Newbie Resource Guide Version 4.doc

  • 425 views
Uploaded on

 

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
425
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Hello Newbies! Welcome to our industry! Here at the Grapevine, you'll find Viners young and old, grizzled veterans and rank amateurs. Some of us just LOVE to answer your questions and some of us think your questions are STOO-PID. So to give you something-- ANYTHING--to hold you over until you can "ask your boss!" here's a by-no-means exhaustive list of Internet links that you can visit and bookmark and READ, for cryin' out loud. Ready? Agency (Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and FHA) underwriting guidelines http://www.adfinet.com HUD Handbooks, Forms and Publications: http://www.hud.gov/offices/adm/handbks_forms/handbooks2.cfm#hnmlr Read what consumers read: The Mortgage Professor http://www.mtgprofessor.com Mortgage 101 http://www.mortgage101.com Mortgage Terminology http://www.mortgage101.com/partner-scripts/1206.asp?p=mtg101 Mortgage industry training: National Association of Mortgage Brokers Education http://www.namb.org/education/e_index.htm Mortgage Scholars http://www.mortgagescholars.com Mortgage Bankers Association http://www.campusmba.com National Association of Professional Mortgage Women http://www.napmw.org/pages/edu_prg.html School of Mortgage Lending http://www.schoolofmortgagelending.com Desktop Originator Mortgage Broker Training http://www.efanniemae.com/singlefamily/originating_underwriting/training/do_conferen ce_call.jhtml?role=ou
  • 2. America’s Money Center http://www.americasmoneycenter.com/University.html American School of Mortgage Banking http://www.asmb.com Internet Originator http://www.internetoriginator.com/io0583.htm Mortgage Bankers Association of America Residential Finance Updates http://www.mbaa.org/resident FHA Training http://www.epassbusinesscenter.com/learning/industry.asp Ellie Mae University http://www.elliemae.com/products/university/university.html WebWorxStudio http://www.webworxstudio.com/etips/new/education.html Industry publications online: For daily mortgage news: http://www.nationalmortgagenews.com Origination News: http://www.originationnews.com Sam Garcia’s Mortgage Daily http://www.mortgagedaily.com Inman News http://www.inman.com Realty Times http://www.realtytimes.com Monthly mortgage industry publications: Mortgage Originator Magazine http://www.mortgageoriginator.com/FSG/MortgageOriginator/default.htm Broker Magazine http://www.nationalmortgagenews.com/subscriptions/strategy_broker.htm
  • 3. For statistics, index trends and other statistics to help your borrower understand interest rate trends LION, Inc. http://www.lioninc.com ($50/month) Barry Habib’s Mortgage Market Guide http://www.mortgagemarketguide.com ($650/year—a Grapevine favorite!) Funding reference sources Broker Magazine’s “Weird Loans” http://www.weirdloans.com Scotsman Guide http://www.ezdesk.com/loanpro/scotsmanguide_sub.htm Loan Origination Software Training Byte http://www.byte-cbc.com Calyx Point http://www.calyxsoftware.com/training/index.asp Contour (Loan Handler) http://www.epassbusinesscenter.com/learning/los_con.asp Genesis http://www.genesis2000.com Loan Originator Success Coaching Todd Duncan http://www.theduncangroup.com Joe Stumpf By Referral Only http://www.byreferralonly.com Brian Sacks http://www.loanofficersuccess.com Real Estate University http://www.realestate.university.com Brian Buffini Providence Seminars
  • 4. http://www.providenceseminars.com/testimonials.shtml National Mortgage Companies with Training Centers Chase Manhattan Bank (to be determined) Washington Mutual Bank (to be determined) Centex Mortgage (to be determined) Countrywide Home Loans (to be determined) Concord Mortgage (to be determined) Mortgage Professional Tools Loan Magic (voted the best by Viners) http://www.docmagic.com/products/loanmagic.jsp Loan Vibe http://www.loanvibe.com/ EZ Desk http://www.ezdesk.com The Mortgage Coach http://www.wowtools.com WebWorxStudio http://www.webworxstudio.com Internet Marketing: To find out where to spend your money The National Mortgage News Buyer´s Guide: http://www.nationalmortgagenews.com/buyersguide/ Mortgage Promote http://www.mortgagepromote.com Internet Marketing Discussion Board
  • 5. http://www.i-m.com Mortgage Leads: How to Get the Most Out of Internet Leads http://www.mortgagemag.com/tcse/leadvend.htm leadz4U@hotmail.com http://listsareus.com/1-telemarketing-lists-mortgage.htm http://www.mleads.com http://www.globalmarketingleads.com http://www.dataquick.com/mortgage/products.asp http://www.mortgagelinks.org http://www.mymortgagenavigator.com/mortgage_advertising.htm Excellent books about mortgages and the mortgage business (all available at amazon.com): “How to Save Thousands on Your Home Mortgage” by Randy Johnson “Home Buying for Dummies” by Eric Tyson “Real Estate Loan Brokerage: How to Become a Successful Mortgage Broker” by Richard B. Partain “Steiner's Complete How-To-Talk Mortgage Talk” by Shari and Clyde Steiner All about down payment assistance programs; input from our Viners: http://www.brokeruniverse.com/grapevine/thread/? thread=39523&stardate=1059919948#11 Laws you should know about, to protect yourself and your customers’ information: http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/buspubs/safeguards.htm The Right to Financial Privacy Act 12 USC 3401 et seq. The Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act 15 USC 6801 et seq. http://www.fcc.gov/ Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act Fellow Viners, let's help 'em out, OK? Please add to this list and then cut-and-paste it as your answer (sometimes) when Newbies come to the Vine with their questions. Let's make it a real resource for them, shall we? Newbies, there is SO MUCH critical information at these links, you really have no excuse now for asking: "What are the FHA loan limits for 2002?" But if you’ve tried
  • 6. everything, and you’re still REALLY stuck, bring your question(s) here and we'll answer them as best we can. (Newbies, give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach him how to fish and you feed him for a lifetime. Viners, better to light a single candle than curse the darkness, eh?) Good luck, Newbies, one and all!