Beginner's Guide to Google Adwords PPC Advertising


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Kapris Marketing has put together this comprehensive but compact beginner's guide to Google Adwords Pay per Click (PPC) Marketing to help you learn the very basics of paid search, PPC and Google Adwords so you can jumpstart your PPC Advertising campaign. We will cover the main elements of any PPC campaign: keywords, ad copy and landing page.

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Beginner's Guide to Google Adwords PPC Advertising

  1. 1. Beginner’s 5 Minute Guide to Google Adwords Pay-per-Click Advertising Sila Sahverdi| Kapris Marketing |
  2. 2. What is Pay-per-Click (PPC) Advertising?? Kapris Marketing|
  3. 3. PPC Advertising also known as Paid Search allows you to pay to have your ad displayed on Search Engine Results Pages (SERPs) when searchers type in a specific search query (keyword/ keyphrase) Your ad will be displayed to users and they will be directed to your site when they click. The fee advertisers pay is based on the number of clicks – hence Pay-Per-Click Advertising Kapris Marketing|
  4. 4. Organic search Results and paid listings are displayed in different locations on the Search Engine Organic Search results are listed because of their relevance to the search term., as opposed to there being paid listings. Kapris Marketing|
  5. 5. There are many Search Engines that support paid search campaigns such as Bing, Yahoo, Aol and Ask. We are going to focus on Google and its paid search program, Google AdWords. Kapris Marketing|
  6. 6. What is the Value Proposition of PPCMarketing? Kapris Marketing|
  7. 7. PPC-Campaigns allow you to: Start with a small budget per day Target precisely on a massive scale based on alignment with keyword Potentially achieve very high ROI – even with just $1 investment Measure and adjust to increase profits continuously Kapris Marketing|
  8. 8. So what does an Google Adwords Pay-PerClick ad campaign actually look like? Google Adwords Account Ad Campaign 1 Ad Group 1 Ad Copy(s)/Keywords Ad Campaign 2 Ad Group 2 Ad Copy(s)/Keywords Ad Group 3 Ad Copy(s)/Keywords Kapris Marketing| Ad Group 4 Ad Copy(s)/Keywords
  9. 9. For your PPC campaign to be successful it is very important that you structure your account well from the get-go. Don’t be sloppy! Kapris Marketing|
  10. 10. It is essential that your keywords (KW) and your ad copy as well as the landing page are tightly woven together. It does not only increase the likelihood that searchers are going to click through it also affects your Quality Score. Meaning keywords, ad copy and landing page (LP) should be highly relevant to one another and build upon the latter. You can use different campaigns and ad groups to group together close matching KWs and ad copies. The tighter your groups are, the better! Kapris Marketing|
  11. 11. In Simpler Terms: For the user queries/KWs “Buy Washing Machine” “Washing Machine”, your ad copy should say something like “Looking to buy a Washing Machine?” and on the LP you should actually sell Washing Machines. Kapris Marketing|
  12. 12. Your PPC campaign step by-step…… Kapris Marketing|
  13. 13. Your PPC campaign consists of 3 main elements Keywords Ads Landing Page Kapris Marketing|
  14. 14. A successful PPC campaign is all about managing, matching, and optimizing Keywords, Ad Copy and Landing Page Kapris Marketing|
  15. 15. Keywords Kapris Marketing|
  16. 16. How to find your Keywords? This is what Google says: “Write down the main categories of your business and the terms or phrases that might fall under each of those categories. Include terms or phrases your customers would use to describe your products or services.” (Google Adwords Help Center) Kapris Marketing|
  17. 17. Step 1: Keywords! • Against popular believe we recommend not to start your ad campaign with your ad copy but with your keywords • Carefully curate a list of keywords that you want you ad to show up for • Google will display your ad on the results page when people search for your keywords Kapris Marketing|
  18. 18. Use Google’s AdWords Keyword Tool! It’s a great way to establish a baseline list of keywords for your website. You enter a word, phrase or URL and the keyword tool gives you a list of related keywords and additional traffic data. Kapris Marketing|
  19. 19. Find the keywords on which your competitors are bidding use the Adwords Keyword Tool or tools such as (free version) Geotargeting, if you have a physical store -> “Pet Supplies San Francisco” Problem & solution oriented -> KW “Headache” for Painrelievers Kapris Marketing|
  20. 20. Keyword Match Types Keyword Match Settings are settings for each keyword that help control how closely the keyword needs to match a person's search term in order to trigger your ad. A good way to get your keyword strategy started is with broad match and phrase match to drive traffic to your site, then use the search terms report to find the keywords with the most conversions and fit your business best and set them to exact match. Kapris Marketing|
  21. 21. Keyword Match Types  Broad Match -> include misspellings, synonyms, related searches, and other relevant variations Example: cell phone Ad shown for cell, cell phone, cell phone tower, cel phon, phone etc.  Phrase Match -> phrase and close variations of that phrase Example: “cell phone” Ad shown if nothing in between “cell” and “phone”, but can have words before “cell” or after “phone”  Exact Match -> exact term and close variations of that exact term Example : [cell phone] Ad shown on exactly [cell phone] Few impressions, precise targeting  Negative Match -> search terms will be excluded Example : -free Ad never shown if negative word is part of search query If -free is negative keyword, user searches on “free cell phones”, ad will not appear Kapris Marketing|
  22. 22. AD Kapris Marketing|
  23. 23. Your ad should be specifically designed for the keywords in your ad group. Both your keywords and your ad copy should be highly relevant to the search query. Ad copy relevant should be relevant enough to get the searchers to click on them. Be Specific, e.g. “20% Discounts”, Address your target audience: “Looking for Pet Supplies?” Kapris Marketing|
  24. 24. Landing Page Kapris Marketing|
  25. 25. When viewers click on your ad, they are directed to your landing page. Determine in which way you want the visitor to convert on your landing page – by buying your product, downloading an offer, filling out a form etc. Incorporate your conversion goal into your ad strategy Kapris Marketing|
  26. 26. Bidding & Budgeting Kapris Marketing|
  27. 27. Pay-per-click means that you don’t pay for your ad to be displayed (impression) on the search engine.You only pay when somebody actually clicks on your ad. So while your ad might be displayed 500,000 times and only 1 person clicks on it, you will only have to pay for 1 Click Kapris Marketing|
  28. 28. To determine how much you are willing to pay per click, you place a bid - your maximum Cost-per-Click (Max. CPC). You also set a daily budget on the campaign level. So for each campaign, you tell Google how much to spend per day. Kapris Marketing|
  29. 29. A higher ad position is more desirable, as they generally get more clicks . For your ad to be displayed above your competitors, you have to outbid them. But you don’t pay more than the minimum amount that will keep you in position. Kapris Marketing|
  30. 30. How does determine the price you pay per click? Kapris Marketing|
  31. 31. To set prices per click Google uses an auctionstyle bidding system. Kapris Marketing|
  32. 32. For a certain keyword there’s always a top-bidder. So let’s say the top-bidder set their max.CPC at $2 for searchers to click on their ad. In second place is the next highest bidder who values a click at $1.75, the next bidder at $1.50 and so on. BUT max. CPCs are not the prices that bidders actually pay per click. Instead, the lowest of all bids is used as the price for the least valuable and hence least visible rank on the results page, and then each bid going up in value get a more visible placements and is priced at an incremental dollar value higher. Kapris Marketing|
  33. 33. Example Auction-Style-Bidding System Max. CPC Actual CPC Top-Bidder $2.00 $1.26 2nd highest Bidder $1.75 $1.27 3rd highest Bidder $1.50 $1.28 4th highest Bidder $1.25 $1.29 We are using $0.01 incremental bid in this example Kapris Marketing|
  34. 34. What is a Quality Score? Kapris Marketing|
  35. 35. Surprise! YES, your bid plays a large role in determining whether and where your ad is shown on the search engine, BUT Google also uses something called „Quality Score‟ in determining if your ad will be served and in which position it will be. Kapris Marketing|
  36. 36. If you double your Quality Score you can reduce your bid to half the amount, without affecting your volume. Kapris Marketing|
  37. 37. Quality score is an algorithm that gives each of yours ads a relevancy score. Your score will be determined by how closely your keyword relates to your ad and how closely your ad relates to the content on your landing page. Google wants to make sure searchers have an optimal search experience and that you you’re not just buying keywords and directing them to malicious or totally irrelevant pages. Kapris Marketing|
  38. 38. How does your Quality score affect your Ad Rank? If your competitor bids on a keyword at $2 and has a quality score of 4, and you bid on that same keyword at only $1 but you have a quality score of 8, Google may give you the top position for the price you bid because your ad is more relevant. In Google’s opinion it makes more sense to serve your ad because its more relevant and the likelihood of viewers clicking on it is much higher. Kapris Marketing|
  39. 39. So how important is the Quality Score? VERY IMPORTANT!! Kapris Marketing|
  40. 40. Ad Rank = Bid Amount * Quality Score Kapris Marketing|
  41. 41. Quality score is on a scale of 1 to 10. 1 is the lowest rating, 10 the highest. According to the quality and contextual coherency of your ad and landing page and the quality of the user experience Google will assign you a quality score for each keyword. Kapris Marketing|
  42. 42. Paid Search Metrics Kapris Marketing|
  43. 43. Cost Per Click (CPC) is the amount of money you’re spending on each click. You can find the Average CPC by dividing the total amount spend by the total number of clicks. This is a cost metric, the lower this number is the better. AVERAGE CPC: $$ SPENT/ TOTAL CLICKS Average CPC Example: Total $$$ spent: $200 Total number of clicks: 500 Average CPC: 200/500 = $0.40 Kapris Marketing|
  44. 44. Click Through Rate (CTR) is the percentage of impressions that turn into clicks. The more this percentage goes up, the more efficient your campaign is. CTR = CLICKS/ IMPRESSIONS CTR Example: 1000 Impressions 80 Clicks CTR: 80/1000 = 8% Kapris Marketing|
  45. 45. Conversion Rate is the percentage of clicks that turn into conversions (sales, downloads etc.). The higher your conversion rate is the better. CONVERSION RATE = CONVERSIONS/ CLICKS Conversion Rate Example: 80 Clicks 10 Conversions Conversion Rate: 10/80 = 12.5% Kapris Marketing|
  46. 46. Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) is the amount of money you’re spending on each conversion. The CPA is a cost metric, so you want to keep lowering this number. CPA = $$ SPENT/ CONVERSIONS Example: $800 spent 50 Conversions CPA: 800/ 50 = 16 Kapris Marketing|
  47. 47. Sila Sahverdi | Kapris Marketing |