Cordillera administrative region
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Cordillera administrative region






Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



0 Embeds 0

No embeds



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Cordillera administrative region Cordillera administrative region Presentation Transcript

  • CARCAR Cordillera Administrative Region
  • A. Background
  • • The Cordillera Administrative Region encompasses most of the areas within the Cordillera Central mountains of Luzon • It is composed of provinces which used to be part of the Old Mountain Province • Is a land-locked region consists of the provinces of Abra, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province and Apayao. Baguio Cityis the regional center.
  • Location • bounded on the north by the province of Cagayan • on the west by Ilocos Norte and Ilocos Sur • on the east by Isabela and in the south by the province of Pangasinan and Nueva Vizcaya.
  • Resources: • Apayao is devoted to agricultural production, particularly food and industrial crops • such as palay, corn, coffee, root crops and vegetables. Main fruits produce are lanzones, citrus, bananas and pineapples • Abra possesses rich mineral reserves, mostly non-metallic minerals such as clay, guano and rock phosphate.
  • • It has also the richest limestone deposit in the Cordillera • has timber and non-timber resources • Timber resources are either dipterocarp, pine, molave type and other species • non-timber resources includes rattan, bamboo, erect palm, ferns, orchids, vines and other species that thrive in association with the forest trees
  • • Non-metallic deposits are composed mostly of sand and gravel deposited along the Chico River. • Metallic deposits are gold, ore, copper and other metallic minerals.
  • Ethnic groups
  • Igorot • Is the collective name of several Austronesian ethnic groups from the Cordillera, Northern Luzon, Philippines. • They inhabit the six provinces of Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Kalinga, Ifugao, and Mountain Province; plus the lone city of Baguio • The word "Igorot" is archaic Tagalog for "mountain people". It is derived from the prefix i- ("dweller of") and golot ("mountain range")
  • Trivias
  • Panagbenga Festival • Panagbenga / Baguio Flower Festival which is celebrated in February. The festival focuses on Baguio as the Flower Garden City of the North. Highlights include flower exhibits, lectures, garden tours, floral competition and a parade of floats.
  • Adivay Festival • Adivay festival in Benguet which means "coming together of people to celebrate" is celebrated every month of November. The month-long activities highlights the Agro- industrial and trade fair which showcase the different products of Benguet.
  • Ullalim Festival • Ullalim Festival/ in Kalinga which is celebrated every February 14. It is in celebration of the founding anniversary of the province and the Peace acts called Bodong. It is the poetic expression of the heroic exploits, romance, joys, successes as well as tribulations, and the way of life of the Kalingas from birth to death. The Festival highlights the weaved clothes (laga) exhibits, world class coffee beans and other products of Kalinga.
  • • Lang-ay Festival in Mountain Province celebrated every April 7. This is a week- long agro-industrial trade, tourism and cultural fair with tribal dances and songs. Lang-ay is a native term which describes the tradition of the people of Mountain Province to celebrate festivities, share happiness, foster family solidarity, hospitality and nurture friendship - all with a toast of home-brewed wine. Lang-ay Festival
  • Economy: • Regional economy of the Cordilleras is diverse; mining, agriculture, export processing zone, tourism are among economic activities in the different provinces of the region.
  • • The region is abundant with mineral reserves. These include metallic ores such as gold, copper, silver, zinc, and non-metallic minerals like sand, gravel and sulfur. Mineral reserves are found in all the provinces. However, mining is concentrated in Benguet. • Its timber resources has dwindled since the introduction of slash-and-burn method of farming in all parts of the Cordillera
  • • Vegetable crop production is well developed in Benguet, rice production in Ifugao and Abra, corn production in Mountain Province, andKalinga. • Baguio City and La Trinidad are considered as the industrial centers in the region. Baguio City hosts Baguio Export Processing Zone where operations of big companies like Texas Instruments, and MOOG are located. The city also hosts offshore and outsourcing companies operating call centers.
  • • The primary growth centers of the region are Metro Baguio and the Eastern Cordillera Growth Corridor.
  • Provinces: • Abra • Apayao • Benguet • Ifugao • Kalinga • Mountain Province
  • Municipalities and Cities of Abra: • 27 municipalties: • Bangued (CAPITAL) • Boliney • Bucay • Bucloc • Daguioman • Danglas • Dolores • La Paz • Lacub • Lagangilang
  • • Lagayan • Langiden • Licuan-Baay • Luba • Malibcong • Manabo • Peñarrubia • Pidigan • Pilar • Sallapadan • San Isidro • San Juan • San Quintin
  • • Tayum • Tineg • Tubo • Villaviciosa
  • delicacies:
  • tourist spots:
  • Municipalities and Cities of Apayao: • Municipalities: 7 • Calanasan • Conner • Flora • Kabugao - capital • Luna • Pudtol • Santa Marcela
  • delicacies:
  • tourist spots:
  • Municipalities and Cities of Benguet: • Municipalities: 13 • Atok • Bakun • Bokod • Buguias • Itogon • Kabayan • Kapangan • Kibungan
  • • La Trinidad - capital • Mankayan • Sablan • Tuba • Tublay City: 1 • Baguio City
  • delicacies:
  • tourist spots:
  • Municipalities and Cities of Ifugao: • Municipalities: 11 • Aguinaldo • Alfonso Lista • Asipulo • Banaue • Hingyon • Hungduan • Kiangan • Lagawe - capital • Lamut • Mayoyao • Tinoc
  • delicacies:
  • tourist spots:
  • Municipalities and Cities of Kalinga: • Municipalities: 7 • Balbalan • Lubuagan • Pasil • Pinukpuk • Rizal • Tanudan • Tinglayan Cities: 1 Tabuk City
  • delicacies:
  • tourist spots:
  • Municipalities and Cities of Mountain Province: • Municipalities: 10 • Barlig • Bauko • Besao • Bontoc - capital • Natonin • Paracelis • Sabangan • Sadanga • Sagada • Tadian
  • delicacies:
  • tourist spots: