Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
0
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Empowering Consumers AFPL
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×
Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

Empowering Consumers AFPL

177

Published on

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
177
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide
  • 4348789941
  • Transcript

    • 1. 20 Questions:Empowering Consumers
    • 2. Using this software• Microphone • Text chat• Raising your hand • Feedback• Green / Red X • Audio• Laughing / Clapping • Full Screen• Stepping out • Exiting
    • 3. Question One• Question: “I’m interested in giving to a variety of causes. How can I be sure a charity is reputable?”• Resource:• Charity Navigator• http://www.charitynavigator.org/
    • 4. Question Two• Question:• “I have been very displeased with the management company of my apartment complex. I’ve called and called, but nothing seems to work. What next?”• Resource:• Department of Housing and Urban Development, Renter’s Rights by State• http://www.hud.gov/renting/tenantrights.cfm
    • 5. Question Three• Question:• “Well, I tried everything I know to do with the apartment management company, and now I want to complain in some meaningful way. What can I do?”• Resource:• Better Business Bureau• http://www.bbb.org/• Consumer Action Handbook• http://www.consumeraction.gov/
    • 6. Question Four• Question:• “Strange things have been happening to me lately. I think someone might have stolen my identity. What steps do I need to take?”• Resource:• Federal Trade Commission, Identify Theft http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/microsites/idtheft//• Privacy Rights Clearinghouse• http://www.privacyrights.org/index.htm
    • 7. Question Five• Question:• “Another parent told me she was suspicious of a Monsters, Inc. book my kids are reading. She thinks its been recalled! How can I find out of this is the case?”• Resource:• Consumer Products Safety Commission, Recalls• http://www.cpsc.gov/• http://www.recalls.gov/• Auto Recalls: http://www- odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/recalls/recallsearch.cfm
    • 8. Question Six• Question:• “Freeee Credit Reeeport.com. I see those ads every day. I’d like to see my reports, but there are so many options. Which is the most reliable/trustworthy?”• Resource:• Annual Credit Report• https://www.annualcreditreport.com• More info about credit reports-• http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre34.shtm•
    • 9. Question Seven• Question:• “Now that I know my credit is in good shape, I want to apply for a new, low interest card with some benefits. Where can I find the best cards?”• Resource:• Card Ratings• http://www.cardratings.com/
    • 10. Question Eight• Question:• “I’m interested in buying the fancy Google phone. Is it any good? How does it stack up against the Iphone?• Resource:• CNET, ZDNET• http://www.cnet.com• http://www.zdnet.com
    • 11. Question Nine• Question:• “I have some beautiful antiques that simply must be appraised. How can I find a reputable appraiser in my area?”• Resource:• International Society of Appraisers Directory• http://www.isa-appraisers.org/ISA_form.html• Or American Society of Appraisers (ASA), and the Appraisers Association of America (AAA)
    • 12. Question Ten• Question:• “The phone is a constant source of frustration in my life. What will help me with managing my calls?”• Resource:• Get Human:• http://www.gethuman.com/• National Do Not Call Registry:• https://www.donotcall.gov/• Who Called Us?• http://whocalled.us/lookup/
    • 13. Question 11• Question:• “There are lots of great consumer health resources for people, but fewer for pets! Can you help me find a good site with information about pet care, pet products, and other services?”• Resource:• American Animal Hospital Association, Healthy Pet• http://www.healthypet.com
    • 14. Question 12• Question: “I’ve still got an old brick phone from the 90’s lying around. Where can I recycle it?”• Resource:• U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, “e-cycling”• http://www.epa.gov/waste/conserve/materials/ec ycling/index.htm
    • 15. Question 13• Question:• “I was reading an article on purchasing new cars that suggested I find out the invoice price.• “What does this mean? Where can I find that?”• Resource:• edmunds.com, Pricing System•
    • 16. Question 14• Question:• “Before I know what hit me, it will be time to send my kids to college. Where can I find more information about college savings plans available in my state?”• Resource:• College Savings Plans Network• http://www.collegesavings.org
    • 17. Question 15• Question:• “I have little to no understanding of the investment landscape. At my new job, I have the option of investing in a 401k. I need help understanding how it works!”• Resource:• The Investor’s Clearing House, Investor Education• http://investoreducation.org/
    • 18. Question 16• Question:• “I am trying to save some money on legal fees. Are there resources online where I can get forms?”• Resource:• Findlaw• http://www.findlaw.com• Nolo• http://www.nolo.com
    • 19. Question 17• Question:• “I need to find good information about the effectiveness of dietary and herbal supplements—can you help?”• Resource:• Office of Dietary Supplements• http://dietary-supplements.info.nih.gov/• General consumer health information-Medline Plus:• http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
    • 20. Question 18• Question:• “I just had the best experience buying sportswear at a Jockey outlet store. I really want to send my compliments to the parent company. How would I do that?”• Resource:• Planet Feedback• http://www.planetfeedback.com/
    • 21. Question 19• Question:• “New technology is so expensive. Is there a place where I can find good deals?”• Resource:• Woot!• http://www.woot.com
    • 22. Question 20• Question:• “I was just in this online class where I learned about a lot of resources for consumers, but I know there have to be a lot more. Where can I find more info?”• Resource:• Consumer Action• http://www.consumeraction.gov• Clark Howard• http://clarkhoward.com/• Internet Public Library, Consumer Issues and Services• http://www.ipl.org/IPLBrowse/GetSubject? vid=13&cid=1&tid=6615&parent=6607• http://www.consumerworld.org/
    • 23. Thank You for Attending! Questions? • Professional Development • 1.800.999.8558 – Ext. 4916 • Web: lyrasis.org•Email: russell.palmer@lyrasis.org

    ×