel without being truly barefoot. ~Barefoot Terry Tagged as: barefoot, barefoot running, minimalist, review, running, Sockwa, test, water shoehttp://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 3 of 8
  • 4. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM { 3 comments… read them below or add one } Steve madden November 8, 2011 at 11:34 pm Hi, which shoe should I get if I want to start with” barely ” footwear? I am interested in running with some protection .thanks Rachelle November 14, 2011 at 4:50 pm Steve, Thanks for reading and for your question! Most of the shoes reviewed and listed on this site are excellent choices for ‘barely there’ minimalist shoes. A huarache sandal (like the Luna, Branca or Invisible Shoe) will provide the least amount of coverage for your foot though you will not sacrifice a protective sole. The Sockwa and Zem are barely there/neoprene style – like a protective water sock; the Soft Star are like a leather moc and nice for lifestyle wear, though many people really enjoy running in them; and kigo footwear is another ultra-light shoe that offers protection and a lifestyle design to give versatility. We hope this helps! You can look at The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Barefoot Running for a listing (and rating) of these and other great options! Enjoy your run! Emily March 9, 2012 at 4:13 am I just got and ran in my sockwa G2s today. Everything about them is great as a barefoot running shoe except the toe box. My toes felt pretty cramped after wearing my soft stars all day as a casual barefoot shoe and being used to running actual barefoot. Leave a Comment Name * E-mail * Websitehttp://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 4 of 8
  • 5. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM Submit { 2 trackbacks } LINCHPIN SERIES: Sockwa Kickstart a Movie: Help to Show the World Why we Run Previous post: Petition to Give Fauja Singh His Record Next post: LINCHPIN SERIES: Sockwa Join the Barefoot Fun! Search our sites sole To search, type and hit enterhttp://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 5 of 8
  • 6. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM Twitter: RunNaturally Check out my latest articles: http://t.co/tZ6bQI47 about 6 days ago from EzineArticles ReplyRetweetFavorite Check out my latest articles: http://t.co/tZ6bQI47 about 1 month ago from EzineArticles ReplyRetweetFavorite Check out my latest articles: http://t.co/tZ6bQI47 about 2 months ago from EzineArticles ReplyRetweetFavorite Follow @RunNaturally 3,385 followers Search the Cloud 5K ActiveWater Android Anthony Band athletic barefoot barefoot lifestyle barefoot living barefoot runner barefoot running barefoot ted barefoot terminology barefoot walking Born to Run Branca Branca Running Sandal Brazil 135 charity cold weather running compartment syndrome Copper Canyon Copper Canyon Ultramarathon cross training Daniel Lieberman education efficiency exercise FeelTrue focus footwear form fun gear review Gear Reviews half-marathon health healthy heel strike Huarache Huarache sandals injury injury-prevention invisible shoe iPhone iPod kigo footwear Leather lifestyle luna sandals marathon minimal footwear running minimalist minimalist running minimalist shoe minimalist shoes naked foot 5K performance prevention Primalfoot Alliance proprioception race races racing Ragnar Relay reflexology review Run run barefoot RunNatural UK runner running running barefoot safety Sandal shoe Skora running Sockwa Steven Sashen Tarahumara technique Terra Plana tips trail running training ultramarathon Vibram vibram fivefingers Vibram Five Fingers Vivobarefoot walking water shoe yoga ZEM gearhttp://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 6 of 8
  • 7. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM Copyright Barefoot Runnning 2009-2011http://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 7 of 8
  • 8. Footwear Review: Sockwa G2 2/5/13 2:45 PM Sitemap HTML | Sitemap XML WordPress Adminhttp://www.barefoot-running.us/blog/bare/footwear-review-sockwa-g2.html Page 8 of 8

×