Centre for Innovation
The Hague
Research Innovation
Learning Innovation
Entrepreneurship
MOOCs @ Universiteit Leiden
Marja...
Topics
1. Waarom MOOCs?
2. Organisatie
3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat
vonden zijn ervan?
4. Lessons Learned
5. Blik op ...
Topics
1. Waarom MOOCs?
2. Organisatie
3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat
vonden zijn ervan?
4. Lessons Learned
5. Blik op ...
gestart zijn
Scenario building zomer
2012:
Hoe ziet het onderwijs van
2035 aan de Campus Den
Haag er uit?
Eerste experiment: één MOOC:
Intro EU law
• deal met Coursera
• lengte MOOC 5 weken
• studietijd per week 5-8
• Statement ...
Sept 2012: experimentele overeenkomst met Coursera
Nov 2012: aankondiging eerste MOOC
Febr 2013: Leiden Coursera partner; ...
9
MOOC program Leiden: vier
sporen
1. 6 MOOCs produceren
in 2013-2014: impact
onderzoeken
2. Evaluatie en
visieontwikkelin...
Statistics
Course Enrollments Status
The Law of the European
Union: An introduction
>43.0000 Finished first run
june-july
...
Waarom Coursera?
- Reputatie en bereik
- Ready to start platform met goede support
- Interesante functionaliteit zoals aut...
Topics
1. Waarom MOOCs?
2. Organisatie
3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat
vonden zijn ervan?
4. Lessons Learned
5. Blik op ...
Organisatie
MOOC production team @ Centre for Innovation
- Project management / liaison Coursera
- Creative producer
- Cam...
Coursera standaard
studio advies:
Ervaringen met videoproductie
Ervaring: per docent optimale setting:
Interactie en feedback
- Quizzes
- Peer assessment
- Forum
- proces moderator & junior docenten
- informele leiders > next...
Topics
1. Waarom MOOCs?
2. Organisatie
3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat
vonden zijn ervan?
4. Lessons Learned
5. Blik op ...
“Actually, although I am saying I am finding this
tough it is refreshing to be challenged. In reality the
first Coursera c...
Wie waren de
deelnemers?
Top 10 participating
countries
%
US 13,4%
The Netherlands 8,2%
Spain 6,7%
UK 4,4%
Ukraine 3,2%
Ge...
This was my first ever MOOC. It has been interesting, informative, educational
and challenging!
== Joshua Makalintal , 16,...
16% students
Q: What do you hope to get out of the MOOCs you are enrolled on?
Excellent 36,34%
Very good 43,56%
Good 13,86%
Satisfactory 3,69%
Poor 2,54%
Q: Please rate your overall experience with th...
MOOCs vragen anderen benadering van
‘rendement’; twee voorbeelden:
Na de eindtest deadline nog > 2000 enrollments en
worde...
Topics
1. Waarom MOOCs?
2. Organisatie
3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat
vonden zijn ervan?
4. Lessons Learned
5. Blik op ...
Lessons learned eerste MOOC
- Incourse textbook: gratis maar keerzijdes
- Moeilijkheidsgraad
- Forum modereren: proces en ...
Hoe kijk je duizenden werkstukken na?
Geautomatiseerde peer grading
What made the peer assessment exercise
most worthwhile for you?
Some examples of the responses:
- The assessment was purpo...
And what was less worthwhile about the
peer assessment exercise?
Some examples of the responses:
- Some students weren't c...
Lessons learned peer assessment
- Wordt gewaardeerd
- Voorlopig optioneel houden en alleen mee
laten tellen voor Advanced ...
Topics
1. Waarom MOOCs?
2. Organisatie
3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat
vonden zijn ervan?
4. Lessons Learned
5. Blik op ...
Stelling: Een Utrechtse student volgt een online
cursus van een andere universiteit, en wil
vervolgens in Utrecht tentamen...
Harvard Business School doesn’t teach entry-level
accounting anymore, because there is a professor out
at Brigham Young Un...
Stelling:
Docenten geven MOOCs of videolectures
als zelfstudie op, en organiseren tijdens
de colleges interactieve werkvor...
Dank voor uw aandacht
Vragen en discussie
Univ leiden mooc ervaringen (marja verstelle) 24 sept 2013
Univ leiden mooc ervaringen (marja verstelle) 24 sept 2013
Univ leiden mooc ervaringen (marja verstelle) 24 sept 2013
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Univ leiden mooc ervaringen (marja verstelle) 24 sept 2013

99

Published on

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
99
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
2
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Univ leiden mooc ervaringen (marja verstelle) 24 sept 2013

  1. 1. Centre for Innovation The Hague Research Innovation Learning Innovation Entrepreneurship MOOCs @ Universiteit Leiden Marja Verstelle Coordinator Learning Innovation and MOOC projectleader at Centre for Innovation The Hague en ICTO Programmamanager Universiteit Leiden
  2. 2. Topics 1. Waarom MOOCs? 2. Organisatie 3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat vonden zijn ervan? 4. Lessons Learned 5. Blik op de toekomst
  3. 3. Topics 1. Waarom MOOCs? 2. Organisatie 3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat vonden zijn ervan? 4. Lessons Learned 5. Blik op de toekomst
  4. 4. gestart zijn Scenario building zomer 2012: Hoe ziet het onderwijs van 2035 aan de Campus Den Haag er uit?
  5. 5. Eerste experiment: één MOOC: Intro EU law • deal met Coursera • lengte MOOC 5 weken • studietijd per week 5-8 • Statement of Accomplishment (Basic en Advanced Track) • peer assessment Waarom deze eerste MOOC? • leren over leren • potentieel van MOOCs verkennen • nieuwe studenten aantrekken? • geschikt als pre masters? • exposure universiteit en vakgebied
  6. 6. Sept 2012: experimentele overeenkomst met Coursera Nov 2012: aankondiging eerste MOOC Febr 2013: Leiden Coursera partner; 3 MOOCs p/j Juni-juli: eerste MOOC gedraaid Sept: tweede MOOC start
  7. 7. 9 MOOC program Leiden: vier sporen 1. 6 MOOCs produceren in 2013-2014: impact onderzoeken 2. Evaluatie en visieontwikkeling 3. Experimenten met MOOC–concepten in on campus education 4. Onderzoek naar effectiviteit van MOOCs en effecten op leren
  8. 8. Statistics Course Enrollments Status The Law of the European Union: An introduction >43.0000 Finished first run june-july Terrorism and Counterterroris: comparing theory and practice >18.000 Starts sept 30
  9. 9. Waarom Coursera? - Reputatie en bereik - Ready to start platform met goede support - Interesante functionaliteit zoals automated peer grading - Uitwisseling met top ‘s werelds topuniversiteiten - Contract gebaseerd op non-exclusiviteit, geen long term commitment How did you hear about the MOOC? % News articles/press coverage 9,12% Coursera website 69,92% website 2,37% Search engines 3,13% Blogs 1,90% From friends/social networks 20,07%
  10. 10. Topics 1. Waarom MOOCs? 2. Organisatie 3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat vonden zijn ervan? 4. Lessons Learned 5. Blik op de toekomst
  11. 11. Organisatie MOOC production team @ Centre for Innovation - Project management / liaison Coursera - Creative producer - Camjo & student assistants - Instructional Design - Quality control, copyrights, legal MOOC academic team - Professor - Master student and/or PHD Steering Committee − Deans and directors, Vice-rector − Call for proposals
  12. 12. Coursera standaard studio advies: Ervaringen met videoproductie Ervaring: per docent optimale setting:
  13. 13. Interactie en feedback - Quizzes - Peer assessment - Forum - proces moderator & junior docenten - informele leiders > next run TA’s - Weekly videochats - Facebook group (gestart door deelnemers) - Course wiki (gevuld door by deelnemers) - Deelnemers als respondenten en co- researchers
  14. 14. Topics 1. Waarom MOOCs? 2. Organisatie 3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat vonden zijn ervan? 4. Lessons Learned 5. Blik op de toekomst
  15. 15. “Actually, although I am saying I am finding this tough it is refreshing to be challenged. In reality the first Coursera course I am doing that really is Bachelor level.” “I find myself reading my notes in my spare time to reinforce what has been taught so far.” COMMUNITY SPIRIT EAGERNESS TO LEARN GRATITUDE “I must be loving this course because I check it before I check my e-mails and Facebook (!)” ENJOYING
  16. 16. Wie waren de deelnemers? Top 10 participating countries % US 13,4% The Netherlands 8,2% Spain 6,7% UK 4,4% Ukraine 3,2% Germany 3,2% Greece 3,1% Brazil 2,9% Italy 2,8% India 2,8% Total: 153 countries Age? Education? Intro EU Law Cursus • Precourse survey n=6600 • Postcourse survey n=1350
  17. 17. This was my first ever MOOC. It has been interesting, informative, educational and challenging! == Joshua Makalintal , 16, highschool, Austria I even mentioned at work that I'm amazed at how much I've learnt in less than two weeks - I wouldn't have thought it were possible to learn so much so quickly. == Colin Ormesher, 47, Civil Servant Ministry of Justice, UK Not one single unnecessary digression, not one sentence off the course of the lecture. In that sense and in all other means, I feel that this course had a greatest respect for my time as a student. I have given significant time to it and I gained an immense amount of knowledge.' == Olga Suihkonen, 43 Theater and Film artist, Serbia, resident of Finland The active presence of the Staff has been a great support. == Valeria Hernández Reyes, 28, Environmental Engineer, Mexico Leeftijd 16-85, uit 153 landen
  18. 18. 16% students
  19. 19. Q: What do you hope to get out of the MOOCs you are enrolled on?
  20. 20. Excellent 36,34% Very good 43,56% Good 13,86% Satisfactory 3,69% Poor 2,54% Q: Please rate your overall experience with this course Q: Overall did you get what you wanted out of the course?
  21. 21. MOOCs vragen anderen benadering van ‘rendement’; twee voorbeelden: Na de eindtest deadline nog > 2000 enrollments en worden per dag nog tientallen quizzes gedaan Voorbeeld 1: citaat op forum Voorbeeld 2:
  22. 22. Topics 1. Waarom MOOCs? 2. Organisatie 3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat vonden zijn ervan? 4. Lessons Learned 5. Blik op de toekomst
  23. 23. Lessons learned eerste MOOC - Incourse textbook: gratis maar keerzijdes - Moeilijkheidsgraad - Forum modereren: proces en inhoud kan gescheiden - Antwoorden op eindtest openbaar maken? - Peer assessment - 5 open vragen met antwoordmodel - 3 peers nakijken: cijfer en commentaar - daarna jezelf nakijken - mediaan van peers / afgerond met eigen score
  24. 24. Hoe kijk je duizenden werkstukken na? Geautomatiseerde peer grading
  25. 25. What made the peer assessment exercise most worthwhile for you? Some examples of the responses: - The assessment was purposeful and challenging. I considered it an excellent piece of personal development. - Real feedback. - the commentaries of my peers were very useful to improve my way of writing and the way I expose my analysis. It is always better to know the constructive opinion of others. - Although I failed the peer assignment, reading the model answer and grading my fellow students allowed me to see exactly where I had gone wrong in my own answer, which gave me a correct understanding. - To see how oher people are doing and responsibility to evaluate someone's else work... - How the person attack the problem...different perspective
  26. 26. And what was less worthwhile about the peer assessment exercise? Some examples of the responses: - Some students weren't concerned about grading their peers properly. - The assesment by only two peers did not reflect adequately the score. - I think the scheme could be improved. - I was a little disappointed that it focussed on the legal tongue so much, rather than on the general understanding of EU structures. - See my own fault - It was not clear for me from the begining what was expected from me. Thus this tool rarely used in Ukraine in teaching process, unfortunately. therefore, it took me more then I expected how to do it.
  27. 27. Lessons learned peer assessment - Wordt gewaardeerd - Voorlopig optioneel houden en alleen mee laten tellen voor Advanced Track - Meer dan 3 peers per essay - Vooraf goede voorbeelden bieden - Training: meer en kleinere opdrachten Onderzoeksartikel
  28. 28. Topics 1. Waarom MOOCs? 2. Organisatie 3. Wie waren de deelnemers en wat vonden zijn ervan? 4. Lessons Learned 5. Blik op de toekomst
  29. 29. Stelling: Een Utrechtse student volgt een online cursus van een andere universiteit, en wil vervolgens in Utrecht tentamen doen of vrijstelling krijgen 1. Dat gaat nooit gebeuren 2. Misschien over een paar jaar 3. De eerste zal niet lang op zich laten wachten 4. Het gebeurt al
  30. 30. Harvard Business School doesn’t teach entry-level accounting anymore, because there is a professor out at Brigham Young University whose online accounting course “is just so good” that Harvard students use that instead. When outstanding becomes so easily available, average is over. Bron: Tom Friedman, New York Times , 6/3/2013
  31. 31. Stelling: Docenten geven MOOCs of videolectures als zelfstudie op, en organiseren tijdens de colleges interactieve werkvormen: flipping the classroom 1. Dat gaat nooit gebeuren 2. Misschien over een paar jaar 3. Het zal niet lang op zich laten wachten 4. Het gebeurt al
  32. 32. Dank voor uw aandacht Vragen en discussie
  1. A particular slide catching your eye?

    Clipping is a handy way to collect important slides you want to go back to later.

×