2010 Online Trends Review
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Like this? Share it with your network

Share

2010 Online Trends Review

  • 2,406 views
Uploaded on

Each December, the world’s most popular websites compile a “top 10” list, revealing what the online population thinks, says and does in a given year....

Each December, the world’s most popular websites compile a “top 10” list, revealing what the online population thinks, says and does in a given year.

And while this is just the tip of the consumer data iceberg – websites keep the best insights for themselves – we are always eager to take a look at this mirror of who we are as a society.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
  • All numbers should commence with 1 - issue with conversion on slideshare's end.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
2,406
On Slideshare
1,991
From Embeds
415
Number of Embeds
5

Actions

Shares
Downloads
14
Comments
1
Likes
0

Embeds 415

http://www.luminary-labs.com 207
http://www.aspiringluminary.com 197
http://www.linkedin.com 6
http://aspiringluminary.tumblr.com 3
http://safe.tumblr.com 2

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide
  • Add methodologies for aol, linkedinetc.

Transcript

  • 1. 2010 ONLINE TRENDS REVIEW: WHAT YOU SAID. WHAT YOU DID. WHAT YOU THOUGHT. (BUT DIDN’T REALIZED WAS BEING TRACKED) Andreas Muellerpohlep 0es1s. Digitale Poesie, Kulturforum am Potsdamer Platz, Berlin 2004
  • 2.
    • IT ’S THAT TIME OF THE YEAR
    • Each December, the world ’s most popular websites compile a “top 10” list, revealing what the online population thinks, says and does in a given year.
    • And while this is just the tip of the consumer data iceberg – websites keep the best insights for themselves – we are always eager to take a look at this mirror of who we are as a society.
  • 3. WHAT DO THESE TRENDS TELL US? OUR LANGUAGE IS AN UNTAPPED FOCUS GROUP
    • Google knows what you think . 1 billion* searches per day.
    • Twitter knows what you say . 50 million* tweets per day.
    • Facebook knows what you do . 60 million* status updates per day.
    • *as of February 2010
  • 4. CAVEAT: NOT ALL TRENDS ARE CREATED EQUALLY
      • Google : trends are based on frequency of search, with an emphasis on “ fastest rising ,” meaning how this search term’s popularity compared to its popularity last year.
      • Twitter : trends are based on velocity i.e. fastest moving topics. This filters out “noise” created by topics that are frequently discussed but are not “hot.”
      • Facebook : trends are generated through analysis and may include aggregating data from the “ long tail* . ”
    • *e.g. Twitter lists Inception as its 3rd most discussed topic while Facebook lists “Movies” as its 3rd most discussed topic (Inception happens to be the 2nd most discussed movie within that “trend” - following Twilight.)
    Each site compiles its trends based on the language that consumers type into their sites. However, the top 10 methodology varies. For example:
  • 5. THE 2010 TRENDS LISTS
    • Search Engines
    • Google Zeitgeist 2010
    • http://www.google.com/press/zeitgeist2010/
    • Top Bing Searches 2010
    • http://www.bing.com/community/site_blogs/b/search/archive/2010/11/29/the-top-bing-searches-for-2010-the-year-of-the-celebrities.aspx
    • Top Yahoo Searches 2010
    • http://ycorpblog.com/2010/11/30/yir2010/
    • AOL Hot Searches
    • http://about-search.aol.com/hotsearches2010/trends.html
    • Social Networks
    • Top Twitter Trends 2010
    • http://yearinreview.twitter.com/trends/
    • Top 10 Facebook Trends
    • http://blog.facebook.com/blog.php?post=466369142130
    • Linkedin Top 10 Overused Buzzwords
    • http://blog.linkedin.com/2010/12/14/2010-top10-profile-buzzwords/
  • 6. TOP 10 LISTS: THE SEARCH ENGINES
    • Bing Most Popular
    • Kim Kardashian
    • Sandra Bullock
    • Tiger Woods
    • Lady Gaga
    • Barack Obama
    • Hairstyles
    • Kate Gosselin
    • Walmart
    • Justin Bieber
    • Free
    • Yahoo! Top Searches
    • BP oil spill
    • World Cup
    • Miley Cyrus
    • Kim Kardashian
    • Lady Gaga
    • iPhone
    • Megan Fox
    • Justin Bieber
    • American Idol
    • Britney Spears
    • Google Fast Rising
    • Chatroulette
    • iPad
    • Justin Bieber
    • Nicki minaj
    • Friv
    • Myxer
    • Katy Perry
    • Twitter
    • Gamezer
    • Facebook
    • AOL Hot Searches
    • Betty White
    • Chatroulette
    • Pants on the Ground
    • Vuvuzelas
    • Silly Bandz
    • Paul the Octopus
    • Old Spice Guy
    • Jeggings
    • Foursquare
    • Bed Intruder
  • 7. TOP 10 LISTS: SOCIAL NETWORKS
    • Facebook Top
    • Status Trends
    • HMU
    • World Cup
    • Movies
    • iPad and iiPhone 4
    • Haiti
    • Justin Bieber
    • Games on facebook
    • Mineros/Miners
    • Airplanes
    • 2011
    • Twitter Trends
    • 2010
    • Gulf Oil Spill
    • FIFA World Cup
    • Inception
    • Haiti Earthquake
    • Vuvuzela
    • Apple iPad
    • Google Android
    • Justin Bieber
    • Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows
    • Pulpo Paul
    • LinkedIn Overused
    • Buzzwords
    • Innovative
    • Motivated
    • Results-oriented
    • Dynamic
    • Proven Track Record
    • Team Player
    • Fast—paced
    • Problem solver
    • Entrepreneurial
  • 8.
    • SO WHAT DID WE LEARN?
  • 9. BIEBER FEVER IS REAL Justin Bieber is the only term to make it to every list reviewed – all search engines as well as Twitter and Facebook.
  • 10. YES, THAT ’S RIGHT Bieber was so anchored in our language in 2010 that he has been credited with adding 2 words to our vocabulary : “belieber” and “The Justin Bieber.”
  • 11. THE WORLD CUP WAS A COMMON SHARED CULTURAL EXPERIENCE Oftentimes the events that bring together a nation or group of nations aren’t particularly positive in nature – tragedies or natural disasters, for example. The 2010 World Cup was a globally unifying event that stimulated positive social conversations on Facebook and Twitter.
  • 12. IN FACT, 3 OF 10 TOP TWITTER TRENDS ARE ABOUT THE WORLD CUP World Cup came in at #2, Vuvuzelas at #5 and Pulpo Paul at #10. The World Cup united the global community as we waited in anticipation of Pulpo Paul’s tentacled match predictions and debated the allowance of the much maligned Vuvuzela horns.
  • 13. LIVE VIDEO OFFERED UNPRECEDENTED ACCESS – AND EMOTIONAL CONNECTION Each year, hundreds of disasters make the news. So why was the Gulf Oil Spill Twitter’s top trend? And how did the plight of 33 Chilean miners make facebook’s top 10 status trends? Live footage from the deep sea and the deep earth streamed not only into our homes, but to our laptops and cellphones. This immediate and intimate view allowed us to emotionally connect to these world events.
  • 14. HOW WE CONNECTED The BP Oil Spill was a 4-month long tragedy that we watched but could do nothing about. Live feeds of oil plumes flooding the ocean shifted our economic, social and environmental connection with oil. The Chilean Miner rescue was a feel-good drama we watched with baited breath and talked about heavily on Facebook. It made us think of our own families and of the amazing triumph of rescue – plus, everyone loves happy endings. In fact, we were so enamored of these miners and their particular stories, that miner Edison Pena ’s NYC marathon experience was also a hot topic.
  • 15. A SENSE OF EMPOWERMENT: THE HAITI EARTHQUAKE Whereas other natural disasters left the public feeling helpless, mobile technology and social media were the tools in a virtuous cycle of awareness and action. Tweets encouraging mobile donations for Haiti relief raised $1.3 billion as of July 2010, coming close to the $1.6 billion raised in the wake of the 2004 Tsunami in the South Pacific.
  • 16. THE APPLE / ANDROID WAR IS ON The iProduct conversation that dominates conversation is being interrupted with two words: “Google Android.” http://www.thecynch.com/android-eats-apple/
  • 17. TWITTER IS PREDICTIVE “ Google Android” trails just behind “Apple iPad” on Twitter’s trend list – at numbers 7 and 6, respectively. Given the growth rate of Android, we are anxious to see if this is a sign of the looming operating system battle to come.
  • 18. BUZZWORDS DEFINE OUR ECONOMIES The talent pool in mature economies with uncomfortable levels of unemployment (e.g., US, Canada) describde itself as having ”Extensive Experience.” Growth economies, such as Brazil and India, were more likely to describe themselves with more fluid, adaptable adjectives, such as “dynamic.”
  • 19. GAMING IS ECLIPSING FILM AS THE NEW ENTERTAINMENT With Friv and Gamezer occupying two spots on Google ’s fast rising searches this year, online gaming is fast becoming the online citizen ’ s favorite pastime. However, most of this traffic comes from outside of the U.S. – demonstrating that not all trends are born here.
  • 20. JEGGINGS AND SILLY BANDS AOL ’s Hot searches reveal two defining fashion trends for 2010: Jeggings and Silly Bandz. Just think, in 20 years your kids might ask to wear your vintage jeggings.
  • 21. FOR THE DATA JUNKIE We hoped you enjoyed this short data tour. For those who can’t get enough, we recommend checking out the following repositories: Video YouTube Trends: http://youtube-trends.blogspot.com How we spent Mint Data: http://data.mint.com/ Bundle: http://www.bundle.com/ How we searched Google Zeitgeist 2010: http://www.google.com/press/zeitgeist2010/ Top Bing Searches 2010 http://www.bing.com/community/site_blogs/b/search/archive/2010/11/29/the-top-bing-searches-for-2010-the-year-of-the-celebrities.aspx Top Yahoo Searches 2010: http://ycorpblog.com/2010/11/30/yir2010/ AOL Hot Searches: http://about-search.aol.com/hotsearches2010/trends.html How We Socialized Top Twitter Trends 2010 http://yearinreview.twitter.com/trends/ Top 10 Facebook Trends: http://blog.facebook.com/blog.php?post=466369142130 Linkedin Top 10 Overused Buzzwords: http://blog.linkedin.com/2010/12/14/2010-top10-profile-buzzwords/
  • 22. ABOUT LUMINARY LABS
    • Luminary Labs is a strategy and innovation consultancy that helps companies adapt their business models to the 21 st century. You can read more about our work on www.luminary-labs.com or follow us on twitter: @luminarylabs
    • This report was authored by the following luminaries:
    • Sara Holoubek
    • Simon Leung
    • Karen Yung