Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Big Cities Of Portugal Catarina
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.


Introducing the official SlideShare app

Stunning, full-screen experience for iPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

Big Cities Of Portugal Catarina


Published on

Published in: Travel, Business

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

No notes for slide


  • 1. Big cities of Portugal Work done by: Catarina Pratas Nº4 8ºD
  • 2. Introdução
    • With this work I want you all know better my country: Portugal.
  • 3. Índice
    • 1. Lisboa – A capital
    • 2. Porto
    • 3. Aveiro
    • 4. Faro
  • 4. Lisboa - A capital
    • Lisbon is the capital [2] and largest city of Portugal. The city, besides being the capital, is also capital of the district of Lisbon, the Lisbon region, the metropolitan area of Lisbon, and is still the main focus of statistical sub-region of Greater Lisbon. Ecclesiastically, is headquarters of the diocese and the Patriarchate of Lisbon. The region of Lisbon, with a GDP per capita above the EU average, is the richest region of Portugal. Two agencies have headquarters in Lisbon: European Monitoring Center for Drugs and Drug Addiction and the European Maritime Safety Agency, both projects of the new headquarters along river. The Community of Portuguese Language Countries is also based in Lisbon. The region is situated around the city of Lisbon, the Tagus estuary and the northern peninsula of Setúbal.
  • 5. Continued
    • It has 764 657 inhabitants (2008) [1] and a metropolitan area in which it occupies about 2,750 square kilometers, with about 3 million inhabitants. The city and its metropolitan area found 27% of the population. The municipality of Lisbon is 83.84 km ² of area, and has a density of 5 960.2 inhabitants / km ². The county is subdivided into 53 parishes and is under study the formation of a new parish. Is bordered to the north with the municipalities and Odivelas Loures, Oeiras with the west, northwest and southeast with Amadora with the Tagus estuary. In this estuary, linking Lisbon to the southern counties of: Almada, Seixal, Barreiro, Moita, Montijo and Alcochete. Lisbon has many tourist attractions. Their neighborhoods attract visitors by its typical characteristics. The low Pombaline, Belém, Chiado and Bairro Alto, are areas where flooding thousands of tourists and visitors annually. The principal means of travel in Lisbon, the Lisbon Metro and buses of Rails. But every day come in Lisbon about five million cars, from the peripheral districts.
  • 6. Porto
    • Porto is a Portuguese city of 41.66 square kilometers of area where they live around 240,000 inhabitants (2008) [1]. The city metropolis formed by adjacent municipalities that fomam to have a single urban center has about 1,400,000 inhabitants. In addition, the center of a large metropolitan area with about 2 million inhabitants. The city of Porto is known as the Capital City of the North or the Invicta. It is the city that gave the name to Portugal - from very early (c. 200 BC) that are designated for Portus, coming later to become the capital of County Portucalense or Portucale (United which gave the name of Portugal). It is a city known worldwide for its wine, its historic center, listed as World Heritage by UNESCO and its famous football club (Futebol Clube do Porto).
  • 7. Aveiro
    • Aveiro é uma cidade portuguesa , capital do Distrito de Aveiro , na região Centro e pertencente à subregião do Baixo Vouga . Fica situada a cerca de 58 km a norte de Coimbra e a cerca de 68 km a sul do Porto . A cidade de Aveiro possui 55 291 habitantes [2] e é também a principal cidade da sub-região do Baixo Vouga com 398 467 habitantes, a sub-região mais populosa da região Centro e é também a segunda cidade mais populosa no Centro de Portugal, depois de Coimbra[ carece de fontes ?].
    • É sede de um município com 199,77 km² de área [1] , subdividido em 14 freguesias . O município é limitado a norte pelo município de Murtosa (seja através da Ria de Aveiro , seja por terra), a nordeste por Albergaria-a-Velha , a leste por Águeda , a sul por Oliveira do Bairro , a sueste por Vagos e por Ílhavo (sendo os limites com este último concelho também feitos por terra e através da ria), e com uma faixa relativamente estreita de litoral no Oceano Atlântico , a oeste, através da freguesia de São Jacinto . É também um importante centro urbano, portuário, ferroviário,
  • 8. Faro
    • Faro is a Portuguese city with 41 307 inhabitants, [2] capital of the District of Faro, the region, subregion, and the old province of Algarve which occupies an area of 4,960 square kilometers and where they live 426 386 inhabitants (2007). It is the seat of a municipality with 201.6 square kilometers in area and 58 739 inhabitants (2007) [1], divided into 6 parishes. The council is limited to the north and west by the municipality of São Brás de Alportel, east of Olhão, Loulé in the west and south coast is the Atlantic Ocean. The city is through the Faro Airport the second largest entry of the foreign country, giving it a cosmopolitan valencia pointedly.português > inglês alterarTraduzir