• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
M140 program politics
 

M140 program politics

on

  • 482 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
482
Views on SlideShare
479
Embed Views
3

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0

1 Embed 3

http://www.linkedin.com 3

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    M140 program politics M140 program politics Document Transcript

    • #OzPolitics The Politics of Social Media 8.00 Registration 8.30 Welcome and Introduction MORNING HOST: Helen Tzarimas, ABC journalist and presenter @tzarimas Julie Posetti @julie_posetti Media140 Australia Editorial Director; University of Canberra Journalism Academic 8.40 Opening Keynote: Lessons From Obama’s Campaign Jeffrey Bleich, US Ambassador to Australia 9.30 Open Discussion: How are real time and social media platforms changing political communication? {Moderated by Julie Posetti } Senator Christine Milne @senatormilne Possum Comitatus @pollytics Deputy Leader, Australian Greens Respected political blogger Latika Bourke @latikambourke Malcolm Turnbull MP @TurnbullMalcolm Political Journalist, 2UE Shadow Communications Minister 10.30 Mid-Morning Break 11.00 The Role of Social Media in the New Political Paradigm Rob Oakeshott MP, Independent Mewmber for Lyne @oakeymp interviewed by Julie Posetti 11.25 Keynote: Social Media: Transforming Politics & Journalism Senator Kate Lundy, Australian Captial Territory @KateLundy 11.45 Open Discussion: The changing role of traditional political news gatekeepers in the age of the real time web {Moderated by Julie Posetti } Karen Middleton @karenmmiddleton Peter Martin @1petermartin SBS Chief Political Correspondent The Age, Political Correspondent Lyndal Curtis @lyndalcurtis Bernard Keane @bernardkeane ABC Radio Chief Political Correspondent Crikey Political Correspondent James Massola @jamesmassola Journalist, The Australian 12.45 Lunch & Networking AFTERNOON HOST: Julian Morrow, The Chaser @moreoj 13.30 Keynote: Activist Media Models Simon Sheikh, National Director of advocacy organisation GetUp! @simongetup 14.15 Open Discussion: Spin on Speed: controlling the ‘message’ in the real time social web era {Moderated by Alex Sloan, ABC 666 } Jo Scard @scardjo Samantha Maiden @samanthamaiden Former Gillard Government Adviser Journalist, The Australian David Hood @davidahood Jeremy Irvine @jeremy_irvine Former Greenpeace campaigner & social media activist Chief Executive, International Specialised Skills Institute and former political staffer Jodee Rich @wingdude Founder, PeopleBrowsr 15.00 Case Study: The UK Social Media Election 2010. Dr. Claire Wardle @cward1e, BBC School of Journalism Social Media Trainer 15.30 Mid-Afternoon Break 16.00 Open Discussion: Alternative views of political news {Moderated by Julie Posetti} Peter Brent @mumbletwits Firstdogonmoon @firstdogonmoon 2010 Parliamentary Fellow, blogger, The Australian Popular Crikey cartoonist Mike Bowers @mpbowers Malcolm Farnsworth @mfarnsworth Host: Talking Pictures, Insiders. ABC TV Political blogger 17.00 Open Discussion: Gov 2.0: Participatory Democracy & Citizen Engagement {Moderated by Chris Winter, ABC Innovation} Dr Jason Wilson @jason_a_w Stephen Collins @trib Communications Academic, University of Canberra Acidlabs, Gov2.0 strategist Craig Thomler @craigthomler Scott Ludlam @senatorludlam Australian Gov 2.0 specialist Australian Greens Senator for WA 18.00 Wrap Up: Networking and post event drinks