May 2002 Meeting Minutes
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

May 2002 Meeting Minutes

on

  • 543 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
543
Views on SlideShare
543
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft Word

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

May 2002 Meeting Minutes May 2002 Meeting Minutes Document Transcript

  • Meeting minutes from the first SAEM Simulation interest group Attendance: The meeting was well attended. There were 25 individuals present. After the meeting there were another 8 individuals who expressed interest in joining the group. There are also individuals who could not make it to St. Louis, but who have indicated they would like to join the group. The comprehensive list is below. Introductions: Please see below for the names institutions and email addresses of the group. Each member of the group briefly stated their current uses of, or interests in, simulation. Some of those uses/interests included: Teaching/research Critical care training Curriculum development for medical students Crisis resource management in emergency medicine Evaluations of Virtual Reality instruments and teaching techniques Computer based simulations for training EMS personnel Resident training Information systems testing ACLS teamwork training Discovering the potential of simulators for use in the board certification exam Validation of a scoring system for performance on the simulator Simulation for “on demand” medical student education ACLS/PALS training Training of pharmacy students/ respiratory therapists/ physical therapists IV access training Evaluating procedural competency of residents/attendings Developing CME for practicing physicians
  • Missions Statement with added definition of simulation: Definition of simulation: An exercise designed to mimic a real life situation in which the learner is given an opportunity to reason through a clinical problem and make diagnostic and treatment decisions. The SAEM Simulation interest group will: Promote the use of simulation of all types for education in emergency medicine. Promote collaboration in educational research in the area of medical simulation. Provide a forum for discussion regarding the use of simulation for assessment of clinical competence. Maintain freedom from commercial bias in our proceedings. Priorities/objectives of the group for the next year: 1. Establish the list-serve for communication among members 2. Develop a template for simulation scenarios 3. Develop a web site with a bank of simulation scenarios 4. Within the web site have a secured area for scenarios that are being used for research/validation. 5. Include an endnote simulation bibliographic database on the web site 6. Help facilitate a didactic “train the trainers” forum for SAEM 2003, to include a site visit to the Harvard simulation center
  • Biannual electronic newsletter to include: Updates on simulation High fidelity Computer Ultrasound Airway Procedural News about upcoming conferences Summaries of research coming from the conferences Election of officers for 2002-2003 were held, next election to be held at the annual meeting in Boston 2003: Chair: William Bond MD Secretary/Treasurer: Linda Spillane MD Members of the SAEM simulation interest group Name Institution Jim Ritchie Naval Medical Center Portsmouth VA jvritchie@mar.med.navy.mil Susan Promes Duke University Health System prome001@mc.duke.edu Paul Kolecki Thomas Jefferson Philadelphia paul.kolecki@mail.tju.edu Frank McGeorge William Beaumont Royal Oak MI mcgmd@provide.net Pail Harter Stanford University harter@stanford.edu Jim McClay University of Nebraska Medical Center jmcclay@unmc.edu Marc Shapiro Rhode Island Hospital mshapiro@lifespan.org Jim Gordon Mass General / Harvard jgordon3@partners.org Rick Gimbel Evanston Northwestern Healthcare rag315@northwestern.edu John Vozenilek Evanston Northwestern Healthcare vozmd@emedu.org
  • Name Institution Steve McLaughlin University of New Mexico smclaughlin@salud.unm.edu Linda Spillane University of Rochester linda_spillane@urmc.rochester.edu Martin Reznek Detroit Receiving – Wayne mreznek@hotmail.com Kerin Jones Detroit Receiving – Wayne kjones100@comcast.net Ted Gaeta NY Methodist tgaeta@pol.net Gloria Kuhn Wayne State University gkuhn@med.wayne.edu Rob Vissers UNC Chapel Hill rvissers@med.unc.edu Bob Mahry Brooke Army Medical Center bob18d@hotmail.com Mitchell Baldwin RM Baldwin, Inc mitchell@rmbimedical.com JoScott Taylor University of Michigan jstaylor@umich.edu Hal Thomas OHSU / ABEM thomash@ohsu.edu Rebecca Smith-Coggins Stanford University smithcog@stanford.edu David Ellis University at Buffalo (SUNY) dellis@ecmc.edu Felix Ankel Regions Hospital ankel001@umn.edu Jamie Collings Northwestern jamiecollingsmd@hotmail.com Robert Wears University of Florida wears@ufl.edu Barbara Richardson Mt Sinai NY barbara.richardson@mountsinai.org Peter Deblieux LSU pdebli@lsuhsc.edu Steven Godwin University of Florida andy.godwin@jax.ufl.edu David Caro University of Florida david.caro@jax.ufl.edu Ilya Shekhter Rochester ilya_shekhter@urmc.rochester.edu Atilla Uner UCLA auner@ucla.edu Regina Kovach Southern Illlinois University rkovach@siumed.edu William Bond Lehigh Valley / Penn State william.bond@lvh.com R. Mitchell Baldwin Mitchell1@ameritech.net John Fowler Fowler@ispro.net.tr Joel Kravitz Duke Kravi003@mc.duke.edu Douglas Kupas Geisinger Med Center Dkupas@geisinger.edu Richard Lammers Michigan State University RLLAMMERS@aol.com Marsh Cuttino Medical Coll of VA MarshCuttino@mindspring.com John McCarthy Lehigh Valley / Penn State John.mccarthy@lvh.com Greg Powell Alberta Shock Trauma (STARS) Gpowell@stars.ca Jamie Syrett Univ of Rochester Jamie_Syrett@urmc.rochester.edu Peter Tanghe Regions Hospital Peter.j.tanghe@healthpartners.com
  • Name Institution Charles Worrilow Lehigh Valley / Penn State Charles.worrilow@lvh.com John Finnell Regenstrief Inst for Health Care JT@EMqube.org Karen.A.Quaday@HealthPartners.c Karen Quaday Regions Hospital om Research Highlights from SAEM 2002 and elsewhere (in no particular order): Anne-Sophie Nyssen, et al. A Comparison of the Training Value of Two Types of Anesthesia Simulators: Computer Screen-Based and Mannequin-Based Simulators. Anesth Analg 2002 94: 1560-1565. Scott Cooper, Introduction to Abdominal Ultrasound Scanning and Interpretation: An Interactive CD-ROM. IEME exhibit at SAEM. Marc Shapiro, et al. High Fidelity Medical Simulation and Teamwork Training to Enhance Medical Student Performance in Cardiac Resuscitation. IEME exhibit. James Gordon, et al. Education “On Demand”: The Development of a Simulator-Based Medical Education Service. IEME exhibit. Jeffrey Myers, et al. Airway Management Education of EMS Providers Utilizing Interactive Digital Versatile Disk (iDVD) Format. IEME exhibit. John Vozenilek, et al. EMEDU: Emergency Medicine Education Online. IEME exhibit. John Vozenilek, et al Emergency Electrocardiography Online Teaching Module. IEME exhibit. Cherri Hobgood, et al Medical Error Identification, Disclosure, and Reporting: Are Differences between Provider Groups? SAEM abstract no 115 Marc Shapiro, et al Can Medical Errors and Near Misses Reported to an Emergency Department Anonymous Error Reporting System be Identified through Chart Review? SAEM abstract no 117 Martin Reznek, et al Evaluation of a Virtual Reality IV Insertion Simulator. SAEM abstract no 194 Martin Reznek, et al Emergency Medicine Crisis Management (EMCM): Pilot Investigation of a Simulation-Based Crisis Management. SAEM abstract no 195
  • John Vozenilek, et al Proficiency of Housestaff to Provide Care to Patients with Acute Life-threatening Events and Time to Last ACLS Certification Have No Correlation. SAEM abstract no 196 James Takayesu, et al Learning Emergency and Critical Care Medicine: What Does High-fidelity Patient Simulation Teach? SAEM abstract no 319 Karl Ambroz, et al Correlation of the USMLE with the Emergency Residents’ In-service Exam. SAEM abstract no 328 Please keep in mind that these were just the abstracts and posters that I found. If I missed any abstract you would like to see mentioned in the listserve or in the next newsletter, just let me know. My hope is that the highlights will save people some literature search time in the future. My plan is that an endnote database on simulation can be placed on the interest group website for everyone to access/download. This database will be updated once a year. eudora/attach/meeting minutes from the first saem simulation interest group1.doc