Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • Chile (i/ˈtʃɪliː/[9] or /ˈtʃɪleɪ/), officially the Republic of Chile (Spanish: República de Chile [reˈpuβlika ðe ˈtʃile] ( listen)), is a country in South America occupying a long, narrow strip of land between the Andes mountains to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west. It borders Peru to the north, Bolivia to the northeast, Argentina to the east, and the Drake Passage in the far south. Along with Ecuador, it is one of two countries in South America that do not border Brazil. Chilean territory includes the Pacific islands of Juan Fernández, Salas y Gómez, Desventuradas and Easter Island. Chile also claims about 1,250,000 square kilometres (480,000 sq mi) of Antarctica, although all claims are suspended under the Antarctic Treaty. Prior to the arrival of the Spanish in the 16th century, northern and central Chile was under Inca rule while the indigenous Mapuche inhabited southern Chile. Chile declared its independence from Spain on 12 February 1818
  • Identification. There exist different explanations about the origins of the name "Chile." The most accepted one is that it is derived from the native Aymará word chilli meaning "the land where the earth ends." Read more: Culture of Chile - history, people, traditions, women, beliefs, food, customs, family, social The shape of Chile is a distinctive ribbon of land 4,300 kilometres (2,700 mi) long and on average 175 kilometres (109 mi) wide. In regards to the geographical northernmost and southernmost points of Chile, it is the longest country in the world, boasting a varying climate, and includes the 5th lengthiest coastline at over 78 thousand kilometers
  • The national flag of Chile, consists of two unequal horizontal bands of white and red and a blue square the same height as the white band in the canton, which bears a white five-pointed star in the center. It was adopted on October 18, 1817. The Chilean flag is also known in Spanish as La Estrella Solitaria[1] (English: The Lone Star). Prior to the arrival of the Spanish in the 16th century, northern and central Chile was under Inca rule while the indigenous Mapuche inhabited southern Chile. Chile declared its independence from Spain on 12 February 1818 The star represents a guide to progress and honor; blue symbolizes the sky and the Pacific Ocean, white is for the snow-covered Andes, and red stands for the blood spilled to achieve independence.[2] . Chile received its independence from Spanish colonial rule in 1913
  • Chile has one of the world’s largest and most deserted deserts known as “Atacama”
  • Chile's Lake District is aptly named. There are twelve major lakes in the district, with dozens more dotting the landscape. Between the lakes there are rivers, waterfalls, forests, thermal hot springs, and the Andes, including six volcanos with Villarica being the highest at 9395 ft (2,847 m.) The Lake District is a major highlight of many tours to and in Chile. The scenery has been likened to Switzerland, and with the early emigrations from Germany and the subsequent German feel to farms, towns and traditions, it is cosmopolitan, yet entirely Chilean.
  • The majority of Chile's population is mestizo, a result of frequent intermarriage between early Spanish settlers and indigenous inhabitants. Many Chileans are also of German, Italian, Irish, British, or Yugoslav ancestry. Three small indigenous groups are still distinguishable—the Araucanians of central Chile (the largest and long the strongest group), the Changos of N Chile, and the Fuegians of Tierra del Fuego. Chile is predominantly urban, with more than a third of the total population concentrated in and around Santiago and Viña Del Mar. Nearly 90% of the people are at least nominally Roman Catholic. Spanish is the country's official language. The inhabitants of the country are a combination of both indigenous groups and Spanish. This has been the result for the country being occupied by the Spaniards for a long period. Roman Catholic is the religion that most of the population follows. The natives are culturally very rich and enjoy doing several cultural activities.
  • Futbol (soccer) as in most of the world is the most popular sport of Chile
  • Being such a long country stretched over a variety of landscapes, Chile has a vast range of food and drink. The number one world exporter for Salmon is Chile, It topped the united states in the early 2000s One of the highlights of Chilean Cuisine is its diversity of Seafood due to its 4,270 km (2,647 miles) of coastline. Another thing not to be missed while in Chile is its high quality red wine.
  • Gather more information and know about a few facts about Santiago before you plan for a trip to the beautiful city. Santiago is the capital and the largest city in Chile. Many leisure travelers and international tourists come here every year to spend their holidays. Before you organize a trip to the city, know about interesting facts about Santiago. The Majority of the Chilean population lives in the capital city of Santiago, Chile Santiago is one of the most developed cities in Latin America. It is one of the few capital cities in the world with an easy access to the ski slopes, the beaches and fascinating natural wonders that attract a large number of travelers. Before you take a trip to this fascinating place, it will be of immense help if you gather a few fascinating facts about Santiago.
  • copper, timber, iron ore, nitrates, precious metals, molybdenum, hydropower The Andes Mountains are hurt by humans because they cut down trees which shelter many unique Andean animals. Man also mines for gold, silver, and copper which then erodes the soil and hurts the plants of the Andes.
  • Cape Horn (Dutch: Kaap Hoorn (help·info), Spanish: Cabo de Hornos; named after the city of Hoorn in the Netherlands) is the southernmost headland of the Tierra del Fuego archipelago of southern Chile, and is located on the small Hornos Island. Although not the most southerly point of South America, (which are the Diego Ramírez Islands) Cape Horn marks the northern boundary of the Drake Passage; for many years it was a major milestone on the clipper route, by which sailing ships carried trade around the world. However, the waters around the Cape are particularly hazardous, owing to strong winds, large waves, strong currents and icebergs; these dangers have made it notorious as a sailors' graveyard.
  • The Andes Mountains are the longest and one of the highest mountain ranges in the world. They are located in South America and stretch 4,500 miles from north to south, along the west coast of the continent.
  • Along the mountainous region of Chile, there are over 1300 volcanoes and a number of them can still be active.
  • Easter Island (Rapa Nui: Rapa Nui, Spanish: Isla de Pascua) is a Polynesian island in the southeastern Pacific Ocean, at the southeasternmost point of the Polynesian Triangle. A special territory of Chile that was annexed in 1888, Easter Island is famous for its 887 extant monumental statues, called moai, created by the early Rapanui people. It is a World Heritage Site (as determined by UNESCO) with much of the island protected within Rapa Nui National Park. In recent times the island has served as a warning of the cultural and environmental dangers of overexploitation. Ethnographers and archaeologists also blame diseases carried by European colonizers and slave raiding of the 1860s for devastating the local peoples.[3] Easter Island is claimed to be the most remote inhabited island in the world.[4]
  • Chile

    1. 1. Chile
    2. 2. Atacama Desert
    3. 3. Lake District
    4. 4. Chileans
    5. 5. Food
    6. 6. Santiago
    7. 7. NaturalResources
    8. 8. AndesMountains
    9. 9. Easter Island