This is your timeline,
where you read all of the
tweets from the people you are
following. (Note: Your timeline
appears empty until you follow
others. More on this later on.)
The majority of your time will be
spent here, as you search for
interesting resources and
Once you click on a tweet, four
different options appear.
Respond to the person who wrote
the tweet. The person will be
alerted because his handle
(@dylanwilliam) appears in your
reply. All of your followers can see
2a. Retweet or Quote Tweet
Retweeting takes the tweet and
then forwards it to all of your
followers, without change.
2b. Retweet or Quote Tweet
Quoting the tweet takes the tweet
and then forwards it to all of your
followers, but provides you with
the chance to make edits.
You can favorite a tweet so you
can easily find it later on.
4. Mailing and Copying
These are a few ways for you to
share a tweet/resource with
someone “outside” of Twitter.
Search for topics or people
People use the hashtag symbol #
before a relevant keyword or
phrase (no spaces) in their tweet
to categorize those tweets and
help them show more easily in
Once you search for a person,
read his profile and decide if you
want to follow him (middle-right).
If you follow, his tweets are added
to your timeline.
Also, you can access someone’s
profile at any time by clicking on
A tweet (top-right) without any
handles @ or hashtags # only goes
out to those who follow you.
Add a handle to get the attention of
a particular person
More importantly, add hashtags so
your tweet will come up when
others search for the hashtags
(#education, #edtech, #edchat,
etc.). This is the #1 way to expand
This is your designated
homepage. It contains your
profile, which others will look at
when deciding whether or not to
follow you. Make your profile
There are also three main buttons
This button allows you to edit
your profile, change your settings,
get help, or sign out.
This button allows you to switch
back and forth between multiple
3. Direct Message
This button (envelope icon)
allows you to send a direct
message to another user. This
message can only be seen by the
recipient. It is the equivalent of an