Contemporaries: Eleven Abstract Painters

2,634 views
2,482 views

Published on

Paintings by eleven contemporary abstract painters whose work shows an intriguing balance between spontaneity and discipline.

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
2,634
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
111
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
17
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Contemporaries: Eleven Abstract Painters

  1. 1. CONTEMPORARIES: the work and words of eleven abstract painters
  2. 2. INTRODUCTION These are eleven abstract painters that I either know personally or have become acquainted with through websites, blogs and other online resources. Their work appeals to my own aesthetic preferences-- for abstraction that is both intuitive and spontaneous, yet also in some way structured, carefully considered and edited for clarity. Rebecca Crowell, July 2009
  3. 3. Simultaneous happenings, similar but different, hidden and clear… Nicholas Wilton Palimsest 55”x48” oil and beeswax on panel, 2009 www.nicholaswilton.com
  4. 4. Nicholas Wilton Time Unfolding, 55”x48” oil and beeswax on panel, 2009.
  5. 5. …Line as a way of exploring and expressing life. Catherine Carter Brown Web with White, 30”x20” acrylic on paper on canvas, 2008 www.catherinecarterart.com
  6. 6. Catherine Carter Cobweb, 30”x20”, acrylic and paper on canvas, 2008
  7. 7. …the veiling and unveiling of forms Diane McGregor Butterfly’s dream, 24”x19”, oil on canvas, 2009 www.dianemcgregor.com
  8. 8. Diane McGregor Crossing, 18”x18”, oil on canvas, 2009
  9. 9. Like a spiritual journey my work emerges from my consciousness. As in meditation, I am present in the moment. Ian MacLeod Composition #185, Acrylic, paper and plastic on canvas, 20”x20.” www.ianmacleodpaintings.ca
  10. 10. Ian MacLeod Composition #180, 36”x48”, acrylic and plastic on canvas
  11. 11. …architectural fantasies which attempt to record the urban/urbane/mundane observances I see on a daily basis. Kathleen Waterloo Beboki, 48”x36” encaustic on panel, 2008 www.kathleenwaterloo.com
  12. 12. Kathleen Waterloo Network 1, encaustic on panel, 9”x9”, 2008
  13. 13. …movement, change, process and transformation… Lisa Pressman Linking 3, 24” x24” encaustic, 2009 www.lisapressman.net
  14. 14. Lisa Pressman Mapping 36” x 36” encaustic and collage, 2008
  15. 15. “…well-honed superimposition of squares and rectangles atop luxuriantly layered organic backgrounds, shot through with arcing spurts of acrylics, varnishes, and gesso…” Michael Kessler Uva 40”x60” acrylic on panel www.michaelkessler.com
  16. 16. Michael Kessler Nicturia, 80”x60” acrylic on panel
  17. 17. …a bridge between accident and control, heaviness and lightness, clarity and confusion. Jen Bradford Alizarin , 18”x18” oil on panel, 2008 www.jenbradford.com
  18. 18. Jen Bradford Cadmium, 18”x18” oil on panel, 2008
  19. 19. …a need to expand the boundaries of my painting practice… Tim McFarlane Installation at Bridgette Mayer Gallery, Philadelphia, PA 2009 www.timmcfarlane.com
  20. 20. Tim McFarlane Installation at Bridgette Mayer Gallery, Philadelphia, PA, 2009
  21. 21. …a quest to make sense of the world, both materially, and conceptually, through the observance of nature, line and color, and how they entwine with the flow of thought and activity… Shawna Moore Xantur, 40”x40” encaustic on panel www.shawnamoore.com
  22. 22. Shawna Moore Territory, 40”x40” encaustic on panel
  23. 23. …a unique, immediate record of having seen and experienced and traveled and felt; a visual aggregate of what caught my eye, as filtered through my imagination. Anthony Falcetta P08, 22”x30” oil on paper, 2008 www.anthonyfalcetta.com
  24. 24. Anthony Falcetta P121221 oil on paper, 12”x12” 2008

×